Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-6, the recitation of the claim renders the claim indefinite because the preamble of the claim is drawn to an apparatus and then the claim recites the steps a method of using the apparatus;
Therefore, the claims are unclear and indefinite; and the Applicant must amend claims 2-6 to clearly define the claims in terms of the Apparatus’s features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO2020161998A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-2, Sato discloses a coiling machine (paragraphs 0001, paragraphs 0014-0048 and fig.1: (100)) comprising:
a laser heater (fig.2: (20)) configured to emit laser light to a wire (fig.2: (1)) formed into a helical shape, thereby heating a portion of the wire; and
a cutting unit (fig.2: (31)) configured to cut a site of the wire heated by irradiation with the laser light,
Regarding claims 1-2, Sato does not disclose wherein an output density of the laser light is greater than or equal to 10 W/mm2 and less than or equal to 100 W/mm2; and wherein the output density is greater than or equal to 31 W/mm2 and less than or equal to 74 W/mm2;
However, choosing the output density the laser light is very known in art and a matter of routine engineering design choice that depends on the general design and specific requirements of the coiling process such as:
Melting Speed: High density focuses intense heat into a tiny spot. The material melts or turns to gas fast.
Cut Quality: Correct density makes smooth edges. Bad density leaves rough burrs or burnt marks.
Material Type: Metals need high power density to cut. Softer items need lower density.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select an output density of the laser light as desired, including wherein an output density of the laser light is greater than or equal to 10 W/mm2 and less than or equal to 100 W/mm2; and wherein the output density is greater than or equal to 31 W/mm2 and less than or equal to 74 W/mm2; in order to meet a specific requirement of the process of the coiling as desired.
Regarding claims 7-8, Sato discloses coil spring manufacturing method (paragraphs 0001, paragraphs 0014-0048 and fig.1: (100)) including:
emitting laser light (fig.2: (20)) to a wire formed into a helical shape (fig.2: (1)), thereby heating a portion of the wire; and
cutting (fig.2: (31)) a site of the wire heated by irradiation with the laser light,
Regarding claims 7-8, Sato does not disclose wherein an output density of the laser light is greater than or equal to 10 W/mm2 and less than or equal to 100 W/mm2; and wherein the output density is greater than or equal to 31 W/mm2 and less than or equal to 74 W/mm2;
However, choosing the output density the laser light is very known in art and a matter of routine engineering design choice that depends on the general design and specific requirements of the coiling process such as:
Melting Speed: High density focuses intense heat into a tiny spot. The material melts or turns to gas fast.
Cut Quality: Correct density makes smooth edges. Bad density leaves rough burrs or burnt marks.
Material Type: Metals need high power density to cut. Softer items need lower density.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select an output density of the laser light as desired, including wherein an output density of the laser light is greater than or equal to 10 W/mm2 and less than or equal to 100 W/mm2; and wherein the output density is greater than or equal to 31 W/mm2 and less than or equal to 74 W/mm2; in order to meet a specific requirement of the process of the coiling as desired.
Regarding claims 3-4, 6, 9-10 and 12, Sato does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 3-4, 6, 9-10 and 12.
However, Sato is concerned about an irradiation area irradiated with the laser light on the surface of the wire; and the output of the laser (paragraphs 0034-0043 and 0048);
choosing the dimensions of the wire is known in art and a matter of routine design engineering design choice that depends on the general design and the required dimensions of the wire as desired; and
choosing the output density the laser light is very known in art and a matter of routine engineering design choice that depends on the general design and specific requirements of the heating and cutting process such as:
Melting Speed: High density focuses intense heat into a tiny spot. The material melts or turns to gas fast.
Cut Quality: Correct density makes smooth edges. Bad density leaves rough burrs or burnt marks.
Material Type: Metals need high power density to cut. Softer items need lower density.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the limitations of claim 3-4, 6, 9-10 and 12; in order to meet a specific requirement of the process of the coiling as desired.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Sato discloses wherein the irradiation area has a shape which is elongated in a width direction of the wire (paragraph 0081).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725