DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing of application no. 19/049,738 on 02/10/2025.
Claims 1- 21 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 8 and 15 being independent.
Double Patenting
Claims 1- 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 21 of copending Application No. 19/200,253 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claim mapping is as follows.
Current Application
1. (New) A method comprising: identifying, based on received voice input, a network device ;sending, to the network device, an authentication request; and receiving, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
2. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
3. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
4. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
5. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application- based notification.
6. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and executing the operational command.
7. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein sending the authentication request to the network device is based on the received voice input.
8. (New) An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: Application No.: 19/049,738 identify, based on received voice input, a network device; send, to the network device, an authentication request; and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
9. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
10. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
11. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
12. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
13. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: based on the authentication message, determine, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and execute the operational command.
14. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor-executable instructions that send the authentication request to the network device are further based on the received voice input.
15. (New) One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: identify, based on received voice input, a network device; send, to the network device, an authentication request; and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
16. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
17. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
18. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
19. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
20. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: based on the authentication message, determine, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and execute the operational command.
21. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions that send the authentication request to the network device are further based on the received voice input.
Application no. 19/200,253.
1.A method comprising:
receiving voice input from a first user;
identifying, based on a voice characteristic of the voice input from the first user, that authentication is required; sending, to a network device associated with a second user, an authentication request; and receiving, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message indicating an authentication decision.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the first user is unauthorized.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the first user is authorized.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input from the first user, an operational command; and executing the operational command.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein sending the authentication request to the network device associated with the second user is based on the received voice input.
8. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: receive voice input from a first user; identify, based on a voice characteristic of the voice input from the first user, that authentication is required; send, to a network device associated with a second user, an authentication request; and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message indicating an authentication decision.
9. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the first user is unauthorized.
10. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the first user is authorized.
11. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
12. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
13. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input from the first user, an operational command; and executing the operational command.
14. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor-executable instructions that send the authentication request to the network device associated with the second user is further based on the received voice input.
15. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor- executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: receive voice input from a first user; identify, based on a voice characteristic of the voice input from the first user, that authentication is required; send, to a network device associated with a second user, an authentication request; and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message indicating an authentication decision.
16. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the first user is unauthorized.
17. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the first user is authorized.
18. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input from the first user, an operational command; and executing the operational command.
21. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions that send the authentication request to 3 the network device associated with the second user is further based on the received voice input
As shown above, the limitations of claims 1 – 21 of application no. 19/200,253 recite the limitations of claims 1 -21 of the current application, respectively except for the following: identifying, based on received voice input, a network device. It would have been well known and obvious at the time of applicant’s filing that a network device is identified in order to send a message to the network device as recited by claims 1 – 21 of application no. 9/200,253. Thus, claims 1 -21 of the current application and claims 1 -21 of application no. 19/200,253 are obvious variants.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,400,665. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claim mapping is as follows.
Current Application
1. (New) A method comprising: identifying, based on received voice input, a network device ;sending, to the network device, an authentication request; and receiving, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
2. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
3. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
4. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
5. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application- based notification.
6. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and executing the operational command.
7. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein sending the authentication request to the network device is based on the received voice input.
8. (New) An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: identify, based on received voice input, a network device; send, to the network device, an authentication request; and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
9. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
10. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
11. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
12. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
13. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: based on the authentication message, determine, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and execute the operational command.
14. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor-executable instructions that send the authentication request to the network device are further based on the received voice input.
15. (New) One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: identify, based on received voice input, a network device; send, to the network device, an authentication request; and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
16. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
17. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
18. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
19. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
20. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: based on the authentication message, determine, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and execute the operational command.
21. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions that send the authentication request to the network device are further based on the received voice input.
US 12,400,665
1. A method comprising: based on an authentication requirement associated with a received voice input, determining, based on the received voice input, one or more voice characteristics; determining, based on a profile associated with the one or more voice characteristics, a network device; sending, to the network device, based on the authentication requirement, an authentication request; and receiving, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message, wherein the authentication message indicates the received voice input is authorized.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: converting at least a portion of the received voice input to text; and matching the text to stored text, wherein the stored text is indicative of the authentication requirement.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining the network device comprises: determining, based on the one or more voice characteristics, a voice print; and determining, based on comparing the voice print to one or more stored voice prints, that the voice print matches a stored voice print of the one or more stored voice prints, wherein the stored voice print is associated with the profile.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the network device comprises determining, based on the profile, a device identifier associated with the network device.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier of a voice-enabled device, and wherein the identifier indicates an origin of the authentication request or is associated with a subset of devices that are associated with the voice-enabled device.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein sending the authentication request to the network device causes the network device to: request at least one biometric input; and send, based on a determination that the at least one biometric input is associated with the profile, the authentication message to a voice-enabled device.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and executing the operational command.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein determining the operational command comprises one or more of voice recognition or natural language processing.
10. A method comprising: based on an authentication requirement associated with a received voice input, determining, based on the received voice input, one or more voice characteristics; determining, based on a profile associated with the one or more voice characteristics, a network device; sending, to the network device, based on a conversion of the received voice input to text, an authentication request; and receiving, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message, wherein the authentication message indicates the received voice input is authorized.
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining the conversion of the received voice input to the text by converting at least a portion of the received voice input to the text; and matching the text to stored text, wherein the stored text is indicative of the authentication requirement.
12. The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining the conversion of the received voice input to the text by converting at least a portion of the received voice input to the text; comparing the text to one or more stored operational commands; and determining that the text matches at least one of the one or more stored operational commands.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein the determining, based on the profile associated with the one or more voice characteristics, the network device comprises: determining, based on the one or more voice characteristics, a voice print; and determining, based on comparing the voice print to one or more stored voice prints, that the voice print matches a stored voice print of the one or more stored voice prints, wherein the stored voice print is associated with the profile.
14. The method of claim 10, wherein determining the network device comprises determining, based on the profile, a device identifier associated with the network device.
15. The method of claim 10, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
16. A method comprising: based on an authentication requirement associated with a received voice input, determining, based on the received voice input, one or more voice characteristics; determining, based on a profile associated with the one or more voice characteristics and a user device associated with the received voice input, a computing device; sending, to the computing device, based on an operational command associated with the received voice input, an authentication request; and receiving, from the computing device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message, wherein the authentication message indicates the received voice input is authorized.
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising: converting at least a portion of the received voice input to text; and matching the text to stored text, wherein the stored text is indicative of the authentication requirement.
18. The method of claim 16, further comprising: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input, the operational command.
19. The method of claim 16, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier of a voice-enabled device.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein the identifier indicates an origin of the authentication request or is associated with a subset of devices that are associated with the voice-enabled device.
As shown above, the limitations of claim 1 of US 12,400,665 anticipate the limitations of claim 3 of the current application. Thus, claim 3 of current application and claim 1 of US 12,400,665 are obvious variants.
As shown above, the limitations of claim 1 of US 12,400,665 recite the limitations of claim 10 of the current application except for the following: an apparatus comprising one or more processors and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform a method. Yet, an apparatus embodiment of an invention is considered an obvious variant of a method embodiment of the invention.
Thus, claim 10 of current application and claim 1 of US 12,400,665 are obvious variants.
As shown above, the limitations of claim 1 of US 12,400,665 recite the limitations of claim 17 of the current application except for the following: one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method. Yet, a non-transitory computer-readable media embodiment of an invention is considered an obvious variant of a method embodiment of the invention.
Thus, claim 17 of current application and claim 1 of US 12,400,665 are obvious variants.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,126 in view of Van OS et al. (US 2017/0339151) (”Van OS”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claim mapping is as follows.
Current Application
1. (New) A method comprising: identifying, based on received voice input, a network device ;sending, to the network device, an authentication request; and receiving, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
2. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
3. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
4. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
5. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application- based notification.
6. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and executing the operational command.
7. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein sending the authentication request to the network device is based on the received voice input.
8. (New) An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: identify, based on received voice input, a network device; send, to the network device, an authentication request; and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
9. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
10. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
11. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
12. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
13. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: based on the authentication message, determine, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and execute the operational command.
14. (New) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor-executable instructions that send the authentication request to the network device are further based on the received voice input.
15. (New) One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: identify, based on received voice input, a network device; send, to the network device, an authentication request; and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message associated with an authentication decision.
16. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized.
17. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized.
18. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request.
19. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, a text message, or an application-based notification.
20. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: based on the authentication message, determine, based on the received voice input, an operational command; and execute the operational command.
21. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions that send the authentication request to the network device are further based on the received voice input.
US 11,355,126
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a voice-enabled device, a voice input; determining, based on determining that at least a portion of the voice input requires authentication, one or more voice characteristics associated with the voice input; determining, based on a profile associated with the one or more voice characteristics, a network device; sending an authentication request to the network device wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier of the voice-enabled device; receiving, based on the authentication request, an authentication message; determining, based on the authentication message and the voice input, an operational command; and executing the operational command.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining that the at least a portion of the voice input requires authentication comprises: converting the at least a portion of the voice input to text; and matching the text to stored text, wherein the stored text indicates that authentication is required.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the profile associated with the one or more voice characteristics, the network device comprises: determining, based on the one or more voice characteristics, a voice print; and determining, based on comparing the voice print to one or more stored voice prints, that the voice print matches a stored voice print of the one or more stored voice prints, wherein the stored voice print is associated with the profile.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the network device comprises determining, based on the profile, a device identifier associated with the network device.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the identifier one or more of identifies an origin of the authentication request or is associated with a subset of devices that are associated with the voice-enabled device.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein sending the authentication request to the network device is sent via one or more of BLUETOOTH®, near-field communication, infrared, Internet service, cellular service, or satellite service.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, automated phone call, text message, or an application-based notification.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein sending the authentication request to the network device causes the network device to: request at least one biometric input; and send, based on a determination that the at least one biometric input is associated with the profile, the authentication message to the voice-enabled device.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the operational command comprises one or more of voice recognition or natural language processing.
10. A method comprising: receiving, by a computing device, based on a request for authentication from a voice-enabled device, data indicative of a voice input; determining, based on the data indicative of the voice input, one or more voice characteristics and an operational command; determining that the one or more voice characteristics correspond to a profile; determining, based on the profile, a device identifier; and sending, to the voice-enabled device, information comprising the device identifier and the operational command.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein determining the one or more voice characteristics comprises determining one or more of a frequency, a decibel level, or a tone.
12. The method of claim 10, wherein determining the operational command comprises: translating the voice input to text; comparing the text to one or more stored operational commands; and determining that the text matches at least one of the one or more stored operational commands.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein determining that the one or more voice characteristics correspond to the profile comprises: determining, based on the one or more voice characteristics, a voice print; comparing the voice print to one or more stored voice prints; and determining that the voice print matches a stored voice print, wherein the stored voice print is associated with the profile.
14. The method of claim 10, wherein the request for authentication is in response to a determination by the voice-enabled device that that the voice input requires authentication, and wherein the device identifier is a security-based identifier associated with only a portion of a plurality of devices associated with the voice-enabled device.
15. The method of claim 10, further comprising sending, based on the device identifier, an authentication request to a network device, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, or a text message.
16. A system comprising: a voice-enabled device configured to: receive a voice input; determine that the voice input requires authentication; send, based on the determination that that the voice input requires authentication, data indicative of the voice input; receive information comprising a device identifier and an operational command; send an authentication message receive, based on the authentication message, an indication that a user is associated with the voice input; and send, based on the indication, the operational command; a computing device configured to: receive the data indicative of the voice input; determine, based on the data, one or more voice characteristics and the operational command; determine, based on the one or more voice characteristics, a profile; determine, based on the profile, the device identifier; and send the information comprising the device identifier and the operational command; a network device configured to: receive the authentication message; request, based on the authentication message, an input from the user; receive the input from the user; determine that the input from the user is a valid response to the request; and send, based on the determination that the input from the user is the valid response to the request, the indication that the user is associated with the voice input; a controllable device configured to: receive the operational command; and execute the operational command.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the voice-enabled device is configured to transmit, based on the device identifier, the authentication message via a short-range wireless technique comprising one or more of BLUETOOTH®, or near-field communication.
18. The system of claim 16, wherein the computing device is configured to determine the one or more voice characteristics by determining one or more of a frequency, a decibel level, or a tone from the data indicative of the voice input.
19. The system of claim 16, wherein the voice-enabled device is configured to transmit the authentication message as one or more of an Internet-based message, an automated phone call, or a text message.
20. The system of claim 16, wherein the computing device configured to determine the operational command is further configured to: translate the data indicative of the voice input to text; compare the text to one or more stored operational commands; and determine that the text matches at least one of the one or more stored operational commands.
As shown above, the limitations of claim 7 of US 11,355,126 recite the limitations of claim 5 of the current application except for the following: the authentication message is further associated with an authentication decision.
However, Van OS discloses a system and method for the purpose of requesting remote authorization (Abstract), comprising the following: an authentication message comprising an authentication decision is received ([0222 – 0229] [0233 – 0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the limitations of claim 7 of US 11,355,126 in the same way that Van OS’ invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of managing a remote authorization to proceed with an action (Van OS, Abstract): the received authentication message is further associated with an authentication decision.
Thus, claim 5 of current application and claim 7 of US 11,355,126 are obvious variants.
As shown above, the limitations of claim 7 of US 11,355,126 recite the limitations of claim 12 of the current application except for the following: the authentication message is further associated with an authentication decision; and an apparatus comprising one or more processors and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform a method.
However, Van OS discloses a system and method for the purpose of requesting remote authorization (Abstract), comprising the following: an authentication message comprising an authentication decision is received ([0222 – 0229] [0233 – 0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the limitations of claim 7 of US 11,355,126 in the same way that Van OS’ invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of managing a remote authorization to proceed with an action (Van OS, Abstract): the received authentication message is further associated with an authentication decision.
Furthermore, an apparatus embodiment of an invention is considered an obvious variant of a method embodiment of the invention.
Thus, claim 12 of current application and claim 7 of US 11,355,126 are obvious variants.
As shown above, the limitations of claim 7 of US 11,355,126 recite the limitations of claim 19 of the current application except for the following: the authentication message is further associated with an authentication decision; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method.
However, Van OS discloses a system and method for the purpose of requesting remote authorization (Abstract), comprising the following: an authentication message comprising an authentication decision is received ([0222 – 0229] [0233 – 0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the limitations of claim 7 of US 11,355,126 in the same way that Van OS’ invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of managing a remote authorization to proceed with an action (Van OS, Abstract): the received authentication message is further associated with an authentication decision.
Furthermore, a non-transitory computer-readable media embodiment of an invention is considered an obvious variant of a method embodiment of the invention.
Thus, claim 19 of current application and claim 7 of US 11,355,126 are obvious variants.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van OS et al. (US 2017/0339151) (“Van OS”) in view of Youn et al. (US 2015/0126252) (“Youn”).
For claim 1, Van OS discloses a method comprising: identifying, based on received input (Fig.7C, 716, 718), a network device (An electronic device that is coupled to a network and communicates across a network, Fig.6, 500, 608, 606) ([0222 – 0226]); sending, to the network device, an authentication request (Fig.7C, 722, Fig.7D, 704, 722, Fig.7E, 730,732, 734; [0227 – 0229]); and receiving, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message (“Authorization Successful” or “Authorization Not Successful”) associated with an authentication decision (Fig.7J, 762 and Fig.7L, 766; [0233 – 0241]).
Yet, Van OS fails to teach that the received input is a voice input.
However, Youn discloses a mobile terminal and menu control method (Abstract), comprising the following: a received input comprising selection of menu options is a voice input (Fig.12; [0093] [0094] [0100] [0103 – 0110] [0147 – 0151]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Van OS’ invention in the same way that Youn’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of improving a mobile terminal by providing a user/menu interface which is configured to accept multimodal input (Youn, [0008 – 0010]): the received input further comprises voice input.
For claim 8, Van OS discloses an apparatus (Abstract) comprising: one or more processors ([0008]) ; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus ([0008]) to: identify, based on received input (Fig.7C, 716, 718), a network device (An electronic device that is coupled to a network and communicates across a network, Fig.6, 500, 608, 606) ([0222 – 0226]); send, to the network device, an authentication request (Fig.7C, 722, Fig.7D, 704, 722, Fig.7E, 730,732, 734; [0227 – 0229]); and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message (“Authorization Successful” or “Authorization Not Successful”) associated with an authentication decision (Fig.7J, 762 and Fig.7L, 766; [0233 – 0241]).
Yet, Van OS fails to teach that the received input is a voice input.
However, Youn discloses a mobile terminal and menu control method (Abstract), comprising the following: a received input comprising selection of menu options is a voice input (Fig.12; [0093] [0094] [0100] [0103 – 0110] [0147 – 0151]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Van OS’ invention in the same way that Youn’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of improving a mobile terminal by providing a user/menu interface which is configured to accept multimodal input (Youn, [0008 – 0010]): the received input further comprises voice input.
For claim 15, Van OS discloses an apparatus (Abstract) comprising: one or more processors ([0008]) ; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus ([0008]) to: identify, based on received input (Fig.7C, 716, 718), a network device (An electronic device that is coupled to a network and communicates across a network, Fig.6, 500, 608, 606) ([0222 – 0226]); send, to the network device, an authentication request (Fig.7C, 722, Fig.7D, 704, 722, Fig.7E, 730,732, 734; [0227 – 0229]); and receive, from the network device, based on the authentication request, an authentication message (“Authorization Successful” or “Authorization Not Successful”) associated with an authentication decision (Fig.7J, 762 and Fig.7L, 766; [0233 – 0241]).
Yet, Van OS fails to teach that the received input is a voice input.
However, Youn discloses a mobile terminal and menu control method (Abstract), comprising the following: a received input comprising selection of menu options is a voice input (Fig.12; [0093] [0094] [0100] [0103 – 0110] [0147 – 0151]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Van OS’ invention in the same way that Youn’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of improving a mobile terminal by providing a user/menu interface which is configured to accept multimodal input (Youn, [0008 – 0010]): the received input further comprises voice input.
For claims 2, 9 and 16, Van OS and Youn further disclose, wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is unauthorized (Van OS, Fig.7L, 762; [0222 – 0226] [0241]) (Youn, [0093] [0094] [0100] [0103 – 0110] [0147 – 0151]).
For claims 3, 10 and 17, Van OS and Youn further disclose wherein the authentication decision indicates that the received voice input is authorized (Van OS, Fig.7j, 766; [0222 – 0226] [0239]) (Youn, [0093] [0094] [0100] [0103 – 0110] [0147 – 0151]).
For claims 4, 11 and 18, Van OS further discloses, wherein the authentication request comprises an identifier that indicates an origin of the authentication request (Van OS, “Bob’s Laptop”, Fig.7H, 754; [0233] [0227])
For claims 5, 12 and 19, Van OS further discloses, wherein the authentication request comprises one or more of an Internet-based message (Van OS, The requesting device 700 and the authenticating device 500 are in communication via a wide area network., [0222]), an automated phone call, a text message, or an application- based notification.
For claims 6, 13 and 20, Van OS and Youn further disclose: based on the authentication message, determining, based on the received voice input, an operational command (Van OS, It is determined to setup a secure connection with a remote server., Fig.7A, 702; Fig.7K., 764; [0221 – 0223] [0240]) (Youn, [0093] [0094] [0100] [0103 – 0110] [0147 – 0151]); and executing the operational command (Van OS, A secure connection with a remote server is setup., Fig.7A, 702; Fig.7K., 764; [0221 – 0223] [0240]) (Youn, [0093] [0094] [0100] [0103 – 0110] [0147 – 0151]);
For claims 7, 14 and 21, Van OS and Youn further disclose wherein sending the authentication request to the network device is based on the received voice input (Van OS, [0221 – 0227]) (Youn, [0093] [0094] [0100] [0103 – 0110] [0147 – 0151]).
Conclusion
/SONIA L GAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657