DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Due to communications filed 8/11/26, the following is a final office action. Claims 1, 8, 12, 15
are amended. Claims 2-4, 9-11, 16-17 are cancelled. Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 18-20 are pending in this application, and are rejected as follows. The previous rejection has been modified to reflect claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention
and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the
claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al (US 20150106296 A1), and further in view of Bolton et al (US 20220270044 A1), and further in view of Motoyama (US 20160216106 A1), and further in view of Turner (US 20120194043 A1), and further in view of Motoyama (US 20160027261 A1).
As per claim 1, Robinson et al discloses:
A system comprising: at least one computer processor; and computer storage memory communicatively
coupled to the at least one computer processor and having computer-executable instructions stored
thereon that, when executed by the at least one computer processor, cause the at least one computer
processor to perform operations, ([0020] These computer program instructions may also be stored in a
computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing
apparatus to function in a particular manner such that the instructions stored in the computer-readable
memory produce an article of manufacture that is configured for implementing the function specified in
the flowchart block or blocks. The computer program instructions may also be loaded onto a computer
or other programmable data processing apparatus to cause a series of operational steps to be
performed on the computer or other programmable apparatus to produce a computer implemented
process such that the instructions that execute on the computer or other programmable apparatus
provide steps for implementing the functions specified in the flowchart block or blocks);
comprising:
receiving an indication that a first package associated with first package level detail information is to be
delivered to a delivery address, wherein the first package level detail information comprises dimensions
of the first package, ([0076] redirecting the parcel to the appropriate locker bank location comprises
substantially automatically (e.g., automatically) reserving space at that locker bank location for the
parcel (e.g., to ensure that there will be room and/or capacity for the parcel once the parcel arrives at
the alternate delivery location); [0109] In particular embodiments, the parcel identifier (or the tracking
number with which is it associated) may be associated with Package Level Detail (PLD) information
associated with the parcel (e.g., a name of the consignee, delivery address, name of shipper, package
weight, dimensions, etc.) and/or tracking information indicating status of package disposition and/or
physical location determining, based at least in part on the first package level detail information, a size
of the first package);
wherein the computerized locker bank comprises at least one locker bank computer, and each of the
plurality of securable locker compartments comprises a door and a locking mechanism, ([0010] FIG. 8 is
an exemplary locker bank computer, such as the locker bank computer shown in FIG. 7, which a delivery
driver or other user may utilize in the delivery or pick up of one or more parcels at a locker bank); [0025]
The one or more lockers further comprise at least one locking mechanism for maintaining the at least
one door in a closed position. In particular embodiments, the locking mechanism is controlled by one or
more Locker Bank Computers 730);
; and operating the locking mechanism on the particular securable locker compartment to open the
door, ([0025] The one or more lockers further comprise at least one locking mechanism for maintaining
the at least one door in a closed position. In particular embodiments, the locking mechanism is
controlled by one or more Locker Bank Computers 730, which may, for example, require a PIN number
in order to unlock any particular locker within the Locker Bank 700);
Robinson et al discloses:
in response to determining that the particular securable locker compartment can physically
accommodate the first package along with the second package, modifying the first package level detail information to include delivery of the first package to the computerized locker bank and not the delivery address, ([0035] FIG. 3 is a flow chart of operations performed by an exemplary Parcel Redirection Module 300. In particular embodiments, the Parcel Redirection Module 300 may facilitate the redirection of one or more parcels from a primary delivery location to an alternate delivery location (e.g., such as a suitable locker bank...); [0074] In various embodiments, the system is configured to enable a delivery driver to override a selection of a particular locker bank by the system for redirection of the parcel. The driver may, for example, determine that the parcel would not fit in any of the lockers at the particular locker bank enable the driver to provide the system with alternate instructions regarding the parcel such as, for example:. (2) redirecting the parcel to a different alternate delivery location (e.g., such as a different locker bank); [0096] In particular embodiments, such as embodiments in which the system is configured to substantially automatically determine that the one or more parcels have been placed in a particular locker, the system is configured to prompt the delivery driver to confirm that the delivery driver in fact placed the one or more parcels in the particular locker. The system may, for example, at least partially in response to determining that the one or more parcels have been placed in a particular locker (e.g., Locker 2B) based on determining that the door to the particular locker has been closed, prompt the delivery driver to confirm that the delivery driver had placed the one or more parcels in that particular locker; [0097] Continuing at Step 460, the system, at least partially in response to receiving the indication at Step 450, associates the one or more parcels with the particular locker. In various embodiments, the system may update tracking information associated with the one or more parcels to indicate the location of the locker bank, and an identification of the particular locker in which the one or more parcels are stored; [0157] In a particular embodiment, the system is further configured to confirm delivery of the parcel to the consignee in response to the consignee's retrieval of the one or more parcels from the locker, and/or the consignee's subsequent closing of the locker. In various embodiments, this confirmation of delivery may involve, for example: (1) updating a database within the system to reflect that the parcel has been delivered);
In this case, Robinson et al does not specifically disclose updating the package lever detail information,
however, redirecting delivery inherently requires updating shipment/delivery information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by Robinson I since the claimed invention is merely a
combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the
same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the
results of the combination were predictable.
For further clarification on updating package level detail information, Examiner discloses Bolton
et al (US 20220270044 A1).
Bolton et al discloses in: ([0277] Upon determining that the carrier server 100 may change the delivery
service level for a shipment/item in order to synchronize delivery with one or more additional
shipments, the carrier server 100 may be configured to flag the shipment/item (e.g., by changing the
shipment/item/package level detail associated with the shipment) to indicate the updated delivery
service level; [0122] In various alternative embodiments, the one or more delivery services may be
provided by delivering and/or otherwise making available an item purchased by a customer at a carrier
access point. As used herein, a carrier access point may be a location at which a carrier may deliver
items shipped by a consignor that may be picked-up later by an intended recipient of the item. Access
points may be unstaffed locations (e.g., a collection of lockers).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by Bolton et al in the system of Robinson et al since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Robinson does not disclose the following, however, Motoyama ‘261 discloses:
determining, a locker size of the particular securable locker compartment, (Motoyama (US 20160027261 A1): Abstract: determining whether, based at least in part on the item-physical dimension of the item and locker-physical-dimensions of each locker compartment from the first plurality of locker compartments that are available for storing items, one or more first locker compartments from the first plurality of locker compartments are available);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by Motoyama in the system of Robinson et al since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Robinson does not disclose the following, however, Motoyama ‘261 discloses:
determining a second size of the second package, (Motoyama (US 20160216106 A1): [0110] Location and positioning of the sensors within locker compartment 330 may be customized based on various factors and to achieve various goals. For example, if the sensors are meant to collect information about one or more dimensions of a package stored in locker compartment 330, then one or more sensors may be positioned on at least one wall of the compartment; [0111] Sensors may be configured to collect information about the dimensions of the package stored in the compartment, send the collected information to a locker controller, and then to a locker manager, which may use the received information to determine the dimensions of the package; [0112] Sensors may be configured to collect values for one or more dimensions of a package stored in locker compartment 330. Depending on the type of the package, a sensor may collect one or more dimensions of the package. For some packages, such as packages in a form of a ball, only one dimensions may be collected. For example, if locker compartment 330 is equipped with sensor 352, and a package stored in locker compartment 330 is a ball, then sensor 352 may collect values representing a height dimension of the ball and transmit the values to a locker controller; [0145] In an embodiment, intermediary 530 (or seller 520, or any other entity) determines a digital locker for storing the ordered items. For example, if seller 520 provides size-dimensions of the package to be delivered, intermediary 530 may determine the best-fit locker for the package. The size-dimensions may include a height, width and depth of the box in which the ordered items are packed, and may be obtained using various optical or electronic sensors. Upon receiving the size-dimensions of the package, intermediary 530 may retrieve from a locker manager a list of available locker compartments and their sizes. Using the received size-dimensions and the list, intermediary 530 may identify a locker compartment that is just large enough to store the package. Such a locker compartment may be referred to as a best-fit digital locker.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by Motoyama in the system of Robinson et al since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Robinson does not disclose the following limitation, however, Turner discloses:
determining, for a computerized locker bank comprising a plurality of securable locker compartments, a particular securable locker compartment of the plurality of securable locker compartments that is currently storing a second package that is associated with the first package, wherein the computerized locker bank comprises at least one locker bank computer and each of the plurality of securable locker compartments comprises a door and a locking mechanism, (Turner (US 20120194043 A1) discloses: Claim 16 of Turner: “A method according to claim 14, wherein, if the first item is an item for delivery to an addressee, step b) comprises the steps of: b1) if any one of the plurality of lockers already contains an item for delivery to the said addressee, selecting and unlocking that locker to receive the first item”; ALSO SEE Claim 18 of Turner: “A method according to claim 17, further comprising: f) delivering a second item to the automated collection point, wherein the second item is an item for delivery to an addressee; g) if any one of the plurality of lockers already contains an item for delivery to the said addressee, selecting and unlocking that locker to receive the first item;”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by Turner in the system of Robinson et al since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding the following limitation: “determining, based at least in part on the first size of the first package, the second size of the second package and the locker size of the particular securable locker compartment, that the particular securable locker compartment can physically accommodate the first package along with the second package (1) one or more locker banks comprising a plurality of secure lockers”, Turner (US 20120194043 A1) discloses that, where a locker “already contains an item for delivery to the said addressee,” the system selects that locker “to receive the first item,” such that the addressee may collect “both items from the same locker.”, and therefore teaches using an occupied locker to accommodate an additional package associated with the previously stored package. Furthermore, Motoyama (US 20160216106 A1) discloses determining dimensions of a package “stored in the compartment,” including a “height, a width, and a length” of the package, and therefore teaches determining size of the second package already stored in the particular locker. Finaly, Robinson et al (US
20150106296 A1) discloses determining a suitable locker based on the “physical dimensions of the parcel” and selecting a locker that is “sufficiently wide, tall, and deep” to accommodate the parcel, and therefore teaches using package dimensions and locker dimensions to determine whether a locker can accommodate a package.
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the dimensional/size information of Motoyama (US 20160216106 A1) and the locker-size/package-size determination of Robinson et al (US 20150106296 A1) to the occupied-locker arrangement of Turner (US 20120194043 A1), such that, prior to depositing the additional package in the occupied locker, the system determines whether the dimensions of the additional package, together with the dimensions of the package already stored therein, can be accommodated within the dimensions of the occupied locker. This would have predictably ensured that the additional package can be placed in the same locker as the previously stored package, consistent with the express objective of 2012/0194043 of allowing “both items” to be collected from “the same locker.”
As per claim 5, Robinson et al discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise determining that the computerized locker bank is within a
predetermined distance from the delivery address, ([0046] In various embodiments, the system is
configured to retrieve location information regarding locker banks that may be within a particular
distance of the primary delivery location to which delivery of a parcel was not possible).
As per claim 6, Robinson et al discloses:
wherein modifying the first package level detail information to include the delivery of the first package
to the computerized locker bank comprises modifying a delivery route of a delivery vehicle so that the
first package is delivered to the computerized locker bank, ([0035] FIG. 3 is a flow chart of operations
performed by an exemplary Parcel Redirection Module 300. In particular embodiments, the Parcel
Redirection Module 300 may facilitate the redirection of one or more parcels from a primary delivery
location to an alternate delivery location (e.g., such as a suitable locker bank...); [0074] In various
embodiments, the system is configured to enable a delivery driver to override a selection of a particular
locker bank by the system for redirection of the parcel. The driver may, for example, determine that the
parcel would not fit in any of the lockers at the particular locker bank enable the driver to provide the
system with alternate instructions regarding the parcel such as, for example:...( (2) redirecting the parcel
to a different alternate delivery location (e.g., such as a different locker bank);
As per claim 7, Robinson et al discloses:
wherein modifying the first package level detail information to include the delivery of the first package
to the computerized locker bank comprises modifying tracking information associated with the first
package to include a destination of the computerized locker bank, ([0097] Continuing at Step 460, the
system, at least partially in response to receiving the indication at Step 450, associates the one or more
parcels with the particular locker. In various embodiments, the system may update tracking information
associated with the one or more parcels to indicate the location of the locker bank, and an identification
of the particular locker in which the one or more parcels are stored).
As per claim 8, this claim recites limitations similar to those disclosed in independent claim 1 and is
therefore rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 12, Robinson et al discloses:
further comprising determining, by the at least one processing device, that the second package is
associated with the first package based at least in part on a second delivery address found in second
package level detail information associated with the second package and the delivery address being
identical, ([0079] In various embodiments, the system may be configured to facilitate delivery of a
plurality of parcels to a particular locker bank and storage of each individual parcel in a separate locker.
In other embodiments, the system is configured to facilitate delivery of a plurality of parcels having two
or more intended recipients to a particular locker bank and further facilitate placement of each of the
plurality of parcels having the same intended recipient into a particular locker. For example, following an
unsuccessful delivery of three parcels to a particular address that is shared by two roommates, the
systems may facilitate delivery of those parcels to a suitable locker bank. If one of the three parcels is
addressed to a first roommate, and two of the three parcels are addressed to a second roommate, the
system may be configured to facilitate placement of the parcel addressed to the first roommate in a first
locker and the parcels addressed to the second roommate in a second locker. In such an embodiment,
when the first roommate comes to the locker bank to retrieve their parcel, the system may be
configured to only release the particular parcel addressed to the first roommate).
As per claim 13:
further comprising modifying, by the at least one processing device and based at least in part on
modifying the first package level detail information to include the delivery of the first package to the
computerized locker bank and not the delivery address, a delivery route for a delivery vehicle to include
a stop at the computerized locker bank.
Please see the rejection for claim 6.
As per claim 14:
wherein the computerized locker bank is within a predetermined distance from the delivery address.
Please see rejection for claim 5.
As per claim 15, this claim recites limitations similar to those disclosed in independent claim 1 and is
therefore rejected for similar reasons.
As pe claim 18:
wherein modifying the first package level detail information to include the delivery of the first package
to the computerized locker bank comprises modifying a delivery route of a delivery vehicle so that
the first package is delivered to the computerized locker bank.
Please see the rejection for claim 6.
As per claim 19:
wherein modifying the first package level detail information to include the delivery of the first package
to the computerized locker bank comprises modifying tracking information associated with the first
package to include a destination of the computerized locker bank.
Please see the rejection for claim 7.
As per claim 20: wherein the computerized locker bank is within a predetermined distance from the
delivery address.
Please see the rejection for claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the 103 rejection and submits that the cited portions of Robinson do not describe determining a size of a package currently stored in a locker compartment and using that determination in evaluating whether the same locker compartment can accommodate an additional package. These arguments are fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Motoyama (US 20160216106 A1), and further in view of Turner (US 20120194043 A1), and further in view of Motoyama (US 20160027261 A1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Nathan Uber can be reached on 571-270-3923. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 305-3900.
October 7, 2026
/AKIBA K ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626