DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. expansion mechanism in at least claim 6.
a. expansion mechanism is interpreted to cover an expansion valve as per para [0038] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizono (US 9169839 B2) in view of Itano (US 20200216735 A1); and in the alternative in further view of Okawa (US 20080025861 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3:
Ishizono discloses a compressor (Fig. 1) comprising:
a hermetic container (col. 4, L 49-63) in which refrigerant containing hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant of 50 mass % or more and refrigerator oil are sealed (the limitation “in which refrigerant containing hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant of 50 mass % or more and refrigerator oil are sealed” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2114. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). The refrigerant has not been claimed as part of the invention. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Reading col. 3, line 48 to col. 4, line 10 and col. 11, lines 40-44 of Ishizono, the compressor can accommodate a refrigerant containing hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant of 50 mass % or more and refrigerator oil are sealed. Also see alternate rejection below); and
a compression mechanism housed in the hermetic container (col. 4, L 49-66);
a crankshaft of the compression mechanism, composed of an iron-based material, having a surface (col. 4, L 63 – col. 5, L19);
a main bearing of the compression mechanism (col. 4, L 63 – col. 5, L19); and
a film containing fluorine derived from the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant is disposed on the surface of the crankshaft at a contact portion of the crankshaft and the main bearing (the usage of R-1234yf inherently produce a film containing fluorine between the crankshaft and the main bearing when the compressor operates. This fact is evidenced by the attached NPL entitled “Lubricity of environmentally friendly HFO-1234yf refrigerant” [refer to its entirety]. Note: the limitation “derived from the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant” is directed to the process of making the apparatus, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. Since the product in the product-by-process claim of the applicant is the same as that of the prior art herein so far, the claim is unpatentable even if the prior product was made by a different process (see In re Thorpe, 777F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985));
wherein the refrigerator oil includes at least one refrigerator oil of polyvinyl ether or polyol ester (analogously, the limitation “wherein the refrigerator oil includes at least one refrigerator oil of polyvinyl ether or polyol ester” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. “The refrigerator oil” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Nonetheless, Ishizono teaches this feature in col. 11, L 40-44), and
a kinematic viscosity of the refrigerator oil at 40° C. is 10 mm2/s or more and 40 mm2/s or less (analogously, this limitation constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. “The refrigerator oil” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Nonetheless, Ishizono teaches this feature in col. 11, L 40-48).
For sake of compact prosecution, even if it were to be assumed that Ishizono does not disclose wherein
the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant contains at least one of R1234yf or R1234ze, and the refrigerant contains R32 as at least part of the refrigerant other than the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant; or the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant contains first refrigerant which is at least one of R1234yf or R1234ze, and second refrigerant which is at least one of R1132 (E) or R1123, and the first refrigerant is contained at a ratio of 50 mass % or more and the second refrigerant is contained at a ratio of less than 50 mass % in the entire hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant; the examiner submits that these specific mixtures and ratio are well known in the art. See Itano; para [0094] & claim 1: “a refrigerant oil with a kinematic viscosity of 5 to 400 cSt at 40° C. is preferable from the standpoint of lubrication” & “a composition comprising a refrigerant, the refrigerant comprising difluoromethane (R32), trifluoroethylene (R1123), and 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf), wherein the three components have a mass ratio that falls within a region surrounded by lines a, c, and d, which connect the following 3 points in a ternary composition diagram of FIG. 1 whose vertices represent the three components: point A (R32/R1123/R1234yf=25.6/13.4/61.0 mass %); point B (R32/R1123/R1234yf=25.6/3.4/71.0 mass %); and point C (R32/R1123/R1234yf=3.9/36.5/59.6 mass %)”.
Under MPEP § 2144.06, substituting one element for another is obvious if the prior art recognizes them as equivalents for the same purpose.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Ishizono with the refrigerant composition above.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided a system with a refrigerant composition that is comprehensively excellent in various properties such as low GWP, stability, and minimized temperature glide as suggested by Itano (abstract).
To the extent that applicant still maintains the position that a film containing fluorine is disposed at a contact portion of the crankshaft and the main bearing; Okawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the provision of fluorine-containing resin layers formed as lubricants on bearing parts, sliding parts, or any other sliding part of a compressor (see #70 in Fig. 1; [0131]. Also see [0239-0242]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have further provided the apparatus of Ishizono with a film containing fluorine is disposed at a contact portion of the crankshaft and the main bearing; in a similar manner as taught by Okawa.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided excellent sliding performance of the compressor mechanism as suggested by Okawa ([0131]).
Regarding claim 4:
Ishizono further discloses wherein the iron-based material is carbon steel or chromium molybdenum steel (col. 5, L 6-19).
Regarding claim 6:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claim 1. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claim 1 above for the rejection of claim 6.
Note: the features of a compressor, a condenser, an expansion mechanism, and an evaporator are standards in a refrigeration air-conditioner in which the compressor of Ishizono is designed to operate (see Ishizono; col. 1, L 13-14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/04/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant submitted that Ishizono does not disclose a film containing fluorine derived from the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant is disposed on the surface of the crankshaft at a contact portion of the crankshaft and the main bearing.
It was pointed out to the applicant that Ishizono clearly discloses a crankshaft and a main bearing of the compression mechanism (col. 4, L 63 – col. 5, L19). The usage of R-1234yf as refrigerant inherently produce a film containing fluorine between the crankshaft and the main bearing when the compressor operates. This fact is evidenced by the attached NPL entitled “Lubricity of environmentally friendly HFO-1234yf refrigerant”.
It was also pointed out to the applicant that Okawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the provision of fluorine-containing resin layers formed as lubricants on bearing parts, sliding parts, or any other sliding part of a compressor (see #70 in Fig. 1; [0131]. Also see [0239-0242]). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art to have provided the apparatus of Ishizono with a film containing fluorine is disposed at a contact portion of the crankshaft and the main bearing; in a similar manner as taught by Okawa; with the benefit of providing excellent sliding performance of the compressor mechanism as suggested by Okawa ([0131]).
Thus, claims 1 & 6 remain unpatentable over the prior art.
Refer to the 103 section above for the complete rejection of all the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jonsson (US 20180073785 A1) discusses HFO-1234yf refrigerant forming a protective film.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763