Applicant made the election of Group 7, directed to the embodiment in figure 8 with traverse, in the response dated 09/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant traverse that the examiner assertions that various listed embodiment are conclusory statement that these embodiments are patentably distinct.
Applicant is noted that:
35 U.S.C. 121 (pre‑AIA ) Divisional applications.If two or more independent and distinct inventions are claimed in one application, the Director may require the application to be restricted to one of the inventions.
37 C.F.R. 1.142 Requirement for restriction.
(a) If two or more independent and distinct inventions are claimed in a single application, the examiner in an Office action will require the applicant in the reply to that action to elect an invention to which the claims will be restricted, this official action being called a requirement for restriction (also known as a requirement for division). Such requirement will normally be made before any action on the merits; however, it may be made at any time before final action.
Note that under 35USC121 or under 37CFR1.142, if there are two or more independent and distinct inventions, the examiner can require an election of species and/or restriction. In this case, the numerous disclosed species comprises distinct invention with respect to the placement of the scale at various locations in the suitcase, and the specification disclosed these are distinct invention by listing them as different embodiments. In other words, different embodiments in the invention constitute distinct invention by structures and different functionalities that is different from one embodiment to another. Also, the embodiment with processor, sensor, and connection from the sensor to the display specific to the embodiment in fig. 8 is deemed as distinct compared to the embodiments that do not have the sensor as claimed. Also, note that the examiner is not required to prove patently distinction in an election/restriction.
Also, in view that applicant fails to provide any evidence in the traversal that the different species are not patentably indistinct species as required, or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. The examiner hereby reserves the right to finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Accordingly, the election/Restriction dated 03/09/2026 stands.
Applicant is reminded that any claims subsequently added or amended must be identified whether said claims are encompassed by the elected species with a proper identifier as set forth in 37CFR1.121. The examiner would not consider any claims subsequently added or amended without proper identifier as Bona Fide
The disclosure discloses many embodiments (as set forth in the Election/Restriction), while using the same numerals for different embodiments. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because applicant uses the same reference character to designate different parts, e.g., 131, 132, 120, 140, 110, 111. Applicant can use 131’, 132’, 120’, 140’, 110’, 111’, 131”, 132”, 120”, 140”, 110”, 111” etc. to designate similar parts or different embodiments. Correction of this matter is requested since it is confusing to read the different elements and/or embodiments corresponding to the disclosure in the specification. Applicant also is noted to make changes to the specification as well.
SET I:
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pious (9870683).
(11) The luggage notification system 100 (hereinafter invention) comprises a piece of luggage 101, a security system 102, a drive system 103, a weight system 104, and a control system 105. The invention 100 is a security system 102 that is adapted for use with a piece of luggage 101. The invention 100 is further adapted for use with a personal data device 151. Specifically, the security system 102: 1) monitors when the piece of luggage 101 is accessed for security or other reasons, records the event and transmits a message 170 to the personal data device 151 announcing the event; and, 2) tracks the position of the piece of luggage 101. Optionally, the invention 100 can further comprise a load cell 132 to monitor the weight of the piece of luggage 101 and a drive system 103 that drives a plurality of rollers 144 associated with the piece of luggage 101.
(12)..Depending on the specific design and the selected components, the logic module 121 can be a separate component within the device or the functions of the logic module 121 can be incorporated into another component within the device. The power system 122 is a commercially available battery and an associated recharging system that is used to power the security system 102.. The closure enclosure 113 is fitted with the lock sensor 114. The lock sensor 114 is an electrical device that monitors the status of the closure enclosure 113. Should the closure enclosure 113 be breached such that the closure 143 of the piece of luggage 101 can be accessed, the lock sensor 114 sends a signal to the logic module 121 indicating that the security of the piece of luggage 101 has been breached.
(14) The weight system 104 comprises a load cell 132 and a scale button 134. The purpose of the weight system 104 is to estimate the current loaded weight of the invention 100… When the piece of luggage 101 is rested upon the plurality of rollers 144, the load cell 132 sends a signal to the logic module 121 which the logic module 121 uses to estimate the weight of the piece of luggage 101.
The closure enclosure 113 is fitted with the lock sensor 114. The lock sensor 114 is an electrical device that monitors the status of the closure enclosure 113. Should the closure enclosure 113 be breached such that the closure 143 of the piece of luggage 101 can be accessed, the lock sensor 114 sends a signal to the logic module 121 indicating that the security of the piece of luggage 101 has been breached.
(15).. the logic monitor estimates the weight of the piece of luggage 101 using the load cell 132 and displays this information on the display 168. The logic module 121 then restarts 177 the master loop 160 by monitoring the closure enclosure 113 to determine if the closure enclosure 113 has been breached 161.
(26) Logic Module: As used in this disclosure, a logic module is a programmable device that accepts digital and analog inputs, processes the digital and analog inputs according to previously stored instruction and to provide the results of these instructions as digital or analog outputs. In this disclosure, the logic module will include a logical processor, memory, and programmable input/output peripherals.
(27) Personal Data Device: As used in this disclosure, a personal data device is a handheld device that is used for managing personal information and communication. Examples of personal data device include, but are not limited to, cellular phones, tablets and smart phones.
Regarding claim 1, Pious teaches a suitcase comprising a suitcase body (100), within which is disposed a suitcase cavity, at least one support attached to a bottom of the suitcase body; and a scale (132) disposed within a bottom end (fig. 2) of the suitcase cavity, the scale operatively coupled with the at least one support (144) such that the scale can measure a current weight of the suitcase when the suitcase body is rested on the at least one support.
Regarding claim 2, note the four supports (figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, note the at least two of the four supports comprise wheeled supports (144).
Regarding claim 4, note the battery cited supra.
Regarding claim 6, note the display (123) communicatively coupled with the scale cited supra.
Regarding claim 7, note the claimed step of adding does not impart any structure over the scale in Pious (the scale in Pious can calculate the weight of empty and loaded weight as claimed).
Regarding claim 8, note a processor (cited above), a closing mechanism (143); and a sensor (cited above) configured to detect an opening of the closing mechanism, wherein the sensor is communicatively coupled with the processor (cited above). Regarding the processor is programmed to receive a signal from the sensor indicating that the closing mechanism has been opened cause the scale to measure the current weight. Note that this is an intended use of the processor and the claim does not impart any structure over the device in Pious, and note the alarm comprises the message transmit to the device (151).
Regarding claim 9, note the wireless communication interface (112) coupled to the processor, wherein the processor programmed to report an alarm further comprises sending, via the wireless communication interface, a message to a computing device (via SMS 178).
Regarding claim 10, note the text audio, video, email, notification is encompassed by the SMS network.
Regarding claim 11, note the display a display (123) coupled to the processor (121). Note that the functionality of processor programmed to cause a display of an alarm message on the display is an intended use and does not impart any structure over the structures device in Pious.
SET II:
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacob (9888755).
The computing device may also be configured to control the display device to display a notification (e.g., message, blinking lights, etc.). The notification may indicate that the lid is locked after controlling a locking mechanism to lock the lid in the closed position.
(36) The wheels 114 may be attached to one or more plates (e.g., metal plates) used in one or more weighing mechanisms (e.g., weight sensors or scales) configured to detect a weight of the luggage 100.
(55) The one or more latches used to lock the upper lid 401 and lower lid 402 may be controlled by electronic signals. For example, to lock a lid, an electronic signal may be sent to trigger an actuator (e.g., solenoid) to move a portion of the latch to prevent the latch from releasing.
(57) In some embodiments, sensors, such as magnetic sensors (e.g., Hall effect sensors) and various proximity sensors, may be used to determine whether the upper lid 401 and/or lower lid 402 are open or closed… In response to receipt of such a signal, the microcontroller or other computing device may determine that the upper lid 401 is closed. This information may then be shared with the user via a display on the luggage 100 or via the user's mobile device (e.g., smartphone).
Additionally, or alternatively, lights may be mounted on an outside of the luggage to, for example, notify a user that the luggage is locked or unlocked. The lights may be, for example, LED lights. The lights may be controlled by the microcontroller or other computing device described herein. The rear compartment may also include a battery (e.g., carbon battery, lithium polymer battery, lithium ion battery, alkaline battery, etc.) or fuel cell (e.g., solar fuel cell). In some instances, the battery may be rechargeable via a USB port or other port. Additionally, or alternatively, the battery may be rechargeable via inductive charging or wireless/contactless charging.
(83) If a sensor is on the luggage 900, the sensor (e.g., Hall effect sensor) may notify a microcontroller, microprocessor, or other computing device of the luggage 900 of the detection
This determination may be based on sensor data obtained from one or more sensors (e.g., proximity sensors) that are configured to detect whether the luggage 100 is open or closed.
(133) ... After the user checks-in or as part of the check-in process, a weight allowance for carry-on luggage may be determined at step 1910. For example, the computing device 1500 of the luggage 100 may determine what the weight allowance is on a particular upcoming flight on the user's itinerary. A weight allowance may refer to the maximum weight that a piece of carry-on luggage may weigh pursuant to certain guidelines, rules, or laws that apply to a flight. The weight allowance may depend on the airline and/or airplane associated with the flight. In some embodiments, weight allowances for many, if not all, flights, airlines, or airplanes may be stored by a luggage management server 1660, and the computing device 1500 may look-up the appropriate weight allowance by accessing the luggage management server 1660. The luggage management server 1660 may be updated intermittently (e.g., periodically) to store the most recent weight allowances.
Also, the luggage may include a display device configured to output a screen generated by the computing device. The computing device may also be configured to control the display device to display a notification (e.g., message, blinking lights, etc.). The notification may indicate that the lid is locked after controlling a locking mechanism to lock the lid in the closed position.
Regarding claim 1, Jacob teaches a suitcase comprising a suitcase body (100), within which is disposed a suitcase cavity, at least one support attached to a bottom of the suitcase body; and a scale (132) disposed within a bottom end (fig. 2) of the suitcase cavity, the scale operatively coupled with the at least one support (114) such that the scale can measure a current weight of the suitcase when the suitcase body is rested on the at least one support.
Regarding claim 4, note the battery cited supra.
Regarding claim 5, note alkaline battery are disposable, i.e., removable .
Regarding claim 6, note the display (500) communicatively coupled with the scale cited supra.
Regarding claim 7, note the claimed step of adding does not impart any structure over the scale in Pious (the scale in Pious can calculate the weight of empty and loaded weight as claimed).
Regarding claim 8, note a processor (cited above), a closing mechanism (lock); and a sensor (cited above) configured to detect an opening of the closing mechanism, wherein the sensor is communicatively coupled with the processor. Regarding the processor is programmed to receive a signal from the sensor indicating that the closing mechanism has been opened cause the scale to measure the current weight. Note that this is an intended use of the processor and the claim does not impart any structure over the device in Pious, and note the alarm comprises the message transmit to the device.
Regarding claim 9, note the wireless communication interface (112) coupled to the processor, wherein the processor programmed to report an alarm further comprises sending, via the wireless communication interface, a message to a computing device (via SMS 178).
Regarding claim 10, note the text message.
Regarding claim 11, note the display a display coupled to the processor for display a message cited above.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob or Pious rejections, as set forth above, in view of Diz et al. (20150348347). In the alternative, Diz teaches that it is known in the art to provide the functionality of comparing the weight “Additionally, weight differences detected between departure and arrival may indicate that an item has been stolen”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the step of “comparing the functionality of compare the current weight to at least one past weight measurement and determine whether the comparison results in a weight difference greater than a threshold” to provide added security.
SET III:
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diz et al. (20150348347).
The container may include a processor, a wireless receiver, and an electronically controllable lock. The processor can selectively lock or unlock the electronically controllable lock based on signals received via a wireless receiver (e.g., via Wi-Fi or BLUETOOTH connections).
[0005] The present invention is directed to a multi-functional active container (e.g., a luggage or suitcase item) with a plurality of sensors and actuators, which may include an electronically controllable lock and a rechargeable power source for charging external devices.
In other examples, a weight sensor could be integrated in a link between the wheels and the body of the AC, thereby providing a measure of the weight of the AC without a user having to suspend the AC from the handle (the weight of the wheels can be added to the detected weight).
[0024] AC 100 further includes a battery 103, which may be included within an enclosure or otherwise attached internally or externally to body 190, for powering internal devices (which may include, e.g., on board processors and sensors, a lock, lights, location sensors, weight sensors, and so on) as well as provide power to external devices via outlet 102 (e.g., providing for charging inputs, USB inputs, standard outlets, and so on). In some examples, a power outlet 103, e.g., a USB, fire wire, or other power and/or data outlet, may be included in an interior portion of AC 100 and accessible only when flap 112 is open.
[0027] Weight information can be used to determine if excess airline fees may be required (or if the luggage might be refused). Additionally, weight differences detected between departure and arrival may indicate that an item has been stolen from (or an item added to) AC 100 while not in the user's control.
[0043] Lock Sensor: This sensor can be placed inside the lock mechanism and is used to identify if the lock is set to open or close. In one example, a magnetic or contact sensor is used.
[0054] Touch Screen: In some examples, a small screen, such as Liquid Cristal Display (LCD) or LED based, can be used to give the user feedback or status information. This information may be displayed via text and/or graphical images. With the use of a micro-controller it is possible to support multiple languages. Also user input can be taken from the touch capabilities.
Regarding claim 1, Diz teaches a suitcase comprising a suitcase body (100), within which is disposed a suitcase cavity, at least one support attached to a bottom of the suitcase body; and a scale (cited above as weight sensor) disposed within a bottom end (wheels) of the suitcase cavity, the scale operatively coupled with the at least one support (132/130) such that the scale can measure a current weight of the suitcase when the suitcase body is rested on the at least one support.
Regarding claims 2-3, note the four wheels.
Regarding claim 4, note the battery cited above.
Regarding claim 6, note the display communicatively coupled with the scale cited supra.
Regarding claim 7, note the claimed step of adding does not impart any structure over the scale in Pious (the scale in Pious can calculate the weight of empty and loaded weight as claimed).
Regarding claim 8, note a processor (cited above), a closing mechanism (lock); and a sensor (cited above) configured to detect an opening of the closing mechanism, wherein the sensor is communicatively coupled with the processor. Regarding the processor is programmed to receive a signal from the sensor indicating that the closing mechanism has been opened cause the scale to measure the current weight. Note the weight differences detected between departure and arrival may indicate that an item has been stolen.
Regarding claim 9, note the wireless communication interface (112) coupled to the processor, wherein the processor programmed to report an alarm further comprises sending, via the wireless communication interface, a message to a computing device (text).
Regarding claim 10, note the text message.
Regarding claim 11, note the display a display coupled to the processor for display a message cited above.
SET IV:
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberts et al. (7084357)
(16) In one preferred embodiment, the luggage device is engineered such that the bottom of the main housing has a plurality of bottom pods, i.e., feet, rests, wheels or other stand-on protrusions, and there are a plurality of the base members of the load determination means, and at least one base member is connected to each of the plurality of bottom pods.
(20) FIG. 3 shows the FIG. 2 device 1 in a partial cut front open view of the pod 17 with identical parts identically numbered. It includes a weighing mechanism, i.e., spring scale load determination means 43 and processor component 41.
(20) The portable power source could be one or more rechargeable or disposable batteries, power cells or any equivalent powering mechanism.
Processor component 41 is wired via wire 45 to other components connected to their base members 39, and one of these processor components collects, stores and adds the values, and effects a display thereof at display 31 (FIG. 1). (Some or all components could alternatively be connected wirelessly.)
The lock could be mechanical or digital and could require unique entry identifiers, such as a series of inputted characters, a fingerprint, voice recognition or similar security mechanism. The codes could be to access different types of information in memory or to set an alarm or input a weight limit. The memory could store one or more types of information, such as absolute weights, tare weight, dates of weights, limits, history, etc.
Regarding claim 1, Roberts teaches a suitcase comprising a suitcase body (1), within which is disposed a suitcase cavity, at least one support (15-19) attached to a bottom of the suitcase body; and a scale (43) disposed within a bottom end of the suitcase cavity, the scale operatively coupled with the at least one support (15-19) such that the scale can measure a current weight of the suitcase when the suitcase body is rested on the at least one support.
Regarding claim, note the supports can be wheels cited above.
Regarding claims 4-5, note the removable batteries (disposable) cited above.
Regarding claim 6, note the display 31 communicatively coupled with the scale cited supra.
Regarding claim 7, note the tare weight.
Regarding claim 8, note a processor (82), a closing mechanism (lock); and a sensor (note the digital lock with communicate with the display comprises the sensor as claimed) Regarding the processor is programmed to receive a signal from the sensor indicating that the closing mechanism has been opened cause the scale to measure the current weight. Note the weight differences detected between departure and arrival may indicate that an item has been stolen.
Regarding claim 9, note the wireless communication (to a phone).
Regarding claim 10, note the wireless communication comprises text message.
Regarding claim 11, note the display a display coupled to the processor for display a message cited above.
SET V:
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamakau (7151231).
An internal power supply source is electrically coupled to the determining mechanism and the displaying mechanism. Such an internal power supply source preferably includes a 9-volt battery. (14) Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, a mechanism 50 is included for effectively determining a weight of items (not shown) stored within the suitcase 10. Such a weight determining mechanism 50 is disposed within the cavity 22 and positioned on one side 21 for receiving the items thereon. The weight determining mechanism 50 includes a scale 51 having a substantially planar top surface 52 for supporting the items thereon.
(15) Now referring to FIGS. 1, 3 and 5, the suitcase 10 further includes a mechanism 60 for electronically displaying the weight of the items so that a user can advantageously readily identify whether the suitcase 10 is below a predetermined threshold weight limit. Such a displaying mechanism 60 includes an LED display panel 61 including an electrical lead 62 connected to the scale 51 for effectively receiving an input signal corresponding to a cumulative load associated with the items.
Regarding claim 1, Kamakau teaches a suitcase comprising a suitcase body, within which is disposed a suitcase cavity, at least one support attached to a bottom of the suitcase body; and
a scale 120 disposed within 50 a bottom end of the suitcase cavity, the scale operatively coupled with the at least one support such that the scale can measure a current weight of the suitcase when the suitcase body is rested on the at least one support (24).
Regarding claim 2, note the four supports (24).
Regarding claim 3, note the at least two of the four supports comprise wheeled supports.
Regarding claim 4, note the battery cited supra.
Regarding claim 6, note the display 61 communicatively coupled with the scale cited supra.
Regarding claim 7, note the claimed step of adding does not impart any structure over the scale in Kamakau.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamakau in view of Aman et al. (CA3078363). Kamakau meets all claimed limitations except for the removable battery.
le. Power supply housing unit that utilizes removable batteries.
lf. Removable batteries. (AA, AAA, etc.)
Aman teaches that it is known in the art to provide removable battery for a scale. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a removable battery as taught by Aman to enable one to replace the battery easily.
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamakau in view of Anderson et al. (10629037).
The user may use a smart lock that communicates with integrated sensors housed within the object and the smart lock may monitor, using the sensors, the object while it is not being supervised by the user. The smart lock may additionally alert to the user to any non-user interactions the object experiences.
(20) For example, when a smart lock is locked, it may trigger a weight sensor to analyze the weight of the contents of a luggage case. The smart lock may identify the weight of the contents of the luggage case, using the weight sensor, to be 30 pounds (e.g., and the processor may tag the first recorded weight of the contents of the luggage as a threshold limit). Then, when the smart lock is unlocked, the smart lock may trigger the weight sensor to again analyze the weight of the contents of the luggage case. The smart lock may identify, from the retriggering of the weight sensor, the weight of the contents of the luggage case to now be 29 pounds (e.g., a second recorded weight of the contents of the luggage). Then, the smart lock may initiate an intrusion response action (e.g., a GPS device) to identify and save the location of where the luggage case is/was when the weight of the contents of the luggage case changed (e.g., when the weight of the contents of the luggage fell below the threshold limit). (13) In some embodiments, the processor may determine that the first device has transitioned to a second state. The processor may identify the physical characteristic of the object while the first device is in the second state. Following the example above, the smart lock may be unlocked (e.g., transition from a first state to a second state) by an airport employee, and the smart lock may send a signal to the weight sensor to identify the weight of the case. In some embodiments, the smart lock may wait until it is relocked (e.g., transitions back to the first state or relocking being the second state) before signaling the weight sensor to identify the weight of the case again. This may mitigate a false change in weight from being recorded and falling below a weight threshold (e.g., there is a change in weight while the employee is riffling through the case, however, after inspection and upon relocking the smart lock, there is no change in overall weight of the case).
(20) For example, when a smart lock is locked, it may trigger a weight sensor to analyze the weight of the contents of a luggage case. The smart lock may identify the weight of the contents of the luggage case, using the weight sensor, to be 30 pounds (e.g., and the processor may tag the first recorded weight of the contents of the luggage as a threshold limit). Then, when the smart lock is unlocked, the smart lock may trigger the weight sensor to again analyze the weight of the contents of the luggage case. The smart lock may identify, from the retriggering of the weight sensor, the weight of the contents of the luggage case to now be 29 pounds (e.g., a second recorded weight of the contents of the luggage). Then, the smart lock may initiate an intrusion response action (e.g., a GPS device) to identify and save the location of where the luggage case is/was when the weight of the contents of the luggage case changed (e.g., when the weight of the contents of the luggage fell below the threshold limit).
(30) Referring now to FIG. 1, illustrated is a functional block diagram of an example system 100 for alerting a user to an intrusion of an IOT connected device, in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure.
Anderson teaches that it is known in the art to provide a luggage with a processor (cited above); a closing mechanism (smart lock cited above); and a sensor (cited) configured to detect an opening of the closing mechanism, wherein the sensor is communicatively coupled with the processor; wherein the processor is programmed to receive a signal from the sensor indicating that the closing mechanism has been opened; cause the scale to measure the current weight; compare the current weight to at least one past weight measurement; determine whether the comparison results in a weight difference greater than a threshold; and based on the determination, report an alarm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a sensor configured to detect an opening of the closing mechanism, wherein the sensor is communicatively coupled with the processor; wherein the processor is programmed to receive a signal from the sensor indicating that the closing mechanism has been opened; cause the scale to measure the current weight; compare the current weight to at least one past weight measurement; determine whether the comparison results in a weight difference greater than a threshold; and based on the determination, report an alarm as taught by Anderson to provide added security.
Regarding claim 9, note the wireless communication interface coupled to the processor, wherein the processor programmed to report an alarm further comprises sending, via the wireless communication interface, a message to a computing device (alerts).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide alerts as a message or text to enable one to read and understand the message.
Regarding claim 11, note the display 134.
Applicant is noted that other rejections can be made under 35USC102/103.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733