DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on March 19, 2025. Claims 1-18 have been canceled. Claims 19-37 are pending and presented for examination.
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,224,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims are anticipated by the claims recited in the U.S. Patent.
Said claims in both applications are directed to providing a secure meeting space that automatically adapts to the classification level of one or more participants. Both applications focus on the concept of insuring security in conference/meeting rooms by continuously monitoring meeting rooms to detect any changes that could impact security. In response, applying the proper security measures.
Taking claims 19, 29 and 35 in the instant application, as an exemplary to show the similarity in features being claimed in both applications, to compare to claims 1, 9 and 14 in the U.S. Patent (see comparison table below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, having the same claim elements of the parent application, to construct a system as claimed in the instant application capable of performing identical functions as the parent application. The rest of the instant application claims recite similar features as those cited in the U.S. Patent.
An exemplary table to show similarity among the conflicting claims.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,224,879
19. A system for adaptively controlling components associated with one or more areas of one or more facilities, the system comprising:
a system controller, including a memory device and a processor;
one or more sensors, associated with the one or more areas and communicatively coupled to the system controller;
a first subset of the components, operably coupled to the system controller;
a meeting interface, configured within an interior region of a first area and operably coupled to the system controller, wherein the meeting interface comprises a second subset of the components;
the system controller memory device further including instructions, which when executed by the processor, causes the system controller to:
receive meeting parameters associated with the first area,
receive security information associated with a second area,
continuously monitor status information associated with the one or more areas using the one or more sensors, and
automatically control a response, from any of the components, based on the meeting parameters, security information, and monitoring.
Examiner’s note: while the claim language slightly differs in both claims but both claims cover similar features of insuring security in a meeting room by continuously monitoring the meeting room to detect any changes that could impact security & applying proper security measures.
1. A system, comprising:
a local meeting space configured at a location to house one or more local occupants;
one or more remote meeting spaces configured at one or more remote locations, with respect to the location of the local meeting space, to house one or more remote occupants;
a first meeting interface configured at the local meeting space and a second meeting interface configured at the one or more remote meeting spaces;
a communication channel configured over a communication network coupled between the local meeting space, the one or more remote meeting spaces, and each of the meeting interfaces;
a system controller including a controller memory device and a processor, operably coupled to the communication channel, the meeting interfaces, the local meeting space, and the one or more remote meeting spaces, wherein the controller memory device embodies instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, causes the controller to perform the steps of:
receiving meeting space usage criteria associated with the local and remote meeting spaces,
determining security parameters associated with the local and remote meeting spaces,
detecting changes to the determined security parameters associated with the local meeting space, and
disabling the communication channel between the local meeting space and one or more of the remote meeting spaces based on the detected security parameter changes associated with the local meeting space.
29. A method implemented with a system controller, having memory and a processor, for adaptively controlling components associated with one or more areas, the method comprising the steps of:
receiving, at the system controller, meeting parameters associated with a first area,
receiving, at the system controller, security information associated with a second area,
continuously monitoring, by the system controller, status information associated with the one or more areas using one or more sensors, and
automatically controlling, with the system controller, a response by any of the components based on the meeting parameters, security information, and monitoring.
Examiner’s note: while the claim language slightly differs in both claims but both claims cover similar features of insuring security in a meeting room by continuously monitoring the meeting room to detect any changes that could impact security & applying proper security measures.
9. A method implemented with a controller having a processor, the method comprising:
receiving, at the controller processor, meeting usage parameters associated with a local meeting space configured at a first location and one or more remote meeting spaces configured at a second location;
determining, by the controller processor, security parameters associated with the local and remote meeting spaces based on the received usage parameters;
detecting to the determined security parameters associated with the local and remote meeting spaces respectively, and
the controller processor automatically disabling a communication channel between the local meeting space and one or more of the remote meeting spaces based on the detected security parameter changes associated with the local meeting space.
35. A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a computer program having machine-readable instructions for adaptively controlling components associated with one or more areas, which when executed by a processor causes the computer to perform the steps comprising:
receiving, at the computer, meeting parameters associated with a first area,
receiving, at the computer, security information associated with a second area,
continuously monitoring, by the computer, status information associated with the one or more areas using one or more sensors, and
automatically controlling, with the computer, a response by any of the components based on the meeting parameters, security information, and monitoring.
Examiner’s note: while the claim language slightly differs in both claims but both claims cover similar features of insuring security in a meeting room by continuously monitoring the meeting room to detect any changes that could impact security & applying proper security measures.
14. A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a computer program having machine-readable instructions for performing, when running on a computer, steps comprising:
receiving, at the controller processor, meeting usage parameters associated with a local meeting space configured at a first location and one or more remote meeting spaces configured at a second location;
determining, by the controller processor, security parameters associated with the local and remote meeting spaces based on the received usage parameters;
the controller processor detecting changes to the determined security parameters associated with the local and remote meeting spaces respectively, and
the controller processor automatically disabling a communication channel between the local meeting space and one or more of the remote meeting spaces based on the detected security parameter changes associated with the local meeting space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carlos et al “Carlos”, US PGPub. No. 20170339216.
As per claims 19, 29 and 35, Carlos teaches a method, a non-transitory computer readable medium and a system for adaptively controlling components associated with one or more areas of one or more facilities (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0128], [0134]) , the system comprising:
a system controller, including a memory device and a processor (Fig. 9, Paragraph(s) [0127-0130]);
one or more sensors, associated with the one or more areas and communicatively coupled to the system controller (Paragraph(s) [0015], [0052-0053], [0055]; as soon as participant 556 approaches the room or enters the room, sensor 504 and/or sensors 506a and 506b can ascertain that a new participant has entered the room.);
a first subset of the components, operably coupled to the system controller (Fig. 5, Paragraph(s) [0016], [0052]);
a meeting interface, configured within an interior region of a first area and operably coupled to the system controller, wherein the meeting interface comprises a second subset of the components (Paragraph(s) [0038], [0053], [0078]);
the system controller memory device further including instructions, which when executed by the processor, causes the system controller to:
receive meeting parameters associated with the first area (Paragraph(s) [0014], [0101]; a service provider can receive a wide variety of information associated with the state of a meeting, the state of meeting participants, and the like from different locations. The service provider 104 can apply a set of rules to the information to make a decision with respect to the current state of the meeting. Carlos further discloses in Paragraph [0065] conference rooms, sites, and devices may have their own associated security levels. Thus, a conference room with a high security level would not be an appropriate meeting location for individuals with only a low security clearance. In this instance, the system can ascertain that one or more individuals do not qualify to participate in a meeting held in a particular high security level conference room),
receive security information associated with a second area (Paragraph(s) [0075]; based on state changes within the conference room, the system can make intelligent decisions with respect to exposing assets during the content sharing session),
continuously monitor status information associated with the one or more areas using the one or more sensors (Paragraph(s) [0053], [0078]; the devices can be used for detecting participants in the meeting room, detecting participants entering and leaving the meeting room, counting participants, identifying participants, authenticating meeting participants, and the like. The devices can also have other uses such as, more generally, detecting various states associated with a meeting or meeting room, such as time of day (e.g., certain times of day may be designated for confidential meetings). To this end, the devices can include, by way of example and not limitation, RFID readers, cell phone proximity devices, clocks, Bluetooth devices, image sensors, motion sensors, biometric sensors such as room retinal readers and fingerprint scanners, sonic sensors, microphones, asset event sensors that can sense or detect asset state (e.g., changing asset states, asset interaction by a meeting participant), room event sensors (e.g., door opened or closed, window shades opened or closed, switchable glass on or off, video input/output), and the like), and
automatically control a response, from any of the components, based on the meeting parameters, security information, and monitoring (Paragraph(s) [0051], [0053], [0066], [0122]; the security level of an asset can be modified based on who provides an annotation on the asset. For example, an individual may be designated as a high-security individual such that any annotations they make on a particular asset automatically change the asset's security level to a high level. Carlos further discloses in Paragraph [0079] when a person enters a meeting room, the system can identify that a new person has entered the room and can make an intelligent decision on whether to continue to display the particular asset. For example, if the system identifies that the person who just entered the meeting room is not cleared for a particular asset or, alternatively, is unable to ascertain whether the person is cleared, the system may obfuscate the asset until a resolution can be reached as to whether the person is cleared for the asset).
As per claims 20 and 30, Carlos teaches wherein the one or more sensors are configured to determine a presence of an unauthorized electronic device (Paragraph(s) [0016], [0058]).
As per claims 21 and 31, Carlos teaches wherein the one or more sensors are configured to determine a presence of wireless communication signals (Paragraph(s) [0058]).
As per claims 22 and 32, Carlos teaches wherein the one or more sensors are configured to determine a presence of firearms or explosives (Paragraph(s) [0053]).
As per claims 23, 33 and 36, Carlos teaches wherein the system controller memory device embodies instructions, which when executed by the processor, causes the controller to determine, using the one or more sensors, that an unauthorized device is present within the first area, and wherein the automatic control of a response further comprises the system controller disabling one or more components of the second subset of components (Paragraph(s) [0056]).
As per claims 24, 34 and 37, Carlos teaches wherein the system controller memory device embodies instructions, which when executed by the processor, causes the controller to determine, using the one or more sensors, that an unauthorized device is present within the first area, and wherein the automatic control of a response further comprises the system controller powering one or more components of the first subset of components (Paragraph(s) [0053], [0056], [0066], [0072]).
As per claim 25, Carlos teaches wherein the second subset of components comprises any of one or more display devices, microphone devices, camera devices, speakerphone devices, and video teleconferencing devices (Paragraph(s) [0072], [0131]).
As per claim 26, Carlos teaches wherein the first subset of components comprises any of one or more external status displays, external in relation to the first area and one or more windows with privacy glass configured between two adjoining areas (Paragraph(s) [0053], [0074]).
As per claim 27, Carlos teaches wherein the first area and second area are configured as adjoining areas within a facility (Paragraph(s) [0050]).
As per claim 28, Carlos teaches wherein the first area and second area are configured within separate distinct facilities (Paragraph(s) [0058]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
/MOHAMED A. WASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454