DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claims dated 2/10/2025.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Current Application:
1. A utility module comprising:
a housing;
a bottom surface defined by the housing;
a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit;
a display pivotally coupled to the housing;
a cable configured to extend and retract from within the housing; and
a camera coupled to an outer end of the cable, wherein the display displays one or more images captured by the camera.
2. The utility module of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of male couplers include a body extending from the bottom surface and a first tongue extending from the body, the first tongue offset from, below and parallel to the bottom surface.
3. The utility module of claim 2, the first tongue defining a first channel comprising a front open end and a back closed end.
4. The utility module of claim 3, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, the first channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a handle coupled to the front wall.
5. The utility module of claim 3, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, the first channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a latch coupled to the front wall, the latch configured to engage with a latch recess defined by the top surface of the storage unit, wherein engagement the latch and the latch recess biases male couplers from disengaging from female couplers of the storage unit.
6. The utility module of claim 1, wherein the display pivots with respect to the housing about a first axis and a second axis distinct from the first axis.
7. The utility module of claim 6, wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the first axis.
8. The utility module of claim 1, comprising a knee padding, the knee padding configured to be used by a user operating the camera and display.
9. The utility module of claim 1, wherein the display is a touchscreen.
10. A utility module comprising:
a housing;
a bottom surface defined by the housing;
a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit;
a display pivotally coupled to the housing;
a camera, wherein the display displays one or more images captured by the camera; and
a battery interface configured to physically couple to a rechargeable power tool battery, wherein the display and camera are configured to receive power from the rechargeable power tool battery coupled to the battery interface.
11. The utility module of claim 10, comprising a first lid pivotally coupled to the housing, the first lid and the housing collectively defining a first compartment configured to store a cable coupled to the camera.
12. The utility module of claim 11, comprising a second lid pivotally coupled to the housing, the second lid and the housing collectively defining a second compartment in which the battery interface is located.
13. The utility module of claim 12, comprising knee padding coupled to the second lid, the knee padding configured to be used by a user operating the camera and display.
14. The utility module of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of male couplers include a body extending from the bottom surface, a first tongue extending from the body, and a second tongue opposite the first tongue and extending from the body, each of the first tongue and the second tongue offset from, below and parallel to the bottom surface.
15. The utility module of claim 14, the first tongue defining a first channel and the second tongue defining a second channel, each of the first tongue and the second tongue comprising a front open end and a back closed end.
16. The utility module of claim 15, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, each of the first channel and the second channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a handle coupled to the front wall.
17. The utility module of claim 15, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, each of the first channel and the second channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a latch coupled to the front wall, the latch actuating configured to engage with a latch recess defined by the top surface of the storage unit, wherein engagement the latch and the latch recess biases male couplers from disengaging from female couplers of the storage unit.
18. A utility module comprising:
a housing;
a bottom surface defined by the housing;
a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit;
a display pivotally coupled to the housing;
a storage area defined by the housing, the storage area configured to store equipment; and
a camera, wherein the display displays one or more images captured by the camera.
19. The utility module of claim 18, comprising engagement components extending from and below the plurality of male couplers, wherein the engagement components are formed from a material comprising rubber.
20. The utility module of claim 19, wherein the display pivots with respect to the housing about a first axis and a second axis distinct from the first axis, wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the first axis, and wherein the display is a touchscreen.
U.S. Application 19/067,123:
1. A utility module comprising:
a housing;
a bottom surface defined by the housing;
a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit;
a display pivotally coupled to the housing;
a cable configured to extend and retract from within the housing; and
a camera coupled to an outer end of the cable, wherein the display displays one or more images captured by the camera.
2. The utility module of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of male couplers include a body extending from the bottom surface and a first tongue extending from the body, the first tongue offset from, below and parallel to the bottom surface.
3. The utility module of claim 2, the first tongue defining a first channel comprising a front open end and a back closed end.
4. The utility module of claim 3, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, the first channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a handle coupled to the front wall.
5. The utility module of claim 3, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, the first channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a latch coupled to the front wall, the latch configured to engage with a latch recess defined by the top surface of the storage unit, wherein engagement the latch and the latch recess biases male couplers from disengaging from female couplers of the storage unit.
6. The utility module of claim 1, wherein the display pivots with respect to the housing about a first axis and a second axis distinct from the first axis.
7. The utility module of claim 6, wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the first axis.
8. The utility module of claim 1, comprising a knee padding, the knee padding configured to be used by a user operating the camera and display.
9. The utility module of claim 1, wherein the display is a touchscreen.
10. A utility module comprising:
a housing;
a bottom surface defined by the housing;
a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit;
a display pivotally coupled to the housing;
a camera, wherein the display displays one or more images captured by the camera; and
a battery interface configured to physically couple to a rechargeable power tool battery, wherein the display and camera are configured to receive power from the rechargeable power tool battery coupled to the battery interface.
11. The utility module of claim 10, comprising a first lid pivotally coupled to the housing, the first lid and the housing collectively defining a first compartment configured to store a cable coupled to the camera.
12. The utility module of claim 11, comprising a second lid pivotally coupled to the housing, the second lid and the housing collectively defining a second compartment in which the battery interface is located.
13. The utility module of claim 12, comprising knee padding coupled to the second lid, the knee padding configured to be used by a user operating the camera and display.
14. The utility module of claim 11, comprising:
a drum located within the first compartment, wherein the cable is wrapped within the drum; and
a retainer comprising a vertical arm that extends away from the first lid and within the drum, the vertical arm partially enclosing the cable within the drum.
15. The utility module of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of male couplers include a body extending from the bottom surface, a first tongue extending from the body, and a second tongue opposite the first tongue and extending from the body, each of the first tongue and the second tongue offset from, below and parallel to the bottom surface.
16. The utility module of claim 15, the first tongue defining a first channel and the second tongue defining a second channel, each of the first tongue and the second tongue comprising a front open end and a back closed end.
17. The utility module of claim 16, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, each of the first channel and the second channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a latch coupled to the front wall, the latch actuating configured to engage with a latch recess defined by the top surface of the storage unit, wherein engagement the latch and the latch recess biases male couplers from disengaging from female couplers of the storage unit.
18. A utility module comprising:
a housing;
a bottom surface defined by the housing;
a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit;
a display pivotally coupled to the housing;
a storage area defined by the housing, the storage area configured to store equipment; and
a camera, wherein the display displays one or more images captured by the camera.
19. The utility module of claim 18, comprising engagement components extending from and below the plurality of male couplers, wherein the engagement components are formed from a material comprising rubber.
20. The utility module of claim 19, wherein the display pivots with respect to the housing about a first axis and a second axis distinct from the first axis, wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the first axis, and wherein the display is a touchscreen.
4. Claims 1-13, 15-16 and 18-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-15 and 18-20 (see above claim comparison table), of copending Application No. U.S. Application 19/067,123. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Note: figures 5-6 appears to show some sort of foot structure(s). Paragraph [0045] mentions “storage area 170”. Nothing in the drawings show the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit. Also, “a storage unit” is not shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 18, it is unclear how exactly the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of a storage unit. The figures 4-5 appear to show “male couplers 202” as some sort of foot structure(s). The specification mentions “a storage unit” and “storage area 170”. No numeral reference for “a storage unit” mentioned in the specification/drawings.
As best understood, the Examiner interprets the claimed “storage unit” to be the space inside main chassis and the male couplers to be some sort of screws/bolts.
Claims 2-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are dependent from claims, 1, 10 and 18, respectively, and therefore, are rejected for at least the same reason.
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationship is: “a knee padding, the knee padding configured to be used by a user operating the camera and display”. It is unclear where the knee pad is positioned and how exactly it is structurally connected to the whole structure of said utility module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) in view of Martin et al. U.S. Patent 8,033,515 (hereinafter D3) and in further view of Muller U.S. Patent 6,520,444. (hereinafter D4).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a utility module comprising:
a housing (102; figure 1);
a bottom surface (bottom surface of 102; figure 1) defined by the housing;
a storage unit (space inside 102; figure 1);
a display (211; figure 1) pivotally coupled (see figure 1) to the housing;
a camera (212; figure 1), wherein the display displays (implicitly taught) one or more images captured by the camera.
However, D1 does not specifically teach a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit.
D2, teaches a similar structure, which comprises a plurality of male couplers (503; figure 5) extending from the bottom surface (see figure 5), the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the utility module of D1 with a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit, as suggested by D2, to detachably fix a storage unit inside said housing, if desired.
However, D1 does not specifically teach a cable configured to extend and retract from within the housing; and the camera is coupled to an outer end of the cable.
D3, teaches a camera/webcam (16; figure 1) to be connected with a cable to a computer housing (30; figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the camera of D1/D2 with a camera/webcam to be coupled to an outer end of a cable to be connected to the computer housing, as suggested by D3, so that said camera/webcam can be moved around.
D1/D2/D3, however, does not teach the cable configured to extend and retract from within the housing.
D4, suggests the idea of having an electric cable extends and retract (see above figure 2A) from within the housing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further configure the cable of D1/D2/D3 to extend and retract from within the housing of said utility module, as suggested by D4, for cable organizing purpose.
12. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) in view of Martin et al. U.S. Patent 8,033,515 (hereinafter D3) and in further view of Muller U.S. Patent 6,520,444. (hereinafter D4) and in further view of Adams U.S. Pub. 2023/0234211 (hereinafter D8).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3/D4 teaches the utility module of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3/D4 does not specifically teach wherein each of the plurality of male couplers include a body extending from the bottom surface and a first tongue extending from the body, the first tongue offset from, below and parallel to the bottom surface.
D8, teaches a similar structure, suggests a plurality of male couplers (160; figure 3) include a body (main portion of 160; see figure 4) extending (see figure 4) from the bottom surface and a first tongue (see above annotated figure 4) extending from the body, the first tongue offset from (see above figure 4), below and parallel (see above figure 4) to the bottom surface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the each of the plurality of male couplers of D1/D2/D3/D4 with male couplers, as suggested by D8, to include a body extending from the bottom surface and a first tongue extending from the body, the first tongue offset from, below and parallel to the bottom surface, for securing purpose, if needed.
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3/D4/D8 teaches the utility module of claim 2.
However, D1/D1/D3/D4/D8 does not specifically teach the first tongue defining a first channel comprising a front open end and a back closed end.
D8 further suggests the first tongue defining a first channel (see above annotated figure 4 of D8) comprising a front open end (see above annotated figure 4) and a back closed end (see above annotated figure 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the first tongue of the utility module of D1/D2/D3/D4/D8 with a first channel comprising a front open end and a back closed end, as suggested by D8, for heat ventilation purpose.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3/D4/D8 teaches the utility module of claim 3; wherein the housing comprising a front wall (outer wall of 101; figure 1 of D1) and an opposing back wall (outer wall of bottom side of 102; figure 1 of D1), the utility module comprising a handle (see above annotated figure 1 of D1) coupled to the front wall.D8 further suggests the first channel extending (see above annotated figure 4 of D8) from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the first channel of the utility module of D1/D2/D3/D4/D8 to be extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, as suggested by D8, stable support and heat ventilation purpose.
13. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) in view of Martin et al. U.S. Patent 8,033,515 (hereinafter D3) and in further view of Riccabona U.S. Patent 5,848,701. (hereinafter D4) and in further view of Love U.S. Patent 7,133,280 (hereinafter D5).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3/D4 teaches the utility module of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3/D4 does not specifically teach wherein the display pivots with respect to the housing about a first axis and a second axis distinct from the first axis.
D5 suggests a display (30; figure 1) pivots (see figure 1) with respect to the housing (20; figure 1) about a first axis (x axis) and a second axis (y axis) distinct from the first axis.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify/configure the display of D1/D2/D3/D4 to pivot with the respect to the housing about a first axis and a second axis distinct from the first axis, as suggested by D5, so that display can be viewed from various angles.
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3/D4/D5 teaches the utility module of claim 6.
D5 further suggests the second axis is perpendicular (see figure 1 of D5) to the first axis, pivoted by the display.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the second axis to be perpendicular to the first axis for the display of D1/D2/D3/D4/D5 to pivot on, as suggested by D5, so that said display would be able to pivotally rotate between said first/second axis.
14. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) in view of Martin et al. U.S. Patent 8,033,515 (hereinafter D3) and in further view of Riccabona U.S. Patent 5,848,701. (hereinafter D4) and in further view of Sharma et al. U.S. Pub. 2016/0286871 (hereinafter D6).
Regarding claim 8, D1/D2/D3/D4 teaches the utility module of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3/D4 does not specifically teach a knee padding, the knee padding configured to be used by a user operating the camera and display.
D6 suggests the use of a knee padding (10; figure 1) to be used by a worker.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a knee padding to be used by a user/worker when operating the camera/display of the utility module of D1/D2/D3/D4, as suggested by D6, for safety purpose, if needed.
15. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) in view of Martin et al. U.S. Patent 8,033,515 (hereinafter D3) and in further view of Riccabona U.S. Patent 5,848,701. (hereinafter D4) and in further view of Sharma et al. U.S. Patent 11,693,453 (hereinafter D7).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3/D4 teaches the utility module of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3/D4 does not specifically teach the display is a touchscreen.
D7 suggests the common usage of a touchscreen display (see column 6, lines 50-63 and figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the display of D1/D2/D3/D4 with a touchscreen display, as suggested by D7, to offer a second means for data input and direct interaction with digital content on the display.
16. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Gerstner et al. U.S. Patent 11,547,616 (hereinafter D10).
Regarding claim 10, D1 teaches a utility module comprising:
a housing (102; figure 1 of D1);
a bottom surface (bottom surface of 102; figure 1 of D1) defined by the housing;
a display (211; figure 1) pivotally coupled to the housing;
a camera (212; figure 1), wherein the display displays one or more images captured by the camera.
However, D1 does not specifically teach a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit.
D2, teaches a similar structure, which comprises a plurality of male couplers (503; figure 5) extending from the bottom surface (see figure 5), the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the utility module of D1 with a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit, as suggested by D2, to detachably fix a storage unit inside said housing, if desired.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach a battery interface configured to physically couple to a rechargeable power tool battery, wherein the display and camera are configured to receive power from the rechargeable power tool battery coupled to the battery interface.
D10 teaches a similar structure, which suggests a battery interface (“2786”; see column 97, lines 4-8) configured to physically couple to a rechargeable power tool battery (see column 97, lines 4-8), wherein the electronic components are configured to receive power from the rechargeable power tool battery coupled to the battery interface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the utility module of D1/D2 with a battery interface configured to physically couple to a rechargeable power tool battery, wherein the display and camera would be configured to receive power from the rechargeable power tool battery coupled to the battery interface, as suggested by D10, in order to provide power for said display/camera.
17. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Gerstner et al. U.S. Patent 11,547,616 (hereinafter D10) and in further view of Lane et al. U.S. Patent 7,677,815 (hereinafter D11).
Regarding claim 11, D1/D2/D10 teaches the utility module of claim 10, comprising a first lid (101; figure 1 of D1) pivotally coupled to the housing (102; figure 1 of D1), the first lid and the housing collectively defining a first compartment (space inside housing 102).
However, D1/D2/D10 does not specifically teach a cable coupled to said camera and to be stored in said first compartment.
D11, suggests using a cable (209; figure 2A) for coupling a computer camera/webcam (200; figure 2A) to the computer (see figure 2A).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a cable for coupling to said camera of D1/D2/D10, as suggested by D11, such that said cable would be stored in the first compartment defined by the first lid and the housing.
18. Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Gerstner et al. U.S. Patent 11,547,616 (hereinafter D10) and in further view of Adams U.S. Pub. 2023/0234211 (hereinafter D8).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D10 teaches the utility module of claim 10.
However, D1/D2/D10 does not specifically teach wherein each of the plurality of male couplers include a body extending from the bottom surface, a first tongue extending from the body, and a second tongue opposite the first tongue and extending from the body, each of the first tongue and the second tongue offset from, below and parallel to the bottom surface.
D8, teaches a similar structure, suggests a plurality of male couplers (160; figures 3-4) include a body (body of 160; figure 4) extending from the bottom surface, a first tongue (see above annotated figure 4) extending from the body, and a second tongue (see above annotated figure 4) opposite the first tongue and extending from the body, each of the first tongue and the second tongue offset (see above figure 4) from, below and parallel to the bottom surface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the each of the plurality of male couplers of D1/D2/D10 with male couplers, as suggested by D8, such that each of the plurality of male couplers would include a body extending from the bottom surface, a first tongue extending from the body, and a second tongue opposite the first tongue and extending from the body, each of the first tongue and the second tongue offset from, below and parallel to the bottom surface, for securing purpose, if needed.
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D10/D8 teaches the utility module of claim 15.
However, D1 does not teach the first tongue defining a first channel and the second tongue defining a second channel, each of the first tongue and the second tongue comprising a front open end and a back closed end.
D8 further suggests the first tongue defining a first channel (see above annotated figure 4) and the second tongue defining a second channel (see above annotated figure 4), each of the first tongue and the second tongue comprising a front open end (see above annotated figure 4) and a back closed end (see above annotated figure 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the first tongue of D1/D2/D10/D8 with a first channel and the second tongue of D1/D2/D10/D8 with a second channel, each of the first tongue and the second tongue comprising a front open end and a back closed end, as suggested by D8, for heat ventilation purpose.
Regarding claim 16, D1/D2/D10/D8 teaches the utility module of claim 15, the housing comprising a front wall (outer wall of 101; figure 1 of D1) and an opposing back wall (outer wall of bottom side of 102; figure 1 of D1),the utility module comprising a handle (see above annotated figure 1 of D1) coupled to the front wall.
D8 further suggests each of the first channel and the second channel extending from the closed back end (see above annotated figure 4 of D8) towards the front open end (see above annotated figure 4 of D8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the housing of the utility module of D1/D2/D10/D8 with the first channel and the second channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, as suggested by D8, for heat ventilation purpose.
19. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) in view of Gerstner et al. U.S. Patent 11,547,616 (hereinafter D10) and in further view of Lane et al. U.S. Patent 7,677,815 (hereinafter D11)
and in further view of Waters U.S. Patent 4,488,669 (hereinafter D9).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D10/D11 teaches the utility module of claim 11.
However, D1/D2/D10/D11 does not teach a second lid pivotally coupled to the housing, the second lid and the housing collectively defining a second compartment in which the battery interface is located.
D9 teaches a similar structure, which suggests a second lid (14; see above figures 1-3 one of left/right 14 is a second lid) pivotally coupled to the housing, the second lid and the housing collectively defining a second compartment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify/equip the utility module of D1/D2/D10/D11 with a second lid pivotally coupled to the housing, the second lid and the housing collectively defining a second compartment, as suggested by D9, to create different isolating storage compartments.
Even though, D1/D2/D10/D11/D9 does not specifically teach the battery interface would be located in the 2nd compartment, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to position the battery interface in the 2nd compartment, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D10/D11/D9 teaches the utility module of claim 12.
D9 further suggests a knee padding (the Examiner interprets the top surface of the 2nd lid shown in figures 1-3 of D9 operates as a knee padding) coupled to the second lid, the knee padding configured to be used by a user operating the camera and display.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the utility module of D1/D2/D10/D11/D9 with a knee padding coupled to the second lid, as suggested by D9, such that the knee padding would be configured to be used by a user operating the camera and display for providing stability for the user.
20. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2).
Regarding claim 18, D1 teaches a utility module comprising:
a housing (102; figure 1);
a bottom surface (bottom surface of 102; figure 1) defined by the housing;
a display (211; figure 1) pivotally coupled (see figure 1) to the housing;
a storage area (space inside 102; figure 1) defined by the housing (102), the storage area configured to store equipment; and
a camera (212; figure 1), wherein the display displays (implicitly taught) one or more images captured by the camera.
However, D1 does not specifically teach a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit.
D2, teaches a similar structure, which comprises a plurality of male couplers (503; figure 5) extending from the bottom surface (see figure 5), the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the utility module of D1 with a plurality of male couplers extending from the bottom surface, the plurality of male couplers detachably and rigidly coupling the housing to a top surface of the storage unit, as suggested by D2, to detachably fix a storage unit inside said housing, if desired.
21. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Guirlinger U.S. Patent 9,914,206 (hereinafter D12).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above, D1/D2 teaches the utility module of claim 18.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach engagement components extending from and below the plurality of male couplers, wherein the engagement components are formed of a material comprising rubber.
D12, teaches a similar structure, which suggests engagement components (242; 244; 246 and 248; figure 2) extending from the bottom surface (see figure 2), wherein the engagement components are formed of a material comprising rubber (see column 3, lines 52-58), to prevent unwanted sliding.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the utility module of claim 18 with engagement components extending from and below the plurality of male couplers, wherein the engagement components are formed of a material comprising rubber, as suggested by D12, to prevent unwanted sliding.
22. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218526343 (hereinafter D1) in view of Flamm et al. U.S. Patent 5,111,362 (hereinafter D2) in view of Guirlinger U.S. Patent 9,914,206 (hereinafter D12) and in further view of Love U.S. Patent 7,133,280 (hereinafter D5) and in further view of Sharma et al. U.S. Patent 11,693,453 (hereinafter D7).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D12 teaches the utility module of claim 19.
However, D1/D2/D12 does not specifically teach wherein the display pivots with respect to the housing about a first axis and a second axis distinct from the first axis, wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the first axis.
D5 suggests a display (30; figure 1) pivots (see figure 1) with respect to the housing (20; figure 1) about a first axis (x axis) and a second axis (y axis) distinct from the first axis.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify/configure the display of D1/D2/D12 to pivot with the respect to the housing about a first axis and a second axis distinct from the first axis, as suggested by D5, so that display can be viewed from various angles.
However, D1/D2/D12 does not specifically teach the display is a touchscreen.
D7 suggests the common usage of a touchscreen display (see column 6, lines 50-63 and figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the display of D1/D2/D12 with a touchscreen display, as suggested by D7, to offer a second means for data input and direct interaction with digital content on the display.
Allowable Subject Matter
23. Claims 5 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the utility module of claim 3, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, the first channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a latch coupled to the front wall, the latch configured to engage with a latch recess defined by the top surface of the storage unit, wherein engagement the latch and the latch recess biases male couplers from disengaging from female couplers of the storage unit.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the utility module of claim 16, the housing comprising a front wall and an opposing back wall, each of the first channel and the second channel extending from the closed back end towards the front open end and the back wall, the utility module comprising a latch coupled to the front wall, the latch actuating configured to engage with a latch recess defined by the top surface of the storage unit, wherein engagement the latch and the latch recess biases male couplers from disengaging from female couplers of the storage unit.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841