DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the final lines, lines 8-12, contain several errors.
In line 8, “with continuous edge” should read ‘with a continuous edge’.
In line 9, “the section difference” lacks antecedent basis.
In line 10, it is unclear what it means to refer to “the smooth form” in this way rather than simply ‘the wick’. The meaning of this choice to the metes and bounds of the claim are unknown.
In line 11, the word “respectively” serves no purpose.
In lines 10-12, referring to the measurement in the width direction of the wick as a “maximum length” even when it is being described as decreasing along the axial direction is confusing as the length can by definition not be ‘maximum’ anymore.
For purposes of compact prosecution, the final 5 lines of claim 1 have been interpreted as follows in order to allow for application of art:
“wherein the wick structure has a smooth form with a continuous edge and without sectional differences along the axial direction,
wherein the wick decreases in width along the axial direction.”
Claims 2-11 are also rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2012/0031588).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a heat pipe comprising: a flat tube having an axial (longest) direction (Fig. 3), width direction (second longest), and height direction (thinnest) perpendicular to each other (Fig. 3); the length of the width direction is greater than the height (Fig. 3); the tube includes a hollow chamber (102) and opposite sealed ends (opposite ends in the axial direction; Fig. 3); and a wick structure (any one of 210 in Fig. 3) disposed in the hollow chamber and extending along the axial direction (Fig. 3); the wick has a smooth form with a continuous edge without sectional differences (any of the wicks 210; see Fig. 3); the wick decreases in width along the axial direction (each decreases from its maximum width when measured at different points along the axial direction; Fig. 3).
Huang further teaches that: the axial direction is greater than the height (Fig. 3), per claim 2; the length is greater than the width (Fig. 3), per claim 3; the wick is disconnected from the opposite sealed ends int eh axial direction (see, e.g. Fig. 5c showing a cross-section with such disconnection), per claim 4; the wick contacts a bottom wall of the flat tube (Para. [0020]), per claim 7; a cross-section of the flat tube is rectangular (Fig. 3), per claim 10; the wick structure includes at least a support portion pressing an inner wall of the flat tube (Para. [0020]), per claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Cho (US 2004/0040696).
Regarding claims 8-9, Huang does not teach wick variations in thickness (i.e. height) axially.
Cho teaches that it is old and well-known to vary the thickness of a wick structure along its axis (Figs. 11b, 11c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the wick of Huang with thickness (height) variation along its axial direction, as taught by Cho, in order to optimize flow between vaporization and condensation portions of the heat pipe.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Lee (US 2010/0266864).
Huang does not specify that the wick structure is spaced apart from the sidewalls and the top surface of the tube.
Lee teaches that it is old and well-known to space the wick structure (12) from the side walls (Fig. 2) and the top surface (Para. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of Huang with the spacings of Lee in order to increase vapor mobility in the device, as taught by Lee.
Conclusion
/DEVON LANE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763