DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7, change “dried” to --solid--;
Claim 5, line 1, change “a” to --the--; and
Claim 10, line 1, before “ashes” insert --the-- and before “cremated” insert --the--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 1, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of the related patent each recite: A method of producing a solid cremation stone, comprising: collecting ashes from cremated animal remains; mixing the ashes with water and at least one binder in a predetermined ratio to produce a mixture; pouring the mixture into a mould; drying the mixture while in the mould to produce the solid stone; and sanding the dried stone to smooth a surface of the stone.
Dependent claims 2, 3, and 10 of the instant application also read on independent claim 1 of the related patent.
Dependent claims 4-9 of the instant application are identical to dependent claims 2-7, respectively, of the related patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US#2009/0077779) in view of Storts (US#2020/0383861).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Zimmerman discloses in [0015] a method of producing a solid cremation stone (concrete product), comprising: providing ashes from cremated animal ([0002] human (loved one) or pet) remains; mixing the ashes with water and at least one binder (cement) in a predetermined ratio to produce a mixture; pouring the mixture into a mould; and drying the mixture (allowing curing) while in the mould to produce the solid stone.
Regarding claim 1, Zimmerman fails to disclose sanding the dried stone to smooth a surface of the stone. However, as evidenced by Storts, such a method step is known in the analogous art, see Fig. 4 and [0044], wherein step 470 comprises sanding the cremated remains product 100 after drying (step 450) for smoothing a surface thereof. Therefore, as evidenced by Storts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by including the method step of sanding the dried stone to smooth a surface of the stone. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the method step of sanding the dried stone to smooth a surface of the stone would enhance the aesthetic appearance of the stone.
Regarding claim 2, Zimmerman discloses vibrating the mould to minimize bubbles ([0023], lines 7-10 vibrating the mold to compact the mixture, i.e. minimize bubbles).
Regarding claim 4, Zimmerman discloses coating the stone with a sealer and inherently allowing drying of the sealer thereafter ([0014], lines 20-23) and applying at least one coat of lacquer ([0014], lines 18-20, colorant applied to the surface).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Zimmerman discloses wherein the binder is a biopolymer, namely white Portland cement ([0036], lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 8, Zimmerman discloses the biopolymer binder being white Portland cement as opposed to calcium or sodium alginate. However, the specific biopolymer binder material is not critical to the applicant’s invention. Page 4, lines 19-21, of the specification of the instant application concedes, “Exemplary biopolymers may include one or more of calcium or sodium alginate; sorel cement ("magnesia" or magnesium oxide); silica; pozzolanic or white Portland cement.” Where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement, the particular arrangement is deemed to have been a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). It would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by utilizing calcium or sodium alginate as the biopolymer binder for the inherent material property advantages thereof as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zimmerman et al. (US#2009/0077779), in view of Storts (US#2020/0383861), and further in view of Vogel et al. (US#7266866).
Regarding claim 5, Zimmerman fails to disclose laser etching a surface of the solid stone. However, as evidenced by Vogel, such a method step is known in the analogous art, see col. 3, lines 59-60, and memorial product comprising the step of laser etching (engraving) a surface for aesthetic purposes. Therefore, as evidenced by Vogel, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by including the method step of laser etching a surface of the solid stone. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of this method step would enhance the aesthetic finish of the stone.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zimmerman et al. (US#2009/0077779), in view of Storts (US#2020/0383861), and further in view of Yardley (US#2002/0025392).
Regarding claim 10, Zimmerman fails to disclose grinding the ashes before mixing the ashes with water. However, as evidenced by Yardley, such a method step is known in the analogous art, see [0008], lines 1-3, and memorial product comprising an initial grinding step for ashes to produce a uniform powder for better mixing. Therefore, as evidenced by Yardley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by including the method step of grinding the ashes before mixing the ashes with water. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the method step of grinding the ashes before mixing the ashes with water help to produce a uniform powder for better mixing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Upon filing of an approved terminal disclaimer overcoming the above double patenting rejection, claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the method as claimed in detail, specifically creating and applying a slurry to fill surface deviations on the stone after the mixture is dried.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677