DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-10 are pending in this office action. All pending claims are under examination in this application.
Priority
The current application filed on February 10, 2025 is a continuation of abandoned application 17/593,981. The abandoned application was a 371 of PCT/CN2020/082758 filed April 1, 2020, and further claims domestic priority to a provisional patent application 62/827,714 filed on April 1, 2019. The current application also claims foreign priority to a PCT/CN2020/080355 filed on March 20, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on September 28, 2026 is acknowledged. A signed copy of the document is attached to this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 1 has the text, “oil-m-water” misspelled.
Dependent claims 2-10 are objected to because they need a comma after the claim number and before the wherein phrase or further comprising phrase.
Furthermore, claims 2-10 are objected to because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 1 (misspelling) and fail to cure the defect.
Claim 6 is objected to because the word “foam” should be “from.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 within subsection ii of the claim states a “…weight ratio of from about 8:1 to about 8:1…”. There is no range within this text. Therefore, it is unclear and indefinite.
Dependent claims 2-10 are included here because they fail to cure this defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glenn et al. (WO2018/075861A1) in view of Banowski et al. (WO2012/084972A1) and Singh et al. (US2018/0179128A1).
1. Glenn et al.
Glenn et al. is regarded as being the prior art closest to the subject-matter of the present application as it discloses a method of treating the hair. The method comprises:
a. providing a hair care composition in an aerosol foam dispenser, wherein the hair care composition comprises:
i. from 20% to 45% of a surfactant system by weight of the hair care composition comprising:
1. from 10% to 40% of one or more anionic surfactants by weight of the hair care composition; and
ii. from 3% to 20% of 1,3,3,3-hydrofluoropropene foaming agent by weight of the hair care composition, preferably from 3.5% to 20% of 1,3,3,3- hydrofluoropropene foaming agent, and more preferably from 4% to 18% of 1,3,3,3-hydrofluoropropene foaming agent;
b. dispensing the concentrated hair care composition from the aerosol foam dispenser as a foam;
c. applying the foam to the hair; and
d. rinsing the foam from the hair.
The hair care composition further comprises from 0.1 % to 15% of one or more co-surfactants by weight of the hair care composition selected from the group consisting of amphoteric, zwitterionic, and nonionic co-surfactants and mixtures thereof. Also, suitable for use are alkoxylated derivatives of sorbitan esters including, but not limited to, polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monolaurate (Tween®20), polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monopalmitate (Tween®40), polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monostearate (Tween®60), and polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monooleate (Tween®80). The hair care composition can include from about 45% to about 78% water by weight of the hair care composition. The hair care composition may comprise one or more conditioning agents. Suitable conditioning agents for use in the hair care composition are those conditioning agents characterized generally as silicones (e.g., silicone oils, cationic silicones, silicone gums, high refractive silicones, and silicone resins), organic conditioning oils (e.g., hydrocarbon oils, polyolefins, and fatty esters) or combinations thereof. The hair conditioning composition described may optionally comprise one or more additional components known for use in hair care or personal care products. Further non-limiting examples of such optional ingredients include preservatives, perfumes or fragrances, cationic polymers, viscosity modifiers, coloring agents or dyes, conditioning agents, hair bleaching agents, thickeners, moisturizers, foam boosters, additional surfactants or nonionic cosurfactants, emollients, pharmaceutical actives, vitamins or nutrients, sunscreens, deodorants, sensates, and plant extracts. (see claims 1 and 3, description, page 12, lines 26-29; page 17, lines 25-29; page 32, lines 5-10; page 42, line 31; and page 43, line 24).
2. Banowski et al.
Banowski et al. teach deodorant and antiperspirant compositions for preventing body odor (see title). Additionally, Banowski et al. disclose deodorant and antiperspirant compositions which are sprayed with selected fluorocarbons or hydrofluorocarbons as propellants (see abstract).
3. Singh et al.
Singh et al. teach heat transfer compositions, methods and systems (see title). Singh et al. disclose various compositions, including particularly aerosol compositions,
containing fluorinated olefins, including particularly tetra- and penta-fluorpropenes, in a variety of applications (see abstract). Furthermore, Singh et al. disclose that suitable materials to be sprayed with the propellant include cosmetic materials such as deodorants, perfumes, and hair sprays (see paragraph [0106]; also see claims 5-13).
Combination of Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al.
Regarding instant claim 1, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach a method of treating human skin, hair and/or mucous membranes. The necessary citations within Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. that correspond to instant claim 1 are compiled within Table I.
Table I
Instant Claim 1
Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. Citations
A method of treating human skin, hair and/or mucous membranes comprising:
Glenn et al. disclose a method providing a hair care composition in an aerosol dispenser (see abstract within Glenn et al.).
providing a personal care composition in a container under pressure in the form of a stable oil-in-water emulsion comprising:
Glenn et al. disclose the hair care composition has a formula pressure in the aerosol dispenser of from about 43 psig to about 65 psig at 20 °C and is dispensed as a foam via the aerosol dispenser and having a foam density of from about 0.09 g/cm3 to about 0.20 g/cm3; and wherein the foaming agent within the hair care composition has a % saturation pressure of from about 66% to about 100% (see claim 1 within Glenn et al.); furthermore, Glenn et al. disclose a water carrier from about 40 wt% to about 80 wt% (see page 13, line 23 within Glenn et al.); Glenn et al. also disclose organic soluble surfactants (20-45 wt%, see claim 1 within Glenn et al.), foaming agents (3-20 wt%, see claim 1 within Glenn et al.), viscosity reducing agents (0.1-35 wt%, see claim 2 within Glenn et al.), co-surfactants (0.1-15 wt%, see claim 3 within Glenn et al.), conditioning agents (see page 31, line 26 within Glenn et al.), and other ingredients (see page 42, line 31 within Glenn et al.).
Glenn et al. fails to disclose an oil-in-water emulsion. However, Banowski et al. is in the personal care cosmetic (deodorant) arts and disclose an oil-in-water emulsion (see claim 10 within Banowski et al.).
a continuous aqueous phase comprising water;
Glenn et al. disclose a water carrier from about 40 wt% to about 80 wt% (see page 13, line 23 within Glenn et al.).
a discontinuous phase comprising foam forming component(s), trans-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (1233zd(E)) and trans-1-3,3,3 -tetrafluoropropene (1234ze(E)), wherein said 1233zd(E) and said 1234ze (E) together comprise from about 40% to about 60% by weight of said personal care composition and are present in a trans1233zd:trans 1234ze weight ratio of from about 8:1 to about 8:1;
Glenn et al. disclose from 3% to 20% of 1,3,3,3-hydrofluoropropene foaming agent by weight of the hair care composition, preferably from 3.5% to 20% of 1,3,3,3-hydrofluoropropene foaming agent, and more preferably from 4% to 18% of 1,3,3,3-hydrofluoropropene foaming agent (see claim 1 within Glenn et al.); furthermore, Glenn et al. disclose the foaming agent/propellant for use in the hair care compositions described herein can be selected from the group consisting of hydrofluoroolefins (HFOs) such as cis- and/or trans-1,3,3,3-tetrafiuoropropene (HFO-1234ze) (see page 40, lines 8-10 within Glenn et al.); also, Glenn et al. disclose the foaming agent/propellant for use in the hair care compositions described herein can be selected from the group consisting of hydrochlorofluoroolefins (HCFOs) such as cis and/or trans-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (HCFO-1233zd) (see page 40, lines 26-28 within Glenn et al.); In both cases Glenn et al. disclose that mixtures thereof can be used (see page 40, line 12 and page 41, line 2; both within Glenn et al.).
Glenn et al. fails to disclose the appropriate weights of the discontinuous phase. However, Singh et al. covers the specific weights of the instant claim 1 limitations within the present application.
Singh et al. disclose the heat transfer composition comprises from about 10% to about 95% by weight (see paragraph [0063]) of an HFO-1234 compound [trans-1-3,3,3 -tetrafluoropropene (1234ze(E)); see claims 10-11 within Singh et al.] and HFCO-1233zd [trans-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (1233zd(E)); see claims 2-4 within Singh et al.].
an emulsifier having an HLB value of from about 7 to about 18 and which may be present in the continuous and/or discontinuous phase;
Glenn et al. disclose non-ionic surfactants (equivalent to emulsifier; see PTO NPL W) with HLB values of at least 8 and alternatively greater than 12 (see page 12, lines 8-13 within Glenn et al.).
one or more active ingredients which may be present in the continuous and/or discontinuous phase; and
Glenn et al. disclose other ingredients see column 2 row 2 within Table I, and other optional ingredients (see page 42, line 31 within Glenn et al.)
optionally one or more auxiliary gel, lotion or cream forming components which may be present in the continuous and/or discontinuous phase;
Glenn et al. disclose optional ingredients (see page 42, line 31 within Glenn et al.) which include auxiliary gels, lotions, or creams [examples include shaving lotion agents, sunscreens, skin tanning agents, and moisturizers; see page 43, lines 13-23, within Glenn et al.).
dispensing said personal care composition on and/or into the skin, hair and/or mucous membrane of the human being treated by discharging at least a portion of the personal care composition from said container into ambient pressure conditions to form a foam.
Glenn et al. disclose the pressurized personal care composition is applied to the hair as a foam (see claim 1c within Glenn et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of treating hair disclosed by Glenn et al. with the teachings of Banowski et al. and Singh et al. The motivation to combine the three references would be to create a personal care composition in a container under pressure in the form of a stable oil-in-water emulsion.
Regarding instant claim 2, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of instant claim 1, wherein said 1233zd(E) and said 1234ze(E) together comprise from about 40% to about 60% by weight of said personal care composition and are present in a trans1233zd:trans1234ze weight ratio of from about 1:8 to less than 1:1.
Please see the necessary Glenn et al., Banoski et al., and Singh et al. citations within Table I. Singh et al. does not disclose a limitation for the weight ratio for the discontinuous phase components. However, Singh et al. does (see Table I) and therefore the range of from about 1:8 to less than 1:1 would be obtained under routine conditions by a skilled artisan (POSITA; person of ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding instant claim 3, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of instant claim 1, wherein said 1233zd(E) and said 1234ze(E) together comprise from about 40% to about 60% by weight of said personal care composition and are present in a trans1233zd:trans1234ze weight ratio of from about 8:1 to 1:1.
Please see the necessary Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. citations within instant claim 2. A skilled artisan (POSITA) would use the ranges disclosed within Table I to obtain the instant claim 3 limitation under routine conditions.
Regarding instant claim 4, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of instant claim 1, wherein said emulsifier comprises a solid emulsifier.
Glenn et al. disclose the use of the nonionic surfactant (nonionic surfactant is equivalent to a nonionic emulsifier; see PTO-892 NPL W) cocamide MEA (see page 11, line 9), which is a solid at room temperature (see PTO-892 NPL V and X).
Regarding instant claim 5, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of instant claim 1, wherein said emulsifier is a linear, long chain solid emulsifier.
Please see the necessary citations within the instant claim 4 discussion. The structure of the nonionic emulsifier cocamide MEA is shown in Figure I (see PTO-892 NPL X). Cocamide MEA is linear within its structure.
Figure I
Regarding instant claim 6, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of instant claim 1, further comprising from about 9% to less than about 14% by weight of a stability assistance component.
Glenn et al. does not teach a stability assistance component. The instant specification defines the stability assistance component as referring “to those components, other than the emulsifier, which are described herein and which applicants have found are able to assist in achieving a stable oil-in-water emulsion for the formulation of the present invention” (see page 6, paragraph [0018] within the instant application). Glenn et al. disclose the use of silicones as a variety of components within the hair care composition (see conditioning agent; page 31, line 26, 0-20 wt%; see viscosity reducing agent; page 14, line 23, 0.5-15 wt%; and see polyethers page 17, line 20 within Glenn et al.). Since silicone does qualify as stability assistance component, and the appropriate wt% is disclosed, and thus, the claim limitation has been met.
Regarding instant claim 7, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of instant claim 6, wherein said stability assistance component is selected from the group consisting of ester oil, silicone, fatty alcohol, wax and combinations of two or more of these.
Please see the necessary discussion within instant claim 6 for relevant silicone Glenn et al. citations. Furthermore, Glenn et al. disclose the use of ester oils having multiple functionalities (see page 17, line 6; viscosity reducing agents; see page 15, lines 15-32; cationic polymer; see page 31-2, lines 27-35; conditioning agents; see page 38, line 28; fatty esters within Glenn et al.), fatty alcohols (see page 39, line 10 within Glenn et al.), and waxy starches (see page 23, lines 10-11 within Glenn et al.) indicating that more than one or a combination of the stability assistance components can be used within the hair care composition.
Regarding instant claim 8, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein said 1233zd(E) and said 1234ze(E) together comprise at least about 60% by weight of said personal care composition and are present in a transl233zd:trans1234ze weight ratio of from about 1:8 to less than 1:1.
Please see the necessary Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. citations within Table for the necessary rejection text. In addition, please see the necessary Singh et al. citations within instant claim 2.
Regarding instant claim 9, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of instant claim 1, wherein said step of forming a foam on the user provide the user with a cooling sensation and/or a crackling sound.
Singh et al. disclose as the liquid evaporates from the surface being sprayed, the surface (body) cools (see paragraphs [0059] and [0113] within Singh et al.).
Regarding instant claim 10, Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. teach the method of instant claim 1, wherein a foam is formed on the user in a form selected from sherbet foam, ice cream foam; crackling foam or a combination of two or more of these.
Banowski et al. disclose an antiperspirant “crackling foam” (see paragraph [0363] within Banowski et al.) or a mousse foam (ice-cream foam; highly textured, non-smooth surface that contains numerous relatively sharp but soft points/ discontinuities (see definition within the instant specification) (see paragraph [0006] within Banowski et al.). Therefore, a skilled artisan (POSITA) would have two foam choices from the references of record.
Analogous Art
The Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. references are directed to the same field of endeavor as the instant claims, that is, a method of treating human skin, hair and/or mucous membranes, as disclosed within instant claim 1.
Obviousness Analysis
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of treating hair disclosed by Glenn et al., using the teachings of Banowski et al. and Singh et al. in order to arrive at the subject matter of the instant claims.
The Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. references all have considerable overlap in the pressurized personal care cosmetic arts. In this instance, Glenn et al. supplies the template for the treatment of hair, Banowski et al. supplies the cosmetic as an oil-in-water emulsion and either a crackling or mousse (ice-cream) foam, while Singh et al. supplies evidence for the discontinuous phase gases. All references are directed to pressurized personal care cosmetics and therefore constitute analogous art under MPEP §2141.01(a). A POSITA would have reasonably consulted the three references when seeking to develop a pressurized oil-in-water emulsion.
Given these teachings, a POSITA would have been motivated to combine the template for the treatment of hair disclosed by Glenn et al., the oil-in-water emulsion and either a crackling or mousse (ice-cream) foam supplied by Banowski et al., and the use of discontinuous phase gases as disclosed by Singh et al.
The modification constitutes a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result [MPEP §2143(I)(B)].
The combination represents the use of a known technique to improve a similar composition in the same way [MPEP §2143(I)(C)].
The art provides a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, and the POSITA would have pursued the claimed configuration with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP §2143(I)(E); KSR].
The combination of the method of hair treatment taught by Glenn et al. along with the use of the necessary claim limitations disclosed by Banowski et al. and Singh et al. would allow a research and development scientist (POSITA) to develop the invention taught in the instant application.
Furthermore, the additional claim limitations taught by Banowski et al. and Singh et al. would have been viewed by a POSITA as routine design optimizations or known modifications for pressurized personal care cosmetics. The motivation to combine the three references would be to create a personal care composition in a container under pressure in the form of a stable oil-in-water emulsion. Implementing these features in Glenn et al.’s hair treatment method would not require more than ordinary skill or routine experimentation.
Accordingly, the combination of Glenn et al., Banowski et al., and Singh et al. provides all the elements of the claimed invention. The resulting pressurized personal care cosmetic for human skin, hair and/or mucous membranes, constitutes no more than the predictable outcome of combining familiar prior art components, and therefore the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 and 17 of co-pending Application No. 17/061,545 (reference application) in view of Banowski et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and that of Application ‘545 encompass a method of treating human skin, hair, and/or mucous membranes.
The difference between the instant claims and that of Application ‘545 is the formation of bubbling foam.
However, Banowski et al. teach deodorant and antiperspirant compositions for preventing body odor (see title). Additionally, Banowski et al. disclose deodorant and antiperspirant compositions which are sprayed with selected fluorocarbons or hydrofluorocarbons as propellants (see abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to provide the fine bubble foam in treating human skin, hair, and/or mucous membranes with application ‘545 (see paragraph [0006] and [0076] within Banowski et al.). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as both Banowski et al. and Application ‘545 are to personal care cosmetics for the skin.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN W LIPPERT III/Examiner, Art Unit 1615