DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 11,727,086 by Tan et al. (hereinafter ‘Tan’).
In regards to claim 1, Tan teaches an image processing apparatus comprising: a processor, (See Tan Figure 26, Tan teaches a system with processing unit.)
wherein the image processing apparatus trains a machine learning model that receives input of a first two-dimensional medical image to output an organ recognition result for the first two-dimensional medical image, and (See Tan Col. 13, lines 23-57, Tan teaches an inferencing model that receives a 2D medical image and segmenting organs.)
the processor is configured to: generate a second two-dimensional medical image based on a three- dimensional medical image obtained by imaging a subject; and train the machine learning model using, as ground truth data, the generated second two-dimensional medical image and an organ recognition result corresponding to the second two-dimensional medical image based on an organ recognition result in the three- dimensional medical image. (See Tan Col. 16, lines 6-19 and Col. 17, lines 1-34, Tan teaches creating synthetic 2D images from acquired 3D images. Tan also teaches transferring annotations from 3D images to the corresponding 2D images as ground truth.)
In regards to claim 7, Tan teaches according to wherein the organ recognition result is information indicating a range of a recognized organ. (See Tan Col. 9, lines 31-64).
In regards to claim 8, Tan teaches wherein the processor is configured to: further train the machine learning model using examination information in a case in which the three-dimensional medical image is captured. (See Tan Col. 18, lines 14-39.)
In regards to claim 9, Tan teaches wherein the processor is configured to: further train the machine learning model using biological information of the subject in a case in which the three-dimensional medical image is captured. (See Tan Col. 18, lines 14-39.)
In regards to claim 10, Tan teaches wherein the machine learning model receives input of the first two-dimensional medical image and the biological information to output the organ recognition result. (See Tan Col. 18, lines 14-39.)
Claims 11 and 12 recite limitations that are similar to that of claim 1. Therefore, claims 11 and 12 are rejected similarly as claim 1.
Claims 13-15 recite limitations that are similar to that of claim 1. Therefore, claims 13-15 are rejected similarly as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,727,086 by Tan et al. (hereinafter ‘Tan’) in view of “Virtual Thin Slice: 3D Conditional GAN-based Super-Resolution for CT Slice Interval” by Kudo et al. (hereinafter ‘Kudo’).
In regards to claim 2, Tan teaches wherein the three-dimensional medical image includes a tomographic image group obtained by imaging the subject. (See Tan Col. 10, lines 12-32).
However, Tan does not expressly teach the processor is configured to: generate, based on a first three-dimensional medical image, a second three- dimensional medical image having a narrower slice interval or a thinner slice thickness than the first three-dimensional medical image; and generate the second two-dimensional medical image based on the second three-dimensional medical image.
Kudo teaches the processor is configured to: generate, based on a first three-dimensional medical image, a second three- dimensional medical image having a narrower slice interval or a thinner slice thickness than the first three-dimensional medical image; and generate the second two-dimensional medical image based on the second three-dimensional medical image. (See Kudo Figure 2 and Section 3.2, Kudo teaches medical image having narrower slice interval.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tan to include the thick-thin slice translation as taught by Kudo. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Tan in this manner in order to be able to use CT images stored with large slice intervals.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tan with Kudo to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
In regards to claim 3, Tan and Kudo teach all the limitations of claim 2. Tan also teaches wherein the processor is configured to: generate the second two-dimensional medical image by projecting the second three-dimensional medical image in a direction corresponding to an imaging direction of the first two-dimensional medical image. (See Tan Col. 20, lines 28-67).
In regards to claim 4, Tan and Kudo teach all the limitations of claim 3. Tan also teaches wherein the processor is configured to: generate the second two-dimensional medical image by performing image processing of enhancing an edge based on the second three-dimensional medical image. (See Tan Col. 28, lines 48-65).
In regards to claim 5, Tan and Kudo teach all the limitations of claim 4. Tan also wherein the processor is configured to: generate a projection image by projecting the second three-dimensional medical image in the direction corresponding to the imaging direction and generate the second two-dimensional medical image by performing the image processing on the projection image. (See Tan Col. 20, lines 28-67).
In regards to claim 6, Tan and Kudo teach all the limitations of claim 4. Tan also wherein the processor is configured to: perform different image processing depending on an imaging apparatus used to capture the first three-dimensional medical image or on an organ that is a recognition target. (See Tan Col. 9, lines 31-49).
Conclusion
/UTPAL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668