DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to an application filed 10 February 2025, which claims priority to a plurality of provisional applications and is a continuation in part of an application that claims priority to 6 November 2023.
Claims 1-12 were originally filed and subject to a restriction requirement. Applicant elected claims 1 and 3-9 without traverse. Claims 2 and 10 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1 and 3-9 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 18 February 20216 have been considered by the Office to the extent indicated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the acronym IMU without defining it. Accordingly the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear.
Claims 1 and 3 recite the limitation may. Claims 7 and 8 recite the limitation such as. As written, it is unclear whether the material following the limitations may or such as are required by the claimed invention. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim are unknown.
To the extent that other claims rely on claims that are rejected under 35 USC 112 and fail to correct the deficiencies of the claims they rely on, those other claims are rejected for the same reasons as the claims they rely on. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1 and 3-9 are within the four statutory categories. Claims 1 and 3-9 are drawn to a health management system, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. machine).
Prong 1 of Step 2A
Claim 1 recites: A health management system comprising:
a personnel allocation processor for allocating personnel to conduct home or clinic sessions with diabetes patients known to the system; and
a gait analysis processor receiving IMU data from cellphones worn by the diabetes patients and providing the personnel allocation processor with indications of a subset of the diabetes patients whose IMU data indicates new deterioration; and
wherein allocation of personnel by the personnel allocation processor at least partly favors diabetes patients falling within the subset over diabetes patients who do not fall within the subset;
wherein the personnel allocation processor may comprise doctors' office software for managing appointments, such software having priority logic accepting prioritization via a machine interface.
The underlined limitations as shown above, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a certain method of organizing human activity because they recite managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (i.e. social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions – in this case analyzing gait data to determine whether a patient is deteriorating), e.g. see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Any limitations not identified above as part of the abstract idea(s) are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Dependent claims 3-9 include other limitations, for example claims 3, 6, 7 and 8 further prioritizes patients or analyzes gait, and claims 4 and 5 analyzes images, but these only serve to further narrow the abstract idea, and a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, even if the judicial exception is narrow, e.g. see MPEP 2106.04. Additionally, any limitations in dependent claims 2-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15, 17-18, and 20 not addressed above are deemed additional elements to the abstract idea, and will be further addressed below. Hence dependent claims 3-9 are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claim 1.
Prong 2 of Step 2A
Claims 1 and 3-9 are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e. any limitations that are not identified as part of the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception – for example, the recitation of training the structural components of the computer and the cellphone, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, e.g. see paragraphs 28 and 34 of the present Specification, see MPEP 2106.05(f); and/or
generally link the stract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use – for example, the claim language limiting the data to IMU data treatment data and intradialytic hypotension events, which amounts to limiting the abstract idea to the field of healthcare, see MPEP 2106.05(h); and/or
adding insignificant extrasolution activity to the abstract idea, for example mere data gathering, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, and/or insignificant application (e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Additionally, dependent claims 3-9 include other limitations, but these limitations also amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception (e.g. the machine interface of claim 8), generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g. the types of data disclosed in dependent claims 3-9), and/or do not include any additional elements beyond those already recited in independent claim 1, and hence also do not integrate the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
Claims 1 and 3-9 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because the additional elements (i.e. the non-underlined limitations above – in this case, the structural components of the computer and the cellphone), as stated above, are directed towards no more than limitations that amount to mere instructions to apply the exception, generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity comprises limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The Specification expressly disclosing that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature:
Paragraphs 28 and 34 of the Specification discloses that the additional elements (i.e. the structural components of the computer) comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions (i.e. receive and process data) that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e. healthcare);
Relevant court decisions: The following are examples of court decisions demonstrating well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II):
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.");
iii. Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225, 110 USPQ2d 1984 (2014) (creating and maintaining "shadow accounts"); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log); and
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Dependent claims 3-9 include other limitations, but none of these limitations are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because, as stated above, the aforementioned dependent claims do not recite any additional elements not already recited in independent claim 1, and/or the additional elements recited in the aforementioned dependent claims similarly amount to mere instructions to apply the exception (e.g. the machine interface of claim 8), generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g. the types of data disclosed in dependent claims 3-9), and hence do not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 1 and 3-9 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tsur et al. (U.S. PG-Pub 2022/0111257 A1), hereinafter Tsur, further in view of Movva (U.S. Patent 9798860 B1).
As per claims 1, 3 and 7, Tsur discloses A health management system comprising (Tsur, see Fig. 13 and corresponding text.):
a personnel allocation processor for allocating personnel to conduct home or clinic sessions with … patients known to the system (Tsur discloses a system to provide recommendations for therapists of patients, see paragraphs 26, 35, 37, 49, 52, 58, 59, 73, 151, 359 and Fig. 13.); and
a gait analysis processor receiving IMU data from cellphones worn by the diabetes patients and providing the personnel allocation processor with indications of a subset of the … patients whose IMU data indicates new deterioration (Tsur, system collects cellphone IMU data from patients, transfers that data to a second processor to evaluate the data and determine which groups of patients require what further assistance, see paragraphs 37, 46-52, 68 and Fig. 13.); and
wherein allocation of personnel by the personnel allocation processor at least partly favors … patients falling within the subset over … patients who do not fall within the subset (Tsur, system collects cellphone IMU data from patients, transfers that data to a second processor to evaluate the data and determine which groups of patients require what further assistance, see paragraphs 37, 46-52, 68, 73 and Fig. 13.);
wherein the personnel allocation processor may comprise doctors' office software for managing appointments (Tsur discloses a system to provide recommendations for therapists of patients, see paragraphs 26, 35, 37, 49, 52, 58, 59, 73, 151, 359 and Fig. 13.); and
7. wherein the gait analysis processor is trained to predict at least one direct testing result, such as ankle brachial index test, or foot imaging tests evaluating arterial blockage, such as ultrasound or angiography (Tsur discloses outcome predictions, see paragraphs 43, 44, 90 and 361.).
Tsur fails to explicitly disclose:
consideration of diabetic patients,
software having priority logic accepting prioritization via a machine interface, and
3. wherein prioritization may comprise patients within the subset being defined as urgent and at least patients not falling within the subset being defined as routine rather than urgent.
Movva teaches that it was old and well known in the art of healthcare communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose:
consideration of diabetic patients (Movva, see C(L32-43), and
software having priority logic accepting prioritization via a machine interface and wherein prioritization may comprise patients within the subset being defined as urgent and at least patients not falling within the subset being defined as routine rather than urgent (Movva, see Figs. 2 and 11.),
in order to provide “methods and systems which keeps patients in the lowest cost setting of care, the home, for as long as possible, through the use of wearable sensor technology to determine when a patient's health may be degrading to trigger progressively higher levels of care and involvement” (Movva, C1L13-18.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product configured for sensor-based enhancement of physical rehabilitation of Tsur to include consideration of diabetic patients and prioritization software having levels of urgency, as taught by Movva, in order to arrive at a product configured for sensor-based enhancement of physical rehabilitation “which keeps patients in the lowest cost setting of care, the home, for as long as possible, through the use of wearable sensor technology to determine when a patient's health may be degrading to trigger progressively higher levels of care and involvement” (Movva, C1L13-18.). Moreover, merely adding a well-known element into a well-known system, to produce a predictable result to one of ordinary skill in the art, does not render the invention patentably distinct over such combination (see MPEP 2141).
Both Tsur and Movva are directed to the electronic processing of patient healthcare data and specifically to monitoring the health of patients using devices.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform, see MPEP 2114 (II) and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). “Language that suggest or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation”, see MPEP 2111.04.
The following limitation is interpreted as an intended use of the claimed invention:
1. … for allocating personnel to conduct home or clinic sessions with diabetes known to the system.
The prior art is capable of performing the intended use recitation, therefore the prior art meets the limitations.
Claims 4, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tsur/Movva further in view of Khandelwal et al. (WIPO Pub. 2022/040576 A1), hereinafter Khandelwal.
As per claims 4, 5 and 9, Tsur/Movva disclose claim 1, discussed above. Tsur/Movva also disclose identifying and contacting patients within the subset and tracking changes to the patient over time including diabetic patients, as shown above. Tsur/Movva fail to specifically disclose:
4. upload an image of the patient's foot, and wherein the image is automatically image-processed to identify discoloration each time the new deterioration suggests an increase in risk of gangrene;
5. upload an image of the patient's foot, and wherein the image is automatically image-processed to identify changes in foot shape or alignment relative to previous images in the system and/or relative to population norms each time the new deterioration suggests an increase in risk that nerve damage has led to a weakening of bones in the foot; and
9. wherein the gait analysis processor, responsive to identification of diabetic neuropathy by the system, is configured to schedule evaluations of neuropathic arthropathy, where each evaluation includes prompting the patient identified as having diabetic neuropathy to upload an image, and automatically processing the image to identify foot shape changes.
Khandelwal teaches that it was old and well known in the art of healthcare communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose:
4. upload an image of the patient's foot, and wherein the image is automatically image-processed to identify discoloration each time the new deterioration suggests an increase in risk of gangrene (Khandelwal discloses using identifying discoloration of photos of feet in order to determine whether the user’s health is deteriorating, see paragraph 70 and Fig. 13 and corresponding text.);
5. upload an image of the patient's foot, and wherein the image is automatically image-processed to identify changes in foot shape or alignment relative to previous images in the system and/or relative to population norms each time the new deterioration suggests an increase in risk that nerve damage has led to a weakening of bones in the foot (Khandelwal discloses using identifying discoloration of photos of feet in order to determine whether the user’s health is deteriorating, see paragraph 70 and Fig. 13 and corresponding text.); and
9. wherein the gait analysis processor, responsive to identification of diabetic neuropathy by the system, is configured to schedule evaluations of neuropathic arthropathy, where each evaluation includes prompting the patient identified as having diabetic neuropathy to upload an image, and automatically processing the image to identify foot shape changes (Khandelwal discloses using identifying discoloration of photos of feet in order to determine whether the user’s health is deteriorating, see paragraph 70 and Fig. 13 and corresponding text. Khandelwal specifically considers diabetic neuropathy, see paragraph 4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product configured for sensor-based enhancement of physical rehabilitation of Tsur/Movva to include tracking changes of a patient’s health by analyzing images of their feet over time, as taught by Khandelwal, in order to product configured for sensor-based enhancement of physical rehabilitation that provides specific methods of monitoring the health of a patient’s feet. Moreover, merely adding a well-known element into a well-known system, to produce a predictable result to one of ordinary skill in the art, does not render the invention patentably distinct over such combination (see MPEP 2141).
Both Tsur and Khandelwal are directed to the electronic processing of patient healthcare data.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tsur/Movva further in view of Bosnina F, et al. “Developing a diagnostic framework for patients presenting with Exercise Induced Leg Pain (EILP): a scoping review.” J Foot Ankle Res. 2023 Nov 21;16(1):82. doi: 10.1186/s13047-023-00680-6. PMID: 37990284; PMCID: PMC10662794, hereinafter EILP.
As per claim 6, Tsur/Movva disclose claim 1, discussed above. Tsur/Movva also discloses classifying data with the gait analysis processor, as shown above. Tsur/Movva fails to explicitly disclose distinguishing between peripheral artery disease which leads to leg pain, and peripheral artery disease which leads to numbness.
However, EILP teaches that it was old and well known in the art of healthcare communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose distinguishing between peripheral artery disease which leads to leg pain, and peripheral artery disease which leads to numbness (See Fig. 3 on page 9 of EILP, which describes patient synonyms of numbness v. claudication.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product configured for sensor-based enhancement of physical rehabilitation of Tsur/Movva to include an symptom distinguishing of PAD, as taught by EILP, in order to arrive at a product configured for sensor-based enhancement of physical rehabilitation that provides fine level analysis of patient data. Moreover, merely adding a well-known element into a well-known system, to produce a predictable result to one of ordinary skill in the art, does not render the invention patentably distinct over such combination (see MPEP 2141).
Both Tsur and EILP are directed to the consideration of patient healthcare data.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tsur/Movva further in view of Higbie et al. (U.S. PG-Pub 2012/0109686 A1), hereinafter Higbie.
As per claim 8, Tsur/Movva disclose claim 1, discussed above. Tsur/Movva also discloses wherein the gait analysis processor has a machine interface for diabetes patients' medical records, and wherein symptoms such as peripheral artery disease are automatically added to patients' medical records responsive to classification of a patient as suffering from said symptoms by said gait analysis processor (Tsur discloses storing all generated data, see paragraph 140. Further, it is old and well known in the medical arts to automatically store a symptom.).
Tsur/Movva fail to explicitly disclose an option for human override and/or with an indication in the medical record that the symptom has been added to the medical record using machine intelligence.
The Office notes that provide a delete/override function to a user of a given level would be obvious and well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art. However, in the interest of expediting prosecution, the Office notes that Higbie teaches that it was old and well known in the art of healthcare communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose an option for human override and/or with an indication in the medical record that the symptom has been added to the medical record using machine intelligence (Higbie, paragraph 754 provides a user with editing functionality of a medical record system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product configured for sensor-based enhancement of physical rehabilitation of Tsur/Movva to include an EMR override functionality, as taught by Higbie, in order to arrive at a product configured for sensor-based enhancement of physical rehabilitation provide a user with the ability to remove questionable data from a patient’s medical record. Moreover, merely adding a well-known element into a well-known system, to produce a predictable result to one of ordinary skill in the art, does not render the invention patentably distinct over such combination (see MPEP 2141).
Both Tsur and Higbie are directed to the electronic processing of patient healthcare data.
Conclusion
Unused but cited relevant prior art includes:
Pedersen et al. (U.S. PG-Pub 2017/0076446 A1), which discloses for assessing a wound.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Mark Holcomb, whose telephone number is 571.270.1382. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (8-5). If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kambiz Abdi, can be reached at 571.272.6702.
/MARK HOLCOMB/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685
7 May 2026