Claims 1-22 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0240128 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
As to claim 1, Kim (Fig. 6) discloses an electronic display (200) comprising:
an electronic display panel (210) comprising lines (SLn) and columns of display pixels (DLm), wherein each column of display pixels (Fig. 4 element Px) is coupled to a respective data line (1st DL); and
display driver circuitry (Fig. 6 element 240) configured to adjust image data associated with the display pixels to account for coupling between the display pixels (Fig. 4 element Px) and the respective data lines (1ST DL – (M+1)TH DL; Para. 0063, 0067-0068).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses the electronic display of claim 1, wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to adjust the image data based on image data differences associated with adjacently programmed display pixels coupled to the same respective data line (Fig. 5; Para. 0068).
As to claim 3, Kim discloses the electronic display of claim 2, wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to adjust the image data based on a sum of a subset of the image data differences (Para. 0068, “The coupling voltage calculator can output the mean value of the amounts of the coupling C of the Mth data line 510 as the line coupling voltage Vc of the Mth data line 510”).
As to claim 5, Kim discloses the electronic display of claim 1, wherein the display driver circuitry comprises a lookup table that outputs an adjustment value associated with a target display pixel based on a weighted sum of image data differences occurring on subsequent display pixels to be programmed after the target display pixel is to be programmed (Para. 0062, 0064, average, mean value).
As to claim 6, Kim (Fig. 1) discloses an Image processing circuitry (100) comprising:
an image data line buffer (110) configured to store lines of image data corresponding to lines of display pixels of an electronic display (Para. 0060);
difference circuitry (130) configured to obtain an image data difference between pixel data of the image data associated with display pixels configured to be consecutively programmed via a shared data line (Para. 0062); and
a pixel compensation lookup table (150) configured to generate a pixel data adjustment corresponding to pixel data of the image data associated with a target display pixel based on the image data difference (Para. 0064).
As to claim 7, Kim discloses the image processing circuitry of claim 6, wherein the image data line buffer is configured to store N+1 lines of image data and the target display pixel is in a first line of the N+1 lines of image data in order of programming on the electronic display (Para. 0061, pixel value of first pixel).
As to claim 9, (Original) The image processing circuitry of claim 8, comprising scaling circuitry configured to apply a scaling factor to the differences from the image data difference line buffer based on a programming sequence of the image data that produced the differences.
As to claim 10, (Original) The image processing circuitry of claim 7, wherein the number N is greater than 2.
As to claim 11, Kim (Fig. 6) discloses the image processing circuitry of claim 6, comprising addition circuitry (250) configured to add the pixel data adjustment to the pixel data of the image data associated with the target display pixel before the pixel data of the image data associated with the target display pixel is programmed into the target display pixel (Para. 0064).
As to claim 12, Kim (Fig. 1) discloses a method (100) comprising:
receiving, into a buffer (110), first pixel data corresponding to a first display pixel of a first line coupled to a first data line of an electronic display (Para. 0060, grayscale for (N-1)th row);
receiving, into the buffer, second pixel data corresponding to a second display pixel of a second line coupled to the first data line of the electronic display (Para. 0060, grayscale for Nth row);
determining a first pixel data compensation (Vdc) based at least in part on a difference between the first pixel data and the second pixel data (Para. 0063); and
applying the first pixel data compensation to the first pixel data before the first pixel data is programmed into the first display pixel of the electronic display (Gc; Para. 0064).
As to claim 14, Kim discloses the method of claim 12, comprising receiving, into the buffer, third pixel data corresponding to a third display pixel of a third line coupled to the first data line of the electronic display (Para. 0060);
wherein the first pixel data compensation is determined based at least in part on a difference between the second pixel data and the third pixel data (Para. 0062, mean or average value of couplings of the data line).
As to claim 16, The method of claim 12, wherein determining the first pixel data compensation comprises:
determining a sum of scaled differences comprising a sum of at least:
a first scaled difference corresponding to the difference between the first pixel data and the second pixel data scaled based on a separation between the first line and the second line; and
at least another scaled difference between first other pixel data and second other pixel data, wherein the first other pixel data and the second other pixel data correspond to respective display pixels located on different lines and coupled to the first data line, scaled based on a separation between the different lines; and
selecting the first pixel data compensation from a lookup table indexed to the first pixel data and the sum of scaled differences.
As to claim 17, Kim (Fig. 6) discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the method is performed in display driver circuitry (230) of the electronic display (200; Para. 0064).
As to claim 18, Kim (Fig. 6) discloses an electronic device (200) comprising:
first processing circuitry configured to generate image data (Para. 0060, external device); and
second processing circuitry (220) configured to adjust the image data to compensate for coupling between display pixels and data lines of an electronic display (210; Para. 0070).
As to claim 19, Kim (Fig. 6) discloses the electronic device of claim 18, comprising the electronic display, wherein the electronic display comprises the second processing circuitry (220).
As to claim 20, Kim (Fig. 6) discloses the electronic device of claim 19, wherein the second processing circuitry (220) is a component of a display driver integrated circuit (250, 230) of the electronic display (Para. 0072).
As to claim 21, Kim (Fig. 7) discloses the electronic device of claim 18, comprising a processor core complex (310), wherein the first processing circuitry (I/O device) and the second processing circuitry (360) are components of the processor core complex (Para. 0076).
As to claim 22, Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 18, wherein the second processing circuitry is configured to adjust the image data to compensate for the coupling between the display pixels and the data lines of the electronic display based on differences between the image data associated with adjacent display pixels that share the same data line (Para. 0068).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 3, 7, 12 and 14 above, and further in view of Hauck et al. (US Patent No. 6,091,426; hereinafter “Hauck”).
As to claim 4, Kim does not disclose the electronic display of claim 3, wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to adjust the image data based on the sum of the subset of the image data differences scaled according to a programming time occurring after a target display pixel is to be programmed.
However, Hauck (Fig. 4) teaches wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to adjust the image data based on the sum of the subset of the image data differences scaled according to a programming time occurring after a target display pixel is to be programmed (50; Col. 6 lines 20-31, inputting of data is considered to be the start of the programming time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hauck to applying scaling in the device disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to perform the smoothing operation (Hauck; Col. 6 lines 19-23).
As to claim 8, Kim does not disclose the image processing circuitry of claim 7, comprising an image data difference line buffer configured to hold N+1 lines of differences.
However, Hauck (Fig. 7) teaches comprising an image data difference line buffer (103a, 103b) configured to hold N+1 lines of differences (Col. 7 lines 30-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hauck to include a line buffer in the device disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to store the data signals (Hauck; Col. 8 lines 23-25).
As to claim 13, Kim does not disclose the method of claim 12, wherein determining the first pixel data compensation comprises scaling the difference between the first pixel data and the second pixel data based on a separation between the first line and the second line.
However, Hauck teaches wherein determining the first pixel data compensation comprises scaling the difference between the first pixel data and the second pixel data based on a separation between the first line and the second line (Fig. 4 element 50; Col. 6 lines 20-31, weighted coefficient would be applied to all pixels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hauck to applying scaling in the device disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to perform the smoothing operation (Hauck; Col. 6 lines 19-23).
As to claim 15, Kim does not disclose the method of claim 14, wherein determining the first pixel data compensation comprises scaling the difference between the second pixel data and the third pixel data based on a separation between the second line and the third line.
However, Hauck teaches wherein determining the first pixel data compensation comprises scaling the difference between the second pixel data and the third pixel data based on a separation between the second line and the third line (Fig. 4 element 50; Col. 6 lines 20-31, weighted coefficient would be applied to all pixels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hauck to applying scaling in the device disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to perform the smoothing operation (Hauck; Col. 6 lines 19-23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Winzell et al. (US 2024/0153050 A1) discloses applying scaler to the pixel difference values (Para. 0075).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2625