DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 16, in the reply filed on 9/23/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
…The Office Action has not shown that a serious burden would be required to examine all of the claims. MPEP § 803 provides that "[i]f the search and examination of an entire application can be made without serious burden, the Examiner must examine it on the merits, even though it includes claims to distinct or independent inventions." (emphasis added). Thus, for a restriction requirement to be proper, the Examiner must satisfy the following two criteria: (1) the existence of independent and distinct inventions (35 U.S.C. § 121) and (2) the search and examination of the entire application cannot be made without serious burden. See MPEP § 803. For example, Applicant respectfully asserts that the Examiner has not shown that it would be a serious burden to search and examine Groups I, II, III, and IV together.
Applicants also argue that the different methods would comprise searching the flagellin variant and accordingly the polynucleotide would also be searched.
These arguments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found persuasive because:
Inventions I and III are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, the variant may be used for means other than treating damage, cancer, aging, etc. The variant may be used as a reagent in detection methods or to raise antibodies. The polypeptide of group I and polynucleotide of group II represent different special technical features for the following reasons. Polypeptides, which are composed of amino acids, and polynucleotides, which are composed of purine and pyrimidine units, are structurally distinct molecules. Additionally, while a polypeptide of group I can made by methods using some, but not all, polynucleotides that fall within the scope of group II. For these reasons, the inventions of groups I and II are patentably distinct. Furthermore, searching for the inventions of groups I and Il together would be burdensome to search together. Inventions I and Il are unrelated. Inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that they are not disclosed as capable of use together and they have different designs, modes of operation, and effects (MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06). In the instant case, the different inventions are a method which does not use the vector or polynucleotide of Group II. Group I is drawn to methods using a protein as the reagent.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all these inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: (a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; (b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; (c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); (d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention; (e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. All reasons from steps a)-e) exist. With respect to the different methods, see particularly step e) different 112, first paragraph considerations.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-15, 17 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 1-12 and 16 are currently under examination.
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is an improper space between “T183,” and the word “and” in the last three list of deletions in the claim.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the extra space between “according to” and “claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Written Description
Claims 1-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn, for example, to:
1. [Any] Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% identity to a wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin of SEQ ID NO: 1 and having reduced immunogenicity compared to the wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin.
2. The Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant according to claim 1, characterized in that the residual rate of the protein is increased after storage for 2 weeks at 37°C compared to the wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin.
3. The Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant according to claim 1, characterized by comprising one or more of the following mutations (1) to (7) in the amino acid sequence of the wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin of SEQ ID NO: 1:
(1) an acid substitution at one or more positions selected from the group consisting of L34, S49, M52, L59, A85, I86, Q103, Q104, L118, G151, G155, D176, G224, E231, D236, D238, M239 and R275;
(2) a deletion of the amino-terminal 0 domain (ND0, amino acids 131);
(3) a deletion of one or more amino acids within the amino-terminal 1 domain (ND1, amino acids 43-181);
(4) a deletion of one or more amino acids within the ND0-ND1 interface region (amino acids 32- 42);
(5) a deletion of one or more amino acids within the carboxy-terminal 1 domain (CD1, amino acids 182-235);
(6) a deletion of one or more amino acids within the carboxy-terminal 0 domain (CD0, amino acids 239-275); and (7) a deletion of the CD1-CD0 interface region (amino acids 236-238).
4. The Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant according to claim 3, characterized in that the amino acid substitution of (1) is one or more selected from the group consisting of of L34C, S49C, M52C, L59C, A85K, A85N, I86N, Q103A, Q104A, L118R, G151A, G155A, D176A, G224C, E231C, D236C, D238A, M239A and R275Q.
5. The Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant according to claim 4, characterized in that the deletion of one or more amino acids within ND1 of (3) is one or more deletions selected from the group consisting of a deletion of 43 a deletion of 43-50, a deletion of 100, a deletion of 181, a deletion of 144-146, a deletion of 164-179, and a deletion of 152-181 in the amino acid sequence of the wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin of SEQ ID NO: 1.
To fulfill the written description requirements set forth under 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, the specification must describe at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, or alternatively describe a representative member of the claimed genus, which shares a particularly defining feature common to at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, which would enable the skilled artisan to immediately recognize and distinguish its members from others, so as to reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant has possession the claimed invention. Applicants have not described the genus of claimed nicotinamide nucleotide transhydrogenase proteins/genes such that the specification might reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicants had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. Even with the designation of “50% identical to SEQ ID NO: 1” or a laundry list of specific different combinations of mutations/deletions with “one or more” in some claims, the written description is inadequate to support this breadth.
With the written description of a genus, however, merely drawing a fence around a perceived genus is not a description of the genus. One needs to show that one has truly invented the genus, i.e., that one has conceived and described sufficient representative species encompassing the breadth of the genus. Otherwise, one has only a research plan, leaving it to others to explore the unknown contours of the claimed genus. See Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353 (The written description requirement guards against claims that "merely recite a description of the problem to be solved while claiming all solutions to it and . . . cover any compound later actually invented and determined to fall within the claim's functional boundaries."). Abbvie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 U.S.P.Q.2d 1780, 1790, 2014 BL 183329, 12 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
To fulfill the written description requirements set forth under 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, the specification must describe at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, or alternatively describe a representative member of the claimed genus, which shares a particularly defining feature common to at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, which would enable the skilled artisan to immediately recognize and distinguish its members from others, so as to reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant has possession the claimed invention. Applicants have not described the genus of claimed B.subtilis variants having at least 50% identity to a wild-type B.subtilis flagellin of SEQ ID NO:1 and having reduced immunogenicity to the wild-type B. subtilis flagellin and/or increased residual rate after storage for 2 weeks at 37 degrees Celsius, and/or retains NF-kB signaling activity, such that the specification might reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicants had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
The sheer number of amino acid sequences with at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 is vast and of divergent sources and functions. The percent identity itself does not necessarily provide the function of reduced immunogenicity. The specification at Table 3 on page 39 demonstrates that many Bsflagellin proteins with at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, do not have reduced immunogenicity. In fact, some display more. When running SEQ ID NO: 1 through amino acid search databases, there are so many different structures included with the structural limitations of claim 1 and it is unpredictable which will have reduced immunogenicity. The claims also encompass a laundry list of one or more potential deletions/mutations and this full scope does not have adequate written description.
The purpose of the "written description" requirement is broader than tomerely explain how to "make and use"; the applicant must convey with reasonableclarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was inpossession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the "writtendescription" inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar,935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991).Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC § 112 is severable fromits enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than amere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential methodfor isolating it. The nucleic acid itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. Possession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing the invention was 'ready for patenting' such as by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention. Moreover, because the claims encompass a genus of variant species, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was "ready for patenting" by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus'" (Id. at 1106); accordingly, it follows that an adequate written description of a genus cannot be achieved in the absence of a disclosure of at least one species within the genus.
It is noted that MPEP 2111.01 states that "[d]uring examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has recently held that a "written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 18221, at *23, quoting Fires v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993). To fully describe a genus of genetic material, which is a chemical compound, applicants must (1) fully describe at least one species of the claimed genus sufficient to represent said genus whereby a skilled artisan, in view of the prior art, could predict the structure of other species encompassed by the claimed genus and (2) identify the common characteristics of the claimed molecules, e.g., structure, physical and/or chemical characteristics, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or a combination of these (paraphrased from Enzo Biochemical).
University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. (69 USPQ2d 1886 (2004)) specifically points to the applicability of both Lilly and Enzo Biochemical to methods of using products, wherein said products lack adequate written description. While in University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. the methods were held to lack written description because not a single example of the product used in the claimed methods was described, the same analysis applies wherein the product, used in the claimed methods, must have adequate written description (see Enzo paraphrased above).
In the instant case, there is no structure associated with function with regard to the members of a genus of any variant with at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, with the added function of having reduced immunogenicity compared to full-length SEQ ID NO: 1 (wild-type). Claims 3 and 4-10 recite an incredibly large number of potential combinations of deletions and mutations and ‘one or more’ of potential deletions or substitutions that the specification does not support this breadth, particularly with the functional requirements in the claims.
The specification does not describe the structure for a representative number of genes from the Genus, with the required functionality in the claim. An argument can be made that the recited genus of polypeptides is adequately described by the disclosure of the structure SEQ ID NO: 1 and one could use structural homology to isolate those polypeptides with desired function. However, as described below, the art clearly teaches the "Practical Limits of Function Prediction":
Devos et al., (Proteins: Structure, Function and Genetics, 2000, Vol. 41: 98-107), teach that the results obtained by analyzing a significant number of true sequence similarities, derived directly from structural alignments, point to the complexity of function prediction. Different aspects of protein function, including (i) enzymatic function classification, (ii) functional annotations in the form of key words, (iii) classes of cellular function, and conservation of binding sites can only be reliably transferred between similar sequences to a modest degree. The reason for this difficulty is a combination of the unavoidable database inaccuracies and plasticity of proteins (Abstract, page 98) and the analysis poses interesting questions about the reliability of current function prediction exercises and the intrinsic limitation of protein function prediction (Column 1, paragraph 3, page 99) and conclude that "Despite widespread use of database searching techniques followed by function inference as standard procedures in Bioinformatics, the results presented here illustrate that transfer of function between similar sequences involves more difficulties than commonly believed. Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, and page 105).Whisstock et al., (Quarterly Reviews of Biophysics 2003, Vol. 36 (3): 307-340,) also highlight the difficulties associated with "Prediction of protein function from protein sequence and structure": "To reason from sequence and structure to function is to step onto much shakier ground", closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function, in such cases, assignment of function on the basis of homology, in the absence of direct experimental evidence, will give the wrong answer (page 309, paragraph 4), it is difficult to state criteria for successful prediction of function, since function is in principle a fuzzy concept. Given three sequences, it is possible to decide which of the three possible pairs is most closely related. Given three structures, methods are also available to measure and compare similarity of the pairs. However, in many cases, given three protein functions, it would be more difficult to choose the pair with most similar function, although it is possible to define metrics for quantitative comparisons of different protein sequences and structures, this is more difficult for proteins of different functions (page 312, paragraph 5), in families of closely related proteins, mutations usually conserve function but modulate specificity i.e., mutations tend to leave the backbone conformation of the pocket unchanged but to affect the shape and charge of its lining, altering specificity (page 313, paragraph 4), although the hope is that highly similar proteins will share similar functions, substitutions of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site residue may be sufficient to alter a protein's role fundamentally (page 323, paragraph 1). C. This finding is reinforced in the following scientific teachings for specific proteins in the art that suggest, even highly structurally homologous polypeptides do not necessarily share the same function and many functionally similar proteins will have little or no structural homology to disclosed proteins. For example, proteins having similar structure have different activities (structure does not always correlate to function); Witoski et al., (Biochemistry 38:11643-11650, 1999) teaches that one conservative amino acid substitution transforms a beta -ketoacyl synthase into a malonyl decarboxylase and completely eliminates beta-ketoacyl synthase activity. The art also teaches that functionally similar molecules have different structures; Kisselev L., (Structure, 2002, Vol. 10: 8-9) teach that polypeptide release factors in prokaryotes and eukaryotes have same function but different structures.
Because the art is unpredictable and the scope of the claim includes numerous structural variants, and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between genus members is permitted. The specification does not describe any members of the claimed genus by complete structure. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus, and thus, that the applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus. The claimed subject matter is not supported by an adequate written description because a representative number of species has not been described.
There are no drawings or structural formulas disclosed of any of thesefragments or variants of the claimed polypeptides. There is no teaching in thespecification regarding which has the desired effect, retaining functionality with reduced immunogenicity as well. Although the disclosure of SEQ ID NO: 1combined with the knowledge in the art, may put one in possession of peptides that are at least 50% identical to SEQ ID NO: 1, the level of skill and knowledge in the art is such that one of ordinary skill would not be able to identify without further testing which of those peptides would have the required functional activities. Based on the lack of knowledge and predictability in the art, those of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude that the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of modified Corynebacterium.
The claimed genera of has widely variable structures and associated functions. As it is discussed above, a minor changes in structure may result in changes affecting function, since, the specification provided no additional information (species/variant/mutant) correlating structure with function, one skilled in the art cannot reasonably conclude that applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
Applicants has provided description for SEQ ID NOS: 2-45, which do not all have the desired effect of reduced immunogenicity in comparison to the wild-type or retain the NF-kB signaling activity as recited in claim 12 or the adjuvant activity required in claim 16. The claims should be limited to the particular SEQ ID NOS. of the variants that possessed the required functionality in Tables 4-5.
"Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed ,genus or how to identify their common structural features" (See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895). A definition by function, as we have previously indicated, does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the .gene does (function), rather what it is (structure), see University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1938, thus above claims lack adequate written description.
Applicant is referred to the revised guidelines concerning compliance with the written description requirement of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, published in the Official Gazette and also available at www.uspto.gov
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Enablement
Claims 1-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claims are drawn, for example, to:
[Any] Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% identity to a wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin of SEQ ID NO: 1 and having reduced immunogenicity compared to the wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin.
2. The Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant according to claim 1, characterized in that the residual rate of the protein is increased after storage for 2 weeks at 37°C compared to the wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin.
3. The Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant according to claim 1, characterized by comprising one or more of the following mutations (1) to (7) in the amino acid sequence of the wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin of SEQ ID NO: 1:
(1) an acid substitution at one or more positions selected from the group consisting of L34, S49, M52, L59, A85, I86, Q103, Q104, L118, G151, G155, D176, G224, E231, D236, D238, M239 and R275;
(2) a deletion of the amino-terminal 0 domain (ND0, amino acids 131);
(3) a deletion of one or more amino acids within the amino-terminal 1 domain (ND1, amino acids 43-181);
(4) a deletion of one or more amino acids within the ND0-ND1 interface region (amino acids 32- 42);
(5) a deletion of one or more amino acids within the carboxy-terminal 1 domain (CD1, amino acids 182-235);
(6) a deletion of one or more amino acids within the carboxy-terminal 0 domain (CD0, amino acids 239-275); and (7) a deletion of the CD1-CD0 interface region (amino acids 236-238).
4. The Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant according to claim 3, characterized in that the amino acid substitution of (1) is one or more selected from the group consisting of of L34C, S49C, M52C, L59C, A85K, A85N, I86N, Q103A, Q104A, L118R, G151A, G155A, D176A, G224C, E231C, D236C, D238A, M239A and R275Q.
5. The Bacillus subtilis flagellin variant according to claim 4, characterized in that the deletion of one or more amino acids within ND1 of (3) is one or more deletions selected from the group consisting of a deletion of 43 a deletion of 43-50, a deletion of 100, a deletion of 181, a deletion of 144-146, a deletion of 164-179, and a deletion of 152-181 in the amino acid sequence of the wild-type Bacillus subtilis flagellin of SEQ ID NO: 1.
The specification states that substitutions, additions, or deletions, may be made to the defined sequences; however, the specification provides no guidance as which amino acids may be changed without causing a detrimental effect to the enzyme and with the added enzymatic function requirement. It is unpredictable as to which amino acids could be removed and which could be added. While it is known that many amino acid substitutions are possible in any given protein, the positions within the protein’s sequence where amino acid substitutions can be made with a reasonable expectation of success are limited. Other positions are critical to the protein’s structure/function relationship, e.g., such as various positions or regions directly involved in binding, catalysis in providing the correct three-dimensional spatial orientation of binding and catalytic sites. These regions can tolerate only very little or no substitutions. Selective point mutation to one key residue could eliminate the function of the polypeptide. It could eliminate its functional properties. If the range of decreased binding ability after single point mutation of a protein antigen varies, one could expect point mutations in the protein antigen to cause varying degrees of loss of function, depending on the relative importance to the binding interaction of the altered residue. Alternatively, the combined effects of multiple changes, as instantly claimed, could again result in loss of function. A protein having multiple point mutations, or accumulated point mutations at key residues could create a new antigen that is precipitously or progressively unrecognizable. As stated above, Applicants have not shown the particular substitution and the result it produces. Applicants have provided no guidance to enable one of ordinary skill in the art how to determine, without undue experimentation, the effects of different amino substitutions and the nature and extent of the changes that can be made. It is expensive and time consuming to make amino acid substitutions at more than one position, in a particular region of the protein, in view of the many fold possibilities for change in structure and the uncertainty as to what utility will be possessed. See Mikayama et al. (Nov.1993. Proc.Natl.Acad.Sci. USA, vol. 90 : 10056-10060) which teaches that the three-dimensional structure of molecules is important for their biological function and even a single amino acid difference may account for markedly different biological activities. Rudinger et al. (June 1976. Peptide Hormones. Biol.Council. pages 5-7) also teaches that amino acids owe their ‘significance’ to their inclusion in a pattern which is directly involved in recognition by, and binding to, the receptor and the significance of the particular amino acids and sequences for different amino acids cannot be predicted a priori but must be determined from case to case by painstaking experimental study. The instant claims allow for substitutions with amino acids of vastly different properties, and they do not recite the specific changes in the claims.
In the instant case, there is no structure associated with function with regard to the members of a genus of any variant with at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, with the added function of having reduced immunogenicity compared to full-length SEQ ID NO: 1 (wild-type) and/or retains NF-kB signaling activity. Claims 3 and 4-10 recite an incredibly large number of potential combinations of deletions and mutations and ‘one or more’ of potential deletions or substitutions that the specification is not enabled for, particularly with the functional requirements in the claims.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CAFC) 42 USPQ2d 1001 clearly states: “Patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable. See Brenner v. Manson, 383 U.S. 519, 536, 148 USPQ 689, 696 (1966) (stating, in context of the utility requirement, that "a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.") Tossing out the mere germ of an idea does not constitute enabling disclosure. While every aspect of a generic claim certainly need not have been carried out by an inventor, or exemplified in the specification, reasonable detail must be provided in order to enable members of the public to understand and carry out the invention.”
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tussey et al (WO2014168948-A2. 10/16/2014; Accession No. BBP52650).
Tussey et al teach a Bacillus subtilis flagellin protein, SEQ ID NO: 83, which has 60.4% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1. See sequence alignments in supplemental content tab, copied below. The term “vaccine” in claim 16 an intended use only. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Given that the flagellin protein of Tussey et al is from the same source and possesses the same structure, e.g., at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, the functional limitations in claims 2, 3 and 12 would be inherent properties. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO, 51 USPQ2d 1943 (Fed. Cir. 1999) Artisans of ordinary skill may not recognize the inherent characteristics or functioning of the prior art... However, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. A The Court further held that Athis same reasoning holds true when it is not a property but an ingredient which is inherently contained in the prior art.
Query Match 60.4%; Score 814; Length 317;
Best Local Similarity 57.2%;
Matches 183; Conservative 24; Mismatches 55; Indels 58; Gaps 4;
Qy 1 MRINHNIAALNTLNRLGSNNGAAQKNMEKLSSGLRINRAGDDAAGLAISEKMRGQIRGLE 60
|||||||||||| :| : : :| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||:
Db 1 MRINHNIAALNTSRQLNAGSDSAAKNMEKLSSGLRINRAGDDAAGLAISEKMRSQIRGLD 60
Qy 61 MASKNSQDGISLIQTAEGALTETHAILQRMRELTVQAGNTGTQQAEDLGAIKDEMDALIE 120
|||||:|||||||||:|||| |||:||||| || || | | | :: ||| |
Db 61 MASKNAQDGISLIQTSEGALNETHSILQRMSELATQAAN-DTNTDSDRSELQKEMDQLAS 119
Qy 121 EIDGISNRTEFNGKKLLDGTNSTDGFTFQIGANAGQQLNVKIDSMSSTALGV-------- 172
|: || |||| ||||||| ||||||| || ::: |: | | :| |
Db 120 EVTRISTDTEFNTKKLLDGT--AQNLTFQIGANEGQTMSLSINKMDSESLKVGTTYTVSG 177
Qy 173 --NALDVTD---------------------------------------------FAATAF 185
| | || :| |
Db 178 DQNTLTATDGSTATWADADDATNKPAGYYDAGGKVIASEKLAADSKVTKGIDISSSAKAA 237
Qy 186 DDQLKSIDTAINTVSTQRAKLGAVQNRLEHTINNLGASGENLTAAESRIRDVDMAKEMSE 245
| :| |||:|||::||||||||||||||||||| | ||||:||||||||||| || |
Db 238 SSALTTIKTAIDTVSSERAKLGAVQNRLEHTINNLGTSSENLTSAESRIRDVDMASEMME 297
Qy 246 FTKNNILSQASQAMLAQANQ 265
:||||||:||||||||||||
Db 298 YTKNNILTQASQAMLAQANQ 317
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aderem et al (US Patent 7,915,381 corresponds to WO2009130618-A2.10/29/09).
Aderem teaches Bacillus subtilis flagellin proteins, SEQ ID NOs: 17 and 27, which has 81% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1. See sequence alignments in supplemental content tab, copied below. The term “vaccine” in claim 16 an intended use only. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Given that the flagellin protein of Tussey et al is from the same source and possesses the same structure, e.g., at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, the functional limitations in claims 2, 3 and 12 would be inherent properties. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO, 51 USPQ2d 1943 (Fed. Cir. 1999) Artisans of ordinary skill may not recognize the inherent characteristics or functioning of the prior art... However, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. A The Court further held that Athis same reasoning holds true when it is not a property but an ingredient which is inherently contained in the prior art.
Query Match 81.0%; Score 1091.5; Length 304;
Best Local Similarity 77.6%;
Matches 236; Conservative 13; Mismatches 26; Indels 29; Gaps 4;
Qy 1 MRINHNIAALNTLNRLGSNNGAAQKNMEKLSSGLRINRAGDDAAGLAISEKMRGQIRGLE 60
|||||||||||||||| ||| |:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MRINHNIAALNTLNRLSSNNSASQKNMEKLSSGLRINRAGDDAAGLAISEKMRGQIRGLE 60
Qy 61 MASKNSQDGISLIQTAEGALTETHAILQRMRELTVQAGNTGTQ-QAEDLGAIKDEMDALI 119
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||| ||||||||| :| || :|:||: ||
Db 61 MASKNSQDGISLIQTAEGALTETHAILQRVRELVVQAGNTGTQDKATDLQSIQDEISALT 120
Qy 120 EEIDGISNRTEFNGKKLLDGTNSTDGFT--------FQIGANAGQQLNVKIDSMSSTALG 171
:|||||||||||||||||||| | | ||||||| ||::| |: | : |||
Db 121 DEIDGISNRTEFNGKKLLDGTYKVDTATPANQKNLVFQIGANATQQISVNIEDMGADALG 180
Qy 172 -------------VNALDVTDFAATA-------FDDQLKSIDTAINTVSTQRAKLGAVQN 211
|| |||| || | || ||| :| ||| ||:||||||||||
Db 181 IKEADGSIAALHSVNDLDVTKFADNAADTADIGFDAQLKVVDEAINQVSSQRAKLGAVQN 240
Qy 212 RLEHTINNLGASGENLTAAESRIRDVDMAKEMSEFTKNNILSQASQAMLAQANQQPQNVL 271
||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 RLEHTINNLSASGENLTAAESRIRDVDMAKEMSEFTKNNILSQASQAMLAQANQQPQNVL 300
Qy 272 QLLR 275
||||
Db 301 QLLR 304
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song et al (US Pat 8,932,605).
Song et al teaches Bacillus subtilis flagellin deletion mutants. SEQ ID No: 514 has 61.6% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (B. subtilis flagellin deletion mutant) and B. subtilis R3 protein, SEQ ID NO: 701 has 60.5% to SEQ ID NO: 1. See sequence alignments in supplemental content tab, and copied below. The term “vaccine” in claim 16 an intended use only. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Given that the flagellin protein of Tussey et al is from the same source and possesses the same structure, e.g., at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, the functional limitations in claims 2, 3 and 12 would be inherent properties. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO, 51 USPQ2d 1943 (Fed. Cir. 1999) Artisans of ordinary skill may not recognize the inherent characteristics or functioning of the prior art... However, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. A The Court further held that Athis same reasoning holds true when it is not a property but an ingredient which is inherently contained in the prior art.
Query Match 61.6%; Score 831; Length 486;
Best Local Similarity 66.4%;
Matches 182; Conservative 26; Mismatches 62; Indels 4; Gaps 3;
Qy 1 MRINHNIAALNTLNRLGSNNGAAQKNMEKLSSGLRINRAGDDAAGLAISEKMRGQIRGLE 60
|||||||||||| :| : : :| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||:
Db 1 MRINHNIAALNTSRQLNAGSDSAAKNMEKLSSGLRINRAGDDAAGLAISEKMRSQIRGLD 60
Qy 61 MASKNSQDGISLIQTAEGALTETHAILQRMRELTVQAGNTGTQQAEDLGAIKDEMDALIE 120
|||||:|||||||||:|||| |||:||||| || || | | | :: ||| |
Db 61 MASKNAQDGISLIQTSEGALNETHSILQRMSELATQAAN-DTNTDSDRSELQKEMDQLAS 119
Qy 121 EIDGISNRTEFNGKKLLDGTNSTDGFTFQIGANAGQQLNVKIDSMSSTALGV-NALDVTD 179
|: || |||| ||||||| ||||||| || ::: |: | | :| | : |
Db 120 EVTRISTDTEFNTKKLLDGT--AQNLTFQIGANEGQTMSLSINKMDSESLKVGHGAPVDP 177
Qy 180 FAATAFDDQLKSIDTAINTVSTQRAKLGAVQNRLEHTINNLGASGENLTAAESRIRDVDM 239
: | | :| |||:|||::||||||||||||||||||| | ||||:||||||||||
Db 178 ASPWAASSALTTIKTAIDTVSSERAKLGAVQNRLEHTINNLGTSSENLTSAESRIRDVDM 237
Qy 240 AKEMSEFTKNNILSQASQAMLAQANQQPQNVLQL 273
| || |:||||||:||||||||||||: |||
Db 238 ASEMMEYTKNNILTQASQAMLAQANQKGIAPLQL 271
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 10-11, 14-15, 18-19 and 23-26 of copending Application No. 19/607,213 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite compositions comprising Bacillus subtilis flagellin variants of wild-type flagellin comprising the same amino acid sequence, SEQ ID NO: 1, and the “at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 is included in the scope of the instant scope of “at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1”. Additionally, the same variant recited in co-pending claims 2, 11, 15 and 19 is recited in instant claim 11. While the preamble of the co-pending claims recites “an anti-aging composition” which is not recited in the instant claims, the structure of the variants is the same. The term “anti-aging” is an intended use only. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
PRIOR ART, not presently relied upon:
Cho, KA WO2022086190-A1. 4/28/22 Bacillus subtilis flagellin protein, SEQ 1.100% identity
LaVallie et al (J. Bacteriol. 171, 3085-3094, 1989) Cloning of the flagellin gene from Bacillus subtilis and complementation studies of an in vitro-derived deletion mutation.; 81% identity
Brunda, G. WO2020110154-A1. 6/4/20 Human 2xEGFL/B.subtilis flagellin protein (BsE2FS1), SEQ 16. 81% identity
Berka et al WO2008066931-A2.6/5/2008; Patent No. 7494798 Bacillus licheniformis SJ1904 (ATCC PTA-7992) protein, SEQ ID 9129. 80.7%
Stahl et al US4801536-A. 1/31/1989 Portion of clone P4A encoding flagellin gene of Bacillus subtillis. 80.2%
Correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 1645. Papers related to this application may be submitted to Group 1600 by facsimile transmission. Papers should be faxed to Group 1600 via the PTO Fax Center located in Remsen. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notice published in the Official Gazette, 1096 OG 30 (November 15,1989). The Group 1645 Fax number is 571-273-8300 which is able to receive transmissions 24 hours/day, 7 days/week.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-0500.
/JENNIFER E GRASER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 10/13/26