DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/ 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO’186 (WO 2017/065186).
Regarding claim 1, WO’186 teaches a pneumatic tire comprising a tread, a pair of bead portions 48 including a bead core and bead apex 68, a first carcass 72 and second carcass 74, and fillers 62 (a bead reinforcing layer). The first carcass has a main portion 72a and a pair of turn up portions 72b. Page 8 of the machine translation discloses the absolute value of the angles α1 and α2 formed by the carcass cords of the first and second carcass is 80°-90° with respect to the equator plane.
Each filler 62 is provided with an inner-side part 92 and an outer-side part 94 (abstract) and composed of a large number of filler cords 100 and a topping rubber 102 arranged in parallel (page 6 of the machine translation). The filler cords are inclined at an angle β that is formed with respect to the radial direction ranging between 30° to 60° (page 7 of the machine translation), which means the fillers are inclined between 30° to 60° with respect the circumferential direction. Note: the radial direction and the circumferential direction of the tire are orthogonal to each other. And, an angle of 60° anticipates the claimed range of 60-90 degrees. In the alternative, the claimed range of 60-90 degrees with respect to the tire circumferential direction for the cords of the bead reinforcing layer (filler 62) in the tire of WO’186 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the disclosed range of WO’186 overlaps with the claimed range. FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 5 each shows the radially outer end 98 of the filler 62 located axially outside the bead apex rubber 68 and on the radially inside of the radially outer end of the bead apex rubber 106.
Regarding claim 2, FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 5 each shows the radially outer end of the second portion radially inside a radially outer end of the first portion.
Regarding claim 3, FIG. 3 teaches DS = 3-10% of the cross-sectional height H of the tire (page 10 of the machine translation). Page 14 of the machine translation teaches a tire size of 225/40R18 which has a cross-sectional height H = 90 mm (90 mm = 225 mm x 0.40).
Regarding claims 4-7, HU is 35%-70% of cross-sectional height H (pages 7-8 of the machine translation).
Regarding claims 11-12, FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 5 each shows a belt layer comprising an inner layer 88 and an outer layer 90 inclined at 10-35 degrees with respect to the equator plane and a band 54 inclined 5° or less (page 5 of the machine translation). The inner layer 88 and outer layer 90 of 35 degrees with respect to the equator plane anticipates the claimed range of 24-45 degrees with respect to the tire circumferential direction. In the alternative, providing the inner layer and the outer layer of WO’186 with a belt angle within the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because WO’186 teaches a suitable range which overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13-20, see FIG. 5 with the second carcass 148 being a down ply having a radially inner end 152.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’186 (WO 2017/065186) in view of Watanabe (US 2021/0061013).
Regarding claims 8-10, WO’186 is silent to a complex elastic modulus of a bead apex. However, providing the bead apex of WO’186 with a complex elastic modulus in a range of 55 to 70 MPa measured at 70°C would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the claimed complex elastic modulus for a bead apex is known, typical, and expected as evidenced by Watanabe which teaches a tire comprising a bead apex rubber 10 with a complex elastic modulus E*2 in the range of 35-70 MPa [0080].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of the remarks, Applicant argues there is no motivation to change WO’186 to an angle closer to radial (over 60 degrees) given the actual disclosure in the reference.
Claim 1 does not require an angle over 60 degrees; accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “an angle of 60 to 90 degrees with respect the tire circumferential direction” and WO’186 teaches a suitable angle may be 60 degrees which overlaps with the claimed range.
On page 11 of the remarks, Applicant argues WO’186 does not disclose that its drawings, e.g. FIG. 3, is to scale and WO’186 fails to disclose the claimed dimension.
Applicant is incorrect because dimension DS shown in FIG. 3 corresponds to the claimed minimum distance and page 10 of the machine translation states DS = 3-10% of the cross-sectional height of the tire and page 14 of the machine translation discloses a tire size of 225/40R18 having a cross-sectional height H= 90 mm (90 mm = 225 mm x 0.40); accordingly, for said tire size, distance DS ranges 2.7 mm–9 mm (2.7 mm = 3% of 90 and 9 mm = 10% of 90) which is fully encompassed by the claimed range.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENDRA LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749