DETAILED ACTION
Objections
Claims 5, 13, and 14 are objected. The claim limitation “use flag” should be read “use a/the flag”. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 6 is objected. The claim limitation “use specifying mode flag” should be read “use a/the specifying mode flag”. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 1, 7, 8 and 10 recite "the image". It is noted that claim 1 previously recites “an image” and “a predicted image”, Hence it is not clear that “the image” refers to which one of them. As a result, claims 1, 7, 8, 10 and their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Auwera (WO 2013/192537 A2), (“Auwera”).
Regarding claim 1, Auwera meets the claim limitations, as follows:
An image processing device comprising (a device for coding video data) [Auwera: para. 0009; Fig. 1]:
a flag generator (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] that generates a transform skip flag (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] that is flag information indicating, for each component, whether or not to skip transform processing of transforming ((The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) a residual between an image and a predicted image of the image into coefficient data in encoding of the image (residual data, which represents a difference between an original block of video data and a predicted block of video data) [Auwera: para. 0021];a flag encoder (means for coding) [Auwera: para. 0010] that encodes the transform skip flag generated by the flag generator and generates coded data of the transform skip flag ((means for coding, for each of the one or more corresponding luma TBs, a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010]; (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag discussed above, may be included in the encoded video bitstream to identify if a particular TU is coded using a transform mode or a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0085]); anda bit stream generator (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] that generates a bit stream including the coded data of the transform skip flag generated by the flag encoder ((encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag discussed above, may be included in the encoded video bitstream to identify if a particular TU is coded using a transform mode or a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0085]).
Regarding claim 7, Auwera meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A bit stream generation method (a method for encoding video data) [Auwera: para. 0019; Fig. 7]:
generating a transform skip flag (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] that is flag information indicating, for each component, whether or not to skip transform processing of transforming ((The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) a residual between an image and a predicted image of the image into coefficient data in encoding of the image (residual data, which represents a difference between an original block of video data and a predicted block of video data) [Auwera: para. 0021];encoding the transform skip flag generated and generating coded data of the transform skip flag ((means for coding, for each of the one or more corresponding luma TBs, a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010]; (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag discussed above, may be included in the encoded video bitstream to identify if a particular TU is coded using a transform mode or a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0085]); andgenerating a bit stream including the coded data of the transform skip flag that was generated ((encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag discussed above, may be included in the encoded video bitstream to identify if a particular TU is coded using a transform mode or a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auwera (WO 2013/192537 A2), (“Auwera”), in view of Lee et al. (US Patent 10,313,667 B2), (“Lee”).
Regarding claim 2, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
a mode controller that controls (one or more digital signal processors (DSPs ), general purpose microprocessors, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable logic arrays (FPGAs ), or other equivalent integrated or discrete logic circuitry. Accordingly, the term "processor," as used herein may refer to any of the foregoing structure or any other structure suitable for implementation of the techniques described herein) [Auwera: para. 0108], on a basis of the transform skip flag corresponding to (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] a component identifier generated by the flag generator, whether an encoding mode of coefficient data corresponding to the component identifier is set to a TS residual encoding mode ((The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (means for coding, for each of the one or more corresponding luma TBs, a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005]; and a coefficient data encoder (an entropy encoding unit) [Auwera: para. 0075; Fig. 5] that encodes coefficient data corresponding to the component identifier (entropy encoding unit 56 may perform context adaptive variable length coding (CAVLC), context adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC), syntax based context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (SBAC), probability interval partitioning entropy (PIPE) coding or another entropy encoding methodology or technique) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5] by the encoding mode set by the mode controller (whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024] and generates coded data of the coefficient data (entropy encoding unit 56 entropy encodes the quantized values) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5], wherein the bit stream generator generates a bit stream including coded data (the entropy encoding by entropy encoding unit 56 encoded bitstream) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5] of the transform skip flag generated by the flag encoder (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023] and the coded data of the coefficient data generated by the coefficient data encoder ((encoded data) [Auwera: para. 0032]; (entropy encoding unit 56 entropy encodes the quantized values) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5].
Auwera does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a component identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a component identifier (The transform skip mode index may be an index indicating the transform skip mode to be applied to the transform target block among the transform skip mode candidates. The transform skip mode index may be allocated an index value according to the transform skip mode) [Lee: col. 10, line 7-12].
or a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 3, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 2. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
wherein in a case where the transform processing is skipped (if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023], the coefficient data encoder shares a context variable between encoding of a luminance component of the coefficient data and encoding of a chrominance component (In the fast encoder mode, full RDO is not performed for chroma independently, but in the fast encoder mode, the chroma transform skip_ flags are still signaled for both luma and chroma TBs. … Accordingly, this disclosure describes techniques for deriving chroma
transform_skip_flags based on luma transform flags at both an encoder and a decoder, such that the transform_skip_flags for chroma TBs do not need to be included in the encoded bitstream. Thus, a video encoder configured in accordance with the techniques of this disclosure, such as video encoder 20, may encode a TB using a transform skip mode without generating a dedicated syntax element indicating the chroma TB is coded using the transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0066].
Regarding claim 5, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
the flag generator further (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] generates a transform skip residual encoding ((determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]; (Video encoder 20 may form the Tus including the residual data for the CU, and then transform the TUs to produce transform coefficients for the CU. As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058]) use flag that is flag information indicating whether to apply a TS residual encoding mode ((flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005], the flag encoder (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] further encodes the transform skip residual encoding (As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058] use flag generated by the flag generator (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023] ((determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024], and generates coded data of the transform skip residual encoding use flag ((As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058]; (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023], and the bit stream generator (an entropy encoding unit) [Auwera: para. 0075; Fig. 5] generates the bit stream further including the coded data ((the entropy encoding by entropy encoding unit 56 encoded bitstream) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5]; (entropy encoding unit 56 entropy encodes the quantized values) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5]) of the transform skip residual encoding (As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058] use flag generated by the flag encoder (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 6, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
the flag generator further (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] generates a transform skip residual encoding ((determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]; (Video encoder 20 may form the Tus including the residual data for the CU, and then transform the TUs to produce transform coefficients for the CU. As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058]) use specifying mode flag (such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] that is flag information indicating whether to apply a TS residual encoding mode ((flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing a specifying mode (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005], the flag encoder (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] further encodes the transform skip residual encoding use specifying mode flag (such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] generated by the flag generator (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023], and generates coded data of the transform skip residual encoding (As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058] use specifying mode flag (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023], and the bit stream generator (an entropy encoding unit) [Auwera: para. 0075; Fig. 5] generates the bit stream further including the coded data ((the entropy encoding by entropy encoding unit 56 encoded bitstream) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5]; (entropy encoding unit 56 entropy encodes the quantized values) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5]) of the transform skip residual encoding (As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058] use specifying mode flag generated by the flag encoder (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing in a specifying mode (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 8, Auwera meets the claim limitations, as follows:
An image processing device comprising (a device for coding video data) [Auwera: para. 0009; Fig. 1]:
a quantization parameter corrector (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] that, in a case where a transform skip flag corresponding to a component identifier indicates a transform skip for skipping transform processing for transforming ((a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010]; (The choice of the transform can be signaled to the decoder as part of an encoded bitstream, e.g., for each block the transform may be signaled or derivable.) [Auwera: para. 0064]) a residual between an image and a predicted image of the image into a transform coefficient in encoding the image (residual data, which represents a difference between an original block of video data and a predicted block of video data) [Auwera: para. 0021], corrects a quantization parameter to be applied to a processing target transform block corresponding to the component identifier (Because it may not be reasonable to have different quantization parameters according to spatial locations for those TU s with transform skipping, it was also suggested that the default quantization matrix be changed to a flat matrix for 4x4 intra TUs, when transform skipping is enabled. The other reason is that a small transform tends to use a flat quantization matrix. An alternative to this is to leave to the encoder how to better use quantization matrix and transform skipping simultaneously) [Auwera: para. 0063]; and a quantizer (quantization unit) [Auwera: para. 0075; Fig. 5] that performs quantization of the processing target transform block corresponding to the component identifier by using the quantization parameter corrected by the quantization parameter corrector (Quantization unit 54 quantizes the transform coefficients in the case of a transform mode or quantizes the pixel domain residual data in the case of a transform skip mode to further reduce bit rate. The quantization process may reduce the bit depth associated with some or all of the values. The degree of quantization may be modified by adjusting a quantization parameter. In some examples, quantization unit 54 may then perform a scan of the matrix including the quantized values. Alternatively, entropy encoding unit 56 may perform the scan) [Auwera: para. 0088; Fig. 5].
Auwera does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the component identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
a component identifier (The transform skip mode index may be an index indicating the transform skip mode to be applied to the transform target block among the transform skip mode candidates. The transform skip mode index may be allocated an index value according to the transform skip mode) [Lee: col. 10, line 7-12].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 9, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 8. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
the quantization parameter corrector (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023]sets (adjusting a quantization parameter) [Auwera: para. 0088], in a case where the transform skip flag (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] corresponding to the component identifier indicates the transform skip ((The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]), one having a larger value of a minimum quantization parameter for the transform skip (Quantization unit 54 quantizes the transform coefficients in the case of a transform mode or quantizes the pixel domain residual data in the case of a transform skip mode to further reduce bit rate. The quantization process may reduce the bit depth associated with some or all of the values. The degree of quantization may be modified by adjusting a quantization parameter) [Auwera: para. 0088] and a quantization parameter corresponding to the component identifiers (include use of a quantization parameter calculated by video encoder 20 for each video block in the video slice to determine a degree of quantization) [Auwera: para. 0097] as the quantization parameter to be applied to the processing target transform block corresponding to the component identifier (Quantization unit 54 quantizes the transform coefficients in the case of a transform mode or quantizes the pixel domain residual data in the case of a transform skip mode to further reduce bit rate. The quantization process may reduce the bit depth associated with some or all of the values. The degree of quantization may be modified by adjusting a quantization parameter. In some examples, quantization unit 54 may then perform a scan of the matrix including the quantized values. Alternatively, entropy encoding unit 56 may perform the scan.) [Auwera: para. 0088], and sets (adjusting a quantization parameter) [Auwera: para. 0088], in a case where the transform skip flag corresponding to the component identifier ((The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) indicates non-transform skip in which the transform skip is not performed (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005], the quantization parameter corresponding to the component identifier as the quantization parameter to be applied to the processing target transform block corresponding to the component identifier (include use of a quantization parameter calculated by video encoder 20 for each video block in the video slice to determine a degree of quantization) [Auwera: para. 0097].
Auwera does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the component identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
a component identifier (The transform skip mode index may be an index indicating the transform skip mode to be applied to the transform target block among the transform skip mode candidates. The transform skip mode index may be allocated an index value according to the transform skip mode) [Lee: col. 10, line 7-12].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 10, Auwera meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A quantization coefficient generation method comprising (a method for encoding video data) [Auwera: para. 0019; Fig. 7]:
correcting (changed) [Auwera: para. 0063], in a case where a transform skip flag corresponding to a component identifier indicates a transform skip for skipping transform processing for transforming ((a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] ; (The choice of the transform can be signaled to the decoder as part of an encoded bitstream, e.g., for each block the transform may be signaled or derivable.) [Auwera: para. 0064]) a residual between an image and a predicted image of the image into a transform coefficient in encoding the image (residual data, which represents a difference between an original block of video data and a predicted block of video data) [Auwera: para. 0021], a quantization parameter to be applied to a processing target transform block corresponding to the component identifier (Because it may not be reasonable to have different quantization parameters according to spatial locations for those TU s with transform skipping, it was also suggested that the default quantization matrix be changed to a flat matrix for 4x4 intra TUs, when transform skipping is enabled. The other reason is that a small transform tends to use a flat quantization matrix. An alternative to this is to leave to the encoder how to better use quantization matrix and transform skipping simultaneously) [Auwera: para. 0063]; and performing quantization of the processing target transform block corresponding to the component identifier by using the quantization parameter corrected, and generating a quantization coefficient corresponding to the component identifier (Quantization unit 54 quantizes the transform coefficients in the case of a transform mode or quantizes the pixel domain residual data in the case of a transform skip mode to further reduce bit rate. The quantization process may reduce the bit depth associated with some or all of the values. The degree of quantization may be modified by adjusting a quantization parameter. In some examples, quantization unit 54 may then perform a scan of the matrix including the quantized values. Alternatively, entropy encoding unit 56 may perform the scan) [Auwera: para. 0088; Fig. 5].
Auwera does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a component identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
a component identifier (The transform skip mode index may be an index indicating the transform skip mode to be applied to the transform target block among the transform skip mode candidates. The transform skip mode index may be allocated an index value according to the transform skip mode) [Lee: col. 10, line 7-12].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 11, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
a mode controller that controls (one or more digital signal processors (DSPs ), general purpose microprocessors, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable logic arrays (FPGAs ), or other equivalent integrated or discrete logic circuitry. Accordingly, the term "processor," as used herein may refer to any of the foregoing structure or any other structure suitable for implementation of the techniques described herein) [Auwera: para. 0108], on a basis of the transform skip flag corresponding to (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] a component identifier generated by the flag generator, whether an encoding mode of coefficient data corresponding to the component identifier is set to a TS residual encoding mode ((The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (means for coding, for each of the one or more corresponding luma TBs, a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005].
Auwera does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a component identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a component identifier (The transform skip mode index may be an index indicating the transform skip mode to be applied to the transform target block among the transform skip mode candidates. The transform skip mode index may be allocated an index value according to the transform skip mode) [Lee: col. 10, line 7-12].
or a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 12, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
a mode controller that controls (one or more digital signal processors (DSPs ), general purpose microprocessors, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable logic arrays (FPGAs ), or other equivalent integrated or discrete logic circuitry. Accordingly, the term "processor," as used herein may refer to any of the foregoing structure or any other structure suitable for implementation of the techniques described herein) [Auwera: para. 0108], on a basis of the transform skip flag corresponding to (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] a component identifier generated by the flag generator, whether an encoding mode of coefficient data corresponding to the component identifier is set to a TS residual encoding mode ((The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (means for coding, for each of the one or more corresponding luma TBs, a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005]; and a coefficient data encoder (an entropy encoding unit) [Auwera: para. 0075; Fig. 5] that encodes coefficient data corresponding to the component identifier (entropy encoding unit 56 may perform context adaptive variable length coding (CAVLC), context adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC), syntax based context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (SBAC), probability interval partitioning entropy (PIPE) coding or another entropy encoding methodology or technique) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5] by the encoding mode set by the mode controller (whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024] and generates coded data of the coefficient data (entropy encoding unit 56 entropy encodes the quantized values) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5], wherein the bit stream generator generates a bit stream including coded data (the entropy encoding by entropy encoding unit 56 encoded bitstream) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5] of the transform skip flag generated by the flag encoder (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023] and the coded data of the coefficient data generated by the coefficient data encoder ((encoded data) [Auwera: para. 0032]; (entropy encoding unit 56 entropy encodes the quantized values) [Auwera: para. 0089; Fig. 5].
Auwera does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a component identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a component identifier (The transform skip mode index may be an index indicating the transform skip mode to be applied to the transform target block among the transform skip mode candidates. The transform skip mode index may be allocated an index value according to the transform skip mode) [Lee: col. 10, line 7-12].
or a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 13, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
the flag generator further (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] generates a transform skip residual encoding ((determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]; (Video encoder 20 may form the Tus including the residual data for the CU, and then transform the TUs to produce transform coefficients for the CU. As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058]) use flag that is flag information indicating whether to apply a TS residual encoding mode ((flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 14, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
the flag generator further (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] generates a transform skip residual encoding ((determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]; (Video encoder 20 may form the Tus including the residual data for the CU, and then transform the TUs to produce transform coefficients for the CU. As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058]) use flag that is flag information indicating whether to apply a TS residual encoding mode ((flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005], the flag encoder (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] further encodes the transform skip residual encoding (As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058] use flag generated by the flag generator (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023] ((determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024], and generates coded data of the transform skip residual encoding use flag ((As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058]; (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 15, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
the flag generator further (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] generates a transform skip residual encoding ((determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]; (Video encoder 20 may form the Tus including the residual data for the CU, and then transform the TUs to produce transform coefficients for the CU. As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058]) use specifying mode flag (such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] that is flag information indicating whether to apply a TS residual encoding mode ((flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing a specifying mode (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing in a specifying mode (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 16, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
the flag generator further (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] generates a transform skip residual encoding ((determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]; (Video encoder 20 may form the Tus including the residual data for the CU, and then transform the TUs to produce transform coefficients for the CU. As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058]) use specifying mode flag (such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] that is flag information indicating whether to apply a TS residual encoding mode ((flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]) that is a mode for a case of skipping the transform processing (a flag indicating if the corresponding luma TB is coded using a transform skip mode; and means for determining that the chroma TB is coded in the transform skip mode based on a number of the one or more corresponding luma TBs coded using the transform skip mode being greater than or equal to a threshold value) [Auwera: para. 0010] or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing a specifying mode (the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized) [Auwera: para. 0005], the flag encoder (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] further encodes the transform skip residual encoding use specifying mode flag (such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] generated by the flag generator (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023], and generates coded data of the transform skip residual encoding (As introduced previously, video encoder 20 may alternatively code the TUs in a transform skip mode in which the residual data is quantized and entropy coded but not transformed) [Auwera: para. 0058] use specifying mode flag (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
or to apply a non-TS residual encoding mode that is a mode for a case of not skipping the transform processing in a specifying mode (when transform is not skipped, for example, in the 2D transform mode) [Lee: col. 12, line 40-42].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 17, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 8. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
the quantization parameter corrector (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023]sets (adjusting a quantization parameter) [Auwera: para. 0088], in a case where the transform skip flag (Syntax elements, such as the transform_skip_enabled_flag and transform_ skip_ flag) [Auwera: para. 0085] corresponding to the component identifier indicates the transform skip ((The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023]; (determining whether or not a chroma TB is coded using a transform skip mode) [Auwera: para. 0024]), one having a larger value of a minimum quantization parameter for the transform skip (Quantization unit 54 quantizes the transform coefficients in the case of a transform mode or quantizes the pixel domain residual data in the case of a transform skip mode to further reduce bit rate. The quantization process may reduce the bit depth associated with some or all of the values. The degree of quantization may be modified by adjusting a quantization parameter) [Auwera: para. 0088] and a quantization parameter corresponding to the component identifiers (include use of a quantization parameter calculated by video encoder 20 for each video block in the video slice to determine a degree of quantization) [Auwera: para. 0097] as the quantization parameter to be applied to the processing target transform block corresponding to the component identifier (Quantization unit 54 quantizes the transform coefficients in the case of a transform mode or quantizes the pixel domain residual data in the case of a transform skip mode to further reduce bit rate. The quantization process may reduce the bit depth associated with some or all of the values. The degree of quantization may be modified by adjusting a quantization parameter. In some examples, quantization unit 54 may then perform a scan of the matrix including the quantized values. Alternatively, entropy encoding unit 56 may perform the scan.) [Auwera: para. 0088].
Auwera does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the component identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
a component identifier (The transform skip mode index may be an index indicating the transform skip mode to be applied to the transform target block among the transform skip mode candidates. The transform skip mode index may be allocated an index value according to the transform skip mode) [Lee: col. 10, line 7-12].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera with Lee will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Lee: col. 8, line 61-64].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auwera (WO 2013/192537 A2), (“Auwera”), in view of Lee et al. (US Patent 10,313,667 B2), (“Lee”), in view of Tsukuba et al. (US Patent 9,516,333 B2), (“Tsukuba”).
Regarding claim 4, Auwera meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 2. Auwera further meets the claim limitations as follows:
wherein the coefficient data encoder (The video encoder) [Auwera: para. 0023] applies an encoding method of a sign code according to the transform skip flag generated by the flag generator (The video encoder generates flags for inclusion in the encoded video bitstream to indicate if a particular TU is coded using transform skipping) [Auwera: para. 0023].
Auwera and Lee do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
applies an encoding method of a sign code.
However, in the same field of endeavor Tsukuba further discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
applies an encoding method of a sign code ((In a case where the transform skip is performed, or the transform/quantization bypass is performed, performing sign hiding which is accompanied by correction of a coefficient level value on a coefficient of a pixel domain may possibly cause deterioration in subjective image quality, and thus the sign hiding is preferably prohibited. As mentioned above, in this configuration, by prohibiting sign hiding in the transform skip or the transform/quantization bypass, it is possible to improve subjective image quality) [Tsukuba: col. 8, line 25-34; Figs. 43-49, 58]; (The syntax coeff_sign_flag is a flag indicating a sign (positive or negative) of a transform coefficient, and is coded
for a frequency component in which a value of the syntax significant_coeff_flag is 1 except for a case of performing sign hiding. The syntax coeff_sign_flag takes 1 if a transform coefficient is positive, and takes 0 if a transform coefficient is negative. In addition, the sign hiding refers to a method in which a sign of a transform coefficient is not explicitly coded but is calculated through computation) [Tsukuba: col. 24, line 47-56; Figs. 43-49, 58]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Auwera and Lee with Tsukuba to program the system to implement of Tsukuba’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Auwera and Lee with Tsukuba will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Tsukuba: col. 8, line 61-64].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information