DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20, filed 2/10/2025, are pending and are currently being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because some of the figures are presented in a horizontal/landscape orientation instead of the preferred vertical/portrait orientation and the nature of the drawings does not appear to require the landscape/horizontal orientation used (37 CFR 1.84(h)-(i)). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-9 of prior U.S. Patent No. 10,386,151. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Presented Claim 1
A bow comprising:
a frame;
a first limb arranged to support a first rotatable member, said first rotatable member comprising a first side, a second side, a bowstring track, a first cable track and a pass-through aperture;
a second limb arranged to support a second rotatable member;
a bowstring extending between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member; and
a first power cable comprising a first segment, a pass-through segment and a second segment, the first segment oriented to the first side of the first rotatable member, the pass-through segment oriented in the pass-through aperture, the third segment oriented to the second side of the first rotatable member.
Claim 1 of 10,386,151 (identical language in bold)
A bow comprising:
a frame;
a first limb arranged to support a first rotatable member, said first rotatable member comprising a first side, a second side, a bowstring track, a first cable track and a pass-through aperture;
a second limb arranged to support a second rotatable member;
a bowstring extending between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member; and
a first power cable comprising a first segment, a pass-through segment and a second segment, the first segment oriented to the first side of the first rotatable member, the pass-through segment oriented in the pass-through aperture, the third segment oriented to the second side of the first rotatable member.
Presented Claim 2
The bow of claim 1, wherein the first cable track takes up the first segment of the first power cable as the bowstring is drawn.
Claim 2 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 1, wherein the first cable track takes up the first segment of the first power cable as the bowstring is drawn.
Presented Claim 3
The bow of claim 1, the first rotatable member comprising a second cable track, the first cable track located on the first side of the first rotatable member, the second cable track located on the second side of the first rotatable member.
Claim 3 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 1, the first rotatable member comprising a second cable track, the first cable track located on the first side of the first rotatable member, the second cable track located on the second side of the first rotatable member.
Presented Claim 4
The bow of claim 3, wherein the first cable track is parallel to the second cable track.
Claim 4 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 3, wherein the first cable track is parallel to the second cable track.
Presented Claim 5
The bow of claim 3, wherein the second cable track takes up the second segment of the first power cable as the bowstring is drawn.
Claim 5 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 3, wherein the second cable track takes up the second segment of the first power cable as the bowstring is drawn.
Presented Claim 6
The bow of claim 3, the first rotatable member supported by an axle, the first power cable comprising a first end attached to the axle.
Claim 6 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 3, the first rotatable member supported by an axle, the first power cable comprising a first end attached to the axle.
Presented Claim 7
The bow of claim 6, the first power cable comprising a second end attached to the axle.
Claim 7 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 6, the first power cable comprising a second end attached to the axle.
Presented Claim 8
A bow comprising:
a frame;
a first limb arranged to support a first rotatable member, said first rotatable member comprising a first side, a second side, a bowstring track, a cable track and a pass-through aperture, said cable track located on said first side;
a second limb arranged to support a second rotatable member;
a bowstring extending between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member; and
a power cable arranged to be taken up on said cable track, said power cable passing through the pass-through aperture, said power cable attaching to a cable post located on said second side.
Claim 8 of 10,386,151
A bow comprising:
a frame;
a first limb arranged to support a first rotatable member, said first rotatable member comprising a first side, a second side, a bowstring track, a cable track and a pass-through aperture, said cable track located on said first side;
a second limb arranged to support a second rotatable member;
a bowstring extending between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member; and
a power cable arranged to be taken up on said cable track, said power cable passing through the pass-through aperture, said power cable attaching to a cable post located on said second side.
Presented Claim 9
The bow of claim 8, the first rotatable member comprising a bowstring post located on said first side.
Claim 9 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 8, the first rotatable member comprising a bowstring post located on said first side.
Claims 10-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,386,151. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate (or are obvious variations of) the presented claims.
Presented Claim 10
A bow comprising:
a first limb supporting a first rotatable member, the first rotatable member comprising a first bowstring track and a first terminal post;
a second limb supporting a second rotatable member, the second rotatable member comprising a second bowstring track and a second terminal post;
a bowstring comprising a first end attached to the first terminal post and a second end attached to the second terminal post;
wherein the first bowstring track and the second bowstring track are oriented in a bowstring plane, and the first terminal post is laterally offset from the bowstring plane.
Claim 10 of 10,386,151 (identical language in bold)
A bow comprising:
a first limb supporting a first rotatable member, the first rotatable member comprising a first bowstring track, a first cable terminal post and a first bowstring terminal post;
a second limb supporting a second rotatable member, the second rotatable member comprising a second bowstring track and a second bowstring terminal post;
a bowstring comprising a first end attached to the first bowstring terminal post and a second end attached to the second bowstring terminal post, the first end comprising a terminal loop, the terminal loop surrounding the first bowstring terminal post; and
a first power cable attached to the first cable terminal post;
wherein the first bowstring track and the second bowstring track are oriented in a bowstring plane, the first bowstring terminal post is laterally offset from the bowstring plane and the first power cable passes through an aperture in the first rotatable member.
Presented Claim 11
The bow of claim 10, wherein the second terminal post is laterally offset from the bowstring plane.
Claim 11 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 10, wherein the second bowstring terminal post is laterally offset from the bowstring plane.
Presented Claim 12
The bow of claim 10, the first rotatable member comprising a cable track, wherein the first terminal post is located to a first side of the bowstring plane and the cable track is located to a second side of the bowstring plane.
Claim 12 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 10, the first rotatable member comprising a cable track, wherein the first bowstring terminal post is located to a first side of the bowstring plane and the cable track is located to the first side of the bowstring plane.
Presented Claim 13
The bow of claim 12, comprising a first power cable, the first rotatable member comprising a first cable terminal, the first power cable attached to the first cable terminal, the first cable terminal located to the first side of the bowstring plane.
Claim 13 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 12, the first cable terminal post located to a second side of the bowstring plane (first power cable attached to the first cable terminal is introduced in claim 10).
Presented Claim 14
The bow of claim 13, comprising a second power cable, the first rotatable member comprising a second cable terminal, the second power cable attached to the second cable terminal, the second cable terminal located to the first side of the bowstring plane.
Claim 14 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 13, comprising a second power cable, the first rotatable member comprising a second cable terminal post, the second power cable attached to the second cable terminal post, the second cable terminal post located to the first side of the bowstring plane.
Presented Claim 15
The bow of claim 14, the first rotatable member comprising a cable anchoring track, a portion of the second cable oriented in the cable anchoring track, the cable anchoring track located to the second side of the bowstring plane.
Claim 15 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 14, the first rotatable member comprising a cable anchoring track, a portion of the second power cable oriented in the cable anchoring track, the cable anchoring track located to the first side of the bowstring plane.
Presented Claim 16
The bow of claim 15, the second power cable passing through an aperture in the first rotatable member (Claim 10 of 10,386,151 teaches a power cable passing through an aperture in the rotatable member).
Presented Claim 17
The bow of claim 12, comprising a power cable, the power cable comprising a first portion located to the first side of the bowstring plane and a second portion located to the second side of the bowstring plane.
Claim 16 of 10,386,151
The bow of claim 12, the first power cable comprising a first portion located to the first side of the bowstring plane and a second portion located to the second side of the bowstring plane.
Presented Claim 18
The bow of claim 17, the power cable extending around a rotation axis of the first rotatable member and crossing itself at a crossing point (power cables are known to extend around rotation axes of rotatable members and cross itself during use).
Presented Claim 19
The bow of claim 18, wherein the power cable contacts itself at the crossing point (power cables are known to extend around rotation axes of rotatable members and cross itself during use).
Presented Claim 20
The bow of claim 19, wherein the power cable passes through an aperture in the first rotatable member adjacent to the crossing point (claim 10 of 10,386,151 teaches the power cable passing through an aperture in the rotatable member).
Further, it is noted that other related patents in the family tree (10,739,103, 11,796,277, 12,000,668, 12,222,182, 12,535,286) are relevant and may become an issue over the prosecution and future amendments that should be considered when or if amendments to the claims are made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Kudlacek US Pat. No. 4,060,066.
Kudlacek teaches:
In Reference to Claim 1
A bow (bow 10, Fig. 1-5) comprising:
a frame (10);
a first limb (16) arranged to support a first rotatable member (40), said first rotatable member comprising a first side, a second side (left/right sides of 40 forming pulleys 52/54), a bowstring track (left track 56), a first cable track (right track 56) and a pass-through aperture (58);
a second limb (18) arranged to support a second rotatable member (42);
a bowstring extending between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member (26); and
a first power cable (30) comprising a first segment, a pass-through segment and a second segment, the first segment oriented to the first side of the first rotatable member, the pass-through segment oriented in the pass-through aperture, the third segment oriented to the second side of the first rotatable member (a first part of 30 extends along groove 56 on a left side of the pulley 40 at 52, a pass through segment that travels through central aperture 58, and a second part that extends out of the pass through aperture 58 and into a groove 56 on the right side of the pulley at 54, Fig. 2-3).
In Reference to Claim 2
The bow of claim 1, wherein the first cable track takes up the first segment of the first power cable as the bowstring is drawn (right cable track 56 on 54 takes up 30 during draw, Fig 3-5).
In Reference to Claim 3
The bow of claim 1, the first rotatable member comprising a second cable track, the first cable track located on the first side of the first rotatable member, the second cable track located on the second side of the first rotatable member (left track 56 on 52 and right track 56 on 54 are arranged on opposite sides of pulley assembly 40).
In Reference to Claim 4
The bow of claim 3, wherein the first cable track is parallel to the second cable track (the cable tracks 56 are parallel, Fig. 2).
In Reference to Claim 5
The bow of claim 3, wherein the second cable track takes up the second segment of the first power cable as the bowstring is drawn (the power cable 30 is taken up in each track 40/41 during draw, Fig. 1-6).
In Reference to Claim 8
A bow (bow 10, Fig. 1-5) comprising:
a frame (10);
a first limb (16) arranged to support a first rotatable member (40), said first rotatable member comprising a first side, a second side (left/right sides of 40 forming pulleys 52/54), a bowstring track (left track 56), a cable track (right track 56) and a pass-through aperture (58), said cable track located on said first side (right track 56 on 54 is on a first side of the assembly);
a second limb arranged to support a second rotatable member (18/42);
a bowstring extending between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member (26); and
a power cable arranged to be taken up on said cable track (30), said power cable passing through the pass-through aperture, said power cable attaching to a cable post located on said second side (a first part of 30 extends along groove 56 on a left side of the pulley 40 at 52, a pass through segment that travels through central aperture 58, and a second part that extends out of the pass through aperture 58 and into a groove 56 on the right side of the pulley at 54 and extends to a post similar to 62 at bracket 46 on the opposite limb but remains on that side, Fig. 2-5).
In Reference to Claim 9
The bow of claim 8, the first rotatable member comprising a bowstring post located on said first side (bowstring 26 attaches to connecting posts 34 in line with the first side with track 56 on 52).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cook et al. US Pat. No. 4,770,154.
Cook teaches:
In Reference to Claim 10
A bow (20, Fig. 1-21) comprising:
a first limb supporting a first rotatable member (24), the first rotatable member (28) comprising a first bowstring track (42) and a first terminal post (48);
a second limb (26) supporting a second rotatable member (30, which is a mirror image of 28, Fig. 1-7, Col. 6 lines 48-50), the second rotatable member comprising a second bowstring track and a second terminal post (as 42 and 48 are in 28);
a bowstring comprising a first end attached to the first terminal post and a second end attached to the second terminal post (bowstring 32 has first and second ends 34/36 anchored at respective posts 48);
wherein the first bowstring track and the second bowstring track are oriented in a bowstring plane (string ends 34/36 extend around tracks 42 in the same plane), and the first terminal post is laterally offset from the bowstring plane (each bowstring end is anchored at 48 which is laterally offset from the bowstring plane of 42 as it is aligned with passageway 50 of adjacent cam 40).
In Reference to Claim 11
The bow of claim 10, wherein the second terminal post is laterally offset from the bowstring plane (each bowstring end is anchored at 48 which is laterally offset from the bowstring plane of 42 as it is aligned with passageway 50 of adjacent cam 40).
In Reference to Claim 12
The bow of claim 10, the first rotatable member comprising a cable track (cables 49 are attached at posts 44 on each side of the bowstring 34, and cable 46 is located on a side of bowstring 34), wherein the first terminal post is located to a first side of the bowstring plane (bowstring post 48 is located on the side closer to 46) and the cable track is located to a second side of the bowstring plane (49 is located on the same second side or the opposite side as it is split).
In Reference to Claim 13
The bow of claim 12, comprising a first power cable (46 or 49), the first rotatable member comprising a first cable terminal, the first power cable attached to the first cable terminal, the first cable terminal located to the first side of the bowstring plane (both 46 and 49 are attached on the first side, Fig. 1-7).
In Reference to Claim 14
The bow of claim 13, comprising a second power cable (46 or opposing 49), the first rotatable member comprising a second cable terminal, the second power cable attached to the second cable terminal, the second cable terminal located to the first side of the bowstring plane (49 is anchored at a terminal located on the first side or the opposite side as it is split).
In Reference to Claim 15
The bow of claim 14, the first rotatable member comprising a cable anchoring track, a portion of the second cable oriented in the cable anchoring track (46 is anchored after passing through tracks 40/50 while 49 is anchored in tracks about 44), the cable anchoring track located to the second side of the bowstring plane (49 is located to the opposing second side or 46/49 is anchored to the same second side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudlacek as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Yehle US Pat. No. 9,879,936.
In Reference to Claims 6-7
Kudlacek teaches:
The bow of claim 3, the first rotatable member supported by an axle (31), the first power cable comprising a first end attached to an anchor and a second end attached to an anchor (24-27).
Kudlacek fails to teach:
The ends of the power cable being attached to the axle.
Further, Yehle teaches:
A bow with a frame, limbs, rotatable members, bowstring attached to the rotatable members are each end, and power cables extending along different planes on the rotatable members and being attached to axles at each end (Fig. 5-9, 22-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kudlacek to have modified the power cables to have been anchored to axles at their ends as this is a commonly known and used way to secure power cables to cams in the art and in order to allow the cables to be drawn more during use increasing the power stroke as taught by Yehle (Col. 6 lines 13-33).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook as applied to claim 15/12 above and further in view of Kudlacek US Pat. No. 4,060,066.
In Reference to Claim 16
Cook teaches:
The bow of claim 15, the second power cable passing through an aperture in the first rotatable member (46 passes through an aperture passageway 50).
Cook fails to teach:
The power cables having mid portions passing through an aperture in the rotatable member from one side to an opposite side.
Further, Kudlacek teaches:
A bow (bow 10, Fig. 1-5) comprising:
a frame (10);
a first limb (16) arranged to support a first rotatable member (40), said first rotatable member comprising a first side, a second side (left/right sides of 40 forming pulleys 52/54), a bowstring track (left track 56), a first cable track (right track 56) and a pass-through aperture (58);
a second limb (18) arranged to support a second rotatable member (42);
a bowstring extending between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member (26); and
a first power cable (30) comprising a first segment, a pass-through segment and a second segment, the first segment oriented to the first side of the first rotatable member, the pass-through segment oriented in the pass-through aperture, the third segment oriented to the second side of the first rotatable member (a first part of 30 extends along groove 56 on a left side of the pulley 40 at 52, a pass through segment that travels through central aperture 58, and a second part that extends out of the pass through aperture 58 and into a groove 56 on the right side of the pulley at 54, Fig. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Cook to have modified the power cables to have extended through a central aperture in the rotatable members in order to increase the limb flexure and stored energy during draw as taught by Kudlacek (Col. 1 lines 54-64).
In Reference to Claim 17
Cook as modified by Kudlacek teaches:
The bow of claim 12, comprising a power cable, the power cable comprising a first portion located to the first side of the bowstring plane and a second portion located to the second side of the bowstring plane (as modified by Kudlacek: a first part of 30 extends along groove 56 on a left side of the pulley 40 at 52, a pass through segment that travels through central aperture 58, and a second part that extends out of the pass through aperture 58 and into a groove 56 on the right side of the pulley at 54, Fig. 2-3).
In Reference to Claim 18
Cook as modified by Kudlacek teaches:
The bow of claim 17, the power cable extending around a rotation axis of the first rotatable member and crossing itself at a crossing point (Cook: 46 along 42 crosses itself, Fig. 3, Kudlacek: Fig. 2-5).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook and Kudlacek as applied to claim 18 above and further in view of Kempf US Pat. No. 9,377,267.
In Reference to Claim 19
Cook as modified by Kudlacek teaches:
The bow of claim 18 as rejected above.
Cook fails to teach:
Wherein the power cable contacts itself at the crossing point.
Further, Kempf teaches:
A bow (Fig. 1-12) comprising: a frame (10); a first limb arranged to support a first rotatable member (14/18), said first rotatable member comprising a first side, a second side, a bowstring track (84), a first cable track (43/108/117); a second limb arranged to support a second rotatable member (16/20); a bowstring extending between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member (22); and
a first power cable (44) comprising a first segment, a mid-segment and a second segment, the first segment oriented to the first side of the first rotatable member, the mid-segment oriented at a crossing point (Fig. 11/12), the power cable contacting itself at the crossing point, Fig. 11-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Cook to have modified the power cables to have crossed and contacted itself at the pass through aperture as this is a known arrangement in the art and further in order to allow the cams to be synchronized during use and to be set up to rotate further which allows for a higher draw force as taught by Kempf (Col. 1 lines 40-56).
In Reference to Claim 20
Cook as modified by Kudlacek and Kempf teaches:
The bow of claim 19, wherein the power cable passes through an aperture in the first rotatable member adjacent to the crossing point (Kudlacek: Fig. 2-5).
Brief Discussion of Other Relevant Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the references cited page for publications that are noted for containing similar subject matter as the applicant. For example, Evans (2010/0269808) teaches a similar bow wherein the bowstring is anchored to the rotatable members at posts offset from the bowstring plane (Fig. 2, 9) as does Park (8,833,349), Larson (6,360,735) in Fig. 21, Darlington (4,926,832).
Conclusion
If the applicant or applicant’s representation has any questions or concerns regarding this office action or the application they are welcome to contact the examiner at the phone number listed below and schedule and interview to discuss the outstanding issues and possible amendments to expedite prosecution of this application.
/ALEXANDER R NICONOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711