DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment filed on August 31, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3, 5 – 7, 9 – 16 and 18 – 24 are pending in this application. Claims 2, 4, 8 and 17 have been cancelled. The Examiner acknowledges the addition of claims 21 – 24. Cancellation of claim 17 renders the 35 U.S.C 112, second paragraph rejection cited in the previous office action mute.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5 – 7, 9 – 16 and 18 – 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 – 7, 9 – 13, 18 and 21 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelch et al. USP 11841048 in view of Yin CN14407401 (incl. machine translation).
Claim 1, Soelch discloses a fluid-lubricated (col. 7, ll. 53 – 60: “[a]s noted above, the PTFE particulate-based lubricant in combination with the PFPE lubricant oil may preferably be present in the 2SSRC at a level of 1.0% (wt.) to 60.0% (wt.). However, in one particularly preferred lubricant combination, the PTFE particulate is preferably present in the 2SSRC at 15.0% (wt.) to 22.0% (wt.) and the PFPE lubricating oil is preferably present in the 2SSRC at a level of 25.0% (wt.) to 33.0% (wt.)”) plain bearing (“a bearing”)(Fig. 14)(col. 8, l. 61) comprising: at least one bearing clement (first member 50)(col. 8, l. 62) having a sliding surface, wherein a sliding layer (fabric sliding bearing liner 54)(col. 8, l. 6) is connected to or formed on the sliding surface, wherein the sliding layer comprises a fabric of weft fibers 18 (col. 4, ll. 6 – 7) woven with warp fibers 18 (col. 4, ll. 6 – 7) and embedded in a matrix (first bonding side resin composition (1BSRC) 22 - - col. 4, ll. 7 – 8 - - second sliding side composition (2SSRC) containing polymerizable resin 24 - - col. 4, ll. 13 – 14).
Soelch does not expressly disclose a) the warp fibers comprising solid lubricant and the weft fibers comprising reinforcing fibers or b) the warp fibers comprising reinforcing fibers and the weft fibers comprising solid lubricant.
Yin teaches that it was known to a use warp fibers comprising solid lubricant and the weft fibers comprise reinforcing fibers or the warp fibers comprising reinforcing fibers and the weft fibers comprise solid lubricant ([0007]: “[i]n some embodiments, the prefabrication involves weaving warp and weft yarns to obtain a padding fabric, wherein the warp yarns include PTFE fibers, and the weft yarns include one of PA fibers, PI fibers, UPE fibers, aramid fibers, carbon fibers, and glass fibers”), in order to provide bearing liners with improved friction and lubrication performance and higher load bearing capacity over conventional composite bearing liners ([0018], ll. 9 – 14: “[a]fter extensive research, the inventors discovered that flanged bearings made by weaving a specific warp and weft yarn into a lining cloth, then treating it specially, mixing it with adhesive, and then composite it with steel exhibit superior friction and lubrication performance, higher load bearing capacity, and longer lifespan compared to commonly used three-layer composite materials”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plain bearing device of Soelch, such that the warp fibers comprise solid lubricant and the weft fibers comprise reinforcing fibers or b) the warp fibers comprise reinforcing fibers and the weft fibers comprise solid lubricant, as taught by Yin, for the purpose of providing bearing liners with improved friction and lubrication performance and higher load bearing capacity over conventional composite bearing liners.
Claim 3, Soelch as modified by Yin discloses the warp fibers comprising PTFE fibers, UHMWPE fibers, pitch-based carbon fibers, coated fibers made of reinforcing fiber materials and/or bi-component fibers, or wherein the weft fibers comprise PTFE fibers, UHMWPE fibers, pitch-based carbon fibers, coated fibers made of reinforcing fiber materials and/or bi-component fiber ([0007]).
Claim 5, Soelch discloses the reinforcing fibers as continuous fibers (see Fig. 1 – 4).
Claim 6, Soelch discloses the reinforcing fibers comprising glass fibers, carbon fibers, PEEK fibers, polyester fibers, basalt fibers, PPS fibers, PA fibers, PLA fibers, PAI fibers, cotton fibers and/or sisal fibers (col. 3, ll. 49 – 59: “fabrics herein for the bearing liner (woven or non-woven) are preferably comprised of fibers sourced from fiber-forming polymers. Such may preferably include aromatic polyamides (e.g., Nomex® and/or Kevlar®), polyimides, nylons or aliphatic polyamides, polyesters (e.g. PET), polyacrylates, polyethylene, glass, carbon fibers, polyamideimides, polyetherketones, polyphenylene sulfides, polypropylene, polyphenylene sulfide, and/or polybenzimidazoles. One particular preferred fabric is HT-527 available from Stern and Stern Industries, which is composed of polyaramid fibers and polytetrafluroethylene fibers”).
Claim 7, Soelch discloses the warp fibers and the weft fibers as continuous fibers (see Fig. 1 – 4).
Claim 9, Soelch discloses the matrix comprises a solid lubricant selected from the group consisting of PTFE, MoS2, graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes, WS2, h-BN, MgSt-D and UHMWPE (col. 7, ll. 30 – 38: “lubricant additive(s) may preferably be selected from fibrous and/or particulate lubricants to reduce the friction as between the 2SSRC and the surface to which it may be frictionally engaged when positioned as a liner in a bearing application. Preferred lubricants therefore include one or more of the following: fibrous or particulate polytetrafluoroethylene, perfluoropolyethers, graphite, polyaramide fibers, molybdenum disulfide, hexagonal boron nitride, and graphene”).
Claim 10, Soelch discloses the solid lubricant comprising solid lubricant particles embedded in the matrix (col. 7, ll. 30 – 38).
Claim 11, Soelch discloses the matrix comprising a thermoset or a thermoplastic selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyurethane, PEEK, PEK, PI, PPS, PEI, POM, PA, PAI and PBI (col. 6, ll. 32 – 37: “[p]referably, the polymerizing resins for the 1BSRC and/or the 2SSRC are those that will form one or more of the following polymers: poly(acrylates), phenolic resins, aromatic polyamides, epoxy resins, polyimides, poly(amide-imides), polyetherketones, polyetheretherktones, or polyesters”).
Claim 12, Soelch discloses the sliding layer being attached to the sliding surface by an adhesive (first bonding side composition (1BSRC) containing polymerizable resin 22)(col. 4, ll. 8 – 9).
Claim 13, Soelch discloses the sliding layer being attached to the sliding surface by an adhesive bond 22 based on a thermosetting resin (col. 6, ll. 32 – 37).
Claim 18, Soelch discloses the matrix 24 comprising an epoxy resin (col. 6, ll. 32 – 37).
Claims 21 and 24, Soelch discloses the weft fibers being woven with the warp fibers in an Atlas weave (a.k.a. “satin weave” described by Soelch in col. 3, l. 44 and shown in Fig. 2).
Claim 22, Soelch as modified by Yin discloses the warp fibers comprising solid lubricant fibers and the weft fibers comprising reinforcing fibers or b) the warp fibers comprising reinforcing fibers and the weft fibers comprising solid lubricant fibers ([0007]).
Claim 23, Soelch as modified by Yin discloses all of the warp fibers as reinforcing fibers and all of the weft fibers as solid lubricant fibers ([0007]).
Claim(s) 14, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelch et al. USP 11841048 in view of Yin CN14407401 (incl. machine translation). as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP H0771446 (incl. machine translation).
Claim 14, Soelch as modified by Yin discloses all of the limitations of the invention of claim 14, except for the at least one bearing element comprising at least one tilting pad and the sliding layer being formed on at least one portion of the at least one tilting pad.
Soelch as modified by Yin does disclose the use of said fiber composite matrix material in bearings comprising fabric sliding liners (Soelch, col. 8, ll. 60 – 66: “[w]ith attention to FIG. 14, reference to a bearing herein is reference to any component that contains a first member 50 having a surface 51 and a second member 52 having a surface 53 that are configured to be in sliding contact. The fabric sliding bearing liner 54 described herein is located between the first member 50 and second member 52”), which is applicable to the fluid-lubricated plain bearing (Fig. 1) comprising at least one tilting pad (T1 – T6) including a sliding layer 26 comprised a fiber composite matrix material (Uno, [0030], ll. 2 – 3) taught by Uno.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the fluid-lubricated bearing of Soelch as modified by Yin in view of Uno to arrive at the at least one bearing element comprising at least one tilting pad, wherein the sliding layer is formed on at least one portion of the at least one tilting pad. Specifically, the combined device of Soelch and Yin as modified by Uno teaches the use of a fiber composite liner on the sliding surface of a fluid-lubricated bearing in order to provide desirable bearing properties such as improved wear resistance, load carrying capability, reduced friction, and durability under lubricated operating conditions. Reference Uno teaches a fluid-lubricated bearing having at least one tilting pad, wherein the sliding surface of the tilting pad includes a bearing liner.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the fiber composite liner material taught by Soelch as modified by Yin into the bearing liner structure of the tilting pad disclosed in reference Uno because both references are directed to fluid-lubricated bearing technologies addressing sliding surface performance in lubricated environments. The substitution of the known fiber composite liner material of Soelch as modified by Yin for the liner material used on the tilting pad sliding surface of Uno would have represented the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions in order to improve the performance and durability of the tilting pad bearing assembly.
Claim 15, Soelch as modified by Yin discloses all of the limitations of the invention of claim 15, including the warp fibers being selected from the group consisting of PTFE fibers, UHMWPE fibers, pitch-based carbon fibers, coated fibers made of reinforcing fiber materials and/or bi-component fibers (Yin, [0007]), and the weft fibers being selected from the group consisting of glass fibers, carbon fibers, PEEK fibers, polyester fibers, basalt fibers, PPS fibers, PA fibers, PLA fibers, PAI fibers, cotton fibers and/or sisal fibers (Yin, [0007]), or the weft fibers being selected from the group consisting of PTFE fibers, UHMWPE fibers, pitch-based carbon fibers, coated fibers made of reinforcing fiber materials and/or bi-component fibers and the warp fibers being selected from the group consisting of glass fibers, carbon fibers, PEEK fibers, polyester fibers, basalt fibers, PPS fibers, PA fibers, PLA fibers, PAI fibers, cotton fibers and/or sisal fibers, wherein the matrix comprises a thermoset or a thermoplastic selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyurethane, PEEK, PEK, PI, PPS, PEI, POM, PA, PAT and PBI (Soelch, col. 6, ll. 32 – 37), and wherein the matrix comprises a solid lubricant selected from the group consisting of PTFE, MoS2, graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes, WS2, h-BN, MgSt-D and UHMWPE (Soelch, col. 7, ll. 30 – 38).
Soelch as modified by Yin does not expressly discloses the at least one bearing element comprising at least one tilting pad. Soelch as modified by Yin does disclose the use of said fiber composite matrix material in bearings comprising fabric sliding liners (Soelch, col. 8, ll. 60 – 66: “[w]ith attention to FIG. 14, reference to a bearing herein is reference to any component that contains a first member 50 having a surface 51 and a second member 52 having a surface 53 that are configured to be in sliding contact. The fabric sliding bearing liner 54 described herein is located between the first member 50 and second member 52”), which is applicable to the fluid-lubricated plain bearing (Fig. 1) comprising at least one tilting pad (T1 – T6) including a sliding layer 26 comprised a fiber composite matrix material (Uno, [0030], ll. 2 – 3) taught by Uno.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the fluid-lubricated bearing of Soelch as modified by Yin in view of Uno to arrive at the at least one bearing element comprising at least one tilting pad. Specifically, the combined device of Soelch and Yin as modified by Uno teaches the use of a fiber composite liner on the sliding surface of a fluid-lubricated bearing in order to provide desirable bearing properties such as improved wear resistance, load carrying capability, reduced friction, and durability under lubricated operating conditions. Reference Uno teaches a fluid-lubricated bearing having at least one tilting pad, wherein the sliding surface of the tilting pad includes a bearing liner.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the fiber composite liner material taught by Soelch as modified by Yin into the bearing liner structure of the tilting pad disclosed in reference Uno because both references are directed to fluid-lubricated bearing technologies addressing sliding surface performance in lubricated environments. The substitution of the known fiber composite liner material of Soelch as modified by Yin for the liner material used on the tilting pad sliding surface of Uno would have represented the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions in order to improve the performance and durability of the tilting pad bearing assembly.
Claim 16, Soelch discloses a fluid- lubricated (col. 7, ll. 53 – 60) plain bearing (col. 8, l. 61) comprising: at least one bearing element 50 having a sliding surface, wherein a sliding layer 54 is connected to or formed on the sliding surface, wherein the sliding layer comprises a fiber composite material (Fig. 3), and wherein the fiber composite material comprises a matrix 1BSRC, 2SSRC and fibers 16, 18 embedded in the matrix, wherein the matrix comprises a solid lubricant selected from the group consisting of PTFE, MoS2, graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes, WS2, h-BN, MgSt-D and UHMWPE, wherein the matrix comprises a thermoset or a thermoplastic selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyurethane, PEEK, PEK, PI, PPS, PEI, POM, PA, PAI and PBI (col. 6, ll. 32 – 3, and wherein the fibers of a first subset 16 of the fibers are woven with the fibers of a second subset 18 of fibers.
Soelch does not expressly disclose the first subset of the fibers comprising a solid lubricant, and the second subset of the fibers comprising reinforcing fibers, wherein the first subset of the fibers is selected from the group consisting of PTFE fibers, UHMWPE fibers, pitch-based carbon fibers, coated fibers made of reinforcing fiber materials and/or bi-component fibers, and the second subset of the fibers is selected from the group consisting of glass fibers, carbon fibers, PEEK fibers, polyester fibers, basalt fibers, PPS fibers, PA fibers, PLA fibers, PAI fibers, cotton fibers and/or sisal fibers.
Yin teaches that it was known to the first subset of the fibers comprising a solid lubricant, and the second subset of the fibers comprising reinforcing fibers, wherein the first subset of the fibers is selected from the group consisting of PTFE fibers, UHMWPE fibers, pitch-based carbon fibers, coated fibers made of reinforcing fiber materials and/or bi-component fibers, and the second subset of the fibers is selected from the group consisting of glass fibers, carbon fibers, PEEK fibers, polyester fibers, basalt fibers, PPS fibers, PA fibers, PLA fibers, PAI fibers, cotton fibers and/or sisal fibers ([0007]), in order to provide bearing liners with improved friction and lubrication performance and higher load bearing capacity over conventional composite bearing liners ([0018], ll. 9 – 14: “[a]fter extensive research, the inventors discovered that flanged bearings made by weaving a specific warp and weft yarn into a lining cloth, then treating it specially, mixing it with adhesive, and then composite it with steel exhibit superior friction and lubrication performance, higher load bearing capacity, and longer lifespan compared to commonly used three-layer composite materials”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plain bearing device of Soelch, such that the first subset of the fibers comprising a solid lubricant, and the second subset of the fibers comprising reinforcing fibers, wherein the first subset of the fibers is selected from the group consisting of PTFE fibers, UHMWPE fibers, pitch-based carbon fibers, coated fibers made of reinforcing fiber materials and/or bi-component fibers, and the second subset of the fibers is selected from the group consisting of glass fibers, carbon fibers, PEEK fibers, polyester fibers, basalt fibers, PPS fibers, PA fibers, PLA fibers, PAI fibers, cotton fibers and/or sisal fibers, as taught by Yin, for the purpose of providing bearing liners with improved friction and lubrication performance and higher load bearing capacity over conventional composite bearing liners.
Soelch as modified by Yin does not expressly discloses the at least one bearing element comprising at least one tilting pad. Soelch as modified by Yin does disclose the use of said fiber composite matrix material in bearings comprising fabric sliding liners (Soelch, col. 8, ll. 60 – 66: “[w]ith attention to FIG. 14, reference to a bearing herein is reference to any component that contains a first member 50 having a surface 51 and a second member 52 having a surface 53 that are configured to be in sliding contact. The fabric sliding bearing liner 54 described herein is located between the first member 50 and second member 52”), which is applicable to the fluid-lubricated plain bearing (Fig. 1) comprising at least one tilting pad (T1 – T6) including a sliding layer 26 comprised a fiber composite matrix material (Uno, [0030], ll. 2 – 3) taught by Uno.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the fluid-lubricated bearing of Soelch as modified by Yin in view of Uno to arrive at the at least one bearing element comprising at least one tilting pad. Specifically, the combined device of Soelch and Yin as modified by Uno teaches the use of a fiber composite liner on the sliding surface of a fluid-lubricated bearing in order to provide desirable bearing properties such as improved wear resistance, load carrying capability, reduced friction, and durability under lubricated operating conditions. Reference Uno teaches a fluid-lubricated bearing having at least one tilting pad, wherein the sliding surface of the tilting pad includes a bearing liner.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the fiber composite liner material taught by Soelch as modified by Yin into the bearing liner structure of the tilting pad disclosed in reference Uno because both references are directed to fluid-lubricated bearing technologies addressing sliding surface performance in lubricated environments. The substitution of the known fiber composite liner material of Soelch as modified by Yin for the liner material used on the tilting pad sliding surface of Uno would have represented the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions in order to improve the performance and durability of the tilting pad bearing assembly.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelch et al. USP 11841048 in view of Yin CN14407401 as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Uno JP H0771446 (incl. machine translation).
Claim 19, Soelch discloses all of the limitations of the invention of claim 19, except for a ring and a shaft, wherein the at least one bearing element comprises a plurality of tilting pads mounted in a circumferentially spaced manner around an interior of the ring, and wherein the shaft is supported by at least a subset of the plurality of tilting pads.
Soelch does disclose the use of said fiber composite matrix material in bearings comprising fabric sliding liners (col. 8, ll. 60 – 66: “[w]ith attention to FIG. 14, reference to a bearing herein is reference to any component that contains a first member 50 having a surface 51 and a second member 52 having a surface 53 that are configured to be in sliding contact. The fabric sliding bearing liner 54 described herein is located between the first member 50 and second member 52”), which is applicable to the fluid-lubricated plain bearing (Fig. 1) taught by Uno. The fluid-lubricated bearing taught by Uno includes a ring 2, a shaft 1, and a plurality tilting pads (T1 – T6), which include a sliding layer 26 comprised a fiber composite matrix material ([0030], ll. 2 – 3), mounted in a circumferentially spaced manner around an interior of the ring, and wherein the shaft is supported by at least a subset of the plurality of tilting pads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the fluid-lubricated bearing of Soelch in view of Uno to arrive at fluid-lubricated bearing that includes a ring, a shaft, wherein the at least one bearing element comprises a plurality of tilting pads mounted in a circumferentially spaced manner around an interior of the ring, and wherein the shaft is supported by at least a subset of the plurality of tilting pads. Specifically, Soelch teaches the use of a fiber composite liner on the sliding surface of a fluid-lubricated bearing in order to provide desirable bearing properties such as improved wear resistance, load carrying capability, reduced friction, and durability under lubricated operating conditions. Reference Uno teaches a fluid-lubricated bearing a ring, a shaft, wherein the at least one bearing element comprises a plurality of tilting pads mounted in a circumferentially spaced manner around an interior of the ring, wherein the shaft is supported by at least a subset of the plurality of tilting pads, and wherein the sliding surface of the tilting pad includes a bearing liner.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the fiber composite liner material taught by Soelch into the bearing liner structure of the tilting pads disclosed in Uno because both references are directed to fluid-lubricated bearing technologies addressing sliding surface performance in lubricated environments. The substitution of the known fiber composite liner material of Soelch for the liner material used on the tilting pad sliding surfaces of Uno would have represented the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions in order to improve the performance and durability of the tilting pad bearing assembly.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelch et al. USP 11841048 in view of Yin CN14407401 as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Uno JP H0771446 (incl. machine translation).
Claim 20, Soelch discloses all of the limitations of the invention of claim 20, except for a ring and a shaft, wherein the at least one bearing element comprises a plurality of tilting pads mounted in a circumferentially spaced manner around an interior of the ring, and wherein the shaft is supported by at least a subset of the plurality of tilting pads.
Soelch does disclose the use of said fiber composite matrix material in bearings comprising fabric sliding liners (col. 8, ll. 60 – 66: “[w]ith attention to FIG. 14, reference to a bearing herein is reference to any component that contains a first member 50 having a surface 51 and a second member 52 having a surface 53 that are configured to be in sliding contact. The fabric sliding bearing liner 54 described herein is located between the first member 50 and second member 52”), which is applicable to the fluid-lubricated plain bearing (Fig. 1) taught by Uno. The fluid-lubricated bearing taught by Uno includes a ring 2, a shaft 1, and a plurality tilting pads (T1 – T6), which include a sliding layer 26 comprised a fiber composite matrix material ([0030], ll. 2 – 3), mounted in a circumferentially spaced manner around an interior of the ring, and wherein the shaft is supported by at least a subset of the plurality of tilting pads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the fluid-lubricated bearing of Soelch in view of Uno to arrive at fluid-lubricated bearing that includes a ring, a shaft, wherein the at least one bearing element comprises a plurality of tilting pads mounted in a circumferentially spaced manner around an interior of the ring, and wherein the shaft is supported by at least a subset of the plurality of tilting pads. Specifically, Soelch teaches the use of a fiber composite liner on the sliding surface of a fluid-lubricated bearing in order to provide desirable bearing properties such as improved wear resistance, load carrying capability, reduced friction, and durability under lubricated operating conditions. Reference Uno teaches a fluid-lubricated bearing a ring, a shaft, wherein the at least one bearing element comprises a plurality of tilting pads mounted in a circumferentially spaced manner around an interior of the ring, wherein the shaft is supported by at least a subset of the plurality of tilting pads, and wherein the sliding surface of the tilting pad includes a bearing liner.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the fiber composite liner material taught by Soelch into the bearing liner structure of the tilting pads disclosed in Uno because both references are directed to fluid-lubricated bearing technologies addressing sliding surface performance in lubricated environments. The substitution of the known fiber composite liner material of Soelch for the liner material used on the tilting pad sliding surfaces of Uno would have represented the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions in order to improve the performance and durability of the tilting pad bearing assembly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILLIP A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617