DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 8-18 are withdrawn, and Claims 1-7 and 19-20 have been examined on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 19-20 drawn to Species A from Species Group 1 in the reply filed on 05/15/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being
drawn to a nonelected Species B in Species Group 1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the first input signal SI, second input signal S2, third input signal S3, fourth input signal S4, the first excitation signal El and the second excitation signal E2 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “devices for implementing the second input circuit are the same as devices for implementing the first input circuit”. It is unclear what devices are used for implementation, or how the devices are being used to implement the second and first input circuits. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be construed as circuits that are the same in the way they are setup. However, further clarification is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the second analog-to-digital converter is the same device as a first analog-to-digital converter, and the second amplifier is the same device as a first amplifier”. It is unclear what is meant by the analog-to-digital converter being the same device from the second and first, similar to how the second amplifier is the same device as a first amplifier, and whether these are separate devices or the same device. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be construed as the analog-to-digital converter and amplifier being the same by being the same in settings or the same type. However, further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kameishi (US20140307521A1, disclosed in Applicant IDS).
Regarding Claim 1,
Kameishi teaches an ultrasonic imaging apparatus, comprising: an ultrasonic probe comprising a transducer (corresponding disclosure in at least [0032], where there is an ultrasonic probe with a transducer “the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprises a transmission circuit 10, a driving part 100, an ultrasound transducer”);
a transformer comprising at least a primary winding and a secondary winding (Corresponding disclosure in at least [0008], where there is a transformer “The transformer comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding”),
wherein the primary winding comprises a first end and a second end (Corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where there is a first and second end of the primary winding “One end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M11 and the drain of the transistor M14. Further, the diode D11 is interposed between the one end of the primary winding LP1 and the drain of the transistor M11, in order to regulate the current flow in the direction from the primary winding LP1 to the transistor M11. Similarly, the other end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M13 and the drain of the transistor M12”),
the secondary winding comprises a first end, and the first end of the secondary winding is connected to the transducer of the ultrasonic probe (corresponding disclosure in at least [0035], where there is a first end of the secondary winding, which connects to the ultrasound transducer “the ultrasound transducer C10 which configures the ultrasound transducer group 11 is connected to one end of the secondary winding LS1 and a receiving circuit (that is, the amplifier circuit 12). The connection part of the wirings respectively connected to the ultrasound transducer C10”);
a first input circuit connected to the first end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0089], where a first input circuit, or the transmission circuit, connected to the primary winding “ in the transmission circuit 10, the circuit connected to the primary winding LP1 of the transformer K3 ”); and
a second input circuit connected to the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where the second end of the primary winding is connected to a second input circuit, or the transistors “Similarly, the other end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M13 and the drain of the transistor M12” and further in [0055], where the transistors are used as the switches, which comprise the circuit “the transistors M11 to M14 are used as the switches” and further in [0034], where the transistors are defined, where M11 and M14 are a part of the first end of the primary winding as the first and fourth switch, and M13 and M12 are the second and third switch “Further, the transistor M11 corresponds to a “first switch”, and the transistor M13 corresponds to a “second switch”. Furthermore, the transistor M12 corresponds to a “third switch”, and the transistor M14 corresponds to a “fourth switch””) ;
wherein, the transformer outputs an excitation signal at the first end of the secondary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0039], where an excitation signal is outputted by the first end of the secondary winding, which is connected to the ultrasound transducer “Thereby, as shown in FIG. 2B, the secondary voltage of VP111 (positive electrode) is induced in the secondary winding LS1, and the induced voltage is applied to the ultrasound transducer C10”)
according to a signal inputted by the first input circuit at the first end of the primary winding and a signal inputted by the second input circuit at the second end of the primary winding,
and the excitation signal excites the transducer connected to the first end of the secondary winding to transmit ultrasonic waves to a target object (corresponding disclosure in at least [0039], where the excitation signal connects to the transducer and transmits ultrasonic waves “ the secondary voltage of VP111 (positive electrode) is induced in the secondary winding LS1, and the induced voltage is applied to the ultrasound transducer C10” and further in [0061] “start the reception promptly after transmitting ultrasound waves, and, for example, to generate an image based on the ultrasound waves reflected by a shallow part of the subject. Further, in the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus according to the present embodiment, it is the same configuration for the circuit connected to the primary winding LP1”).
Regarding Claim 4,
wherein devices for implementing the second input circuit are the same as devices for implementing the first input circuit (corresponding disclosure in at least [0033] and Figure 2A, where the circuits are the same in how they are set up “The transmission circuit 10 comprises a transformer K3, power sources VP11 and VP13, transistors M11, M12, M13, and M14, and diodes D11, D13, D21 and D22. The transformer K3 comprises a primary winding LP1, and a secondary winding LS1. Also, in FIG. 2A, a dotted line shows a core part of the transformer K3. In the example in FIG. 2A, each of the transistors M11 and M13 is P-type MOSFET (Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor), and each of the transistors M12 and M14 is N-type MOSFET”).
Figure 2A of Kameishi
Regarding Claim 19,
Kameishi teaches an ultrasonic transmitting circuit comprising: a transformer comprising at least a primary winding and a secondary winding (Corresponding disclosure in at least [0008], where there is a transformer “The transformer comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding”),
wherein, the primary winding comprises a first end and a second end (Corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where there is a first and second end of the primary winding “One end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M11 and the drain of the transistor M14. Further, the diode D11 is interposed between the one end of the primary winding LP1 and the drain of the transistor M11, in order to regulate the current flow in the direction from the primary winding LP1 to the transistor M11. Similarly, the other end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M13 and the drain of the transistor M12”),
the secondary winding comprises a first end, and the first end of the secondary winding is connected to a transducer of an ultrasonic probe (corresponding disclosure in at least [0035], where there is a first end of the secondary winding, which connects to the ultrasound transducer “the ultrasound transducer C10 which configures the ultrasound transducer group 11 is connected to one end of the secondary winding LS1 and a receiving circuit (that is, the amplifier circuit 12). The connection part of the wirings respectively connected to the ultrasound transducer C10”);
a first input circuit that is connected to the first end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0089], where a first input circuit, or the transmission circuit, connected to the primary winding “ in the transmission circuit 10, the circuit connected to the primary winding LP1 of the transformer K3 ”);
and a second input circuit that is connected to the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where the second end of the primary winding is connected to a second input circuit, or the transistors “Similarly, the other end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M13 and the drain of the transistor M12” and further in [0055], where the transistors are used as the switches, which comprise the circuit “the transistors M11 to M14 are used as the switches” and further in [0034], where the transistors are defined, where M11 and M14 are a part of the first end of the primary winding as the first and fourth switch, and M13 and M12 are the second and third switch “Further, the transistor M11 corresponds to a “first switch”, and the transistor M13 corresponds to a “second switch”. Furthermore, the transistor M12 corresponds to a “third switch”, and the transistor M14 corresponds to a “fourth switch””);
wherein, the transformer outputs an excitation signal at the first end of the secondary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0039], where an excitation signal is outputted by the first end of the secondary winding, which is connected to the ultrasound transducer “Thereby, as shown in FIG. 2B, the secondary voltage of VP111 (positive electrode) is induced in the secondary winding LS1, and the induced voltage is applied to the ultrasound transducer C10”)
according to a signal inputted by the first input circuit at the first end of the primary winding and a signal inputted by the second input circuit at the second end of the primary winding, wherein the excitation signal excites the transducer connected to the first end of the secondary winding to transmit ultrasonic waves to a target object (corresponding disclosure in at least [0039], where the excitation signal connects to the transducer and transmits ultrasonic waves “ the secondary voltage of VP111 (positive electrode) is induced in the secondary winding LS1, and the induced voltage is applied to the ultrasound transducer C10” and further in [0061] “start the reception promptly after transmitting ultrasound waves, and, for example, to generate an image based on the ultrasound waves reflected by a shallow part of the subject. Further, in the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus according to the present embodiment, it is the same configuration for the circuit connected to the primary winding LP1”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameishi (US20140307521A1) in view of Kondo (JPH07336198A, citations to Kondo are with reference to the translated copy provided herein).
Regarding Claim 2, Kameishi teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first input circuit inputs a first input signal at the first end of the primary winding at a first time, the second input circuit inputs a second input signal at the second end of the primary winding at the first time (corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where there is an input from the input circuit, which is connected to the power supply VP11, which provides the first input signal “the power supply VP11 and the power supply VP13 are arranged by interposing the primary winding LP1, and each can supply a current in the opposite direction each other. Also, the power supply VP11 may be a power supply which generates a voltage different from the one generated from the power supply VP13, or may be a power supply which generates a voltage as same as the one generated from the power supply VP13” and further in Figure 2A, where the input is from one end of the primary winding and a second input is on the other end ),
Figure 2A of Kameishi
and the transformer outputs a first excitation signal at the first end of the secondary winding according to the first input signal inputted at the first end of the primary winding and the second input signal inputted at the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0038], where the transformer, or the seconding winding, which comprises the transformer, outputs a signal “relationships between pulses to each transistor M11 to M14 and the output waveforms from the secondary winding”); and
the first input circuit inputs a third input signal at the first end of the primary winding at a second time, the second input circuit inputs a fourth input signal at the second end of the primary winding at the second time (corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where there is an input from the input circuit, which is connected to the power supply VP11, which provides the first input signal “the power supply VP11 and the power supply VP13 are arranged by interposing the primary winding LP1, and each can supply a current in the opposite direction each other. Also, the power supply VP11 may be a power supply which generates a voltage different from the one generated from the power supply VP13, or may be a power supply which generates a voltage as same as the one generated from the power supply VP13” and further in Figure 2A, where the input is from one end of the primary winding and a second input is on the other end, and further in Figure 2B, where there is a second input),
Figure 2B of Kameishi`
and the transformer outputs a second excitation signal at the first end of the secondary winding according to the third input signal inputted at the first end of the primary winding and the fourth input signal inputted at the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0038], where the transformer, or the seconding winding, which comprises the transformer, outputs a signal, which is according to the inputted voltage “relationships between pulses to each transistor M11 to M14 and the output waveforms from the secondary winding” and further where there are multiple outputs, thus a second output; “As the voltage (second voltage) induced to the secondary winding LS1 changes at each of the timings, the voltages of a plurality of levels can be output. As an example for the case, VP111 and VP131 in FIG. 2B show the secondary voltage induced in the secondary side (that is, the secondary winding LS1) of the transformer K3 by switching the transistors M11 to M14”);
Kameishi does not teach wherein, the first input signal is the same as the fourth input signal, and the second input signal is the same as the third input signal.
Kondo, in a similar field of endeavor teaches a similar concept (circuits of ultrasonic devices) of wherein the first input signal is the same as the fourth input signal, and the second input signal is the same as the third input signal (corresponding disclosure in at least [pg. 3, ln. 129-131], where the first input and fourth input signal are the same (Q1) and second and third input signal are the same (Q2) “Then, in the pulse generating circuit shown in FIG. 1, both ends a of the primary winding L1 of a pulse transformer T, as the electronic switches Q1, Q2 which are connected to the b, the characteristics of the on-resistance and switching time and the like in the same N-channel since using the same thing may be a symmetric pulse waveform of a positive voltage and a negative voltage generated in the same shape”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated using the same input signal between the first and fourth and second and third as taught by Kondo. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because this keeps the save waveform to ensure the positive and negative voltage are symmetrical.
Regarding Claim 3, Kameishi and Kondo teach the limitations of Claim 2, and Kondo further teaches wherein the first input signal is different from the second input signal (corresponding disclosure in at least [pg. 2, ln 101-104], where the first input signal and second input signal are different in their timing “the input signal shifted by the timing of the off-I1, I2 There is applied, thereby the electronic switches Q1, Q2 are alternately turned on, a primary winding L1 of a pulse transformer T and off operation, c between and b, a current alternately between c flow, as a result 2 positive to the winding L2, so that the negative voltage is induced”).
Regarding Claim 20,
Kameishi teaches a method for generating an excitation signal with an ultrasonic transmitting circuit, wherein: the ultrasonic transmitting circuit comprises: a transformer comprising at least a primary winding and a secondary winding (Corresponding disclosure in at least [0008], where there is a transformer “The transformer comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding”),
wherein, the primary winding comprises a first end and a second end (Corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where there is a first and second end of the primary winding “One end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M11 and the drain of the transistor M14. Further, the diode D11 is interposed between the one end of the primary winding LP1 and the drain of the transistor M11, in order to regulate the current flow in the direction from the primary winding LP1 to the transistor M11. Similarly, the other end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M13 and the drain of the transistor M12”),
the secondary winding comprises a first end, and the first end of the secondary winding is connected to a transducer of an ultrasonic probe (corresponding disclosure in at least [0035], where there is a first end of the secondary winding, which connects to the ultrasound transducer “the ultrasound transducer C10 which configures the ultrasound transducer group 11 is connected to one end of the secondary winding LS1 and a receiving circuit (that is, the amplifier circuit 12). The connection part of the wirings respectively connected to the ultrasound transducer C10”);
a first input circuit connected to the first end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0089], where a first input circuit, or the transmission circuit, connected to the primary winding “ in the transmission circuit 10, the circuit connected to the primary winding LP1 of the transformer K3 ”);
and a second input circuit connected to the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where the second end of the primary winding is connected to a second input circuit, or the transistors “Similarly, the other end of the primary winding LP1 is connected to the drain of the transistor M13 and the drain of the transistor M12” and further in [0055], where the transistors are used as the switches, which comprise the circuit “the transistors M11 to M14 are used as the switches” and further in [0034], where the transistors are defined, where M11 and M14 are a part of the first end of the primary winding as the first and fourth switch, and M13 and M12 are the second and third switch “Further, the transistor M11 corresponds to a “first switch”, and the transistor M13 corresponds to a “second switch”. Furthermore, the transistor M12 corresponds to a “third switch”, and the transistor M14 corresponds to a “fourth switch””);
wherein, the transformer outputs an excitation signal at the first end of the secondary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0039], where an excitation signal is outputted by the first end of the secondary winding, which is connected to the ultrasound transducer “Thereby, as shown in FIG. 2B, the secondary voltage of VP111 (positive electrode) is induced in the secondary winding LS1, and the induced voltage is applied to the ultrasound transducer C10”) according to a signal inputted by the first input circuit at the first end of the primary winding and a signal inputted by the second input circuit at the second end of the primary winding(corresponding disclosure in at least [0039], where the excitation signal connects to the transducer and transmits ultrasonic waves “ the secondary voltage of VP111 (positive electrode) is induced in the secondary winding LS1, and the induced voltage is applied to the ultrasound transducer C10” and further in [0061] “start the reception promptly after transmitting ultrasound waves, and, for example, to generate an image based on the ultrasound waves reflected by a shallow part of the subject. Further, in the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus according to the present embodiment, it is the same configuration for the circuit connected to the primary winding LP1”);
the method comprises: controlling the first input circuit to input a first input signal at the first end of the primary winding at a first time, and controlling the second input circuit to input a second input signal at the second end of the primary winding at the first time (corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where there is an input from the input circuit, which is connected to the power supply VP11, which provides the first input signal “the power supply VP11 and the power supply VP13 are arranged by interposing the primary winding LP1, and each can supply a current in the opposite direction each other. Also, the power supply VP11 may be a power supply which generates a voltage different from the one generated from the power supply VP13, or may be a power supply which generates a voltage as same as the one generated from the power supply VP13” and further in Figure 2A, where the input is from one end of the primary winding and a second input is on the other end ),
Figure 2A of Kameishi
such that the transformer outputs a first excitation signal at the first end of the secondary winding according to the first input signal inputted at the first end of the primary winding and the second input signal inputted at the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0038], where the transformer, or the seconding winding, which comprises the transformer, outputs a signal, which is according to the inputted voltage “relationships between pulses to each transistor M11 to M14 and the output waveforms from the secondary winding” and further where there are multiple outputs, thus a second output; “As the voltage (second voltage) induced to the secondary winding LS1 changes at each of the timings, the voltages of a plurality of levels can be output. As an example for the case, VP111 and VP131 in FIG. 2B show the secondary voltage induced in the secondary side (that is, the secondary winding LS1) of the transformer K3 by switching the transistors M11 to M14”);
and controlling the first input circuit to input a third input signal at the first end of the primary winding at a second time (corresponding disclosure in at least [0034], where there is an input from the input circuit, which is connected to the power supply VP11, which provides the first input signal “the power supply VP11 and the power supply VP13 are arranged by interposing the primary winding LP1, and each can supply a current in the opposite direction each other. Also, the power supply VP11 may be a power supply which generates a voltage different from the one generated from the power supply VP13, or may be a power supply which generates a voltage as same as the one generated from the power supply VP13” and further in Figure 2A, where the input is from one end of the primary winding and a second input is on the other end, and further in Figure 2B, where there is a second input),
Figure 2B of Kameishi
and controlling the second input circuit to input a fourth input signal at the second end of the primary winding at the second time, such that the transformer outputs a second excitation signal at the first end of the secondary winding according to the third input signal inputted at the first end of the primary winding and the fourth input signal inputted at the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0038], where the transformer, or the seconding winding, which comprises the transformer, outputs a signal, which is according to the inputted voltage “relationships between pulses to each transistor M11 to M14 and the output waveforms from the secondary winding” and further where there are multiple outputs, thus a second output; “As the voltage (second voltage) induced to the secondary winding LS1 changes at each of the timings, the voltages of a plurality of levels can be output. As an example for the case, VP111 and VP131 in FIG. 2B show the secondary voltage induced in the secondary side (that is, the secondary winding LS1) of the transformer K3 by switching the transistors M11 to M14”).
Kameishi does not teach wherein, the first input signal is the same as the fourth input signal, and the second input signal is the same as the third input signal.
Kondo, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept (circuits of ultrasonic devices) of wherein the first input signal is the same as the fourth input signal, and the second input signal is the same as the third input signal (corresponding disclosure in at least [pg. 3, ln. 129-131], where the first input and fourth input signal are the same (Q1) and second and third input signal are the same (Q2) “Then, in the pulse generating circuit shown in FIG. 1, both ends a of the primary winding L1 of a pulse transformer T, as the electronic switches Q1, Q2 which are connected to the b, the characteristics of the on-resistance and switching time and the like in the same N-channel since using the same thing may be a symmetric pulse waveform of a positive voltage and a negative voltage generated in the same shape”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated using the same input signal between the first and fourth and second and third as taught by Kondo. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because this keeps the save waveform to ensure the positive and negative voltage are symmetrical.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameishi (US20140307521A1) in view of Hess (US20200011708A1) and in further view of Shirinfar (US20140306755A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kameishi teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and the first input circuit and a transmitting driving signal through an input end (corresponding disclosure in at least [0057], where there is a driving signal that is received “in order to drive the transistor M11, a driving signal to be applied to the gate of the transistor M11 becomes a signal in which the voltage VP111 is added to a driving signal to be applied to the transistor M14”), but does not teach a first analog-to-digital converter and converting the transmitting driving signal into a digital driving signal; and a first amplifier, wherein an input end of the first amplifier is connected to an output end of the first analog-to-digital converter, an output end of the first amplifier is connected to the first end of the primary winding, and the first amplifier amplifies the digital driving signal outputted by the first analog-to-digital converter and inputs the amplified digital driving signal to the first end of the primary winding.
Hess, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept (primary, secondary windings and converting signals for transducers) of a first analog-to-digital converter that receives a transmitting driving signal through an input end thereof and converts the transmitting driving signal into a digital driving signal (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 1 and [0026], where the ADC converts the signal “Digital-to-analog converter 278 converts outbound baseband signals 296 from the digital domain to the analog domain”).
Figure 1 of Hess
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated an ADC for converting the driving signal as taught by Hess. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because the ADC allows for converting analog signals into a digital signal, which is then further manipulated or stored.
Kameishi and Hess do not teach where an output end of the first amplifier is connected to the first end of the primary winding.
Shirinfar, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept (amplifiers and transformers) of an input end of the first amplifier is connected to an output end and an output end of the first amplifier is connected to the first end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 3 and [0035], where the first amplifier is connected to the primary winding “the primary loop is coupled to an output of a first stage amplifier composed of power amplifiers 306”) and inputs the amplified digital driving signal to the first end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0048] and Figure 3, where the amplified signal is inputted to the primary winding “half loop 302 is configured to resonate out an output capacitance of power amplifier 306 (e.g., between source and ground) and half loop 310 is configured to resonate out an input capacitance of power amplifier”).
Figure 3 of Shirinfar
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated an amplifier for the digital signal as taught by Shirinfar. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because the amplifier increases the magnitude of a weak electronic signal.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameishi (US20140307521A1) and Kondo (JPH07336198A) as applied in Claim 3, and in view of Hess (US20200011708A1) and in further view of Shirinfar (US20140306755A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kameishi and Kondo teach the limitations of Claim 3, and Kameishi further teaches the first input circuit and a transmitting driving signal through an input end (corresponding disclosure in at least [0057], where there is a driving signal that is received “in order to drive the transistor M11, a driving signal to be applied to the gate of the transistor M11 becomes a signal in which the voltage VP111 is added to a driving signal to be applied to the transistor M14”), but does not teach a second analog-to-digital converter that receives a transmitting driving signal through an input end thereof and converts the transmitting driving signal into a digital driving signal; and a second amplifier, wherein an input end of the second amplifier is connected to an output end of the second analog-to-digital converter, an output end of the second amplifier is connected to the second end of the primary winding, and the second amplifier amplifies the digital driving signal outputted by the second analog-to-digital converter and inputs the amplified digital driving signal to the second end of the primary winding.
Hess, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept (primary, secondary windings and converting signals for transducers) of a second analog-to-digital converter that receives a transmitting driving signal through an input end thereof and converts the transmitting driving signal into a digital driving signal (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 1 and [0026], where there is a second ADC, which converts the signal “Digital-to-analog converter 278 converts outbound baseband signals 296 from the digital domain to the analog domain”).
Figure 1 of Hess
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated an ADC for converting the driving signal as taught by Hess. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because the ADC allows for converting analog signals into a digital signal, which is then further manipulated or stored.
Kameishi and Hess do not teach where an output end of the second amplifier is connected to the second end of the primary winding and and inputs the amplified digital driving signal to the second end of the primary winding.
Shirinfar, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept (amplifiers and transformers) of an input end of the second amplifier is connected to an output end and an output end of the second amplifier is connected to the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 3 and [0035], where the first amplifier is connected to the primary winding “the primary loop is coupled to an output of a first stage amplifier composed of power amplifiers 306”) and inputs the amplified digital driving signal to the second end of the primary winding (corresponding disclosure in at least [0048] and Figure 3, where the amplified signal is inputted to the primary winding “half loop 302 is configured to resonate out an output capacitance of power amplifier 306 (e.g., between source and ground) and half loop 310 is configured to resonate out an input capacitance of power amplifier”).
Figure 3 of Shirinfar
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated an amplifier for the digital signal as taught by Shirinfar. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because the amplifier increases the magnitude of a weak electronic signal.
Regarding Claim 7, the combined references noted above teach the limitations of Claim 6, and further teaches wherein, the second analog-to-digital converter is the same device as a first analog-to-digital converter (corresponding disclosure in at least [0035] of Hess, where the two ADCs are the same device, or have the same settings “first ADC 28 and second ADC 32 has a sampling rate that is clocked at exactly π/9 radians (20 deg.) intervals”), and the second amplifier is the same device as a first amplifier (corresponding disclosure in at least [0035] of Shirinfar, where the amplifiers are both the same type “the primary loop is coupled to an output of a first stage amplifier composed of power amplifiers 306 and 308”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Such prior arts include Hairong (CN104586426A) in regards to ultrasonic circuit systems and Carp (US6432055B1) in regards to ultrasonic systems.
/K.E.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/ANNE M KOZAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797