DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim refers to “the message”. There is no previous mention of a message. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1 – 10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Hong, publication number: US 2008/0155131.
As per claim 1, Hong teaches an electronic apparatus, comprising:
a communicator configured to communicate with a plurality of external devices for controlling operation of the electronic apparatus, the plurality of external devices comprising a first external device and a second external device which is different from the first external device (Interface unit, [0045][0048]);
a processor configured to:
based on a media signal corresponding to a content being received, process the media signal for playing the content (Playback, [0048][0064][0075]),
based on a first control signal being received from the first external device while the media signal is processed, perform an operation corresponding to the received first control signal (Playback command, [0064][0075]),
based on authentication information being received from the second external device while the media signal is processed, transmit information corresponding to the content to the second external device (Registration information such as device ID, [0048-0049], switching [0067][0026]), and
based on a second control signal being received from the first external device or the second external device, perform an operation corresponding to the received second control signal (controlling playback, [0064]).
As per claim 2, Hong teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, the electronic apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store pre-registered authentication information,
wherein the processor is further configured to:
based on the authentication information being received from the second external device while the media signal corresponding to the content is processed, identify whether the received authentication information corresponds to the pre-registered authentication information, and
based on the received authentication information being identified as corresponding to the pre-registered authentication information, transmit the information corresponding to the content to the second external device (Confirming if ID is stored, [0049]).
As per claim 3, Hong teaches wherein the authentication information comprises an ID or a password input by a user (ID, [0048-0049]).
As per claim 4, Hong teaches wherein the processor is configured to, based on the second control signal being received from the second external device, transmit a message to the first external device through the communicator (error message, [0027][0079]).
As per claim 5, Hong teaches wherein the message comprises at least one of a message to inform that there is an attempt to control the electronic apparatus by another user or a message to ask whether or not to allow the another user to view the media signal (message, [0027][0079]).
Claims 6 – 10 rejected based on claims 1 – 5
Conclusion
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494