DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lie (US pg. no. 20120275432), further in view of Qiao (WO 2007059650).
Regarding claim 1. Lie discloses A communication method (fig. 5) comprising:
receiving, by a media plane network element, request information from an application server ((fig. 5 and [0031] in step 5, the SCC AS (AS) sends the INVITE message (request) to the MRF (media network element) and instructs it to assign a media endpoint 1 for the local UE and a media endpoint 2 for the remote UE).
, wherein the request information is used to request the media plane network element to allocate a media endpoint used to provide a resource-type service (fig. 5 and [0031] in step 5, the SCC AS (AS) sends the INVITE message (request) to the MRF (media network element) and instructs it to assign (allocate) a media endpoint 1 for the local UE and a media endpoint 2 (media endpoint) for the remote UE), and
the request information comprises information about a first media endpoint used to provide an access-type service ((fig. 5 and [0031] in step 5, the SCC AS (AS) sends the INVITE message (request) to the MRF (media network element) and instructs it to assign (allocate) a media endpoint 1 (endpoint information) for the local UE and a media endpoint 2 (media endpoint information) for the remote UE; [0040-0042] discloses in step 702, said second network element (SCC AS) decides if the condition for anchoring a media path in a media anchor point is met…Herein, said media anchor point is for example a MRF. SCC AS instructs the MRF to assign respective media endpoints (endpoint information) for the local and remote UEs by sending an INVITE message to the MRF; [0042] Then, in step 703, said media anchor point assigns respective media endpoints for the local terminal and remote terminal);
determining, by the media plane network element, a second media endpoint ([0040-0042] discloses in step 702, said second network element (SCC AS) decides if the condition for anchoring a media path in a media anchor point is met…Herein, said media anchor point is for example a MRF. SCC AS instructs the MRF to assign respective media endpoints (endpoint information) for the local and remote UEs by sending an INVITE message to the MRF; [0042] Then, in step 703, said media anchor point assigns respective media endpoints for the local terminal and remote terminal)
sending, by the media plane network element to the application server, information about the second media endpoint used to provide the resource type service ([0055]upon reception of an INVITE message from the SCC AS, the media endpoint configuration means 901 assigns a media endpoint 1 for the local UE and a media endpoint 2 for the remote UE, and connects the media endpoints 1 and 2 together. The message sending means 902 is used for sending a response message (200 OK) with the session description protocol information of said media endpoints to said another network element. For example, the message sending means 902 sends a 200 OK message with the SDP information of the media endpoints 1 and 2 to the SCC AS);
But, Lie does not explicitly disclose:
determining, by the media plane network element, a second media endpoint depending on whether the first media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Qiao discloses determining, by the media plane network element, a second media endpoint depending on whether the first media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element (claim 6 discloses the softswitch (AS) instructs the virtual media gateway (media network element) to which the called user belongs respectively to associate corresponding users according to the user call, and Creating an RTP endpoint (endpoint) for the corresponding user in the association, the method further comprises the following steps: The media gateway analyzes whether the RTP endpoint contains far-end (remote) media bearer information (determining media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element or not) and, if so, further analyzes the contents of the far-end media bearer information; The media gateway determines that the call belongs to the media gateway internal call according to the content of the remote media bearer information; The media gateway searches for the remote RTP endpoint corresponding to the RTP endpoint according to the content of the remote media bearer information in the RTP endpoint and searches for the corresponding remote user according to the remote RTP endpoint; The user of the RTP endpoint and the user of the remote RTP endpoint corresponding to the RTP endpoint are directly connected through the central TDM switching element; page 5, 25-38 discloses Softswitch 2 analyzes that the call is calling User B on VMG2, and then sends a command to create an association to User B on VMG2 (media network element). And create an RTP2 endpoint for user B in this association …The media gateway analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 and finds that the IP address in the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 is the IP address of network interface unit of the media gateway itself and determines that this is a call inside the media gateway and may Do not have to pass VOIP DSP unit codec processing, directly through the center TDM exchange unit session exchange. The media gateway queries the corresponding RTP1 endpoint (the IP address, the port number, and the like in the remote media bearer information of RTP2, which are the same as the RTP1's own IP address and port number) through the remote media bearer information of RTP2, And through RTP1 can query to user A. After user A is found, VMG2 records the near-end and far-end media related information of the RTP2 termination and releases the VOIP DSP resources, but still reserves the resources of the network interface unit….The reply to softswitch 2 still returns the media bearing information of the network interface unit of RTP2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Lie with Qiao. The modification would allow Lei`s MRF to determine the second endpoint based on whether the first access endpoint identified in the request belonged to MRF. The modification would allow effectively identifying networks endpoints are associated to enable effective connections among endpoints.
Regarding claim 2. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 1.
Qiao discloses , wherein the first media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element, and a local address of the second media endpoint is the same as a local address of the first media endpoint (page 5 lines 28-33 discloses the media gateway analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 and finds that the IP address in the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 is the IP address of a certain network interface unit of the media gateway itself and determines that this is a call inside the media gateway and may Do not have to pass VOIP DSP unit codec processing, directly through the center TDM exchange unit session exchange. The media gateway queries the corresponding RTP1 endpoint (the IP address, the port number, and the like in the remote media bearer information of RTP2, which are the same as the RTP1's own IP address and port number).
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 2.
Qiao discloses, wherein the communication method further comprises: determining, by the media plane network element based on a case in which the first media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element, not to allocate a new media endpoint, and using a mirror media endpoint of the first media endpoint as the second media endpoint ((page 5 lines 28-33 discloses the media gateway analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 and finds that the IP address in the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 is the IP address of a certain network interface unit of the media gateway itself and determines that this is a call inside the media gateway and may Do not have to pass VOIP DSP unit codec processing, directly through the center TDM exchange unit session exchange. The media gateway queries the corresponding RTP1 endpoint (the IP address, the port number, and the like in the remote media bearer information of RTP2, which are the same as the RTP1's own IP address and port number; page 4, 42-58 2) - an RTP termination by the DSP resources and network interface resources of two parts;
3)On the media gateway to achieve voice codec DSP resources and network interface resources separately to achieve and describe;
4)The media gateway further analyzes whether its RTP endpoint contains far-end media bearer information, and if far-end media bearer information is contained, further analyzes content in the far-end media bearer information;
5)If the information contents of the remote media bearer information, that is, the network address and other information belong to the media gateway, the association is a call belonging to the media gateway;
6)The media gateway finds another association corresponding to this association (mirror) through the network address and the network port number in the media bearer information in the RTP endpoint).
Regarding claim 4. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 1.
Qiao discloses, wherein the first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element, and a local address of the second media endpoint is different from a local address of the first media endpoint (page 5 10- 50, softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG . 7、 VMG1 analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP1 and finds that the media bearer information is not the media gateway that corresponds to first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element. Then VMG1 applies for allocating a VOIP DSP resource from the MG and binds the applied VOIP DSP resource and the network interface unit where RTP1 is located And the RTP3…… correct IP address, PORT number and other information to the media stream to RTP3. Then RTP1 network interface unit can receive the media stream sent by RTP3).
Regarding claim 5. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 4.
Qiao discloses, wherein the communication method further comprises: determining, by the media plane network element based on a case in which the first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element, to allocate a new media endpoint as the second media endpoint (page 5 10-42 , softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG . 7、 VMG1 analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP1 and finds that the media bearer information is not the media gateway that corresponds to first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element. Then VMG1 applies for allocating a VOIP DSP resource from the MG and binds the applied VOIP DSP resource and the network interface unit where RTP1 is located And the RTP3…… correct IP address, PORT number and other information to the media stream to RTP3. Then RTP1 network interface unit can receive the media stream sent by RTP3).
Regarding claim 6. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 1, wherein the information about the first media endpoint comprises an identifier of a media plane network element to which the first media endpoint belongs and an identifier of the first media endpoint (page 5 10-42 discloses softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG . Identifier of VMG1 corresponds to identifier of a media plane network element).
Regarding claim 7. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 1.
Qiao discloses, wherein the communication method further comprises: receiving, by the media plane network element, indication information from the application server, wherein the indication information indicates to perform the resource-type service, and the indication information comprises the information about the second media endpoint ((page 5 10-42 , softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG. VMG1 analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP1 and finds that the media bearer information is not the media gateway that corresponds to first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element. Then VMG1 applies for allocating a VOIP DSP resource from the MG and binds the applied VOIP DSP resource and the network interface unit where RTP1 is located And the RTP3); and
performing, by the media plane network element, the resource-type service based on the indication information (page 5 10-42 , softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG. VMG1 analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP1 and finds that the media bearer information is not the media gateway that corresponds to first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element. Then VMG1 applies for allocating a VOIP DSP resource from the MG and binds the applied VOIP DSP resource and the network interface unit where RTP1 is located And the RTP3).
Regarding claim 8. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 7.
Qiao discloses, wherein the request information further comprises a remote address, and the remote address indicates an address of a media endpoint that establishes a connection to the second media endpoint(page 5 10-42 , softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG).
Regarding claim 9. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 8, comprising:
when the local address of the second media endpoint is different from the remote address, providing, by the media plane network element, the resource-type service through the second media endpoint (page 5 10-42 , softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG. VMG1 analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP1 and finds that the media bearer information is not the media gateway that corresponds to first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element. Then VMG1 applies for allocating a VOIP DSP resource from the MG and binds the applied VOIP DSP resource and the network interface unit where RTP1 is located And the RTP3).
Regarding claim 10. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 1
Lei discloses, wherein the media plane network element is a unified media plane function (UMF) network element (fig. 5, MRF corresponds to UMF).
Regarding claim 16. Lei discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 5 MRF);
comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute a computer program stored in a memory (fig. 5 discloses MRF that comprises memory and processor), so that the apparatus is configured to:
All other limitations of claim 16 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 rejected above.
Regarding claim 17. The combination discloses communication apparatus according to claim 16.
All other limitations of claim 17 are similar with the limitations of claim 2 rejected above.
Regarding claim 18. The combination discloses communication apparatus according to claim 17.
All other limitations of claim 18 are similar with the limitations of claim 3 rejected above.
Regarding claim 19. The combination discloses communication apparatus according to claim 16.
All other limitations of claim 19 are similar with the limitations of claim 4 rejected above.
Regarding claim 20. The combination discloses communication apparatus according to claim 19.
All other limitations of claim 20 are similar with the limitations of claim 5 rejected above.
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lie (US pg. no. 20120275432), further in view of Qiao (WO 2007059650), Further in view of 3GPP (3GPP TR 23.700-87, “Study on system architecture enhancement for next generation real time communication”)
Regarding claim 11. Lie discloses a communication method comprising:
sending, by the application server, request information to the media plane network element (fig. 5 and [0031] in step 5, the SCC AS (AS) sends the INVITE message (request) to the MRF (media network element) and instructs it to assign (allocate) a media endpoint 1 for the local UE and a media endpoint 2 (media endpoint) for the remote UE)
, wherein the request information is used to request the media plane network element to allocate a media endpoint used to provide a resource-type service, and the request information comprises information about a first media endpoint used to provide an access-type service (fig. 5 and [0031] in step 5, the SCC AS (AS) sends the INVITE message (request) to the MRF (media network element) and instructs it to assign (allocate) a media endpoint 1 for the local UE and a media endpoint 2 (media endpoint) for the remote UE); and
receiving, by the application server, information about a second media endpoint from the media plane network element (([0055]upon reception of an INVITE message from the SCC AS, the media endpoint configuration means 901 assigns a media endpoint 1 for the local UE and a media endpoint 2 for the remote UE, and connects the media endpoints 1 and 2 together. The message sending means 902 is used for sending a response message (200 OK) with the session description protocol information of said media endpoints to said another network element. For example, the message sending means 902 sends a 200 OK message with the SDP information of the media endpoints 1 and 2 to the SCC AS);
But, Lei does not explicitly disclose: receiving, by an application server (SCC AS), information about a media plane network element from a service discovery function network element
However, in the same field of endeavour, 3GPP discloses receiving, by an application server (SCC AS), information about a media plane network element from a service discovery function network element (6.14.2.2 and fig. 6.14.2.2 discloses
1. The IMS NF (e.g. CSCF, IMS_AS, etc) invokes Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request to request an MRF - including the list of required media capabilities (which may be a wildcard for all media services).
2. The NRF authorizes the Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request. According to current 5G_SBA practices.
3. If the request is allowed, the NRF determines a set of MRF instance(s) matching the Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request and internal policies of the NRF and sends the information for the determined IMS_MRF instance(s);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Lei with 3GPP. The modification would allow selecting the right MRF with the right capability to enable efficient system for resource allocation and communication.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose: wherein the second media endpoint is determined by the media plane network element depending on whether the first media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element.
However, in the same field of endeavour, Qiao discloses wherein the second media endpoint is determined by the media plane network element depending on whether the first media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element(claim 6 discloses the softswitch (AS) instructs the virtual media gateway (media network element) to which the called user belongs respectively to associate corresponding users according to the user call, and Creating an RTP endpoint (endpoint) for the corresponding user in the association, characterized in that the method further comprises the following steps: The media gateway analyzes whether the RTP endpoint contains far-end media bearer information (determining media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element or not) and, if so, further analyzes the contents of the far-end media bearer information; The media gateway determines that the call belongs to the media gateway internal call according to the content of the remote media bearer information; The media gateway searches for the remote RTP endpoint corresponding to the RTP endpoint according to the content of the remote media bearer information in the RTP endpoint and searches for the corresponding remote user according to the remote RTP endpoint; The user of the RTP endpoint and the user of the remote RTP endpoint corresponding to the RTP endpoint are directly connected through the central TDM switching element; page 5, 28-38 discloses The media gateway analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 and finds that the IP address in the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 is the IP address of a certain network interface unit of the media gateway itself and determines that this is a call inside the media gateway and may Do not have to pass VOIP DSP unit codec processing, directly through the center TDM exchange unit session exchange. The media gateway queries the corresponding RTP1 endpoint (the IP address, the port number, and the like in the remote media bearer information of RTP2, which are the same as the RTP1's own IP address and port number) through the remote media bearer information of RTP2, And through RTP1 can query to user A. After user A is found, VMG2 records the near-end and far-end media related information of the RTP2 termination and releases the VOIP DSP resources, but still reserves the resources of the network interface unit. And through the central TDM circuit switching unit, the user B and user T TDM timeslots in two-way connection. The reply to softswitch 2 still returns the media bearing information of the network interface unit of RTP2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Lie with Qiao. The modification would allow Lei`s MRF to determine the second endpoint based on whether the first access endpoint identified in the request belonged to MRF. The modification would allow effectiveluy identifying networks endpoints are associated to enable effective connections among endpoints.
Regarding claim 12. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 11,
Qiao discloses, wherein the request information further comprises a remote address, and the remote address indicates an address of a media endpoint that establishes a connection to the second media endpoint (page 5 10- 50, softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG . 7、 VMG1 analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP1 and finds that the media bearer information is not the media gateway that corresponds to first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element. Then VMG1 applies for allocating a VOIP DSP resource from the MG and binds the applied VOIP DSP resource and the network interface unit where RTP1 is located And the RTP3…… correct IP address, PORT number and other information to the media stream to RTP3. Then RTP1 network interface unit can receive the media stream sent by RTP3.
Regarding claim 13. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 11.
Qiao discloses, wherein the first media endpoint belongs to the media plane network element, and a local address of the second media endpoint is the same as a local address of the first media endpoint (page 5 lines 28-33 discloses the media gateway analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 and finds that the IP address in the remote media bearer information of the RTP2 is the IP address of a certain network interface unit of the media gateway itself and determines that this is a call inside the media gateway and may Do not have to pass VOIP DSP unit codec processing, directly through the center TDM exchange unit session exchange. The media gateway queries the corresponding RTP1 endpoint (the IP address, the port number, and the like in the remote media bearer information of RTP2, which are the same as the RTP1's own IP address and port number).
Regarding claim 14. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 1.
Qiao discloses the combination discloses, wherein the first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element, and a local address of the second media endpoint is different from a local address of the first media endpoint (page 5 10- 50, softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG . 7、 VMG1 analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP1 and finds that the media bearer information is not the media gateway that corresponds to first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element. Then VMG1 applies for allocating a VOIP DSP resource from the MG and binds the applied VOIP DSP resource and the network interface unit where RTP1 is located And the RTP3…… correct IP address, PORT number and other information to the media stream to RTP3. Then RTP1 network interface unit can receive the media stream sent by RTP3).
Regarding claim 15. The combination discloses communication method according to claim 1.
Qiao discloses, wherein the communication method further comprises: sending, by the application server, indication information to the media plane network element, wherein the indication information indicates to perform the resource-type service, and the indication information comprises the information about the second media endpoint ((page 5 10-42 , softswitch 1 sends a modification command to RTP1 (first media endpoint) (media network element) to VMG1. The ordered remote media bearer information carries media bearer information of RTP3 corresponding to user C on media gateway AG. VMG1 analyzes the remote media bearer information of the RTP1 and finds that the media bearer information is not the media gateway that corresponds to first media endpoint does not belong to the media plane network element. Then VMG1 applies for allocating a VOIP DSP resource from the MG and binds the applied VOIP DSP resource and the network interface unit where RTP1 is located And the RTP3);
Conclusion
MESSERET F. GEBRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2445
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445