DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 02/23/2026. Claims 1-4, 9-13, 15 remain pending with claims 1, 10 and 15 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant made two main arguments.
a) First argument: Applicant herein amends claim 1 to include claims 5-8. As such, the combination of Fleck and Stallein does not show all the elements of amended claim 1.
This argument is not persuasive. Fleck in view of Stallein, Maher and Hiemstra clearly disclose the amended claim 1 as shown in the updated rejection below.
b) Second argument: Applicant respectfully maintains that Fleck and Stallein together or in combination with the other references or record (e.g., Maher, Hiemstra, and/or Chien) do not teach or suggest this initial actuation of the fingerprint sensor with the feedback recited in amended claim 1 with a first function actuated after the first threshold is exceeded.
This argument is not persuasive. Please see the updated rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleck et al (US 2004/0150631), hereinafter as Fleck, in view of Stallein et al (US 2022/0293376), hereinafter as Stallein, and further in view of Hiemstra et al (US 2021/0325834), hereinafter as Hiemstra, and Chien (US 2018/0332204), and Maher et al (US 2025/0135331), hereinafter as Maher.
RE claims 1, 10 and 15, Fleck discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
Fleck discloses that a two-function trigger system or device and a method of using it (see figure 1 and sections [0022], [0023], [0026]; i.e., digitizer 10 and stylus 12) comprising: a contact configured to respond to a user’s touch (see figure 1 and sections [0023], [0028], [0008]; i.e., user applies force to surface 18 with tip 22 of stylus 12, then the applied pressure P is sensed by sensor 24); a first force sensor mechanically coupled to the contact and configured to actuate a first function when the first force threshold is reached or exceeded (see figure 1 and sections [0008], [0026], [0028]; i.e., sensor 24 may be a mechanical switch, such as a dome switch, coupled to the surface 18, and a first function is triggered in an application if the sensed applied pressure/force P exceeds a first pressure threshold A); a control circuit (see figure 1 and sections [0030], [0031]; i.e., the computer 14); a second force sensor coupled to the contact and configured to actuate a second function through the control circuit when a second force threshold is reached (see figure 1 and sections [0008], [0023], [0026], [0028], [0029]; i.e., the sensor 24 coupled to the contact surface 18, configured to trigger a second function if the sensed applied pressure P exceeds a second pressure threshold B), the second force less than the first force threshold (see sections [0033], [0043; i.e., the second function may be triggered when the sensed applied pressure P falls below first pressure threshold A); and a feedback circuit coupled to the control circuit, the feedback circuit configured to provide feedback to a user responsive to the second force threshold being reached (see figures 1/2/3/4/5 and sections [0022], [0026], [0030], [0033], [0007]; i.e., the display 16 is the feedback circuit coupled to the control circuit computer 14, configured to provide feedback to a user responsive to the second force threshold B being reached).
However, Fleck does not specifically disclose that the second force threshold being less than the first force threshold and that wherein the feedback circuit is configured to provide a haptic feedback to the user.
Stallein teaches that an operating element of an operating unit, comprising an operating interface having a plurality of symbol fields and which triggers a mechanical switch, for example, when being actuated, allows, with regard to its flexibility when being pressed down, possibly for a lower force threshold (second threshold value) when an actuation sensor system has detected that the actuation object touching the operating interface is located within a symbol field of the operating interface, as well as switching to a substantially larger force threshold (first threshold value) which would otherwise be performed prevents switches from being triggered (see section [0018]), and that wherein the feedback circuit is configured to provide a haptic feedback to the user (see section [0004]; i.e., the haptics of a pressed switch). The motivation of Stallein is to realize the haptics of a pressed switch (see section [0004]).
Fleck and Stallein are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Fleck by including the teaching from Stallein in order to realize the haptics of a pressed switch.
Furthermore, Fleck in view of Stallein do not specifically disclose that a fingerprint sensor associated with the contact.
Hiemstra teaches that a modular sensing assembly may be used to detect user inputs at an electronic device, wherein user inputs including detecting a fingerprint input on an input surface and providing a graphical output that is responsive to the input (see abstract, section [0005]). The motivation of Hiemstra is to control a graphical output of a display of an electronic device (see abstract).
Fleck, Stallein and Hiemstra are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Fleck in view of Stallein by including the teaching from Hiemstra in order to control a graphical output of a display of an electronic device.
Beyond furthermore, Fleck in view of Stallein and Hiemstra do not specifically disclose that a camera and that the first sensor configured to actuate a first function to take a picture when a first force threshold is reached or exceeded, and that the second function invokes an autofocus algorithm.
Chien teaches that LED light has built-in camera assembly for colorful digital-data under dark environment comprising a camera and able to take a picture (see [0380]), as well as that that the LED light has built-in camera assembly for colorful digital-data under dark environment comprising invoking an autofocus algorithm (see [0181]). The motivation of Chien is to improve system security.
Fleck, Stallein, Hiemstra and Chien are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Fleck in view of Stallein and Hiemstra by including the teaching from Chien in order to improve system security.
A step further, Fleck in view of Stallein, Hiemstra and Chien do not specifically that the feedback circuit is configured to provide an audible feedback to the user.
Maher teaches that a dual-function input device 100 may include detent mechanism that may provide tactile and/or audible feedback to a user when the actuator 120 has been moved a sufficient distance to trigger the desired function (see section [0040]). The motivation of Maher is to encompass dual-function input device (see section [0002]).
Fleck, Stallein, Hiemstra, Chien and Maher are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Fleck in view of Stallein, Hiemstra and Chien by including the teaching from Maher in order to encompass dual-function input device.
RE claims 2 and 12, Fleck in view of Stallein disclose that the contact comprises a button (see Fleck, sections [0030], [0011], [0004]; i.e., button press, sensor 24 operating like a button).
RE claim 3, Fleck in view of Stallein disclose that the first force sensor comprises a dome switch (see Fleck, section [0008]; i.e., sensor 24 may be a mechanical switch, such as a dome switch).
RE claim 4, Fleck in view of Stallein disclose that the second force sensor comprises a capacitive-based force sensor (see Fleck, section [0023]; i.e., sensor 24 may be a variable capacitor).
RE claim 9, Fleck in view of Stallein disclose that wherein the first force sensor is coupled to the control circuit (see Fleck, figure 1 and its associated depictions; i.e., the sensor 24 is coupled to the control circuit computer 14).
RE claim 11, Fleck in view of Stallein disclose that the device comprises a mobile terminal (see Fleck, figure 1; i.e., the mobile terminal 10).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleck et al (US 2004/0150631), hereinafter as Fleck, in view of Stallein et al (US 2022/0293376), hereinafter as Stallein, and further in view of Chien (US 2018/0332204).
RE claim 13, Fleck in view of Stallein disclose the invention substantially as claimed.
However, Fleck in view of Stallein do not specifically that the user interface comprises a screen and the first function locks the screen.
Chien teaches that LED light has built-in camera assembly for colorful digital-data under dark environment comprising locking screen wireless (see section [0271]). The motivation of Chien is to improve system security.
Fleck, Stallein and Chien are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Fleck in view of Stallein by including the teaching from Chien in order to improve system security.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rosenberg et al (USPN 11,681,393)
Koch et al (US 2022/0100833)
Lyon et al (USPN 10,495,527)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication from the examiner should be directed to FRED TZENG whose telephone number is 571-272-7565. The examiner can normally be reached on weekdays from 2:0 pm to 10:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Boddie can be reached on 571-272-0666. The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are 571-273-8300 for regular communications and 571-273-7565 for After Final communications.
Informal regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docs for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000 (IN USA).
/FRED TZENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
FFT
May 29, 2026