DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
An Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has not been submitted as of the mailing of the last Office Action dated 8 January 2026. Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this application.
Introductory Remarks
In response to communications filed on 7 May 2026, claims 1-2, 4, 10, and 12 are amended per Applicant's request. No claims were cancelled. No claims were withdrawn. Claim 20 is new. Therefore, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application, of which claims 1 and 10 are presented in independent form.
The previously raised 101 rejection of the pending claims is maintained.
The previously raised 103 rejection of the pending claims is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims. A new ground(s) of rejection has been issued.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7 May 2026 with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 (see Remarks, p. 6-7) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims do not recite an abstract idea because they provide a computing platform that has an enricher and chat interface, processing these queries, etc., and then automatically updating widgets, are not certain methods of organizing human activity (Remarks, p. 7, ¶ 2). This is not persuasive. These are forms of searching and filtering data, which are regarded as longstanding human activities (see the 101 rejection below for further detail). Furthermore, claims have previously been found to be abstract by the courts even when “Merely requiring the selection and manipulation of information—to provide a ‘humanly comprehensible’ amount of information useful for others…by itself does not transform the otherwise-abstract process of information collection and analysis” (Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016) at p. 9).
Thus, the mere invocation of computing elements is treated at Step 2A, Prong Two, in which case these additional elements were not found to be significantly more than the judicial exception.
Applicant’s argument that the claimed invention improves computer functionality (see Remarks, p. 7, ¶ 3), are not persuasive. Only the first listed element was claimed, which is an insignificant field-of-use limitation. The rest of the elements were not claimed. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are moot with respect to those limitations.
Applicant’s argument that the claims “allow” users to explore data “while ensuring that machine learning models improve over time through user feedback” (see Remarks, p. 7, ¶ 4) are unpersuasive. “Allowing” users to do so is an intended use/result, and is regarded as an insignificant field-of-use limitation, describing the context rather than a particular manner of achieving the result. With respect to machine learning models that “improve over time through user feedback”, this is also not claimed. Thus, Applicant’s arguments are moot with respect to this limitation.
Applicant’s argument that “the claims describe a specific technological framework that enhances the operation of data-processing systems” and asserts that the claims are directed to patent-eligible subject matter (see Remarks, p. 7, ¶ 5) is unpersuasive, as these are assertions that were not convincing in light of Applicant’s other arguments. Thus, this argument is unpersuasive for at least the aforementioned reasons and those set forth in the 101 rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments filed 7 May 2026 with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 (see Remarks, p. 8-9) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference(s) (and thus new combination of references) being used in the current rejection.
A Note on Intended Use
The Examiner notes there are multiple elements in the claims that will be interpreted as intended use. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform, see MPEP 2114 (II) and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). “Language that suggest or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed does not limit a claim to a particular structure, nor limits the scope of a claim or claim limitation”, see MPEP 2111.04. The Examiner notes the recited prior art has the capability to perform the limitations indicated as intended use.
An incomplete list of the limitations that could be interpreted as intended use is as follows: Claims 1 and 10 recite updating the widgets or generating additional widgets based on the responsive outputs “to enable interactive exploration and determine insights of the at least one dataset”.
Claims 4 and 20 recite presenting responsive outputs together with citations identifying the retrieved source information “to increase the accuracy of the responsive outputs”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent Claims 1 and 10 recite “associating the derived information of the enriched dataset to a plurality of widgets stored in the computing platform”.
There is no association between the data and widgets “stored in the computing platform”, e.g., in the sense of static binding in which data associations to the widgets is pre-stored, e.g., through invocation of a query or some other association. However, the Specification lacks support for such a limitation.
At the most, the Specification recites that the system uses a RAG method to find and retrieve clauses semantically relevant to a query, and the interactive visualization widgets are filtered with the results of the RAG process (see Specification, [0031]).
Thus, the query information or enriched information is visually represented as the plurality of widgets (see also Specification, [0026]).
However, the Specification is silent on how the widget being associated, e.g., bound, to (results from) the enriched dataset. Therefore, there is no support for how the derived information is associated with the plurality of widgets.
Additionally, there is no support distinguishing between “derived information” of the enriched dataset and other types of information that might be stored within the enriched dataset.
Thus, much less is there support for associating “derived information” of the enriched dataset to a plurality of widgets in the computing platform.
Lastly, there is no support for “storing” the widgets within the computing platform. The Specification has no close paragraph with respect to widgets being stored.
The independent claims further recite “updating at least one of the plurality of widgets or generating additional widgets based on the responsive outputs to enable interactive exploration and determine insights of the at least one dataset”.
The claims appear to state that the insights are determined by the widget. However, this is not the case. The widgets only function to retrieve insights from the enriched dataset 30. See Specification, [0026] (“the widgets 55 are explorable and navigable by a user to obtain useful information or ‘insights’ from the enriched dataset 30…the user can interact with the widgets 55 within the GUI 50 to further generate insights. These new insights, which are taken from a subset of the enriched dataset 30, can be further visually represented as the GUI 50 is updated with the specific information. In this way, the datasets 20 are explorable”).
Furthermore, it is the user who “determines” the insights, not the widgets. In particular, the Specification only states that the system generates insights for a user, e.g., data analyst, to view, where these insights were retrieved from the enriched dataset 30. See, e.g., Specification, [0005], [0008-0009], and particularly [0026], as seen above.
Therefore, there is a lack of support for widgets performing the step of “determin[ing] insights”.
The rest of the dependent claims are rejected for at least by virtue of their dependency on their respective independent claims, and for failing to cure the deficiencies of their respective independent claims.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims recite “wherein the updating of the at least one of the plurality of widgets or the generating of the additional widgets is also based on the citations”. This is unsupported by the Specification. The Specification states at the most that the widgets visualize traits of the retrieved source documents and verify what sources were used by the LLM. However, the generation is not based on the “citation”, but rather on the traits of the retrieved (source) documents (note that these are not interchangeable words).
Furthermore, the language “also” does not appear to be supported by the Specification, as the originally retrieved data was based on retrieved information. Thus, there is no “also” found in the Specification, but rather that information is retrieved from the enriched dataset corresponding to the retrieved (source) documents.
The closest paragraph appears to be Specification, [0031], which states that “The Q&A function 150 also leverages retrieval augmented generation (RAG) to increase the accuracy of the answers and cite the source information used by the LLM 160 in the answer generation”.
Thus, it is the retrieval augmented generation process that increases the accuracy, not the mere citation.
Furthermore, the source information used by the LLM is cited in the LLM’s answer generation (see, e.g., [FIG. 7], item 220, where the LLM returns a generative answer).
However, the Specification fails to do anything specifically with the citation. Thus, the inventors did not have possession of using the citations for any specific purpose. At the most, it appears that the Q&A function cites the source in the answer generation, where the answer from the LLM 160 is displayed in display box 225 (see, e.g., [FIG. 8]). However, the widgets are not stated to use the citation (answer generation resulting from the LLM), but rather the results of the RAG process (i.e., which is also used by the LLM in its answer generation process). Thus, Applicant is conflating the LLM generation result (which is shown in [FIG. 8], item 225), with the widgets that are being generated.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Independent Claims 1 and 10 recite “associating the derived information of the enriched dataset to a plurality of widgets stored in the computing platform”.
There is a lack of support for associating any sort of derived information (i.e., separate from the enriched dataset) to the plurality of widgets, e.g., it is not possible to ascertain how different widgets will be associated with potentially different forms of derived information.
Furthermore, there is no support for “storing” the widgets within the computing platform. The Specification has no close paragraph with respect to widgets being stored. Thus, it cannot be ascertained how or in what form the widgets are being stored, or what sort of data is associated with (each of) them.
The independent claims further recite “updating at least one of the plurality of widgets or generating additional widgets based on the responsive outputs to enable interactive exploration and determine insights of the at least one dataset”.
The claims appear to state that the insights are determined by the widget. However, this is not the case. The widgets only function to retrieve insights from the enriched dataset 30. See Specification, [0026] (“the widgets 55 are explorable and navigable by a user to obtain useful information or ‘insights’ from the enriched dataset 30…the user can interact with the widgets 55 within the GUI 50 to further generate insights. These new insights, which are taken from a subset of the enriched dataset 30, can be further visually represented as the GUI 50 is updated with the specific information. In this way, the datasets 20 are explorable”).
Furthermore, it is the user who “determines” the insights, not the widgets. In particular, the Specification only states that the system generates insights for a user, e.g., data analyst, to view, where these insights were retrieved from the enriched dataset 30. See, e.g., Specification, [0005], [0008-0009], and particularly [0026], as seen above.
Therefore, there is a lack of enablement for widgets performing the step of “determin[ing] insights”.
The rest of the dependent claims are rejected for at least by virtue of their dependency on their respective independent claims, and for failing to cure the deficiencies of their respective independent claims.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claims recite “…presenting the responsive outputs together with citations identifying the retrieved source information to increase the accuracy of the responsive outputs and wherein the updating of the at least one of the plurality of widgets or the generating of the additional widgets is also based on the citations”.
Firstly, there is no correlation between the responsive outputs having citations with “increasing the accuracy”. Though it may increase a user’s confidence in the outputs, accuracy is measured entirely differently. Thus, there is no enablement regarding how accuracy, via presenting responsive outputs together with citations identifying the retrieved source information, “increases the accuracy of the responsive outputs”, as claimed.
Rather, the use of RAG is what is supposed to improve the accuracy, and the citations is used in the answer generation that is displayed in [FIG. 8], item 225 (Specification, [0031]). However, there is no support for the citation increases the accuracy of the responsive output; rather, accuracy is a result of the RAG, and the citation is simply indicated in the answer generation provided by LLM (which also used the results of the RAG).
Secondly, there is no support for updating/generating new widgets based on the citations. Thus, it is unclear how the widgets use the citation, particularly given that there appears to only be one retrieved data source.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent Claims 1 and 10 recite “associating the derived information of the enriched dataset to a plurality of widgets stored in the computing platform”.
There is no support for the enriched dataset having a subset of enriched data that represents “derived information”. The Specification is also silent on associating the plurality of widgets to enriched data, e.g., in a binding manner. Thus, it is unclear what is meant by this limitation, e.g., whether it is meant to indicate that widgets are bound to certain (subsets of) data, or whether the widget is simply meant to be associated with the visualization results, e.g., see Specification, [0026], where the enriched dataset is visually represented for the user, e.g., as a GUI that contains a plurality of widgets.
For purposes of examination, the latter interpretation has been taken, e.g., to be consistent with the disclosure of the Specification.
Furthermore, there is no support for “storing” the widgets within the computing platform. The Specification has no close paragraph with respect to widgets being stored. Thus, it cannot be ascertained what is meant by such a limitation of “storing” widgets.
For purposes of examination, the interpretation that the widgets are part of the platform, e.g., in the visualization, rather than “stored in” the computing platform, has been taken.
The independent claims further recite “updating at least one of the plurality of widgets or generating additional widgets based on the responsive outputs to enable interactive exploration and determine insights of the at least one dataset”.
Given that the “interactive exploration” is performed by users (see, e.g., Specification, [0005], [0008-0009], and [0026] in the 112(a) rejections above), the language “determine insights of the at least one dataset” cannot be ascertained to mean whether the widget is determining insights of the at least one dataset, or the user is determining insights. The Specification appears to use this language; however, it is contextualized with respect to the user, e.g., the user is the one who is “determining” insights (i.e., receiving insights that were retrieved from the enriched dataset; see, e.g., Specification, [0026]).
Note that the claims previously had stated “configured to be explorable and navigable by a user to determine insights of the at least one dataset”. However, this language “by a user” has been removed.
For purposes of interpretation, the meaning that the user uses the widgets to determine insights of the at least one dataset, has been taken, e.g., in accordance with the contextual meaning found in the Specification. Note that this leads to the interpretation of an intended use, which has no patentable weight.
The rest of the dependent claims are rejected for at least by virtue of their dependency on their respective independent claims, and for failing to cure the deficiencies of their respective independent claims.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite “presenting the responsive outputs together with citations identifying the retrieved source information to increase the accuracy of the responsive outputs, and wherein the updating of the at least one of the plurality of widgets or the generating of the additional widgets is also based on the citations”.
Firstly, it is unclear how the citations “increases the accuracy of the responsive outputs”. Rather, Specification, [0031] states that the RAG process is what increases accuracy, not citations. The citations is indicated as a separate step.
For purposes of examination, “to increase accuracy” has been treated as an intended use/result, which does not have patentable weight. Only the first portion has been taken (e.g., that the citations are presented).
Secondly, the idea that updating/generating new widgets is also based on the citations is unsupported by the Specification. The Specification states at the most that the widgets visualize traits of the retrieved source documents and verify what sources were used by the LLM. However, the generation is not based on the “citation”, but rather on the traits of the retrieved (source) documents (note that these are not interchangeable words).
Therefore, the meaning of “based on the citations” within the context of updating/generating new widgets cannot be ascertained.
Furthermore, the language “also” is confusing, as the originally retrieved data was based on retrieved information. Thus, there is no “also”, but only the retrieved information from the enriched dataset (comprising a variety of source documents).
For purposes of examination, the interpretation that the widgets were generated from information retrieved from the enriched dataset has been taken, e.g., in line with claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent Claims
Step 2A, Prong One: The independent claims recite an abstract idea
Independent claims 1 and 10 recite processing the at least one dataset to transform the at least one dataset into an enriched dataset comprising derived information generated from the at least one dataset; generating a visual representation of the enriched dataset using the plurality of widgets, the plurality of widgets being selectable by a user; providing a (chat) interface (to receive user queries relating to the enriched dataset); processing at least one of: the user queries and the user selections to generate responsive outputs; and updating at least one of the plurality of widgets or generating additional widgets based on the responsive outputs to enable interactive exploration and determine insights of the at least one dataset. These encompass managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, which falls under the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Essentially, this recites a tool for users to navigate and explore data using widgets “to enable interactive exploration” (i.e., searching, filtering, etc., which have been previously recognized by the courts to be longstanding human behavior).1,2
At least some of these steps also encompass an observation, evaluation, and/or judgment, e.g., with respect to the transformation of data into an enriched dataset comprising derived information generated from the at least one dataset, and determining insights (by a user), both of which fall under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. In particular, the transformation of the enriched dataset comprising derived information is a rewritten form of “analyzing data”.
With the exception of limitations reciting the use of a computing system and various hardware components, nothing in the claims preclude the claimed steps from being practically performed in the mind. If a claim limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then such claims still fall within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Additionally, other limitations recite “certain methods of organizing human activity” but for the recitation of such computing elements as described. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Additional elements in the independent claims are not integrated into a practical application of the idea
The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claimed computing components, e.g., enricher, computing platform, memory, processor, etc. are recited at a high level of generality and recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Furthermore, the use of “widgets” that are “selectable by a user” as the UI controls for modifying the type of information being displayed, e.g., filtering, searching, etc., and a chat interface being used as the UI component for users to interact with, are nothing more than insignificant field-of-use limitations, describing the context rather than a particular manner of achieving the result. These do not move the claims outside the abstract idea of collecting and analyzing data, e.g., the widgets and chat interface are simply narrower elements are used for generating a visual representation of the enhanced dataset, e.g., part of an abstract step of “displaying the results of the collection and analysis”.3
Therefore, “associating the derived information of the enriched dataset to a plurality of widgets stored in the computing platform” is an insignificant extra-solution activity. It is a form of electronic recordkeeping, e.g., associating or linking the derived information to (queries associated with) the widgets for retrieving such information.
In a similar vein, claim 1’s recitation that the enricher “utiliz[es] at least one of machine learning, algorithms, and artificial intelligence models” to transform the at least one dataset into an enriched dataset, is nothing more than simply providing further narrowing of what are still abstract ideas; they add nothing outside the abstract realm.4 Thus, such limitations are nothing more than insignificant field-of-use limitations, describing the context rather than a particular manner of achieving the result.
Lastly, the steps of “receiving at least one dataset” and receiving user queries relating to the enriched dataset (a somewhat implied step), are insignificant extra-solution activities. Furthermore, they are insignificant field-of-use limitations, describing the (computing) context rather than a particular manner of achieving the result.
Accordingly, the claims are not integrated into a practical application of the idea.
Step 2B: Additional elements in the independent claims do not amount to significantly more
The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The independent claims recite receiving the dataset and receiving user queries relating to the dataset. These are nothing more than the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving/transmitting data. The claims further recite associating widgets (e.g., queries) to the enriched dataset. This is nothing more than the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of electronic recordkeeping, as well as storing and retrieving data from memory. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II).
Dependent claims 2-9 and 11-20
Step 2A, Prong One: The dependent claims recite an abstract idea
Dependent claims 2 and 12 recite that a new selection by the user (of values displayed within the widgets or a new question by the user) creates a variety of subsets of the enriched dataset represented by secondary widgets. Similarly, dependent claims 3 and 13 recite that a selection by the user of secondary values within the secondary widgets create further subsets which are selectable for the user to visualize specific information about the at least one dataset. These represent the abstract idea of “filtering data”, which falls under the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas.5
Dependent claims 5 and 15 recite automatically generating the type of the plurality of widgets based on data values of the enriched dataset. This encompasses an evaluation, observation, and/or judgment (which falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas), as well as “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”.
With the exception of limitations reciting the use of a computing system and various hardware components, nothing in the claims preclude the claimed steps from being practically performed in the mind. If a claim limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then such claims still fall within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Additionally, other limitations recite “certain methods of organizing human activity” but for the recitation of such computing elements as described. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Additional elements in the dependent claims are not integrated into a practical application of the idea
Dependent claims 2 and 12 recite that the user selects values from “values displayed within the plurality of widgets” or “new question by the user”. These are insignificant field-of-use limitations, describing the context (e.g., source of the filtering criteria) rather than a particular manner of achieving the results
Additionally, dependent claims 2-3 and 12-13 recite that the selections result in new subsets of enriched data, or further subsets of the enriched dataset. These are nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activities.
Dependent claims 4 and 20 recite that the processing of user queries comprises retrieving source information from the enriched dataset in response to the user query and presenting the responsive outputs together with citations identifying the retrieved source information, and that updating the at least one of the plurality of widgets or the generating of the additional widgets is also based on the citations. These are insignificant field-of-use limitations, describing the context (implementation via computers) rather than a particular manner of achieving the result. Furthermore, stating the source of the data is akin to attempting to narrow the claims to Internet claims, which was previously found to not amount to significantly more.6,7
Dependent claims 5 and 15 state that widgets have types. This is also an insignificant field-of-use limitation, describing the context rather than a particular manner of achieving the result.
With respect to the enricher, some of the dependent claims attempt to narrow the computing elements to stating that the enricher is one of a variable buildable enricher or a built-in enricher (dependent claims 6 and 16), and that the variable buildable enricher is built on the platform using models trained by the user with a specific uploaded dataset (dependent claims 7 and 17).
However, these nothing more than recite the abstract idea while adding “apply it” with a computer—here, with an enricher. Essentially, the claims only utilize an “enricher” with more descriptive characteristics, to describe a context rather than a particular manner of achieving the result, as they are not integrated into the abstract steps, i.e., represent a concrete embodiment as to how the claimed abstract steps are accomplished using such an enricher. As a result, such limitations are nothing more than insignificant field-of-use limitations.
Dependent claims 8 and 18 recite that the at least one dataset is one of: uploaded by the user and fetched automatically based on a query by the user. Similar to above, these are not integrated into the abstract steps, i.e., do not further indicate how, by what particular technical process, the claimed abstract steps are accomplished. Rather, such limitations only provide context, rather than a particular manner, of achieving the claimed results.
Dependent claims 9 and 19 further recite wherein upon enriching the data(set), a clone is generated of the data and the enriched dataset is added to the clone to preserve an integrity of the data(set). This is an insignificant extra-solution activity, which is a tangential or nominal addition to the claim, as it does not further explain how, by what particular process or structure, the claimed abstract steps are accomplished. Furthermore, it is an insignificant field-of-use limitation in that the enriched dataset is added to a clone (rather than the original data itself being modified), i.e., describing a context rather than a particular manner of achieving the result.
Dependent claim 11 further recites that the enricher “utiliz[es] at least one of machine learning, algorithms, and artificial intelligence models” to transform the at least one dataset into an enriched dataset, is nothing more than simply providing further narrowing of what are still abstract ideas; they add nothing outside the abstract realm.8 Thus, such limitations are nothing more than insignificant field-of-use limitations, describing the context rather than a particular manner of achieving the result.
Dependent claim 14 recites that the widgets visually represent at least one of: the enriched dataset, unstructured data from the data, and structured data from the data. These are insignificant field-of-use limitations, describing the context (source of data) rather than a particular manner of achieving the result.
Accordingly, the dependent claims are not integrated into a practical application of the idea.
Step 2B: Additional elements in the dependent claims do not amount to significantly more
The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of various computing hardware components, which amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Dependent claims 2-3 and 12-13 further recite that the (received) selections result in new subsets of enriched data, or further subsets of the enriched dataset. These are nothing more than a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in computers. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) (“Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data” with regards to the receiving and displaying steps; and “Storing and retrieving data from memory” (i.e., having stored the enriched dataset with derived information and retrieving it for display)).
Dependent claims 9 and 19 recite adding the enriched dataset to a clone of data. This is the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity within computers. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) (“Electronic recordkeeping” and “Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document”, as the claims are similar to making copies of some sort of original data and transforming it into a different from, albeit with enriched data which is an insignificant field-of-use limitation).
Ordered Combination
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the claimed elements do not add anything that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. In other words, even when considering the claimed invention as a whole, i.e., as an ordered combination, the additional elements add nothing that would move the claims outside the realm of abstract ideas. The claims, as a whole, do not state how—by what particular process or structure—the claimed steps are performed, including how the enrichment of data is performed (other than contextualizing it to computers performing the claimed steps, which does not add significantly more, as it states that abstract idea while adding the words “apply it” with a computer, with the same deficient result), or how the widgets are specifically generated, selected for display, or even displayed on the platform. Rather, the claimed steps are recited in a purely functional manner, rather than representing a concrete embodiment of the claimed steps.
See, e.g., Affinity Labs of Texas LLC v. DirecTV., 838 F.3d 1266 (Fed. Cir. 2016) at p. 7-8 (“At that level of generality, the claims do no more than describe a desired function or outcome, without providing any limiting detail that confines the claim to a particular solution to an identified problem. The purely functional nature of the claim confirms that it is directed to an abstract idea, not to a concrete embodiment of that idea”); and Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016), slip op. 12 (“[The] essentially result-focused, functional character of claim language has been a frequent feature of claims held ineligible under § 101”).
Thus, despite the claims’ attempt to narrow the claims to particular types of information (an enriched dataset), and particular types of interactive visual components (widgets), such limitations do not move the claims outside the realm of abstract ideas, as the claims are recited at such a high level of generality that they fall within certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., allowing users to view, interact with/manipulate displayed data, etc.) and mental processes. Various court cases have previously found such ideas to be abstract.
See, e.g., Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“…[the claims] do not require an arguably inventive set of components or methods, such as measurement devices or techniques, that would generate new data. Merely requiring the selection and manipulation of information—to provide a ‘humanly comprehensible’ amount of information useful for others…by itself does not transform the otherwise-abstract process of information collection and analysis”); and
Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 121 USPQ2d 1928 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (“Remotely accessing and retrieving user-specified information is an age-old practice that existed well before the advent of computers and the Internet… the claimed invention does not recite any particular unique delivery of information through this mobile interface. Rather, it merely recites retrieving the information through the mobile interface. Nor do the claims describe how the mobile interface communicates with other devices or any attributes of the mobile interface, aside from its broadly recited function. Thus, the mobile interface here does little more than provide a generic technological environment to allow users to access information…”).
At this level of generality, the claims do no more than describe a desired function or outcome, and without providing any limiting detail that confines the claims to a particular solution to an identified problem. The purely functional nature of the claims confirm that they are directed to an abstract idea, not to a concrete embodiment of the idea. A desired goal (i.e., result or effect), absent of structural or procedural means for achieving that goal, is an abstract idea. In this case, the claims are directed to an abstract idea for failing to describe how—by what particular process or structure—the goal is accomplished. Even with the additional elements, the claimed limitations fail to restrict how the goal is accomplished.
Thus, for at least the aforementioned reasons, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhir et al. (“Dhir”) (US 2022/0342912 A1), in view of Bahatyrevich et al. (“Bahatyrevich”) (US 11,755,344 B1), in further view of Setlur et al. (“Setlur” (US 2022/0318261 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Dhir teaches A method of exploring data, the steps comprising:
receiving, by a computing platform, at least one dataset (Dhir, [0087-0088], where the data set enrichment tool 101 receives the input (e.g., the selected and/or uploaded first and second data sets), and the preprocessing module receives the first and second data sets. See Dhir, [0065], where tool 101 may be provided in whole or in part as a server-hosted computing system, a distributed computing system, and/or a cloud-based computing system (i.e., thus, the tool corresponds to the claimed “computing platform”));
processing the at least one dataset with an enricher, the enricher utilizing at least one of machine learning, algorithms and artificial intelligence models, to transform the at least one dataset into an enriched dataset, the enriched dataset comprising derived information generated from the at least one dataset (Dhir, [0075] and [0093-0094], where the system receives preprocessed data sets and generates, based on the preprocessed data sets, an enriched data set by applying at least one entity matching technique and/or statistical matching technique, where the similarity between entities may be determined by inputting corresponding features of the first entity and first corresponding entity into one or more artificial intelligence or machine learning models. See Dhir, [0081], where the analysis module 116 generates one or more data insights and/or recommendations pertaining to the enriched data set, where the data insights and/or recommendations may be stored in conjunction with the enriched data set.
Although Dhir does not appear to explicitly state that the enriched data set comprises the data insights and/or recommendations (but rather is stored “in conjunction with” the data insights and/or recommendations), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have modified Dhir such that the enriched data set comprises the data insights and/or recommendations, with the motivation of data denormalization, which improves read and searching operations, e.g., improves read performance and simplifies data retrieval);
generating, on the computing platform, an interactive visual representation of the enriched dataset … (Dhir, [FIGs. 3A-3B] and [0144-0156], where the system visualizes data insights and/or recommendations, including an outcome of the data set enrichment and analysis (Dhir, [FIG. 3A]), and a region 326 in [FIG. 3B], which shows a visualization of one or more data analyses, the region including a graphical visualization of the sensitivity analysis and optimization analysis with each data point (e.g., circle 328) included in the graph representing an entity of the enriched data set) … .
Dhir does not appear to explicitly teach associating the derived information of the enriched dataset to a plurality of widgets stored in the computing platform; [the visual representation generated] using the plurality of widgets, the plurality of widgets being selectable by a user; providing a chat interface on the computing platform to receive user queries relating to the enriched dataset; processing at least one of: … the user selections to generate responsive outputs; and … generating additional widgets based on the responsive outputs to enable interactive exploration and determine insights of the at least one dataset.
Bahatyrevich teaches [the visual representation generated] using the plurality of widgets, the plurality of widgets being selectable by a user; associating the derived information of the enriched dataset to a plurality of widgets stored in the computing platform; … processing at least one of: … the user selections to generate responsive outputs; and, updating at least one of the plurality of widgets or generating additional widgets based on the responsive outputs to enable interactive exploration and determine insights of the at least one dataset (Bahatyrevich, [FIGs. 5-6] and [37:21-43], where five high level charts 502, 504, 506, 508, and 510 are shown, which are displayed in response to a user search query, where all five charts can be in response to the same query, showing different aspects of the results. Because these charts are in response to the query, this represents “associating the derived information of the enriched dataset to a plurality of widgets stored in the computing platform”.
See Bahayrevich, [FIGs. 5-6] and [37:21-67]-[39:1-14], where a user may click directly on chart 608 (or an associated icon) to bring up more detail in the form of a display, resulting in three different levels of detail being provided, with different types of charts at each level. See Bahatyrevich, [21:13-28], where the intake system 110 can enrich the received data, from which the visualizations are generated (i.e., “enriched dataset”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Dhir and Bahatyrevich (hereinafter “Dhir as modified”) with the motivation of providing a wider range of interactions with the data, e.g., by enabling users to drill down and directly manipulate search results with respect to certain data in a more direct manner (e.g., can feel more intuitive), and view various aspects of the results (thereby enabling the users to gain a more holistic view of the query result).
Dhir as modified does not appear to explicitly teach providing a chat interface on the computing platform to receive user queries relating to the enriched dataset; [processing at least one of:] the user queries; [and] updating at least one of the plurality of widgets.
Setlur teaches providing a chat interface on the computing platform to receive user queries relating to the enriched dataset; [processing at least one of:] the user queries; [and] updating at least one of the plurality of widgets (Setlur, [FIG. 16B] and [0261], where the user interacts with the user interface 1600 by composing (e.g., typing) a message into an input box 1607, which is “show me the expensive varieties”. See Setlur, [FIG. 16E] and [0263], where the user’s request “show me the expensive varieties” is now a part of the chat. The conversation thread 1606 is updated to include a representation 1610 of the visualization and a text response 1612. See Setlur, [FIG. 16E], item 1610 (i.e., “intelligence dashboard”) and 1618, where item 1618 is a drop-down box for “Change Top N” (which instructions above the drop-down box stating “use the options below to change the filter”), which the user can interact with to refine and update the response. See, e.g., Setlur, [0266], where the user selects the data widget 1618 to change the filter from “Top 3” to “Top 5”, resulting in the client application generating and visually rendering updated data analytics, e.g., user interface 1600 displays an updated image of a bar graph in which the top 5 data bars are highlighted. See Dhir as modified above with respect to “enriched data”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Dhir as modified and Setlur (hereinafter “Dhir as modified”) with the motivation of providing greater flexibility in how users can perform follow-up queries, as well as a more natural manner in which users can request for information and navigate the retrieved information via a chat interface. Furthermore, updating visualizations also ensures that the information being displayed to a user properly reflects their query, e.g., it does not make sense to show “Top 3” when the user requested “Top 5”.
The Examiner notes that “to enable interactive exploration and determine insights of the at least one dataset” has been considered as an intended use/result, and is not afforded patentable weight. The Examiner notes that “A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114. The recited prior art has the capability to perform these intended use limitations, and therefore, the prior art meets the claimed limitations. See MPEP 2111.02; See also In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed.Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 2: Dhir as modified teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein a new selection by the user of values displayed within the plurality of widgets or new question by the user creates a variety of subsets of the enriched dataset, the subsets of the enriched dataset further represented by secondary widgets (Bahatyrevich, [FIGs. 5-6] and [37:21-67]-[39:1-14], where five high level charts 502, 504, 506, 508, and 510 are shown, which are displayed in response to a user search query. A user may have interest in more details regarding graph 608 on display 606, in which case the user clicks on chart 608 (or an associated icon) to bring up more detail in the form of a display, resulting in three different levels of detail being provided, with different types of charts at each level. See Bahatyrevich, [21:13-28], where the intake system 110 can enrich the received data, from which the visualizations are generated (i.e., “enriched dataset”)).
Regarding claim 3: Dhir as modified teaches The method of Claim 2 wherein the selection by the user of secondary values within the secondary widgets creates further subsets of the enriched dataset, wherein each of the further subsets is selectable for the user to visualize specific information about the at least one dataset (Bahatyrevich, [FIGs. 5-6], [FIG. 9], [FIG. 13], and [37:21-67]-[39:1-14], where five high level charts 502, 504, 506, 508, and 510 are shown, which are displayed in response to a user search query. A user may have interest in more details regarding graph 608 on display 606, in which case the user clicks on chart 608 (or an associated icon) to bring up more detail in the form of a display, resulting in three different levels of detail being provided, with different types of charts at each level. A third level of detail, e.g., chart 610, may be provided by clicking on, or otherwise activating, one of charts 608, 910, and 912, thereby displaying further details on those statistics, e.g., in a chart form. See Bahatyrevich, [21:13-28], where the intake system 110 can enrich the received data, from which the visualizations are generated (i.e., “enriched dataset”)).
Regarding claim 5: Dhir as modified teaches The method of Claim 1 wherein each one of the plurality of widgets has a type, and the type of the plurality of widgets is automatically generated based on data values of the enriched dataset (Bahatyrevich, [FIGs. 5-6], [FIG. 9], [FIG. 13], and [37:21-67]-[39:1-14], where five high level charts 502, 504, 506, 508, and 510 are shown, which are displayed in response to a user search query (i.e., indicating that the widgets are “automatically generated based on data values of the … dataset”, as queries are for retrieving data from datasets). A user may have interest in more details regarding graph 608 on display 606, in which case the user clicks on chart 608 (or an associated icon) to bring up more detail in the form of a display, resulting in three different levels of detail being provided, with different types of charts at each level, e.g., one or more of charts 608, 910, and 912 could be a different type of chart, such as a bubble chart, bar chart, etc. See Bahatyrevich, [21:13-28], where the intake system 110 can enrich the received data, from which the visualizations are generated (i.e., “enriched dataset”)).
Regarding claim 6: Dhir as modified teaches The method of Claim 1 wherein the enricher is one of: a variable buildable enricher or a built-in enricher (Dhir, [0065-0066], where the automated data set enrichment and analysis system 100 comprises a data set enrichment and analysis tool 101 that enriches ingested data).
Regarding claim 8: Dhir as modified teaches The method of Claim 1 wherein the at least one dataset is one of: uploaded by the user and fetched automatically based on a query by the user (Dhir, [0069], where data set enrichment and analysis may be initiated by a requestor 102 that indicates instructions to upload one or more data sets).
Regarding claim 9: Dhir as modified teaches The method of Claim 1 wherein upon applying the enricher, a clone is generated of the at least one dataset, and the enriched dataset is added to the clone to preserve an integrity of the at least one dataset (Dhir, [0077], where the enriched data set is stored, and the enriched data set may be compared to original data sets in the first data source 104 and/or second data source 106; see also, e.g., Dhir, [0090], where the enriched data set may be modified dynamically as the first data set and/or the second data set are modified, further indicating that the enriched data set is a “clone of the at least one dataset” with another (second) dataset. See Dhir, [0090], where the processing module may generate an enriched data set based on the preprocessed first data set and second data set).
Regarding claim 10: Claim 10 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Note that Dhir teaches A system for exploring data using a platform, the system comprising: a processor; a memory in communication with the processor, the memory comprised of computer executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to [implement the claimed steps] (Dhir, [0041], where the system may be embodied as a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions configured to be executed by one or more processors of a system, wherein execution of the instructions by the one or more processors causes the system to implement the disclosed steps).
Regarding claim 11: Dhir as modified teaches The system of Claim 10 wherein the enricher utilizes at least one of: machine learning, algorithms and artificial intelligence (AI) models, to transform the at least one dataset into the enriched dataset (Dhir, [0075] and [0093-0094], where the system receives preprocessed data sets and generates, based on the preprocessed data sets, an enriched data set by applying at least one entity matching technique and/or statistical matching technique, where the similarity between entities may be determined by inputting corresponding features of the first entity and first corresponding entity into one or more artificial intelligence or machine learning models).
Regarding claim 12: Claim 12 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13: Claim 13 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14: Dhir as modified teaches The system of Claim 10 wherein the widgets visually represent at least one of: the enriched dataset, unstructured data from the data, and structured data from the data (Dhir, [0154] and [FIG. 3B], where region 326 shows a visualization of one or more data analyses, the region including a graphical visualization of the sensitivity analysis and optimization analysis with each data point (e.g., circle 328) included in the graph representing an entity of the enriched data set).
Regarding claim 15: Claim 15 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16: Claim 16 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18: Claim 18 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19: Claim 19 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 9, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhir et al. (“Dhir”) (US 2022/0342912 A1), in view of Bahatyrevich et al. (“Bahatyrevich”) (US 11,755,344 B1), in further view of Setlur et al. (“Setlur” (US 2022/0318261 A1), in further view of Asuvingi et al. (“Asuvingi”) (US 2025/0252270 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Dhir as modified teaches The method of Claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the processing of the user queries comprises retrieving source information from the enriched dataset in response to the user query and presenting the responsive outputs together with citations identifying the retrieved source information to increase the accuracy of the responsive outputs, and wherein the updating of the at least one of the plurality of widgets or the generating of the additional widgets is also based on the citations.
Avusingi teaches wherein the processing of the user queries comprises retrieving source information from the enriched dataset in response to the user query and presenting the responsive outputs together with citations identifying the retrieved source information to increase the accuracy of the responsive outputs, and wherein the updating of the at least one of the plurality of widgets or the generating of the additional widgets is also based on the citations (Avusingi, [0023], where a user submits a question, which is sent to an LLM that outputs a response to the inquiry. See Asuvingi, [0064], where the system outputs an annotated answer with citations and/or links to validated sources used by the LLM to generate the multiple parts of the answer, as well as annotations indicating source validity for one or more sources used by LLM 121 to generate at least one part of answer 196. See Dhir as modified in claim 1 above with respect to the “enriched dataset” and “updating of the at least one of the plurality of widgets or the generating of the additional widgets” above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Dhir as modified and Avusingi with the motivation of improving transparency and enabling verification (see, e.g., Avusingi, [0048-0049], where the system verifies that the responses produced by the LLM are actually supported by the document for which the request was generated), thereby potentially improving the accuracy of the answer.
The Examiner notes that “to increase the accuracy of the responsive outputs” has been considered as an intended use/result, and is not afforded patentable weight. The Examiner notes that “A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114. The recited prior art has the capability to perform these intended use limitations, and therefore, the prior art meets the claimed limitations. See MPEP 2111.02; See also In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed.Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 20: Claim 20 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhir et al. (“Dhir”) (US 2022/0342912 A1), in view of Bahatyrevich et al. (“Bahatyrevich”) (US 11,755,344 B1), in further view of Setlur et al. (“Setlur” (US 2022/0318261 A1), in further view of Liu et al. (“Liu”) (US 2020/0183035 A1).
Regarding claim 7: Dhir as modified teaches The method of Claim 6, but does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the variable buildable enricher is built on the platform using models trained by the user with a specific uploaded dataset.
Liu teaches wherein the variable buildable enricher is built on the platform using models trained by the user with a specific uploaded dataset (Liu, [0069] and [0075], where the augmentation methods and/or various transformations are selected to be utilized using training and/or test datasets, e.g., the ML system utilizing a reinforcement learning approach to learn augmentation methods and/or transformations that are plausible, and train an ML system to learn augmentation methods and transformations. See Dhir, [0087-0088], where the data sets were uploaded).
Although Liu does not appear to explicitly state that the training is performed “by the user” as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have modified Liu to be utilized with user feedback with the motivation of potentially improving data augmentation accuracy (e.g., as users may provide better training feedback/inputs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Dhir as modified and Liu with the motivation of ensuring the relevancy of the data enrichment/augmentation (see, e.g., Liu, [0010], where some of the data used in data augmentation may not be plausible), and thus producing enriched data that is highly relevant and therefore useful.
Regarding claim 17: Claim 17 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IRENE BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154
30 September 2026
1 Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 121 USPQ2d 1928 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (finding that “organizing and access records through the creation of an index-searchable database, includes longstanding conduct that existed well before the advent of computers and the Internet”. Though it pertained to using an index to search for and retrieve information, by extension, searching for information by itself is well-known, e.g., including organizing information for searching through the use of indexes).
2 Bascom Global Internet Services, Inc. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (finding that “filtering content is an abstract idea because it is a long-standing, well-known method of organizing human behavior, similar to concepts previously found to be abstract”).
3 Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
4 See, e.g., SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 126 USPQ2d 1638 (Fed. Cir. 2018) at p. 12, ¶ 2 (“…Because bootstrap, jackknife, and cross-validation methods are all “particular methods of resampling,” those features simply provide further narrowing of what are still mathematical operations. They add nothing outside the abstract realm. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 88-89 (stating that narrow embodiments of ineligible matter, citing mathematical ideas as an example, are still ineligible); buySAFE, 765 F.3d at 1353 (same)”).
5 See, e.g., Bascom Global Internet Services, Inc. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2016) at p. 12 (“…filtering content is an abstract idea because it is a long-standing, well-known method of organizing human behavior…”).
6 See Ultramercial, Inc. v. HULU, LLC, 772 F.3d 709 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
7 Bascom Global Internet Services, Inc. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (finding that a claim to “a content filtering system for filtering content retrieved from an Internet computer network” was directed to an abstract idea).
8 See, e.g., SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 126 USPQ2d 1638 (Fed. Cir. 2018) at p. 12, ¶ 2 (“…Because bootstrap, jackknife, and cross-validation methods are all “particular methods of resampling,” those features simply provide further narrowing of what are still mathematical operations. They add nothing outside the abstract realm. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 88-89 (stating that narrow embodiments of ineligible matter, citing mathematical ideas as an example, are still ineligible); buySAFE, 765 F.3d at 1353 (same)”).