Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2022-145922 filed on 9/14/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/10/2025 has been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Moallem et al (US 20230075302 A1), hereinafter Moallem in view of Huo et al (US 20220255572 A1), hereinafter Huo.
Regarding claim 1, Moallem discloses:
an antenna device configured to be connected to a digital control unit via a plurality of wires including a first wire and a second wire (Moallem et al US 20230075302 A1, Abstract: A method of installing an antenna array module on a window includes adhering the antenna array module to the window and connecting the antenna array module to an external module via a cable. The cable may extend from one side of the window to the other. The antenna array module may include a substrate (e.g., a transparent substrate) and a plurality of antenna elements (e.g., meshed patches) on one or more layers of the substrate. Beamformer(s) and splitter/combiner(s) operably connected to the plurality of antenna elements may be embodied in the external module or in the antenna array module (e.g., in whole or in part in one or more integrated circuits on a surface of the substrate). The external module may output digital data derived from mm-wave, intermediate frequency (IF) and/or baseband signal(s) received from the antenna array module) Examiner interprets the splitter/combiner as multiple cables/wiring,
the antenna device comprising (Moallem et al US 20230075302 A1, Abstract):
an array antenna (Moallem, Abstract);
an analog beamformer (Moallem, para [0006], The one or more integrated circuits may include one or more frequency converters operable, in a receive mode, to down-convert a mm-wave signal (e.g., a combined mm-wave signal output by the splitter/combiner and beamformer(s)) to produce a down-converted signal, and the signal received by the external module may be the down-converted signal. The down-converted signal may be a baseband signal, and the external module may be operable to derive the digital data from the baseband signal. The one or more frequency converters may further be operable, in a transmit mode, to up-convert a baseband signal to produce a mm-wave signal to be split by the splitter/combiner for transmission by the plurality of antenna elements);
a frequency upconverter (Moallem, para [0006]);
and a frequency downconverter, wherein an intermediate-frequency signal that is input to the frequency upconverter is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device via the first wire (Moallem, par [0007], In some embodiments, all or a portion of the frequency conversion functionality may instead reside in the external module rather than in the integrated circuit(s) of the antenna module. In this regard, it is contemplated that the down-converted signal received by the external module in a receive mode may be an intermediate frequency (IF) signal, the external module may include one or more frequency converters operable to convert the IF signal to a baseband signal, and the external module may be operable to derive the digital data from the baseband signal. Alternatively, the one or more frequency converters of the external module may be operable, in a receive mode, to down-convert a mm-wave signal (e.g., a combined mm-wave signal output by the splitter/combiner and beamformer(s)) to produce a baseband signal, and the external module may be operable to derive the digital data from the baseband signal. The one or more frequency converters of the external module may further be operable, in a transmit mode, to up-convert a baseband signal to produce a mm-wave signal to be split by the splitter/combiner for transmission by the plurality of antenna elements or to produce an IF signal that is further up-converted by frequency converter(s) of the integrate circuit(s) disposed on the antenna array module and thereafter split by the splitter/combiner for transmission by the plurality of antenna elements) Examiner interprets the external module as the digital control unit and the cable as the wire,
an intermediate-frequency signal that is output from the frequency downconverter is output to the digital control unit via the second wire (Moallem, para [0007]) Examiner interprets the splitter/combiner as multiple cables/wiring,
and a control signal for controlling the analog beamformer is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device (Moallem, para [0011], The external module may include one or more frequency converters operable, in a receive mode, to down-convert a mm-wave signal (e.g., a combined mm-wave signal output by the splitter/combiner and beamformer(s)) to produce a down-converted signal, and the external module may be operable to output digital data derived from the down-converted signal. The one or more frequency converters of the external module may further be operable, in a transmit mode, to up-convert a baseband signal to produce a mm-wave signal to be split by the splitter/combiner for transmission by the plurality of antenna elements).
Huo discloses:
an antenna device configured to be connected to a digital control unit via a plurality of wires including a first wire and a second wire (Huo, para [0040], It may be appreciated by a person with ordinary skill in the art that any signal and/or power may be sent between one or more elements of DPA-MIMO wireless communication architecture 100. Signals and/or power sent between one or more elements may include, but not limited to, direct current (DC) power, control signals, reference signals, and/or feedback signals. In one embodiment, an IF radio 104 may provide DC power to one or more BF modules 108 through one or more cables 106. In another embodiment, one or more IF radios 104 may send control and reference signals through one or more cables 106 to one or more BF modules 108. BF modules 108 may send feedback signals back to IF radios 104 through cables 106) Examiner interprets one or more cables as one or more wires.
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moallem with Huo to incorporate the features of: an antenna device configured to be connected to a digital control unit via a plurality of wires including a first wire and a second wire. Both arts disclose communication between an antenna device and a control unit; however, Moallem does not disclose an antenna device configured to be connected to a digital control unit via a plurality of wires including a first wire and a second wire as disclosed by Huo. The modification would render the predictable result of improved connectivity and reduction of loss.
Regarding claim 2, Moallem discloses:
the antenna device according to Claim 1 (Moallem, Abstract),
Huo discloses:
wherein the plurality of wires include a third wire (Huo, para [0040]),
and the control signal for controlling the analog beamformer is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device via the third wire (Huo, para [0040])
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moallem with Huo to incorporate the features of: wherein the plurality of wires include a third wire, and the control signal for controlling the analog beamformer is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device via the third wire. Both arts disclose communication between an antenna device and a control unit; however, Moallem does not disclose wherein the plurality of wires include a third wire, and the control signal for controlling the analog beamformer is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device via the third wire as disclosed by Huo. The modification would render the predictable result of improved beam steering.
Regarding claim 3, Moallem discloses:
the antenna device according to Claim 1(Moallem, Abstract) ,
Huo discloses:
wherein the control signal is conveyed by multiplexing on the first wire or the second wire for conveying the intermediate-frequency signal (Huo, para [0072], FIG. 5 illustrates a top level system diagram of a multiplexed distributed phased array multiple-input-multiple-output wireless communication architecture 500, in accordance with an embodiment. A multiplex DPA-MIMO wireless communication architecture 500 comprises of a baseband processing unit 502, one or more cellular intermediate frequency (IF) radios 504, one or more cables 506, one or more beamforming (BF) modules 508, one or more switches 518, a cellular sub-6 GHz front end 510, one or more cellular sub-6 GHz antennas 512, one or more cellular-WiFi switches 520, one or more WiFi IF radios 514, and a WiFi baseband processing unit 516. Baseband processing unit 502 may handle all baseband signals for all cellular IF radios 504. Electronic signals and/or power may travel from cellular IF radios 504 through one or more cables 506 to one or more BF modules 508. BF module 506 may be configured to receive and/or transmit wireless data. One or more cellular-WiFi switches 520 may be inserted between one or more cables 506 and one or more cellular IF radios 504. The cellular-WiFi switches 520 may enable a signal path between one or more cables 506 and one or more cellular IF radios 504 or one or more WiFi IF radios 514. One or more switches 518 may be inserted between one or more cellular IF radios 504 and a cellular sub-6 GHz front end 510. Cellular sub-6 GHz front end 510 may operate below 6 GHz and may include power amplifiers, low-noise amplifiers, antenna switching modules, and/or filters. One or more cellular sub-6 GHz antennas 512 may be connected to every cellular sub-6 GHz front end 510)
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moallem with Huo to incorporate the features of: wherein the control signal is conveyed by multiplexing on the first wire or the second wire for conveying the intermediate-frequency signal. Both arts disclose communication between an antenna device and a control unit; however, Moallem does not disclose wherein the control signal is conveyed by multiplexing on the first wire or the second wire for conveying the intermediate-frequency signal as disclosed by Huo. The modification would render the predictable results of improved interconnection between antenna and control unit to support intermediate frequency transmission.
Regarding claim 4, Moallem discloses:
the antenna device according to Claim 1 (Moallem, Abstract),
Huo discloses:
wherein the plurality of wires include a fourth wire (Huo, para [0040])
and a signal to be used for frequency mixing is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device via the fourth wire (Huo, para [0040]) and (para [0044], BF module 208 comprises of an antenna array 264, one or more quadplexers 216, one or more local oscillators 248, one or more transmission signal mixers 246, one or more receive signal mixers 244, two or more phase shifters 250, one or more power amplifiers 252, one or more low-noise amplifiers 254, one or more transmission band filters 256, one or more tunable receive band filters 258, and one or more time controlled switches 260. Antenna array 264 may further comprise of one or more antenna elements 262).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moallem with Huo to incorporate the features of: wherein the plurality of wires include a fourth wire, and a signal to be used for frequency mixing is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device via the fourth wire. Both arts disclose communication between an antenna device and a control unit; however, Moallem does not disclose wherein the plurality of wires include a fourth wire, and a signal to be used for frequency mixing is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device via the fourth wire as disclosed by Huo. The modification would render the predictable results of improved implementation of lower intermediate frequency.
Regarding claim 5, Moallem discloses:
the antenna device according to Claim 1 (Moallem, Abstract),
Huo discloses:
wherein the intermediate-frequency signal has a frequency of 12 GHz or less (Huo, para [0072, lines 1-12], FIG. 5 illustrates a top level system diagram of a multiplexed distributed phased array multiple-input-multiple-output wireless communication architecture 500, in accordance with an embodiment. A multiplex DPA-MIMO wireless communication architecture 500 comprises of a baseband processing unit 502, one or more cellular intermediate frequency (IF) radios 504, one or more cables 506, one or more beamforming (BF) modules 508, one or more switches 518, a cellular sub-6 GHz front end 510, one or more cellular sub-6 GHz antennas 512, one or more cellular-WiFi switches 520, one or more WiFi IF radios 514, and a WiFi baseband processing unit 516).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moallem with Huo to incorporate the features of: wherein the intermediate-frequency signal has a frequency of 12 GHz or less. Both arts disclose communication between an antenna device and a control unit; however, Moallem does not disclose wherein the intermediate frequency signal has frequency of 12 GHz or less as disclosed by Huo. The modification would render the predictable results of lower transmission loss.
Regarding claim 6, Moallem discloses:
an antenna unit comprising (Moallem, Abstract):
the antenna device as defined in Claim 1 (Moallem, Abstract);
a digital control unit spaced apart from a window glass that the antenna device faces (Moallem, para [0008], The substrate may be a printed circuit board (PCB). The antenna array module and the external module may be on opposite sides of the window, and the cable may extend through the window. The external module may include a media access controller (MAC));
Huo discloses:
and the plurality of wires (Huo, para [0040]).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moallem with Huo to incorporate the features of: and the plurality of wires. Both arts disclose communication between an antenna device and a control unit; however, Moallem does not disclose the plurality of wires as disclosed by Huo. The modification would render the predictable results of reduction of signal loss and improved control functionality.
Regarding claim 7, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
Huo discloses:
wherein the first wire and the second wire are coaxial cables (Huo, para [0036], It may be appreciated by a person with ordinary skill in the art that one or more cables 106 may be any type of medium capable of sending signals and/or power. Cables 106 may be, but not limited to, fiber optic cables, coaxial cables, IPEX/IPX cables, and/or ethernet cables with the any necessary coupling apparent by a person with ordinary skill in the art. In one embodiment, cables 106 may be fiber optic cables carrying signals and/or power at various optical wavelengths)
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moallem with Huo to incorporate the features of: wherein the first wire and the second wire are coaxial cables. Both arts disclose communication between an antenna device and a control unit; however, Moallem does not disclose wherein the first wire and the second wire are coaxial cables as disclosed by Huo. The modification would render the predictable results of reduced coupling.
Regarding claim 8, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
wherein the first wire and the second wire are optical cables for conveying analog signals (Moallem, para [0025], The cable 140 may be capable of supporting high-speed and high-frequency signals and may be transparent so as not to obstruct the window 10. The cable 140 may be an optical waveguide with a flexible printed circuit board (OFPC), for example. OFPC cables may enable low loss signal transfer (e.g., between beamformer and processor) for long distances, which may be key for indoor automotive applications, for example. The same cable 140 may be used to power the devices on the substrate 112 of the antenna array module 110).
Regarding claim 9, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
Huo discloses:
wherein the antenna device is used as a radio communication base station (Huo, para [0110], FIG. 8 illustrates a DPA-MIMO wireless network 800, in accordance with an embodiment. DPA-MIMO wireless network 800 comprises of a user equipment device 802 and a base station 812. The user equipment device 802 may further comprise of one or more wireless beams 810. The base station 812 may further comprise of one or more base station units 814 which generate one or more base station beams 816) and further reference (paras [0111-0114])
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moallem with Huo to incorporate the features of: wherein the antenna device is used as a radio communication base station. Both arts disclose communication between an antenna device and a control unit; however, Moallem does not disclose wherein the antenna device is used as radio communication base station as disclosed by Huo. The modification would render the predictable results of improved receive sensitivity and reduction of loss before the received signal reaches the receiver.
Regarding claim 10, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
wherein the antenna device faces the window glass attached to a building (Moallem, para [0031], The specific examples illustrated in FIGS. 1-5 depict a window 10 on which the antenna array module 110, 210, 310, 410, 510 is mounted. The window 10 may be made of glass or transparent plastic, for example. However, the systems 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 described are not necessarily limited to use with a window 10. For example, in the case of FIGS. 1 and 2, the antenna array module 110, 210 is mounted on the outside of the window 10, making the ability of mm-wave signals to pass through the window 10 less important for purposes of building a 5G mm-wave access point in the indoor space. Thus, it is contemplated that the same system 100, 200 may be usable not only with windows 10 but with external walls, barriers, and enclosures of various materials).
Regarding claim 12, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
wherein the antenna device is fixed to the window glass (Moallem, para [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Moallem discloses:
an antenna unit comprising (Moallem, Abstract):
an antenna device (Moallem, Abstract);
a digital control unit spaced apart from a window glass that the antenna device faces (Moallem, para [0031];
and a wire (Moallem, Abstract),
wherein the antenna device is connected to the digital control unit via the wire (Moallem, Abstract),
the antenna device includes an array antenna and an analog beamformer (Moallem, para [0007])]<<,
an analog signal that is input to the analog beamformer is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device via the wire (Moallem, para [0013], Another aspect of the embodiments of the present disclosure is a system for installing an antenna array module on a window. The system may comprise an antenna array module including a substrate and a plurality of antenna elements on one or more layers of the substrate, an adhesive for attaching the antenna array module to the window, and one or more beamformers and splitter(s)/combiner(s) operably connected to the plurality of antenna elements. The beamformer(s) and splitter(s)/combiner(s) may be provided so as to adjust phase and amplitude of a plurality of mm-wave signals received by the plurality of antenna elements and combine the adjusted mm-wave signals into a combined mm-wave signal in a receive mode and/or to split a mm-wave signal into a plurality of mm-wave signals and adjust phase and amplitude of the plurality of mm-wave signals to be transmitted respectively by the plurality of antenna elements in a transmit mode. The system may further comprise an external module connectable to the antenna array module via a cable. The external module may be operable, in a receive mode, to receive one or more signals from the antenna array module via the cable and output digital data derived therefrom. The external module may further be operable, in a transmit mode, to produce an input signal from digital data and provide the input signal to the antenna array module via the cable),
an analog signal that is output from the analog beamformer is output to the digital control unit via the wire (Moallem, para [0013]),
a control signal for controlling the analog beamformer is input from the digital control unit to the antenna device (Moallem, para [0007]),
and the wire is an optical cable for conveying the analog signals (Moallem, para [0025]).
Claim 19 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 10.
Claim 21 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 12.
Claims 11, 13-15, 17-18, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Moallem et al (US 20230075302 A1), hereinafter Moallem in view of Huo et al (US 20220255572 A1), hereinafter Huo.
The applied reference has a common applicant Sonoda et al (WO 2021054175 A1), hereinafter Sonoda with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 11, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
The combination of Moallem and Huo fails to disclose:
Sonoda discloses:
wherein the antenna device facing the window glass is spaced apart from the window glass by a distance of 3mm or more and 20 mm or less (Sonoda, p. 27, lines 5: Distance between the radiating element 10 and the window glass 201: 15 mm)
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Moallem and Huo with Sonoda to incorporate the features of: wherein the antenna device facing the window glass is spaced apart from the window glass by a distance of 3mm or more and 20 mm or less. The arts disclose window mounded antenna device; however, do not disclose wherein the antenna device facing the window glass is spaced apart from the window glass by a distance of 3mm or more and 20 mm or less. The modification would render the predictable result of improved link reliability. (See MPEP § 2144, IV: The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below).[AltContent: rect]
In In re Lintner, the claimed invention was a laundry composition consisting essentially of a dispersant, cationic fabric softener, sugar, sequestering phosphate, and brightener in specified proportions. The claims were rejected over the combination of a primary reference which taught all the claim limitations except for the presence of sugar, and secondary references which taught the addition of sugar as a filler or weighting agent in compositions containing cationic fabric softeners. Appellant argued that in the claimed invention, the sugar is responsible for the compatibility of the cationic softener with the other detergent components. The court sustained the rejection, stating "The fact that appellant uses sugar for a different purpose does not alter the conclusion that its use in a prior art composition would be [sic, would have been] prima facie obvious from the purpose disclosed in the references." 173 USPQ at 562.[AltContent: rect]
In In re Dillon, applicant claimed a composition comprising a hydrocarbon fuel and a sufficient amount of a tetra-orthoester of a specified formula to reduce the particulate emissions from the combustion of the fuel. The claims were rejected as obvious over a reference which taught hydrocarbon fuel compositions containing tri-orthoesters for dewatering fuels, in combination with a reference teaching the equivalence of tri-orthoesters and tetra-orthoesters as water scavengers in hydraulic (nonhydrocarbon) fluids. The Board affirmed the rejection finding "there was a ‘reasonable expectation’ that the tri- and tetra-orthoester fuel compositions would have similar properties based on ‘close structural and chemical similarity’ between the tri- and tetra-orthoesters and the fact that both the prior art and Dillon use these compounds ‘as fuel additives’." 919 F.2d at 692, 16 USPQ2d at 1900. The court held "it is not necessary in order to establish a prima facie case of obviousness . . . that there be a suggestion or expectation from the prior art that the claimed [invention] will have the same or a similar utility as one newly discovered by applicant," and concluded that here a prima facie case was established because "[t]he art provided the motivation to make the claimed compositions in the expectation that they would have similar properties." 919 F.2d at 693, 16 USPQ2d at 1901 (emphasis in original)).
Regarding claim 13, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
The combination of Moallem and Huo fails to disclose:
Sonoda discloses:
wherein the window glass is attached to a window frame (Sonoda, para [0130], For example, the antenna unit does not have to be fixed to the window glass. The antenna unit is hung from the ceiling so that it can be installed and used facing the window glass, or protrusions existing around the window glass (for example, a window frame or window sash that holds the outer edge of the window glass). It is also possible to fix it to. The antenna unit may be installed in contact with the window glass, or may be installed in close contact with the window glass),
and the antenna device is installed at a position spaced apart from the window frame by 20 mm or more (Sonoda, para [0130])
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Moallem and Huo with Sonoda to incorporate the features of:wherein the window glass is attached to a window frame, and the antenna device is installed at a position spaced apart from the window frame by 20 mm or more. The arts disclose window mounded antenna device; however, do not disclose wherein the window glass is attached to a window frame, and the antenna device is installed at a position spaced apart from the window frame by 20 mm or more as discloses by Sonoda. The modification would render the predictable result of reduction of heat transfer and more predictable tuning.
Regarding claim 14, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
The combination of Moallem and Huo fails to disclose:
Sonoda discloses:
wherein the plurality of wires each have a length of 100 mm or more and 100 m or less (Sonoda, p. 27, lines 5)
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Moallem and Huo with Sonoda to incorporate the features of:wherein the plurality of wires each have a length of 100 mm or more and 100 m or less. The arts disclose window mounded antenna device; however, do not disclose wherein the plurality of wires each have a length of 100 mm or more and 100 m or less as discloses by Sonoda. The wires are the same distance and the radiating elements (antenna) to the window glass. The modification would render the predictable results of reduced coupling between the antenna and control electronics and cleaner radiating pattern.
Regarding claim 15, Moallem discloses:
the antenna unit according to Claim 6 (Moallem, Abstract),
The combination of Moallem and Huo fail to disclose:
Sonoda discloses:
wherein the digital control unit is spaced apart from the window glass by a distance of 100 mm or more and 100 m or less (Sonoda, p.27, line 5: Distance between the radiating element 10 and the phase control member 80: 7.5 mm) Examiner interprets the phase control member as the digital control unit
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Moallem and Huo with Sonoda to incorporate the features of:wherein the digital control unit is spaced apart from the window glass by a distance of 100 mm or more and 100 m or less. The arts disclose window mounded antenna device; however, do not disclose wherein the digital control unit is spaced apart from the window glass by a distance of 100 mm or more and 100 m or less as disclosed by Sonoda. The wires are the same distance and the radiating elements (antenna) to the window glass. The modification would render the predictable results of improved communication reliability and reduced coupling.
Claim 17 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 14.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same analysis as claim15.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 13.
Claim 22 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 13.
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as thus:
Liu et al US 20240063537 A1 discloses a phased array with down-conversion, up-conversion, intermediate frequency, and a system that may include coaxial wiring (cables)
Hormis et al US 20200358501 A1 discloses a beamforming repeater that has components of down-conversion and signals from millimeter wave frequency and intermediate frequency
Maltsev et al US 11923952 B2 discloses a distributed relay with two different intermediate frequency chains and down-conversion circuitry
Nardozza US 10700755 B2 discloses antenna mapping and diversity with intermediate frequency
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648