DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 depends from cancelled claim 4. Applicant may have intended claim 1
to depend from claim. Therefore, for purposes of furthering prosecution the examiner
will treat the claim as discussed above, until further clarification.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Van Dijk Harrie (EP 1661703).
With respect to claim 1, Van Dijk Harrie teaches an ink station washing assembly, the ink station washing assembly comprising:
[AltContent: textbox (1st End of frame)]a frame (2) comprising a first end and an opposing second end (refer to marked-up Figure 3 in the detailed action), the frame being configured to secure the ink station washing assembly to a can decorator (note: the can decorator is not positively recited feature and therefore is structurally part of the ink station);
[AltContent: textbox (2nd End of Frame)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
a scraper (14) disposed between the first end of the frame and the second end of the frame (Figure 1); and a plurality of washing nozzles (19-22, Figure 3);
wherein the plurality of washing nozzles (19-22, Paragraph 0090) comprises a first set of washing nozzles (19, 21) disposed on a first end of the frame (23) and a second set of washing nozzles (20, 22) disposed on a second end of the frame (24);
wherein the frame (2, 23, 24) positions the first set of washing nozzles (19, 21) towards a first roller (8) of an ink station roller assembly (1) and to position the second set of washing nozzles (20, 22) towards a second roller (10) of the ink station roller assembly (1, Figure 3);
wherein the scraper (14) is configured to move between a first position and a second position (Paragraph 0019, Claim 12, Column 7, Lines 35-41, Figures 1, 2);
wherein the first position is defined where the scraper (14) is retracted relative to the frame such that a can decorator is uncontacted by the scraper when the scraper is in the first position (first position when scraper is away from the roller; Paragraph 0019, Claim 12, Column 7, Lines 35-41), and
wherein the second position is defined where the scraper (14) is extended relative to the frame (2) such that the scraper (14) is configured to contact an ink roller (12) of a can decorator ink roller assembly (1) when the scraper (14) is in the second position to remove ink from a roller assembly of the can decorator (Paragraph 0019, Claim 12, Column 7, Lines 35-41).
With respect to claim 3, Van Dijk Harrie teaches the plurality of washing nozzles (19-22) is configured to pulse a liquid therefrom (Paragraphs 0021,0030).
With respect to claim 6, Van Dijk Harrie teaches the first set of washing nozzles (19, 21) are equidistantly placed along a first support (23) extending across the frame (2) and the second set of washing nozzles (20, 22) are equidistantly placed along a second support (24) extending across the frame (2 and Figure 3).
With respect to claim 7, Van Dijk Harrie teaches the frame (2) is securable underneath a plurality of rollers (6-15) of an ink station roller assembly (Figures 1-3).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Laben (US Patent 3,850,099).
With respect to claim 16, Laben teaches a method of cleaning rollers in an ink station roller, the method comprising:
installing an ink station washing assembly into an ink station roller assembly;
rotating a plurality of ink rollers (14, 62, 84) of the ink station washing assembly;
moving a scraper (16) of the ink station washing assembly into contact with a target ink roller (14, 62, 84) of the ink station roller assembly (Column 2, Lines 66-Column 3, Line 3-18); and
activating one or more of a plurality of washing nozzles (46, 80’) of the ink station washing assembly such that a liquid is sprayed onto one or more ink rollers of the plurality of ink rollers (Column 3, Lines 29-32, Column 4, Lines 37-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dijk Harrie (EP 1661703) in view of DuFour et al. (CN1153705).
With respect to claim 2, Van Dijk Harrie teaches the scraper (14) is movable between a first position and the second position (Paragraph 0019, Claim 12, Column 7, Lines 35-41), however does not explicitly disclose the scraper is moveable by an air cylinder in operable connection with a cam.
DuFour et al. teaches the scraper is moveable a first/second position by an air cylinder (8) in operable connection with a cam (9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the scraper taught by Van Dijk Harrie to provide an air cylinder in operable connection with a cam as taught by DuFour et al. for the purpose of effectively and easily adjusting the scraper in a smooth controlled manner.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dijk Harrie (EP 1661703) in view of Ma (CN 114030291).
With respect to claim 8, Van Dijk Harrie teaches the claimed invention with the exception of a controller in operable connection with the ink station washing assembly, wherein the controller is configured to execute a cleaning function, wherein the cleaning function moves the scraper into the second position and disperses a liquid from the plurality of washing nozzles.
Ma teaches a controller (20) in operable connection with the ink station washing assembly, wherein the controller (20) is configured to execute a cleaning function, wherein the cleaning function moves the scraper (11) into the second position and disperses a liquid from the plurality of washing nozzles (15, Paragraphs 0024, 0025).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the assembly taught by Van Dijk Harrie to provide a controller as taught by Ma for the purpose of effectively ensuring the assembly is properly controlled in a stable manner.
With respect to claim 9, Ma teaches the controller (20) is further configured to pulse the liquid being dispersed from the plurality of washing nozzles (15).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in view of Van Dijk Harrie (EP 1661703).
With respect to claim 10, AAPA teaches a can decorator (2) comprising:
an ink station roller assembly (32) having a plurality of ink rollers (Paragraph 0005), each ink roller configured to transfer ink onto a can body (Paragraphs 0005-0008), the plurality of ink rollers being mounted onto an ink station roller assembly frame (Paragraphs 0005-0008, Figure 1).
AAPA does not explicitly disclose an ink station washing assembly affixed to the ink station roller assembly frame, the ink station washing assembly comprising a frame comprising a first end and an opposing second end; a scraper disposed between the first end of the frame and the second end of the frame; a plurality of washing nozzles disposed on the frame; wherein the scraper is configured to move between a first position and a second position; wherein the first position is defined where the scraper is retracted relative to the frame such that a can decorator is uncontacted by the scraper when the scraper is in the first position, wherein the second position is defined where the scraper is extended relative to the frame such that the scraper is configured to contact an ink roller of a can decorator ink roller assembly when the scraper is in the second position to remove ink from a roller assembly of the can decorator, wherein each washing nozzle of the plurality of washing nozzles is directed at one or more ink rollers of the plurality of ink rollers.
Van Dijk Harrie (EP 1661703) teaches an ink station washing assembly, the ink station washing assembly comprising: a frame (2) comprising a first end and an opposing second end (refer to marked-up Figure 3 in the detailed action), the frame being configured to secure the ink station washing assembly to a can decorator (note: the can decorator is not positively recited feature and therefore is structurally part of the ink station); a scraper (14) disposed between the first end of the frame and the second end of the frame (Figure 1); and a plurality of washing nozzles (19-22, Figure 3) disposed on the frame; wherein the scraper (14) is configured to move between a first position and a second position (Paragraph 0019, Claim 12, Column 7, Lines 35-41); wherein the first position is defined where the scraper (14) is retracted relative to the frame such that a can decorator is uncontacted by the scraper when the scraper is in the first position (first position when scraper is away from the roller; Paragraph 0019, Claim 12, Column 7, Lines 35-41), and wherein the second position is defined where the scraper (14) is extended relative to the frame (2) such that the scraper (14) is configured to contact an ink roller (12) of a can decorator ink roller assembly (1) when the scraper (14) is in the second position to remove ink from a roller assembly of the can decorator (Paragraph 0019, Claim 12, Column 7, Lines 35-41) and wherein each washing nozzle of the plurality of washing nozzles (19-22, Paragraph 0090) is directed at one or more ink rollers of the plurality of ink rollers (8, 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the ink station roller assembly taught by AAPA since it would require obvious substitution of a known ink station roller assembly with an ink station roller assembly with elements such as scraper, a plurality of washing nozzles, etc. as taught by Van Dijk Harrie for the purpose of ensuring the ink rollers are effectively cleaned.
With respect to claim 12, Van Dijk Harrie teaches the plurality of washing nozzles (19-22, Paragraph 0090) comprises a first set of washing nozzles (19, 21) disposed on a first end of the frame (23) and a second set of washing nozzles (20, 22) disposed on a second end of the frame (24), wherein the frame (2, 23, 24) is dimensioned to position the first set of washing nozzles (19, 21) towards a first roller (8) of an ink station roller assembly (1) and to position the second set of washing nozzles (20, 22) towards a second roller (10) of the ink station roller assembly (1, Figure 3).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in Van Dijk Harrie (EP 1661703) as applied to the claims above, in further in view of DuFour et al. (CN1153705).
With respect to claim 11, Van Dijk Harrie, as modified, teaches the scraper (14) is movable between a first position and the second position (Paragraph 0019, Claim 12, Column 7, Lines 35-41), however does not explicitly disclose the scraper is moveable by an air cylinder in operable connection with a cam.
DuFour et al. teaches the scraper is moveable a first/second position by an air cylinder (8) in operable connection with a cam (9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify the scraper taught by Van Dijk Harrie, as modified, to provide an air cylinder in operable connection with a cam as taught by DuFour et al. for the purpose of effectively and easily adjusting the scraper in a smooth controlled manner.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in view of Van Dijk Harrie (EP 1661703) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Laben (US Patent 3,850,099).
With respect to claim 13, AAPA, as modified, teaches the claimed invention including scraper 14 is positioned underneath the plurality of ink rollers (9, 10, Figures 1, 20), wherein the scraper is downstream of the plurality of washing nozzles (Figures 1 and 2), however does not explicitly disclose an ink station washer assembly frame and the plurality of washing nozzles are positioned underneath the plurality of ink rollers and the scraper is positioned underneath the plurality of ink rollers, wherein the scraper is downstream of the plurality of washing nozzles.
Laben teaches the ink station washer assembly frame and the plurality of washing nozzles (46, 80’) are positioned underneath the plurality of ink rollers (14, 62, 84).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify the invention taught by AAPA, as modified, to provide an ink station washer assembly frame with plurality of washing nozzles positioned underneath the plurality of ink rollers as taught by Laben for the purpose of ensuring the rollers are effectively cleaned.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in view of Van Dijk Harrie (EP 1661703) in view of Ma (CN 114030291).
With respect to claim 14, AAPA, as modified, teaches the claimed invention with the exception of a controller in operable connection with the plurality of ink rollers and the ink station washing assembly, wherein the controller is configured to execute a cleaning function, wherein the cleaning function rotates the plurality of ink rollers, moves the scraper into the second position and disperses a liquid from the plurality of washing nozzles.
Ma teaches a controller (20) in operable connection with an ink roller and the ink station washing assembly, wherein the controller is configured to execute a cleaning function, wherein the cleaning function rotates the ink roller, moves the scraper (11) into the second position and disperses a liquid from the plurality of washing nozzles (15, Paragraphs 0024, 0025).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify the assembly taught by AAPA, as modified, to provide a controller as taught by Ma for the purpose of effectively ensuring the assembly is properly controlled in a stable manner.
With respect to claim 15, Ma teaches the controller (20) is further configured to pulse the liquid being dispersed from the plurality of washing nozzles (15).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laben (US Patent 3,850,099) in view of Ma (CN 114030291).
With respect to claim 17, Laben teaches scraping the target ink roller with the scraper (16, Column 2, Lines 66-Column 3, Line 3-18); and retracting the scraper from the target ink roller of the ink station roller assembly (Column 2, Lines 66-Column 3, Line 3-18).
However, Laben does not explicitly disclose scraping a roller for a defined period of time deactivating the plurality of washing nozzles. Ma teaches a controller (20, 26) that can control scraping a roller for a defined period of time deactivating the plurality of washing nozzles (Paragraphs 0024, 0025).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the assembly taught by Laben to provide a controller as taught by Ma for the purpose of effectively ensuring the assembly is properly controlled in a stable manner.
With respect to claim 18, Ma teaches the action of the plurality of ink rollers, the plurality of nozzles (15), and the scraper (11) are controlled by a controller (20) in operable connection with the ink station roller assembly and the ink station washing assembly (Paragraphs 0024, 0025).
With respect to claim 19, Ma teaches defining a delay between when the scraper contacts the target ink roller and when one or more of the plurality of washing nozzles sprays the liquid (20, Paragraphs 0024, 0025).
With respect to claim 20, Laben teaches pulsing the liquid sprayed from the plurality of ink rollers (46, 80’, Column 4, Lines 37-45).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 6-20 have been considered but are moot in view the new ground(s) of the current rejection.
Conclusion
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852