DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 2, “a high-pressure chamber type hermetic container in which refrigerant containing hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant …” should read “a high-pressure chamber type hermetic container in which a refrigerant containing hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant …”.
A similar issue is found in claim 5, line 2; and claim 6, line 7.
In claim 3, “the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant contains first refrigerant which is at least one of R1234yf or R1234ze, and second refrigerant which is at least one of R1132 (E) or R1123” should read “the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant contains a first refrigerant which is at least one of R1234yf or R1234ze, and a second refrigerant which is at least one of R1132 (E) or R1123”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are objected to for their dependency on an objected base claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. compression mechanism in at least claim 1.
b. expansion mechanism in at least claim 6.
a. compression mechanism is interpreted to cover a frame, a crankshaft (drive shaft), a main bearing, and a turning bearing as per para [0016] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
b. expansion mechanism is interpreted to cover an expansion valve as per para [0038] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 calls for the limitation “a high-pressure chamber type hermetic container” in line 2; which limitation is indefinite for the following reasons:
I. the term “high-pressure chamber” is purely subjective, and it boundaries are not reasonably clear. In other words, it is unclear as to what falls within the scope of “high-pressure chamber”; and what falls out of the scope of “high-pressure chamber”. Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898 (2014), the U.S. Supreme Court established that patent claims using terms of degree (or subjective, performance-based language) must provide objective boundaries.
II. it is unclear what the word "type" in “a high-pressure chamber type” is intended to convey. The scope of the term “a high-pressure chamber type” is not understood when read in light of the specification. Is “high-pressure chamber type” referring only to a high-pressure chamber only? Or does it encompass other structures different than a high-pressure chamber? It is uncertain. See Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955) and MPEP 2173.05(b).
A similar issue is found in each of claims 5 and 6. Claims 5 and 6 should be addressed accordingly.
Claim 5 calls for the limitation “a compression mechanism housed in the hermetic container and having a sliding portion formed on a surface made of an iron-based material and sliding on a surface of a film containing fluorine derived from the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant”; which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear which previously recited limitation the term “and sliding” is referring to. Is it (i) the compression mechanism housed in the hermetic container? Or (ii) the sliding portion formed on a surface made of an iron-based material? Appropriate correction is required.
For examination, the limitation above will be interpreted as “a compression mechanism housed in the hermetic container and having a sliding portion formed on a surface made of an iron-based material, said sliding portion sliding on a surface of a film containing fluorine derived from the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant”.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizono (US 9169839 B2) in view of Itano (US 20200216735 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3:
Ishizono discloses a compressor (Fig. 1) comprising:
a high-pressure chamber type hermetic container (col. 4, L 49-63) in which refrigerant containing hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant of 50 mass % or more and refrigerator oil are sealed (the limitation “in which refrigerant containing hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant of 50 mass % or more and refrigerator oil are sealed” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2114. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). The refrigerant has not been claimed as part of the invention. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Reading col. 3, line 48 to col. 4, line 10 and col. 11, lines 40-44 of Ishizono, the compressor can accommodate a refrigerant containing hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant of 50 mass % or more and refrigerator oil are sealed. Also see alternate rejection below); and
a compression mechanism housed in the hermetic container and having a sliding portion (col. 4, L 49-66) sliding on a surface made of an iron-based material (analogously as pointed out above, the limitation “sliding on a surface made of an iron-based material” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. “A surface made of an iron-based material” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Nonetheless, Ishizono teaches this feature in col. 5, L 6-19),
wherein the refrigerator oil includes at least one refrigerator oil of polyvinyl ether or polyol ester (analogously, the limitation “wherein the refrigerator oil includes at least one refrigerator oil of polyvinyl ether or polyol ester” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. “The refrigerator oil” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Nonetheless, Ishizono teaches this feature in col. 11, L 40-44), and
a kinematic viscosity of the refrigerator oil at 40° C. is 10 mm2/s or more and 40 mm2/s or less (analogously, this limitation constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. “The refrigerator oil” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Nonetheless, Ishizono teaches this feature in col. 11, L 40-48).
For sake of compact prosecution, even if it were to be assumed that Ishizono does not disclose wherein
the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant contains at least one of R1234yf or R1234ze, and the refrigerant contains R32 as at least part of the refrigerant other than the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant; or the hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant contains first refrigerant which is at least one of R1234yf or R1234ze, and second refrigerant which is at least one of R1132 (E) or R1123, and the first refrigerant is contained at a ratio of 50 mass % or more and the second refrigerant is contained at a ratio of less than 50 mass % in the entire hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant; the examiner submits that these specific mixtures and ratio are well known in the art. See Itano; para [0094] & claim 1: “a refrigerant oil with a kinematic viscosity of 5 to 400 cSt at 40° C. is preferable from the standpoint of lubrication” & “a composition comprising a refrigerant, the refrigerant comprising difluoromethane (R32), trifluoroethylene (R1123), and 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf), wherein the three components have a mass ratio that falls within a region surrounded by lines a, c, and d, which connect the following 3 points in a ternary composition diagram of FIG. 1 whose vertices represent the three components: point A (R32/R1123/R1234yf=25.6/13.4/61.0 mass %); point B (R32/R1123/R1234yf=25.6/3.4/71.0 mass %); and point C (R32/R1123/R1234yf=3.9/36.5/59.6 mass %)”.
Under MPEP § 2144.06, substituting one element for another is obvious if the prior art recognizes them as equivalents for the same purpose.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Ishizono with the refrigerant composition above.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided a system with a refrigerant composition that is comprehensively excellent in various properties such as low GWP, stability, and minimized temperature glide as suggested by Itano (abstract).
Regarding claim 4:
Ishizono further discloses wherein the iron-based material is carbon steel or chromium molybdenum steel (col. 5, L 6-19).
Regarding claims 5-6:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claim 1. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claim 1 above for the rejection of claims 5-6.
Note: the features of a compressor, a condenser, an expansion mechanism, and an evaporator are standards in a refrigeration air-conditioner in which the compressor of Ishizono is designed to operate (see Ishizono; col. 1, L 13-14).
With respect to claim 5, the usage of R-1234yf inherently causes the sliding portion to be sliding on a surface of a film containing fluorine when in operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Minor (US 20220389298 A1), Spletzer (US 20220235254 A1), Seemeyer (US 9896641 B2), and Ueno (US 20160369146 A1).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763