CTNF 19/049,640 CTNF 80923 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013 , is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The instant application having application No. 19/049,640 of SENO for “BIOLOGICAL SIGNAL DETECTION APPARATUS AND BIOLOGICAL SIGNAL DETECTION METHOD” submitted on February 10, 2025 has been examined. Drawings Drawings Figures 1-17 submitted on February 10, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(d). Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 10, 2025 is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Prior Art of STEUNEBRINK et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0351482 A1) hereafter “Steunebrink” in view of the Prior Art of MESSNER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0160616 A1) hereafter “Messner” . As to claim 1 , Steunebrink discloses a biological signal detection apparatus ( an inductive sensing apparatus a biological measurement of the user, shown in Figures 1 - 4 and described in Abstract, Paragraphs 0008, 0014 - 0019 ), comprising: an antenna circuitry ( inductor coils 22 , inductor coil is preferably a single loop coil (or antenna ), shown in Figure 3 and described in Paragraphs 0065 , 0068 and 0122 [i.e. an antenna circuitry ] ) which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of an electromagnetic wave toward an occupant of a vehicle and receives a reflected wave of the electromagnetic wave ( wherein the inductive sensing apparatus comprises a plurality of inductor coils mounted in an array having a defined spatial arrangement relative to a user-engaging surface of a seat unit of the vehicle, the seat unit for receiving a user, and the inductor coils arranged to transmit/receive electromagnetic signals to the user's body when the user is received in the seat unit, described in Paragraph 0015, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of an electromagnetic wave toward an occupant of a vehicle and receives a reflected wave of the electromagnetic wave ]; See also Paragraphs 0122 - 0126 ); and a module circuitry ( a more processors 66 [i.e. a module circuitry ], shown in Figure 3 and described in Paragraph 0126 ) which, in operation, detects a biological signal of the occupant based on the reflected wave ( deriving a biological measurement of the user based on a processing operation applied to inductive sensing signals, described in Paragraphs 0019 , 0024 and 0046 ), wherein the antenna circuitry and the module circuitry are configured to dispose in a seat disposed in the vehicle ( sensing apparatus comprises a plurality of inductor coils 22 mounted in an array 20 having a defined spatial arrangement relative to a user-engaging surface 14 of a seat unit 10 of the vehicle, shown in Figure 1 and described in Paragraph 0065 and the seat unit 10 and inductive sensing apparatus of FIG. 1 from an elevation cross-sectional view, and shows the seat unit with two different users 32a, 32b received in the seat unit. the users different in height. Line 48 shows the height level of the top of the head of the first user 32a depicted in FIG. 2 (left), and the disparity in height compared with the second user 32b can be seen in FIG. 2 (right), shown in Figure 2 and described in Paragraphs 0074 ). Steunebrink does not expressly disclose the antenna circuitry and the module circuitry dispose in a buckle of a seat belt. Messner discloses a signal detection apparatus and method ( shown in Figures 3 - 7 and described in Paragraphs 0006 - 0008 and 0034 - 0044 ) comprising: a vehicle seat system 200 including a seat belt monitoring system, according to an exemplary embodiment. FIG. 3 includes first 205 and second 206 radio frequency devices. The first radio frequency device 205 is attached to the latch plate 214 of the seat belt system. The second radio frequency device 206 is attached to the buckle 203 of the seat belt system 201. As shown, the first 205 and second 206 radio frequency devices have been brought in a position close to one another. Accordingly, a single signal 302 or separate signals 302 (represented by a single set of arcs) are transmitted or reflected from the first 205 and second 206 radio frequency devices. The single signal 302 or separate signals 302 (represented by a single set of arcs) are detected by a radio frequency receiver (not shown in Fig.) to determine the particular spatial relationship of the first 205 and second 206 radio frequency devices, shown in Figure 3 and described in Paragraph 0033 and a restraint control module 105 (shown in FIG. 1 of vehicle 100). In such embodiments, a radio frequency receiver (not shown in Fig.) may communicate the status of a seat belt system 201 to the restraint control module 105. The communication may be wired or wireless ([i.e. implied via antenna ]. In a wireless embodiment, a significant number of wires that would otherwise be connected to the restraint control module 105 [i.e. module circuitry ] are eliminated. Additionally, the vehicle 100 may be equipped with a vehicle control module 106 that communicates with the restraint control module 105. The communication may be wired or wireless, shown in Figures 6 - 7 and described in Paragraphs 0042 - 0044 , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. an antenna circuitry and the module circuitry dispose in a buckle of a seat belt ] ). Thus, given the detection apparatus and method of Steunebrink and having the teaching of Messner disclosing a wireless embodiment wireless [i.e. implied antenna ] communicate with the restraint control module [i.e. the module circuitry ] that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of Steunebrink by incorporating the teaching of Messner such that the detection apparatus and method of Steunebrink to provide a biological signal detection apparatus, comprising: an antenna circuitry which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of an electromagnetic wave toward an occupant of a vehicle and receives a reflected wave of the electromagnetic wave; and a module circuitry which, in operation, detects a biological signal of the occupant based on the reflected wave, wherein the antenna circuitry and the module circuitry are configured to dispose in a buckle of a seat belt of a seat disposed in the vehicle, for the obvious advantages of providing a warning to the vehicle operator/driver as suggested by Messner ( Paragraph 0003 ). As to claim 2 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner discloses wherein the antenna circuitry which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of the electromagnetic wave in a direction facing the seat ( a single signal 302 or separate signals 302, shown in Figures 3 - 4 and described in Paragraphs 0033 - 0034 of Messner , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of the electromagnetic wave in a direction facing the seat ] ). As to claim 3 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner discloses wherein the antenna circuitry which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of the electromagnetic wave in a direction opposite to a direction in which a tongue plate of the seat belt is inserted into the buckle ( a single signal 302 or separate signals 302 are in a same direction as claimed, shown in Figures 3 - 4 and described in Paragraphs 0033 - 0034 of Messner , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of the electromagnetic wave in a direction opposite to a direction in which a tongue plate of the seat belt is inserted into the buckle ] ). As to claim 4 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 3, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner discloses wherein the antenna circuitry includes an end-fire array antenna ( inductive sensing system including an array of N inductive sensing coils 22a-22N , and a controller 26 operatively coupled with the inductive sensor array, adapted to simultaneously drive the coils to generate electromagnetic signals and to detect returned signal information from the body, shown in Figure 3 and described in Paragraph 0122 of Steunebrink , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry includes an end-fire array antenna ] ). As to claim 5 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner discloses wherein the antenna circuitry which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of the electromagnetic wave in a direction opposite to the seat ( a single signal 302 or separate signals 302 are in a same direction as claimed, shown in Figures 3 - 4 and described in Paragraphs 0033 - 0034 of Messner , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry which, in operation, performs sweeping emission of the electromagnetic wave in a direction opposite to the seat ] ). As to claim 6 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner discloses wherein the antenna circuitry is configured to dispose in the buckle at a position closer to the seat disposed in the vehicle than an insertion opening of a tongue plate of the seat belt is to the seat ( A second radio frequency device 206 is placed near the buckle 203 . A radio frequency receiver 207 is configured to detect a particular spatial relationship between the first 205 and second 206 radio frequency devices, shown in Figure 2 and described in Paragraph 0024 of Messner , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry is configured to dispose in the buckle at a position closer to the seat disposed in the vehicle than an insertion opening of a tongue plate of the seat belt is to the seat ] ). As to claim 7 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner disclosure that discloses “ The coil-body proximity measure may in some cases be a binary variable, i.e. proximal vs not proximal or contact vs no contact. It may in other cases be a graded variable, e.g. a proximity distance measure. In some embodiments, the method may comprise estimating which of the plurality of coils is aligned with an area of the body-facing surface which is directly in contact with the user's body based on the proximity measures for the array of inductive coils, and which coils are outside of this area. For example, the estimating of the spatial arrangement of the coils relative to at least one landmark of the body may be based on the detection as to which group of coils is aligned with the area of the body in contact with the body-facing surface. The subset of coils would be selected from among the coils which are aligned with the area in contact with the user's body. In some embodiments, the method may comprise estimating a dimension of the user's body based on a spatial extension of the identified set of coils aligned with the area of the user's body in contact with the seat unit surface.” Paragraphs 0028 - 0031 of Steunebrink ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the detection apparatus and method of Steunebrink as modified by Messner , in order to have wherein: the antenna circuitry which, in operation, switches one sweeping emission direction with another and performs sweeping emission of the electromagnetic wave, and the module circuitry which, in operation, detects a signal for each of the sweeping emission directions, and considers that a signal in which a phase variation of the signal detected satisfies a condition is the biological signal, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 1. As to claim 10 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner discloses wherein the antenna circuitry and the module circuitry are activated after the occupant is seated in the seat ( the signal of the radio frequency device 601 is only altered within the zone of active signal alteration 603 . The seat belt system tongue 204 is shown as properly engaged with the buckle 203, indicating the system is buckled. Accordingly, in this embodiment when the radio frequency receiver (not shown in Fig.) detects an altered signal of the radio frequency device 601, the system is buckled. When the radio frequency receiver (not shown in Fig.) does not detect an altered signal of the radio frequency device 601, the system is unbuckled as the radio frequency device 601 is not within the zone of active signal alteration 603, shown in Figure 6 and described in Paragraphs 0037 - 0038 of Messner , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry and the module circuitry are activated after the occupant is seated in the seat ] ). As to claim 11 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner discloses wherein the antenna circuitry and the module circuitry are activated after a tongue plate is inserted into the buckle ( the signal of the radio frequency device 601 is only altered within the zone of active signal alteration 603. The seat belt system tongue 204 is shown as properly engaged with the buckle 203 , indicating the system is buckled. Accordingly, in this embodiment when the radio frequency receiver (not shown in Fig.) detects an altered signal of the radio frequency device 601, the system is buckled. When the radio frequency receiver (not shown in Fig.) does not detect an altered signal of the radio frequency device 601, the system is unbuckled as the radio frequency device 601 is not within the zone of active signal alteration 603, shown in Figure 6 and described in Paragraphs 0037 - 0038 of Messner , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry and the module circuitry are activated after a tongue plate is inserted into the buckle ] ). As to claim 12 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner discloses wherein the module circuitry which, in operation, estimates a biological state of the occupant based on the biological signal ( deriving a biological measurement of the user based on a processing operation applied to inductive sensing signals from only a subset of the coils, described in Paragraphs 0019 , 0050 and 0062 ) of Messner , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry and the module circuitry are activated after a tongue plate is inserted into the buckle ] . As to claim 13, the claim recites a biological signal detection method that parallels the biological signal detection apparatus of claim 1. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 1 also applies to claim 13. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected by the combination of Steunebrink and Messner under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1. As to claim 14, the claim recites a biological signal detection method that parallels the biological signal detection apparatus of claim 2. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 2 also applies to claim 14. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected by the combination of Steunebrink and Messner under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 2. As to claim 15, the claim recites a biological signal detection method that parallels the biological signal detection apparatus of claim 3. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 3 also applies to claim 15. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected by the combination of Steunebrink and Messner under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3. As to claim 16, the claim recites a biological signal detection method that parallels the biological signal detection apparatus of claim 5. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 5 also applies to claim 16. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected by the combination of Steunebrink and Messner under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 5. As to claim 17, the claim recites a biological signal detection method that parallels the biological signal detection apparatus of claim 7. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 7 also applies to claim 17. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected by the combination of Steunebrink and Messner under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 7. As to claim 18, the claim recites a biological signal detection method that parallels the biological signal detection apparatus of claim 10. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 10 also applies to claim 18. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected by the combination of Steunebrink and Messner under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 10. As to claim 19, the claim recites a biological signal detection method that parallels the biological signal detection apparatus of claim 11. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 11 also applies to claim 19. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected by the combination of Steunebrink and Messner under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 11. As to claim 20, the claim recites a biological signal detection method that parallels the biological signal detection apparatus of claim 12. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 12 also applies to claim 20. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected by the combination of Steunebrink and Messner under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 12 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Prior Art of STEUNEBRINK et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0351482 A1) hereafter “Steunebrink” in view of the Prior Art of MESSNER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0160616 A1) hereafter “Messner” and further in view of the Prior Art of MORGAN (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0241895 A1) hereafter “Morgan” . As to claim 8 , the combination of Steunebrink and Messner as set forth above in claim 1, but the combination of Steunebrink as modified by Messner does not expressly disclose wherein the antenna circuitry includes an antenna pattern formed of a conductive film. Morgan discloses a detection apparatus and method ( shown in Figures 3 - 7 and described in Paragraphs 0006 - 0008 and 0034 - 0044 ) comprising: detecting an occupant within a seat of a vehicle. The sensor system connects with an airbag controller, but may be used for detecting an occupant for other purposes. FIG. 1 shows a film material with apertures and electrodes or antennas for occupant detection. FIG. 2 shows flexible circuit material with apertures and electrodes or antennas positioned in a seat for occupant detection, shown in Figures 1 - 3 and described in Paragraphs 0013 and 0017 , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. antenna circuitry includes an antenna pattern formed of a conductive film ] ). Thus, given the detection apparatus and method of Steunebrink as modified by Messner and having the teaching of Morgan disclosing a film material with apertures and electrodes or antennas that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus and method of Steunebrink as modified by incorporating the teaching of Morgan such that the detection apparatus and method of Steunebrink as modified by Messner to provide wherein the antenna circuitry includes an antenna pattern formed of a conductive film, for the obvious advantages of as suggested by Morgan ( Paragraph 0001 ). As to claim 9 , the combination of Steunebrink , Messner and Morgan as set forth above in claim 8, further Steunebrink as modified by Messner and Morgan wherein the antenna circuitry is configured to dispose outside the buckle ( radio frequency device 206 is placed near the buckle 203, shown in Figure 2 and described in Paragraph 0024 of Messner , meet the claimed limitations [i.e. wherein the antenna circuitry is configured to dispose outside the buckle ] ) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following cited arts are further to show the state of related art . U.S. Publication No. 2024/0367556 A1 of KAKU et al , discloses a sensor unit that can be easily attached to and detached from a seat in which a seated occupant is seated, and a seat equipped with a sensor unit. A sensor unit includes a sensor module including a biological sensor that detects a biological signal of a seated occupant, and a wireless communication unit that is connected to the biological sensor to wirelessly transmit the detected biological signal to an outside; and a sensor holder that holds the sensor module. The sensor holder includes a seat attachment portion detachably attached to an attached portion that is provided in a front surface of a seat cushion at a position at which the seated occupant is abuttable against the attached portion. U.S. Publication No. 2022/0375598 A1 of HIRAO et al , discloses a radio wave transmitting/receiving device is placed in a vehicle in such a way that the device is near the back of the seated person, and no discomfort is caused to the back of the seated person. The vehicle seat includes a seat cushion and a seatback connected to a rear part of the seat cushion. The seatback comprises a seatback frame including a left and a right side frame portion extending vertically, and an upper frame portion extending laterally between upper ends of the side frame portions, a pressure receiving member consisting of a plate member configured to support a back of a seated person and provided with a radio wave transmissive property, and supported by the seatback frame via an elastic member, and a radio wave transmitting/receiving device supported on a back surface of the pressure receiving member to irradiate radio wave to a seated person and receive radio wave reflected by the seated person. U.S. Publication No. 2005/0052334 A1 OGINO et al , discloses a film antenna for receiving a circular polarized wave, at least one loop antenna is formed on a transparent plastic film and, at the same time, a non-powered element constituted by a wire-shaped conductor independent from the antenna conductor configuring the loop is arranged near this loop antenna. The non-powered element arranged on the side of the loop antenna is configured by a first part and a second part. The first part is made close to the loop antenna in a substantially parallel state. When a monopole antenna is used in place of the loop antenna, by combining this with a wire-shaped conductor orthogonal to this, it becomes possible to receive a circular polarized wave by a configuration providing a power transfer part between the two. It is also possible to configure a composite antenna by mounting another antenna on the transparent plastic film. This antenna can be used as an antenna of a navigation system. Correspondence Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY YACOB whose telephone number is (571)272-8562. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 10:30-07:00 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN can be reached at (571) 272-3059. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SISAY YACOB/ June 11, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 2 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 3 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 4 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 5 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 6 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 7 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 8 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 9 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 10 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 11 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 12 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 13 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 14 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 15 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 16 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/049,640 Page 17 Art Unit: 2686