DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “comprises” (line 2) should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
Flow machine in claims 2, 8, 14, 19 (see [0016] of specification)
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,267. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other (see below).
Application No. 19/049,690 (Instant Application)
US Patent No. 12,222,267
Claim 2: A cardiac assist system comprising: a flow machine; a cannula through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine, the cannula comprising an inlet interface and configured to extend along an axis; an ultrasonic element configured to generate a sound wave in blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along its axis and reflects off the blood; and a detection device configured to determine a viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood, wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a functional relationship between the at least one Doppler parameter and the viscosity.
Claim 1: A cardiac assist system comprising: an inlet interface having inlet openings; an outlet interface having outlet openings; a flow machine comprising… a cannula through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine from the inlet interface to the outlet interface, the cannula configured to extend along an axis across a patient's aortic valve… and… an ultrasonic element arranged in the tip and configured to generate a sound wave in the blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along the axis and reflects off the blood, a detection device configured to determine the viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood, wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a functional relationship between the Doppler Parameter and the viscosity.
Claim 3: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a lookup table.
Claim 2: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a lookup table.
Claim 4: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity comprises using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula.
Claim 5: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula.
Claim 5: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile.
Claim 7: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile.
Claim 6: wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of a fluid through the cannula.
Claim 8: wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of the fluid through the cannula.
Claim 7: wherein the at least one Doppler parameter comprises a Doppler frequency or a width of the Doppler spectrum.
Claim 9: …wherein the Doppler parameter comprises a Doppler frequency or a width of the Doppler spectrum.
Claim 8: A cardiac assist system comprising: a flow machine; a cannula through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine, the cannula comprising an inlet interface and configured to extend along an axis; an ultrasonic element configured to generate a sound wave in blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along the axis and reflects off the blood; and a detection device configured to determine a viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood, wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a lookup table.
Claim 18: A cardiac assist system comprising: an inlet interface having inlet openings; an outlet interface having outlet openings; a flow machine comprising… a cannula through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine from the inlet interface to the outlet interface, the cannula configured to extend along an axis across a patient's aortic valve… and… an ultrasonic element arranged in the tip and configured to generate a sound wave in the blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along the axis and reflects off the blood, a detection device configured to determine the viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood, wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a lookup table.
Claim 9: wherein the lookup table comprises values characterizing a relationship between the at least one Doppler parameter and the viscosity.
Claim 19: wherein the lookup table comprises values characterizing a relationship between the Doppler parameter and the viscosity.
Claim 10: wherein the lookup table comprises an interpolation of a first viscosity and a second viscosity and wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using the interpolation of the first viscosity and the second viscosity.
Claim 20: wherein the lookup table comprises an interpolation of a first viscosity and a second viscosity and wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using the interpolation of the first viscosity and the second viscosity.
Claim 11: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula.
Claim 5: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula.
Claim 12: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile.
Claim 7: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile.
Claim 13: wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of a fluid through the cannula.
Claim 8: wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of the fluid through the cannula.
Claim 14: A cardiac assist system comprising: a flow machine; a cannula through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine, the cannula comprising an inlet interface and configured to extend along an axis; an ultrasonic element configured to generate a sound wave in blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along the axis and reflects off the blood; and a detection device configured to determine a viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood, wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using the at least one Doppler parameter and wherein the at least one Doppler parameter comprises a Doppler frequency or a width of the Doppler spectrum.
Claim 22: A cardiac assist system comprising: an inlet interface having inlet openings; an outlet interface having outlet openings; a flow machine comprising…a cannula through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine from the inlet interface to the outlet interface, the cannula configured to extend along an axis across a patient's aortic valve… and… an ultrasonic element arranged in the tip and configured to generate a sound wave in the blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along the axis and reflects off the blood, a detection device configured to determine the viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood, wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using the Doppler parameter and wherein the Doppler parameter comprises a Doppler frequency or a width of the Doppler spectrum.
Claim 15: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula.
Claim 5: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula.
Claim 16: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile.
Claim 7: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile.
Claim 17: wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of a fluid through the cannula.
Claim 8: wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of the fluid through the cannula.
Claim 18: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a lookup table.
Claim 2: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a lookup table.
Claim 19: A cardiac assist system comprising: a flow machine; a cannula through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine, the cannula comprising an inlet interface and configured to extend along an axis; an ultrasonic element configured to generate a sound wave in blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along the axis and reflects off the blood; and a detection device configured to determine a viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood, wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula.
Claim 21: A cardiac assist system comprising: an inlet interface having inlet openings; an outlet interface having outlet openings; a flow machine comprising… a cannula through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine from the inlet interface to the outlet interface, the cannula configured to extend along an axis across a patient's aortic valve… and… an ultrasonic element arranged in the tip and configured to generate a sound wave in the blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along the axis and reflects off the blood, a detection device configured to determine the viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood, wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula.
Claim 20: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile.
Claim 7: wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile.
Claim 21: wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of a fluid through the cannula.
Claim 8: wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of the fluid through the cannula.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-7, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cahan et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0224279), hereinafter ‘Cahan’, in view of Franano et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0258981), hereinafter ‘Franano’.
Regarding claim 2, Cahan teaches a cardiac assist system (Figs. 3-4) comprising:
a flow machine (fluid flow monitoring system 100, Figs. 3-4, [0032], device where fluid flows)
a cannula (coronary stent 400, Fig. 4) through which a blood flow can be conveyed by the flow machine ([0065], coronary stent is a tubular structure within which blood flows), the cannula comprising an inlet interface and configured to extend along an axis (see Fig. 4);
an ultrasonic element (transmitting piezo-element 601, Fig. 6) configured to generate a sound wave in blood, wherein the sound wave radiates through the inlet interface into the cannula along its axis and reflects off the blood ([0035], emits ultrasonic signal in direction of blood flow); and
a detection device (transmitter/receiver 170, Fig. 4) configured to determine parameters of the blood ([0062], signals used to monitor fluid velocity) using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood ([0017], signals measure a Doppler shift effect), wherein the detection device is configured to determine the blood parameters using a functional relationship between the at least one Doppler parameter and the blood parameters ([0060], analyze dynamics to determine what causes change in velocity of blood, [0064], blood velocity reflects cardiac cycle stages).
Cahan discusses using a patient’s blood viscosity (see [0059]), but does not specifically teach that the device can determine viscosity using a Doppler parameter.
Franano teaches a rotary blood pump (abstract) further comprising:
a detection device configured to determine a viscosity of the blood using at least one Doppler parameter of a Doppler spectrum of the sound wave reflected off the blood ([0227], ultrasonic flow sensor, [0228], indirect calculation of blood viscosity), wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a functional relationship between the at least one Doppler parameter and the viscosity ([0223-0226], Hagen-Poiseuille blood flow equation).
The Examiner notes that the Hagen-Poiseuille blood flow equation, as taught by Franano and widely used in fluid dynamics, shows that blood flow velocity and viscosity are inversely proportional, assuming constant pressure and vessel radius/length. Further, viscosity can be calculated using the equation and the flow velocity determined from the Doppler parameter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cahan to incorporate the teachings of Franano to include determining viscosity from a Doppler parameter, i.e. a parameter that approximates flow velocity. This is a direct mathematical relationship based on the Hagen-Poiseuille blood flow equation.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection of similarly worded claim 2. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using the at least one Doppler parameter and wherein the at least one Doppler parameter comprises a Doppler frequency or a width of the Doppler spectrum ([0039], examine acoustic transmission spectrum, [0047-0048], obtain observed and emitted frequency).
Regarding claim 19, see rejection of similarly worded claim 2. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula ([0049], diameter and cross-sectional area are known, can then solve for blood flow rate).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Cahan and Franano teach the systems of claims 2 and 14, respectively. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity comprises using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula ([0049], diameter and cross-sectional area are known, can then solve for blood flow rate).
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 20, Cahan and Franano teach the systems of claims 2, 14, and 19, respectively. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile ([0062], signals used to monitor fluid velocity, [0060], extrapolate flow rate from detected velocity).
Regarding claims 6, 17, and 21, Cahan and Franano teach the systems of claims 5, 16, and 20, respectively. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of a fluid through the cannula (Fig. 2, block 208, [0054], estimate blood velocity).
Regarding claim 7, Cahan and Franano teach the system of claim 2. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the at least one Doppler parameter comprises a Doppler frequency or a width of the Doppler spectrum ([0039], examine acoustic transmission spectrum, [0047-0048], obtain observed and emitted frequency).
Claims 3, 8-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cahan et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0224279) in view of Franano et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0258981), further in view of Schmulewitz (US Patent No. 5,782,774), hereinafter ‘Schmulewitz’.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Cahan and Franano teach the system of claims 2 and 14, respectively. Cahan and Franano discuss solving for parameters (see Cahan [0049], Franano [0228]), but do not specifically teach using a lookup table to determine the viscosity.
Schmulewitz teaches an apparatus for monitoring cardiac output (abstract), further comprising:
wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a lookup table (col. 10, ll. 44-50, look-up table to estimate flow of blood (Q), col. 10, ll. 10-15, Q and viscosity relationship).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cahan and Franano to incorporate the teachings of Schmulewitz to include a lookup table. Doing so would allow for the estimation of parameters, as recognized by Schmulewitz (col. 10, ll. 44-50).
Regarding claim 8, see rejection of similarly worded claim 2. Cahan and Franano discuss solving for parameters (see Cahan [0049], Franano [0228]), but do not specifically teach using a lookup table to determine the viscosity.
Schmulewitz teaches an apparatus for monitoring cardiac output (abstract), further comprising:
wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using a lookup table (col. 10, ll. 44-50, look-up table to estimate flow of blood (Q), col. 10, ll. 10-15, Q and viscosity relationship).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cahan and Franano to incorporate the teachings of Schmulewitz to include a lookup table. Doing so would allow for the estimation of parameters, as recognized by Schmulewitz (col. 10, ll. 44-50).
Regarding claim 9, Cahan, Franano, and Schmulewitz teach the system of claim 8. Franano teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the lookup table comprises values characterizing a relationship between the at least one Doppler parameter and the viscosity ([0223-0226], Hagen-Poiseuille blood flow equation).
Regarding claim 10, Cahan, Franano, and Schmulewitz teach the system of claim 8. Schmulewitz teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the lookup table comprises an interpolation of a first viscosity and a second viscosity and wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using the interpolation of the first viscosity and the second viscosity (col. 10, ll. 44-50, look-up table to estimate flow of blood (Q)).
Regarding claim 11, Cahan, Franano, and Schmulewitz teach the system of claim 8. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity comprises using at least one cannula parameter (r) of the cannula ([0049], diameter and cross-sectional area are known, can then solve for blood flow rate).
Regarding claim 12, Cahan, Franano, and Schmulewitz teach the system of claim 8. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the detection device is configured to determine the viscosity using at least one flow parameter of a flow profile ([0062], signals used to monitor fluid velocity, [0060], extrapolate flow rate from detected velocity).
Regarding claim 13, Cahan, Franano, and Schmulewitz teach the system of claim 12. Cahan teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the at least one flow parameter comprises a flow velocity (v) of a fluid through the cannula (Fig. 2, block 208, [0054], estimate blood velocity).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Silverstein et al. (US Patent No. 4,582,067) teaches a catheter tube with an ultrasonic probe (abstract).
Casas (US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0085505) teaches a blood pump with thin film active electronic devices (abstract). See [0040], [0067].
Viole et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2002/0151761) teaches a blood pump. See [0100].
/E.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/SHIRLEY X JIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792
August 20, 2026