DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, “the body” is recited. The “the” should likely be an “a” because the “body” has not been previously recited in claim 15 or 16. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a body”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto et al., GB 462405 A (hereinafter Pinto).
Regarding claim 1, Pinto teaches an equipment cabinet (right hand door 1, left hand door 2, fixed cabinet portion 3; page 2, lines 30-35 discusses the invention being related to wardrobes and cupboards which are used to store equipment) comprising:
a cabinet section (2; 3);
a door (1) hingedly supported by the cabinet section (it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that both 1 and 2 would be hingedly supported by 3 because they are doors for the cabinet) to be movable between an open orientation (Fig 3) and a closed orientation (Fig 1), the door including a door lock (lock 4) with an arm (bolt head 5) that is movable from an unlocked orientation (Fig 3 depicts 5 in a unlocked orientation because door 1 is open) to a locked orientation to secure the door, relative to the cabinet section, in the closed orientation (Figs 1;2 depict 5 extended into a locked orientation thereby securing 1 relative to 3); and
a securing assembly (plate 6; rod member 8) supported by the cabinet section (Fig 3 depicts 6;8 mounted on 2 which is hingedly mounted on 3), the securing assembly including:
a handle (downward hook portion 9; Figs 2;3 depict 9 to resemble a handle thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 2 of handle and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term) that extends outside of the cabinet section to be covered by the door in the closed orientation (Fig 1 depicts 9 extending away from 3 covered by a closed 1) and uncovered by the door in the open orientation (Fig 3 depicts 9 uncovered by an open 1); and
a body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) that extends from the handle to inside of the cabinet section (Figs 1;3 depict the body extending from 9 to inside 2;3) and is rotatable (page 3, lines 34-54 discusses the rotation of 8), by rotation of the handle from outside of the cabinet section (page 3, lines 34-54 discuss the engagement of 5, which is located outside of 2;3 causing the rotation of 9), between a first orientation (Fig 3) and a second orientation (Figs 1;2);
the arm of the door lock:
in the locked orientation, blocking rotation of the body from the second orientation to the first orientation (Fig 2 depicts 5 of 4 in the locked orientation and blocking rotation of 8 and its body to Fig 3); and
in the unlocked orientation, permitting rotation of the body from the second orientation to the first orientation (Fig 3 depicts 5 of 4 in the unlocked orientation and permitting the rotation from Fig 2).
Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto
Regarding claim 2, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 1, wherein the body includes a recessed area (hook portion 10; Fig 2 depicts 10 formed from a bend in 8 which forms an indentation thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 3a of recess and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term); and wherein the arm (5), in the locked orientation (Figs 1;2), extends into the recessed area to block rotation of the body from the second orientation to the first orientation (Figs 1;2 depict 5 extended into 10 blocking rotation of the body of 8 from the second orientation to the first orientation).
Regarding claim 3, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 2, wherein the recessed area (10) of the body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) is positioned within the cabinet section (Fig 3 depicts 10 positioned within 2;3).
Regarding claim 4, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 1, wherein the cabinet section (2; 3) is a first cabinet section (2) that is hingedly coupled to a second cabinet section (3; page 3, lines 15-22).
Regarding claim 5, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 4, wherein, with the body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) in the first orientation (Fig 3), the first cabinet section (2) is hingedly movable relative to the second cabinet section (3; Fig 3 depicts with 10 disengaged from projection 11, 2 is free to hingedly move relative to 3); and wherein, with the body in the second orientation (Figs 1;2), the securing assembly (6; 8) locks the first cabinet section against hinged movement relative to the second cabinet section (Figs 1;2 depict 10 of 6;8 engaged with 11 thereby preventing rotation of 2 relative to 3).
Regarding claim 6, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 1, wherein the cabinet section (2; 3) is a first cabinet section (2) and the securing assembly (6; 8) further includes a latch (hook portion 10) operably coupled to the body (Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto depicts 10 coupled to the body); and wherein, with the body in the second orientation (Figs 1;2), the latch secures the first cabinet section relative to a second cabinet section (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto).
Regarding claim 7, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 6, wherein rotation of the body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) directly rotates the latch (10; page 3, lines 34-54).
Regarding claim 8, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 1, wherein tabs (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) extend from the body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) within the cabinet section 2;3; Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto depict the tabs extending upwards and downwards from the body), the tabs engaging an interior surface of the cabinet section in the second orientation to secure the body to the cabinet section (Fig 3-Pinto depicts the tabs mounted on and engaging an interior surface of 2).
Regarding claim 9, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 8, wherein engagement between the tabs (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) and the interior surface of the cabinet section (2;3) blocks axial removal of the handle from the cabinet section (Figs 1;3 depicts how 9 is prevented from removal from 2).
Regarding claim 11, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 1, wherein the arm (5) of the door lock (4), in the locked orientation (Fig 1;2), secures the door (1) in the closed orientation (Fig 1) to block a front access opening of the cabinet section (2;3; Fig 1 depicts 5 engaged with 9 thereby locking 1 closed thereby blocking a front access opening of 2;3).
Regarding claim 12, Pinto teaches an equipment cabinet (right hand door 1, left hand door 2, fixed cabinet portion 3; page 2, lines 30-35 discusses the invention being related to wardrobes and cupboards which are used to store equipment) comprising:
a cabinet section (2; 3);
a door (1) supported by the cabinet section (it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that both 1 and 2 would be hingedly supported by 3 because they are doors for the cabinet) to be movable between an open orientation (Fig 3) and a closed orientation (Fig 1); a door lock (door lock 4; bolt head 5) that is movable to a locked orientation (Figs 1;2) to lock the door to the cabinet section, with the door in the closed orientation (Figs 1;2 depict 5 extended into a locked orientation thereby securing 1 relative to 3 in a closed orientation; and
a securing assembly (plate 6; rod member 8) that is coupled to the cabinet section (Fig 3 depicts 6;8 mounted on 2 which is hingedly mounted on 3) and includes:
a handle (downward hook portion 9; Figs 2;3 depict 9 to resemble a handle thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 2 of handle and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term) positioned to be covered by the door when the door is in the closed orientation (Fig 1 depicts 9 covered by 1 in the closed orientation) and uncovered by the door when the door is in the open orientation (Fig 3 depict s 9 uncovered by 1 in the open orientation), the handle being rotatable relative to the cabinet section, between a free orientation (Fig 3 depicts 9 in a free orientation) and an engaged orientation (Figs 1;2 depicts 9 in an engaged orientation with projection 11);
the door lock, in the locked orientation to lock the door to the cabinet section, engaging the securing assembly to block movement of the handle between the engaged orientation and the free orientation (Figs 1;2 depicts 4;5 in a locked orientation, with 5 extended, engaging 9 of 8 thereby blocking movement between Figs 1;2 and Fig 3).
Regarding claim 13, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 12, wherein the door lock (4; 5) is rotatable to the locked orientation (page 3, lines 34-54 discusses the arm being the key to operate 4 in a similar manner to the instant invention and the rotation of the key would cause 5 to extend and lock 9 as depicted in Figs 1;2); and wherein the handle (9) is rotatable, separately from the door lock, between the engaged orientation (Figs 1;2) and the free orientation (Fig3; page 3, lines 34-54).
Regarding claim 14, Pinto teaches the equipment cabinet of claim 13, wherein the securing assembly (6; 8) further includes a body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) extending from the handle to inside the cabinet section (Figs 1;3 depicts a body extending inside 2;3); and wherein the door lock (4; 5) engages the body inside of the cabinet section to block movement of the handle (Figs 1;2 depict 4 engaging the body inside 2;3 blocking movement of 9).
Regarding claim 15, the Examiner notes that the instant method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. When the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious by the prior art, therefore Pinto teaches a method of securing an equipment cabinet (right hand door 1, left hand door 2, fixed cabinet portion 3; page 2, lines 30-35 discusses the invention being related to wardrobes and cupboards which are used to store equipment), the method comprising:
moving a door (1) to a closed orientation (Figs 1;2) relative to a cabinet section (2; 3), so that the door covers a handle (downward hook portion 9; Figs 2;3 depict 9 to resemble a handle thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 2 of handle and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term of a securing assembly (plate 6; rod member 8) that is secured to the cabinet section (Figs 1;3 depict 6;8 secured to 2), the handle being movable relative to the cabinet section between a free orientation (Fig 3) and an engaged orientation (Figs 1;2); and
after moving the door to the closed orientation (Fig 1), operating a door lock (door lock 4; bolt head 5) secured to the door (Fig 3 depicts 4 secured to 1) so that the door lock:
locks the door to the cabinet section in the closed orientation, with the door covering the handle (Fig 1 depicts 5 engaging 9 thereby moving hook like portion 10 to engage projection 11 thereby locking 2;3 in the closed orientation); and
engages the securing assembly to block movement of the handle between the free and engaged orientations (Figs 1;2 depicts 5 engaging 9 such that it blocks any movement of the body of 8).
Regarding claim 16, Pinto teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: operating the door lock (4; 5) to:
unlock the door for movement from the closed orientation to an open orientation, to uncover the handle (movement from Fig 3 to Fig 1 depicts 4;5 operated in order to disengaged from 9 thereby allowing 1 to open and uncover 9); and
disengage from a body (see claim interpretation under claim 16 Claim Objection; see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) of the securing assembly (3; 4), to allow rotation of the handle relative to the cabinet section (movement from Figs 1;2 to Fig 3 depicts 5 disengaging with the body and allowing rotation of 9 relative to 2;3).
Regarding claim 17, Pinto teaches the method of claim 15, wherein operating the door (4; 5) lock includes rotating an arm (page 3, lines 34-54 discusses the arm being the key to operate 4) to lock the door (1) and engage the securing assembly (6; 8; page 3, lines 34-54 discusses the rotation of the key arm would cause 5 to extend and engage 9).
Regarding claim 18, Pinto teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the arm (page 3, lines 34-54 discusses the arm being the key to operate 4) blocks rotation of a body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto) inside of the cabinet section (2; 3) to block movement of the handle (9) from the engaged orientation (Figs 1;2) to the free orientation (Fig 3; page 3, lines 34-54 discusses the rotation of the key extends 5 from 4 thereby blocking any movement of 9 which is depicted in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 19, Pinto teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the arm (page 3, lines 34-54 discusses the arm being the key to operate 4) rotates on a different axis than the body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 1-Pinto; Fig 3 depicts 4 mounted on 1 in such a way that any key would be orthogonal to 1 which would make it rotate on a different axis that 8 which is mounted parallel to outer surface of 1).
Regarding claim 20, Pinto teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the handle (9) extends within a front opening of the cabinet section (2; 3) that provides access to inside of the cabinet section (Fig 3 depicts 9 extending within a front opening which provide access to inside 2;3); and wherein the door (1), in the closed orientation (Fig 1), blocks access to the inside of the cabinet section via the front opening (Fig 1 depicts 1 secured against 2 thereby blocking access to the inside of 2;3 via the now closed front opening).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, while Pinto teaches it is known in the art for equipment cabinets to comprise a door lock with an arm, wherein, with the arm in the unlocked orientation, the body of the securing assembly is rotatable from the second orientation to a third orientation by rotation of the handle of the securing assembly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify Pinto as claimed in the instant invention wherein the body is axially removable from the cabinet section in the third orientation; without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art for equipment cabinets and locking/latching devices.
Efinger et al., US 10427149 B2, teaches a laboratory cabinet with a cabinet section, a door with a door lock and a securing assembly.
Chen et al., CN 211238969 U, teaches a three-phase load manual adjusting switch box of intelligent distribution network with a cabinet section, a door with a door lock and a securing assembly.
KR 20190002506 U teaches a water meter box with a cabinet section, a door with a door lock and a securing assembly.
Wang et al., CN 115126350 A, teaches a door lock device of power metering cabinet with a cabinet section, a door with a door lock and a securing assembly. (Note: this reference was published after the effective filing date of the instant application).
/STEVEN A TULLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3675