DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
a) number 68, rectangularly shaped receptacle or recess (see spec. paragraph 0023) is not shown in any of the Figures and especially in Figure 11 as discussed in the specification at page 5, paragraph 0023, lines 16-19;
b) number 90, plurality of teeth (see spec. paragraph 0025) is not shown in any of the Figures and especially in Figure 2 where this structure is most clearly illustrated;
c) number 162, housing (see spec. paragraph 0032) is not shown in any of the Figures and especially Figures 12-13; and
d) number 164, plurality of screws (see spec. paragraph 0032) is not shown in any of the Figures and especially Figures 12-13.
The drawings are objected to because both occurrences of the number “76” and their associated reference lines in Figure 2 are incorrectly denoting the opposing structures on the race 42 when the specification specifically states at page 5, paragraph 0024, lines 2-3 that “A cylindrical cam follower 70…and includes a slot 74 formed therein, where the slot 74 defines two lobes 76 that are received in the race 42.” and therefore the two lobes 76 should instead be denoted as part of the cylindrical cam follower 70. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because it appears that numbers “128” and “86” and their respective locations in Figure 2 should be reversed because the spring 128 was disclosed as pressing against the lower spring housing 130 (see spec. pg. 7, paragraph 0031, lines 1-2) and the spring 86 abuts the second end 84 of the rotation lock 80 into abutment with the cam follower 70 (see spec. pg. 6, paragraph 0025, lines 2-4). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because there are upper and lower occurrences of the number “128” in Figures 4, 6, 8, and 10 and that it appears that the lower occurrence of number “128” represents the proper indication of the spring 128 that presses against lower spring housing 130 (see spec. pg. 7, paragraph 0031, lines 1-2) and that the upper occurrence of number “128” should be replaced with number --86-- since this spring 86 abuts the second end 84 of the cam follower 70 (see spec. pg. 6, paragraph 0025, lines 2-4; there is actually an occurrence of number “86” in each of Figures 4, 6, 8, and 10 and possibly these occurrences of number “86” could be moved further down into the position of the upper occurrences of number “128” in these Figures so as to properly denote the spring 86 that abuts the second end 84 of the cam follower 70). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the lower leftmost occurrence of number “152” in Figures 12-13 should be replaced with number --154-- in order to properly denote the locking member 154 and since number “152” was already used to designate the interior 152 of the support member 108 (see spec. pg. 8, paragraph 0032, line 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 5, paragraph 0023, line 4, the term “withing” should be replaced with --within--;
Page 5, paragraph 0023, line 11, the second occurrence of “60” should be replaced with the number --36-- in order to properly denote the cam surface 36;
Page 6, paragraph 0024, line 7, the first occurrence of “78” should be replaced with the number --42-- in order to properly denote the race 42;
Page 6, paragraph 0026, the sentence “A locking ring 94 includes a spline 96 that is engaged to an outer spline 98 of rotation lock 80 when the handle assembly is in the first, extended position A and the high portion 58 of the cam surface 36 holds the rotation lock in place, which allows a movement of the lift rod 78 relative to the rotation lock 80.” is unclear since in Figure 4 it is shown that in the extended position A that the low side 60 of the cam surface 36 opposite to the high side 58 is the portion that is positioned in contact with the cam follower 70 and possibly applicant intended to refer to the second extended position B as illustrated in Figure 6 where the high side 58 engages the cam follower 70;
Page 6, paragraph 0027, line 4, the term “external splines 90” should be replaced with the term --external splines 98-- since the teeth 90 engage the teeth 92 but do not engage the spline 96 which is to be engaged by external spline 98;
Page 7, paragraph 0028, lines 3-4, the phrase “Ends 122 of cylindrical piece 120 engage in angled slots 124 in the upper head assembly 106” is unclear since the ends 122 represent opposing ends of the T-shape head 118 that engaged in angled slots 124 as shown in Figures 4, 8 and 10 and not ends of the cylindrical piece 120 as stated; and
Page 7, paragraph 0031, lines 1-2, the term “a lower spring housing 120” should be replaced with the term --a lower spring housing 130-- since the lower spring housing 130 is shown as being pressed against by spring 128 in Figure 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 3, the term --to-- should be inserted after “respect”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 17, lines 8 and 11-12, the terms “the second position” and “the first position” lack positive antecedent basis. Also the terms “an engaged position” and “a disengaged position” were previously recited in claim 17 as positions that the engagement member may assume and possibly these terms should be used instead of the terms “first position” and “second position”.
In regard to claim 17, the phrase “an engagement member movable between…and an unlocked position that allows the engagement member to move from the disengaged position to the engaged position” renders the claim vague and indefinite since paragraph 0032 of the present specification only discloses the locking member 154 as being movable between an engaged configuration as shown in Figure 12 of the present application and a disengaged configuration as shown in Figure 13 of the present application. The only mention of the unlocked position of the engagement member is in lines 9-10 of paragraph 0005 of the present specification, but this portion of the specification fails to give any particular details with respect to any unlocked position of the engagement member.
In regard to claim 18, the phrase “wherein the engagement member is pivotable between the locked and unlocked positions” renders the claim vague and indefinite since paragraph 0032 of the present specification does not disclose any pivoting motion of the engagement member/locking member 154 and since Figures 12-13 do not appear to illustrate any pivoting motion of the locking member 154 as it moves between the engaged and disengaged positions. The movement of the locking member 154 appears to be in the form of an axially aligned motion of the locking member 154 along its longitudinal axis between its engaged and disengaged positions.
In regard to claim 22, the term “the support arrangement” lacks positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Rupp 11,388,896.
In regard to claim 9, Rupp discloses an outrigger assembly, comprising a support member (16) configured to receive an outrigger (110,110’) therein, wherein the support member is pivotable about a substantially horizontal axis (horizontal axis defined at 90 in Figs. 6-7) between first and second positions (see Fig. 6), and wherein the support member (16) is pivotable about a substantially vertical axis (vertical axis defined along 70 in Fig. 5) between third and fourth positions (see Fig. 5); an actuator assembly (34,36) movable between a first configuration (when 36 engages lower gear set 15) wherein the support member (16) is movable between the first and second positions (see Fig. 6) and is prevented from moving between the third and fourth positions (36 does not engage upper gear set 45), and a second configuration (when 36 engages upper gear set 45) where the support member (16) is movable between the third and fourth positions (see Fig. 5) and is prevented from moving between the first and second positions (36 does not engage lower gear set 15), wherein the actuator assembly (34,36) includes a first spline arrangement (15) that is engaged when the actuator assembly is in the first configuration (when 36 engages lower gear set 15) and disengaged when the actuator assembly is in the second configuration (when 36 engages upper gear set 45 instead of lower gear set 15).
In regard to claim 10, Rupp discloses wherein the actuator assembly includes a second spline arrangement (upper gear set 45) that is disengaged when the actuator assembly is in the first configuration (when 36 engages lower gear set 15 and not upper gear set 45) and engaged when the actuator assembly is in the second configuration (when 36 engages upper gear set 45 and not lower gear set 15).
In regard to claim 11, Rupp discloses a handle assembly (14,22) movable between a first extended position (22 extends toward the left in Fig. 6) causing the actuator assembly to move to the first configuration (see Fig. 6), a second extended position causing the actuator assembly (36) to move to the second configuration (see Fig. 5).
In regard to claim 14, Rupp discloses wherein the handle assembly (14,22) includes a first cam surface (upper lateral surface of 22 in Fig. 6) that moves the actuator assembly to the first configuration (see Fig. 6) when engaged, and a second cam surface (upper end surface of 22 in Fig. 5) that moves the actuator assembly to the second configuration (see Fig. 5) when engaged.
Claim(s) 9-11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Saronowski et al. 9,625,087.
In regard to claim 9, Saronowski et al. disclose an outrigger mount assembly, comprising a support member (102) configured to receive an outrigger (to be held in 102) therein, wherein the support member is pivotable about a substantially horizontal axis (horizontal axis defined at 124 in Fig. 6) between first and second positions (see Fig. 4), and wherein the support member (102) is pivotable about a substantially vertical axis (vertical axis defined along 108 in Fig. 3A & 128,118 in Fig. 6) between third and fourth positions (see Fig. 3B); and an actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) movable between a first configuration (joint 117 pushes upwardly against mount 100; see col. 3, lines 50-57 and col. 4, lines 4-10 and Fig. 4) where the support member (102) is movable between the first and second positions (see Fig. 4) and is prevented from moving between the third and fourth positions (see col. 4, line 50 to col. 5, line 4), and a second configuration (pin opening 122 offset with respect to joint 117; see col. 3, lines 50-53 & col. 4, lines 29-37 & Figs. 3A-B) where the support member (102) is movable between the third and fourth positions (see Fig. 4) and is prevented from moving between the first and second positions (see col. 4, line 38-49), wherein the actuator assembly includes a first spline arrangement (selector gear 136) that is engaged when the actuator assembly is in the first configuration (handle gear 134 engages selector gear 136; see col. 4, lines 32-37 & Fig. 6) and disengaged when the actuator assembly is in the second configuration (handle gear 134 disengages selector gear 136; see col. 4, lines 50-52).
In regard to claim 10, Saronowski et al. disclose wherein the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) includes a second spline arrangement (internal teeth 144 of 111, external teeth 142a of 142) that is disengaged when the actuator assembly is in the first configuration (handle gear 134 engages selector gear 136 but not with 144 or 142a; see col. 4, lines 32-37 & Fig. 6) and engaged when the actuator assembly is in the second configuration (handle gear 134 disengages selector gear 136 and external teeth 136b of 136 engaged with internal teeth 144 of 111 and internal teeth 136a of 136 engaged with external teeth 142a of 142; see col. 4, lines 50-59).
In regard to claim 11, Sarnowski et al. disclose a handle assembly (112) movable between a first extended position (see Fig. 4) causing the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) to move to the first configuration (see Fig. 4), a second extended position (see Figs. 3A-B & 6) causing the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) to move to the second configuration (see Figs. 3A-B & 6).
In regard to claim 14, Saronowski et al. disclose wherein the handle assembly (112) includes a first cam surface (generally planar upper surface of 117 that abuts 138 in Fig. 4) that moves the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) to the first configuration when engaged, and a second cam surface (generally protruding upper surface of 117 that abuts 138 in Figs. 3A & 6) that moves the actuator assembly to the second configuration when engaged.
In regard to claim 15, Saronowski et al. disclose wherein the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) includes a first biasing member (140) that biases the actuator assembly toward the first configuration (elastic member 140 pushes cap 138 outwardly, thereby aligning internal teeth 136a of 136 with handle gear 134 and external teeth 142a of 142; handle gear 134 disengages selector gear 136 and external teeth 136b of 136 engaged with internal teeth 144 of 111 and internal teeth 136a of 136 engaged with external teeth 142a of 142; see col. 4, lines 50-59) when the handle assembly (112) is in the first extended position (see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saronowski et al. 9,625,087 in view of Screen captures from YouTube video clip “Tour the new Sea Chaser 30 HFC Bluewater Series!” by TACO Marine (Retrieved from Internet <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2jJv29gf60>; uploaded on July 03, 2019 by TACO Marine).
In regard to claims 1 and 12, Saronowski et al. disclose an outrigger mount assembly, comprising a support member (102) configured to receive an outrigger (to be held in 102) therein, wherein the support member is pivotable about a substantially horizontal axis (horizontal axis defined at 124 in Fig. 6) between first and second positions (see Fig. 4), and wherein the support member (102) is pivotable about a substantially vertical axis (vertical axis defined along 108 in Fig. 3A & 128,118 in Fig. 6) between third and fourth positions (see Fig. 3B); an actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) movable between a first configuration (joint 117 pushes upwardly against mount 100; see col. 3, lines 50-57 and col. 4, lines 4-10 and Fig. 4) wherein the support member (102) is movable between the first and second positions (see Fig. 4) and is prevented from moving between the third and fourth positions (see col. 4, line 50 to col. 5, line 4), and a second configuration (pin opening 122 offset with respect to joint 117; see col. 3, lines 50-53 & col. 4, lines 29-37 & Figs. 3A-B) where the support member (102) is movable between the third and fourth positions (see Fig. 4) and is prevented from moving between the first and second positions (see col. 4, line 38-49); and a handle assembly (112) movable between a first extended position (see Fig. 4) causing the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) to move to the first configuration (see Fig. 4), a second extended position (see Figs. 3A-B & 6) causing the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) to move to the second configuration (see Figs. 3A-B & 6), but does not disclose the handle assembly movable to a retracted position or configured to move to a retracted position. The TACO Marine video discloses an outrigger mount including a handle assembly which can be moved/configured to be move to a retracted position (see page 2 of 2 of the Screen captures of the TACO Marine video). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle assembly of Saronowski et al. such that it is movable/configured to move to a retracted position in view of the TACO Marine video in order to position the handle assembly out of the way of the user when it the handle assembly is not in use so as not to interfere with the fishing operations to be performed on the boat.
In regard to claim 3, Saronowski et al. disclose wherein the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) is linearly actuated between the first (joint 117 pushes upwardly against mount 100; see col. 3, lines 50-57 and col. 4, lines 4-10 and Fig. 4) and second (pin opening 122 offset with respect to joint 117; see col. 3, lines 50-53 & col. 4, lines 29-37 & Figs. 3A-B) configurations.
In regard to claim 4, Saronowski et al. disclose wherein the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) includes a first spline arrangement (selector gear 136) that is engaged when the actuator assembly is in the first configuration (handle gear 134 engages selector gear 136; see col. 4, lines 32-37 & Fig. 6) and disengaged when the actuator assembly is in the second configuration (handle gear 134 disengages selector gear 136; see col. 4, lines 50-52).
In regard to claim 5, Saronowski et al. disclose wherein the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) includes a second spline arrangement (internal teeth 144 of 111, external teeth 142a of 142) that is disengaged when the actuator assembly is in the first configuration (handle gear 134 engages selector gear 136 but not with 144 or 142a; see col. 4, lines 32-37 & Fig. 6) and engaged when the actuator assembly is in the second configuration (handle gear 134 disengages selector gear 136 and external teeth 136b of 136 engaged with internal teeth 144 of 111 and internal teeth 136a of 136 engaged with external teeth 142a of 142; see col. 4, lines 50-59).
In regard to claim 6, Saronowski et al. disclose wherein the handle assembly (112) includes a first cam surface (generally planar upper surface of 117 that abuts 138 in Fig. 4) that moves the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) to the first configuration when engaged, and a second cam surface (generally protruding upper surface of 117 that abuts 138 in Figs. 3A & 6) that moves the actuator assembly to the second configuration when engaged.
In regard to claim 7, Saronowski et al. disclose wherein the actuator assembly (108,111,118,128,130,134,136 with 136a-b,138,140,142 with 142a,144) includes a first biasing member (140) that biases the actuator assembly toward the first configuration (elastic member 140 pushes cap 138 outwardly, thereby aligning internal teeth 136a of 136 with handle gear 134 and external teeth 142a of 142; handle gear 134 disengages selector gear 136 and external teeth 136b of 136 engaged with internal teeth 144 of 111 and internal teeth 136a of 136 engaged with external teeth 142a of 142; see col. 4, lines 50-59) when the handle assembly (112) is in the first extended position (see Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saronowski et al. 9,625,087 in view of Screen captures from YouTube video clip “Tour the new Sea Chaser 30 HFC Bluewater Series!” by TACO Marine (Retrieved from Internet <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2jJv29gf60>; uploaded on July 03, 2019 by TACO Marine) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Rupp 11,388,896 or TruckStar Dump Roller Kit Replacement Crank Handle (07/17/2012).
In regard to claims 2 and 13, Saronowski et al. and the TACO Marine video disclose wherein the handle assembly (112 of Saronowski et al.; handle assembly shown in page 2 of 2 of the Screen captures of the TACO Marine video) extends downward from the actuator assembly when in the first position (see Fig. 4 of Saronowski et al.), and wherein the handle assembly extends upwardly with respect to at least a portion of the actuator assembly when in the retracted position (111 of Saronowski et al.; see page 2 of 2 of the Screen captures of the TACO Marine video), but does not disclose wherein the handle assembly extends downward in the second extended position. Rupp discloses the handle assembly (14) that extends downwardly in the first (see Fig. 6) and second (see Fig. 5) extended positions. The TruckStar Handle discloses a handle assembly that extends downwardly with respect to the handle collar when the handle is in the extended position (see page 1 of 3 of the TruckStar product page) and the handle assembly that extends upwardly with respect to the handle collar when the handle is in the retracted position (see page 2 of 3 of the TruckStar product page). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle assembly of Saronowski et al. and the TACO Marine video such that it extends downwardly in the second extended position in view of Rupp or the TruckStar Handle such that the handle assembly is configured to be in an accessible position for grasping by the user in both of the first and second extended positions of the handle where the outrigger mount assembly is to be manipulated by the user.
Claim(s) 17-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saronowski et al. 9,625,087 in view of Screen captures from the 2023 TACO Marine GS-390/390XL Installation Instructions (11/04/2023).
In regard to claim 17, Saronowski et al. disclose an outrigger mount assembly comprising a support member (102) configured to receive an outrigger (to be held in 102) in an interior space of the support member (see hollow interior of 102 in Fig. 6), but does not disclose an engagement member movable between an engaged position where the engagement member is configured to prevent the outrigger from being removed from within the interior space of the support member, a disengaged position that allows the outrigger to be removed from the interior space of the support member, a locked position that prevents the engagement member from being moved from the second position to the first position, and an unlocked position that allows the engagement member to move from the disengaged position to the engaged position; and a biasing member that biases the engagement member from the second position toward the first position. The 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions discloses an outrigger mount assembly (see page 2) comprising a support member (upper tubular member extending at an angle to horizontal on page 2) configured to receive an outrigger (outrigger to be received in the upper tubular member) in an interior space of the support member (the upper tubular member has a hollow interior); an engagement member (locking pin shown on page 6 as extending from the left side of the support member in the larger figure) movable between an engaged position where the engagement member is configured to prevent the outrigger from being removed from within the interior space of the support member (locking pin engages an outrigger placed within the support member and prevents the outrigger from removal therefrom; see installation step 10 on page 5), a disengaged position (“Simply pull out the pull pin, rotate ¼ turn and release. Place your outrigger into the arm” as stated in installation step 10 on page 5) that allows the outrigger to be removed from the interior space of the support member (by pulling the pull pin out, either of the steps of installing or removing the outrigger from the support member may be performed), a locked position (“Place your outrigger into the arm and turn the pull pin to snap back into position. Then turn your outrigger until it clicks in the locked position” as stated in installation step 10 on page 5) that prevents the engagement member from being moved from the second position to the first position, and the unlocked position is not being interpreted as part of the desired invention since it does not appear that the engagement member/locking member 154 is even capable of assuming any other position other than the engaged and disengaged positions as shown in applicant’s Figs. 12-13 and as discussed in paragraph 0032 of the present specification) outriggers is spring loaded.” as stated in installation step 10 on page 5) that biases the engagement member from the second position toward the first position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outrigger mount assembly of Saronowski et al. such that it comprises an engagement member movable between an engaged position where the engagement member is configured to prevent the outrigger from being removed from within the interior space of the support member, a disengaged position that allows the outrigger to be removed from the interior space of the support member, a locked position that prevents the engagement member from being moved from the second position to the first position,
In regard to claim 18, Saronowski et al. and the 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions disclose wherein the engagement member is pivotable between the locked and unlocked positions (the pull pin is rotated ¼ turn to move from the locked to unlocked positions---see installation step 10 on page 5; this limitation is being interpreted as best understood in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above with respect to this claim).
In regard to claim 19, Saronowski et al. and the 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions disclose wherein the engagement member extends into the interior space when in the engaged position and is retracted from the interior space when in the disengaged position (the pull pin is pulled into the interior space of the support member in the engaged position to hold the outrigger in the support member and the pull pin is pulled out of the support member in the retracted position---see installation step 10 on page 5).
In regard to claim 20, Saronowski et al. and the 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions disclose wherein the biasing member includes a coil spring (“The pull pin to lock the outriggers is spring loaded.” as stated in installation step 10 on page 5; pin type structures are typically spring loaded by an encircling coil spring).
In regard to claim 22, Saronowski et al. and the 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions disclose wherein the support member (102 of Saronowski et al.) is pivotably supported by the support arrangement (via 124, 118, 128 of Saronowski et al.).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saronowski et al. 9,625,087 in view of Screen captures from the 2023 TACO Marine GS-390/390XL Installation Instructions (11/04/2023) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Banner 3,802,112 or Serocki 2019/0104714.
Alternatively in regard to claim 20, Saronowski et al. and the 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions do not disclose wherein the biasing member includes a coil spring. Banner and Serocki disclose an engagement member (7,12,26 OR 44 of 40) and the biasing member includes a coil spring (13 OR 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biasing member of Saronowski et al. and the 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions such that it includes a coil spring in view of Banner or Serocki in order to provide a commonly available type of biasing member that is effective in applying an axial force to the engagement member so that it is moved toward the engaged position.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saronowski et al. 9,625,087 in view of Screen captures from the 2023 TACO Marine GS-390/390XL Installation Instructions (11/04/2023) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Wilcox et al. 2004/0016385.
Alternatively in regard to claim 21, Saronowski et al. and the 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions disclose the engagement member on a side of the support member (locking pin shown on page 6 as extending from the left side of the support member in the larger figure), but do not disclose wherein the engagement member is attached to an underside of the support member. Wilcox et al. disclose wherein the engagement member is attached to an underside of the support member (see Fig. 14 which shows the spring biased engagement member 25,50 being located on an underside of a support member 20; the eye bolts 152 are shown as being directed along an underside of the support 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engagement member of Saronowski et al. and the 2023 TACO Marine Installation Instructions such that it is attached to an underside of the support member in view of Wilcox et al. in order to position the engagement member at a location where its protruding structure does not interfere with any fishing lines or rigging lines in the vicinity of the outrigger mount assembly so as to prevent tangling therewith.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/DARREN W ARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647
DWA