DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it combines both an apparatus and a method of using said apparatus. It is unclear what acts constitute infringement when a single claim mixed statutory classes.
Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and incorporate it in its entirety and are therefore rejected for the reasons provided above.
Claim 9 is indefinite because it combines both an apparatus and a method of using said apparatus. It is unclear what acts constitute infringement when a single claim mixed statutory classes.
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and incorporate it in its entirety and are therefore rejected for the reasons provided above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozgur (WO 2019/032073) in view of Goldstein (2022/0057519).
With respect to claim 1, Ozgur teaches at least three microphones configured to detect a sound (pg 5, lines 8-9); a signaler configured to indicate the firing position from a firearm (pg 6, lines 29-30); a board in data connection with said microphones, and said signaler (pg 5, lines 33-36). While it does not specifically note a clock, it does mention time as being one of the data types sent to the processor (pg 6, lines 23), which indicates the use of a type of clock device. It further teaches the board comprises a speed of the projectile (pg 5, line 36); and a sensor database associating each of said microphones with a measurement location (pg 7, lines 10-12). Additionally it teaches a detection step wherein said microphones are active and, upon the firing of said firearm, each of said microphones performs a first detection of a sonic boom (pg 5, line 20; pg 7, lines 26-29), and a second detection of a muzzle blast (pg 5, line 20; pg 7, lines 26-29), and wherein a clock defines for each first detection a first time and for each second detection a second time (pg 8, lines 1-5); and a processing step wherein said board determines the firing position of said firearm based on the measurement position of said three microphones, said projectile speed, of each of said first times and each of said second times (Pg 5, lines 34-36; pg 6, lines 6-21). However, it does not teach a laser, at least one detector defining a sensitive surface configured to detect said laser; an observation step wherein said sensitive surface detects said laser; and a system combining the outputs of the laser detector and acoustic sensors.
Goldstein teaches a laser ([0067], lines 3-5, 18-26), at least one detector defining a sensitive surface configured to detect said laser ([0067], lines 5-6; [0070], lines 2-8)); an observation step wherein said sensitive surface detects said laser ([0067], lines 3-6); and a system combining the outputs of the laser detector and acoustic sensors ([0087]). It also definitively recites a clock ([0072], lines 4-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Ozgur to include the laser system of Goldstein since such a modification would have potentially improved processing speeds, performance, and/or accuracy.
With respect to claim 2, Ozgur teaches said board comprises a speed of sound; and wherein in said processing step said board also determines said firing position of said firearm also based on said speed of sound (pg 5, lines 25-26).
With respect to claim 3, Ozgur teaches environmental sensors configured to acquire ambient temperature; and wherein in said processing step said board also determines said firing position of said firearm also based on said ambient temperature (pg 5, lines 25-26).
With respect to claim 4 Ozgur as modified teaches the claims as discussed above. However, it does not teach environmental sensors configured to acquire atmospheric pressure; and wherein in said processing step said board also determines said firing position of said firearm based on said atmospheric pressure.
Goldstein teaches environmental sensors configured to acquire atmospheric pressure; and wherein in said processing step said board also determines said firing position of objects based on said atmospheric pressure ([0284], lines 10-11; [0550], lines 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Ozgur with the pressure sensor of Goldstein since such a modification would have improved accuracy of the system.
With respect to claim 5, Ozgur teaches said board defines the absolute firing position based on a three-dimensional correlation matrix of said measurement position of said three microphones, said projectile speed, said first times, and said second times acquired by said three microphones (pg 6, lines 6-23).
With respect to claim 6, Ozgur teaches a sending step in which said board sends to said signaler a position signal corresponding to said firing position; and a signaling step in which said signaler indicates the firing position of said firearm based on said position signal (pg 6, lines 28-30).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozgur in view of Goldstein, and further in view of Moore (EP 4186384).
Ozgur as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach inertial platform configured to be bound to a user and to detect the orientation of said user; and wherein, in said processing step, said board determines said firing position with respect to said orientation of said user.
Moore teaches an inertial platform configured to be bound to a user and to detect the orientation of said user; and wherein, in said processing step, said board determines said firing position with respect to said orientation of said user ([0152]; [0155]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of the Ozgur with the worn inertial platform of Moore since such a modification would have allowed for quick and independent identification of a gunshot for safety or to intercept a shooter if necessary.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645