DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 1/12/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26 have been fully considered and thus after additional analysis:
The examiner erred in providing the 112 rejection and thus such rejection has been withdrawn.
The issue regarding the housing and power supply in such housing has been reconsidered, however, such argument is not persuasive: since, Milne et al. explicitly disclose of such power supply management (in fig.1 (49) ; col.6 line 44-52; col.7 line 7-12/which receive power from the external source or even as part of the integrated speaker and manage it to supply such received power to various components in the speaker housing). So each of the speaker housing may have corresponding and power supply.
While, the art never specify such specific aspect of the management of the power supply monitor power associated with the power ethernet device as mentioned by specifying the request maximum available for achieving the same result as to monitor and manage power distribution associated with the power from the ethernet source.
But, wilker disclose of the above herein (col.3 line 60-col.4 line 22; col.19 line 40-60). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to the networked speaker device comprising: power supply system being configured to monitor the Ethernet port for the availability of power from a power over Ethernet enabled network device, and manage of the available power from the power over Ethernet enabled network device so as to monitor and manage power distribution associated with the power from the ethernet source and adjust to optimal level.
Herein, Wilker is endeavoring to provide optimal level output according to managing power and thus it can be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 27, 41 are still rejected over un-statutory double patent , but would be allowable if provide the pertinent disclaimer and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 29, 32, 34, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2).
Claim 26, Milne et al. disclose of a networked speaker device, comprising: a housing (fig.1 (40); col.7 line 1-15) and ; an Ethernet port in the housing configured to be coupled to an Ethernet cable to receive power and audio data transmitted over the Ethernet cable (fig.1 (53); col.6 line 40-50); a power supply subsystem in the housing configured to manage the power received at the Ethernet port (fig.1 (49); col.6 line 44-50), and an audio amplifier in the housing powered by the power supply subsystem, the audio amplifier driving at least one speaker driver to render an audio output (fig.1 (42); col.6 line 25-50; col.7 line 7-12).
However, Milne et al. disclose of the specific regarding the power supply system being configured to monitor the Ethernet port for the availability of power from a power over Ethernet enabled network device, and request maximum available power from the power over Ethernet enabled network device.
However, Wilker et al. disclose of a similar aspect of a networked speaker device comprising: power supply system being configured to monitor the Ethernet port for the availability of power from a power over Ethernet enabled network device, and manage of the available power from the power over Ethernet enabled network device (col.3 line 60-col.4 line 22; col.19 line 40-60). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to the networked speaker device comprising: power supply system being configured to monitor the Ethernet port for the availability of power from a power over Ethernet enabled network device, and manage of the available power from the power over Ethernet enabled network device so as to monitor and manage power distribution associated with the power from the ethernet source and adjust to optimal level.
While, wilker never specify as system to request maximum available from the power ethernet device, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have manage and monitor power associated with the power ethernet device as mentioned by specifying the request maximum available for achieving the same result as to monitor and manage power distribution associated with the power from the ethernet source.
29. (New) The device of claim 26, wherein the power supply subsystem is configured to receive power received at the Ethernet port over wire pairs of the Ethernet cable (Milne-col.2 line 20-35; col.14 line 35-45).
Although, the art never specify of four wire pairs, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the various wire cable as noted by the prior art by adding such specific four wire pairs of the Ethernet cable for achieving the same expected result as to send data and other power signals over the channel as provided.
32. (New) The device of claim 26 further comprising processing (col.6 line 30-35), but, the prior art never specify of the microprocessor subsystem in the housing powered by the power supply subsystem, wherein the microprocessor subsystem includes a processor having a clock speed of at least one GHz, and a random-access memory (RAM) having at least 256 Megabytes of memory.
But examiner take official notice varying the parameter associated with the processor including having such microprocessor subsystem in the housing powered by the power supply subsystem, wherein the microprocessor subsystem includes a processor having a clock speed of at least one GHz, and a random-access memory (RAM) having at least 256 Megabytes of memory is well known in the art. Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted microprocessor subsystem in the housing powered by the power supply subsystem, wherein the microprocessor subsystem includes a processor having a clock speed of at least one GHz, and a random-access memory (RAM) having at least 256 Megabytes of memory for allowing different speed of processing.
34. (New) The device of claim 32, wherein the audio amplifier and the microprocessor subsystem support high-resolution digital audio sampling rates (M-col.6 line 20-35).
36. (New) The device of claim 26, wherein the power supply subsystem, the audio amplifier, and at least other components are integrated in one or more circuit boards in the housing (col.4 line 25-40).
Although, none of the prior art disclose of heat resistor, but the examiner takes official notice having a heat resistor being in the housing is well known int the art. Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have added such heat resistor for controlling heating temperature.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2) and Si (US 11,544,033 B2).
28. (New) The device of claim 26, wherein the power and audio data are received over the Ethernet cable from power sourcing equipment device (fig.1 (52-53); col.6 line 40-50).
However, Milne et al. lacked of the specific regarding the power sourcing equipment comprises a power over Ethernet enabled network router. But such aspect is mentioned therein by Siu (fig.3 (50); col.6 line 4-15). Thus, one the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect regarding the power sourcing equipment comprises a power over Ethernet enabled network router so as to provide operating power to speaker via the ethernet cable.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2) and Hick (US 10,278,264 B2).
30. (New) The device of claim 26, but Milne et al. never specify the aspect wherein the power is transmitted over the Ethernet cable as alternating current to the Ethernet port, and wherein the power supply subsystem comprises a diode bridge rectifier for converting the alternating current to direct current.
However, Hick disclose of the similar concept related to a power is transmitted over the Ethernet cable as alternating current to the Ethernet port, and wherein the power supply subsystem comprises a diode bridge rectifier for converting the alternating current to direct current (fig.3 (48-49); col.5 lien 45-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to a power is transmitted over the Ethernet cable as alternating current to the Ethernet port, and wherein the power supply subsystem comprises a diode bridge rectifier for converting the alternating current to direct current so as to provide proper operating power to the various component in the system.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2) and Oswell (US2015/0289041 A1).
31. (New) The device of claim 26, wherein the power supply subsystem has an output being given (fM-ig.1 (49); col.6 line 44-50).
However, none of the prior art disclose of output power of about 26 Volts DC to the audio amplifier, and the power supply subsystem further comprises a step-down switch-mode power supply circuit that converts 26 Volt DC to 5 Volts DC.
However, Oswell disclose of the similar aspect of power supply subsystem further comprises a step-down switch-mode power supply circuit that converts voltages (par [45]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such power supply subsystem further comprises a step-down switch-mode power supply circuit that converts voltages so as to provide various power distribution output to conserve power.
Although, none of the prior art disclose of the specific conversion of 26volt DC to 5 volt DC, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the particular voltages during operations by specifying if desired such conversion of 26volt DC to 5 volt DC for achieving the same result as to allow various power distributions output to conserve power.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2) and Bergmann et al. (US 9,680,957 B2).
33. (New) The device of claim 32, but the prior art failed to disclose as wherein the audio data comprises a high-resolution digital audio stream from an online music service, and wherein the microprocessor subsystem includes a flash memory of for caching audio data from the online music service to allow continuous audio playback in the event of an outage of the online music service.
However, Bergmann et al. disclose of similar aspect related to comprises a high-resolution digital audio stream from an online music service, and wherein the microprocessor subsystem includes a flash memory of for caching audio data from the online music service to allow continuous audio playback in the event of an outage of the online music service (col.1 line 25-40 & col.3 line 20-30). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted aspect related to comprises a high-resolution digital audio stream from an online music service, and wherein the microprocessor subsystem includes a flash memory of for caching audio data from the online music service to allow continuous audio playback in the event of an outage of the online music service so as to provide constant access to audio being playback.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2) and Liew et al. (US 2013/0078055 A1).
35. (New) The device of claim 26, but the prior art never specify as wherein the networked speaker device is connectable over a network to a plurality of other networked speaker devices configured to play audio content in synchrony.
However, Liew et al. disclose of various network speakers wherein the networked speaker device is connectable over a network to a plurality of other networked speaker devices configured to play audio content in synchrony (par [2, 54, 112]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding the noted networked speaker device is connectable over a network to a plurality of other networked speaker devices configured to play audio content in synchrony so as to allow the same media to be heard across the room simultaneously.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2) and kong (US 2018/0234768 A1)..
37. (New) The device of claim 26, but the prior art lacked of the specific as wherein the housing comprises Polypropylene.
However, kong disclose of the similar concept related to housing comprises Polypropylene (par [26]). Thus, one of the prior art could have modified the prior art by adding the noted aspect related to housing comprises Polypropylene for achieving the desired molding associated with the application.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2) and Johnson et al. (US 10,375, 471 B1).
39. (New) The device of claim 26, but the prior art lacked of the specific aspect relate to further comprising a rubber grommet at the Ethernet port to inhibit or prevent moisture ingress in the housing.
However, Johnson disclose of the similar aspect related to a rubber grommet at the Ethernet port to inhibit or prevent moisture ingress in the housing (fig.3 (304); col.10 line 30-35). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to a rubber grommet at the Ethernet port to inhibit or prevent moisture ingress in the housing for providing protection against moisture.
Claim(s) 40, 42-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Bergmann et al. (US 9,680,957 B2) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2).
Claim 40, the prior art disclose of a speaker system, comprising: a power over Ethernet enabled network configured to receive audio data (fig.1 (53); col.6 line 40-50).
However, Milne never specify of the network to receive the audio data over the internet from an online music service.
However, Bergmann et al. disclose of similar aspect related to network to receive the audio data over the internet from an online music service (col.1 line 25-40 & col.3 line 20-30/internet based content to be received). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted aspect related to network to receive the audio data over the internet from an online music service so as to provide constant access to audio being playback.
The prior art further disclose as a plurality of speaker devices connected to the network router by Ethernet cables, wherein each of the speaker devices comprises :a housing (fig.1 (40); col.7 line 1-15; col.14 line 20-35) ; an Ethernet port in the housing configured to be coupled to one of the Ethernet cables connected to the network router to receive power and audio data from the network router (fig.1 (53); col.6 line 40-50); a power supply subsystem in the housing configured to manage the power received at the Ethernet port (fig.1 (49); col.6 line 44-50); and an audio amplifier in the housing powered by the power supply subsystem, the audio amplifier driving at least one speaker driver to render an audio output (fig.1 (42); col.6 line 25-50; col.7 line 7-12).
.
However, Milne et al. disclose of the specific regarding the power supply system being configured to monitor the Ethernet port for the availability of power from a power over Ethernet enabled network device, and request maximum available power from the power over Ethernet enabled network device.
However, Wilker et al. disclose of a similar aspect of a networked speaker device comprising: power supply system being configured to monitor the Ethernet port for the availability of power from a power over Ethernet enabled network device, and manage of the available power from the power over Ethernet enabled network device (colo.3 line 60-col.4 line 22; col.19 line 40-60). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to the networked speaker device comprising: power supply system being configured to monitor the Ethernet port for the availability of power from a power over Ethernet enabled network device, and manage of the available power from the power over Ethernet enabled network device so as to monitor and manage power distribution associated with the power from the ethernet source.
While, wilker never specify as system to request maximum available from the power ethernet device, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have manage and monitor power associated with the power ethernet device as mentioned by specifying the request maximum available for achieving the same result as to monitor and manage power distribution associated with the power from the ethernet source.
42. (New) The system of claim 40, wherein the power supply subsystem of each speaker device is configured to receive power received at the Ethernet port over wire pairs of the Ethernet cable (Milne-col.2 line 20-35; col.14 line 35-45).
Although, the art never specify of four wire pairs, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the various wire cable as noted by the prior art by adding such specific four wire pairs of the Ethernet cable for achieving the same expected result as to send data and other power signals over the channel as provided.
43. (New) The system of claim 40, wherein the audio data comprises a high- resolution digital audio stream from the online music service (Berg-col.1 line 25-40 & col.3 line 20-30).
44. (New) The system of claim 40, wherein the audio data comprises a high- resolution digital audio stream from the online music service (Berg-col.1 line 25-40 & col.3 line 20-30).
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milne et al. (US 10,623,859 B1) and Bergmann et al. (US 9,680,957 B2) and Wilker et al. (US 10,034, 079 B2) and Liew et al. (US 2023/0078055 A1).
45. (New) The system of claim 40, but the prior art never specify as wherein the speaker devices configured to play audio content in synchrony.
.
However, Liew et al. disclose of various network speakers wherein speaker devices configured to play audio content in synchrony (par [2, 54, 112]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding the noted speaker devices configured to play audio content in synchrony so as to allow the same media to be heard across the room simultaneously.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695