DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed on 07/24/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdoli et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0267511 A1), in view of (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #109-e, e-Meeting, May 9th – May 20th, 2022, R1-2205034, Agenda item: 9.4.1.2, Source: Qualcomm Incorporated, Title: Physical Channel Design for Sidelink on Unlicensed Spectrum, hereinafter Document Qualcomm (R1-2205034)) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the non-final rejection dated 04/23/2025 has overcome in view of persuasive arguments. However, upon further consideration, the office action is being re-written as non-final rejection as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-11, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0028000 A1), in view of Wang et al., (Pub. No.: US 2025/0150902 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, (Original) Si discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE): one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising configuration parameters indicating: (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, paragraph [0060] radio resource control (RRC) signaling, Fig. 8, paragraph [0083] discloses RRC, various passages disclose configuration/pre-configuration, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0102], [0106]-[0111] configuration/pre-configuration or higher layer parameter, Fig. 6, paragraph [0073] parameters (pre-) configured by higher layer (i.e. RRC layer), Fig. 9, paragraph [0100] configured and/or provided by higher layer parameters)
a sidelink resource pool of a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) configured in a shared spectrum; (Si, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool, Figs. 4 and 5, paragraph [0071] disclose SL bandwidth part (SL BWP) Fig. 7, [0079] BWP, Fig. 8, paragraph [0080] BWP 800, paragraphs [0087]-[0092] disclose BWP/SL BWP, Fig. 10, paragraph [0104] and [0106]-[0112] disclose configuration of BWP, Fig. 7, paragraph [0079] disclose spectrum/unlicensed spectrum)
one or more resource blocks (RBs) for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission via the sidelink resource pool; (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool) and
configured for the PSFCH transmission via the sidelink resource pool; (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool)
indicating a starting RB of the sidelink BWP (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0079], and [0091] starting RB of BWP); and
transmitting, during a PSFCH slot (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions):
via at least one RB of the one or more RBs (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs); and
Si does not explicitly disclose following: (Note: Si teaches about interlace through Abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0004]-[0006], Figs. 8-13, Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080]-[0096], Fig. 9, [0097]-[0101], Fig. 10, [0102]-[0105], and [0107], Fig. 13, [0174]-[0175] and various other paragraphs)
a first common interlace index, among a plurality of common interlace indexes,
determining multiple common RBs of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on:
an interlaced RB index corresponding to the first common interlace index; and
a first common RB index
via the multiple common RBs.
However, Wang discloses following:
a first common interlace index, among a plurality of common interlace indexes,
determining multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs)) of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs):
an interlaced RB index (Wang, paragraphs [0072], and [0235] disclose RB index) corresponding to the first common interlace index; and
a first common RB index (Wang, paragraph [0009] index of the first CRB, paragraphs [0261], [0272] disclose first common resource block (CRB) index)
via the multiple common RBs. (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Wang so that a first common interlace index, among a plurality of common interlace indexes, determining multiple common RBs of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on: an interlaced RB index corresponding to the first common interlace index; and a first common RB index, via the multiple common RBs. The motivation to combine the teachings of Wang would enable determining multiple common RBs, and their indexes. (Wang, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0052])
Regarding Claim 3, (Original) The combination of Si, and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions) via the multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs)) is for one or more occupancy channel bandwidth (OCB) requirements (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0079] discloses occupied channel bandwidth (OCB) requirement, Fig. 8, paragraph [0084] discloses OCB). The motivation to combine Si in view of Wang is the same as the above claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, (Original) The combination of Si, and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the PSFCH slot comprises one or more PSFCH transmission occasions (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission/PSFCH transmission occasion, Fig. 6, paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0076]-[0077], Fig. 7, [0017], and [0078] disclose slot, In addition, paragraphs [0057]-[0058], [0137], and [0157]-[0159] disclose slot).
Regarding Claim 7, (Original) The combination of Si, and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions) comprises transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions) via the multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs)) in a frequency domain (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0071] discloses frequency domain, Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080]-[0082], [0085], [0087], Fig. 9, [0099]-[0100], Fig. 13, [0174] disclose frequency domain. In addition, various passages disclose frequency domain). The motivation to combine Si in view of Wang is the same as the above claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, (Original) Si discloses a wireless device comprising: (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE)
one or more processors; (Si, Fig. 3, paragraph [0045] processor 340, TX processing circuitry 315, RX processing circuitry 325) and
memory (Si, Fig. 3, paragraph [0045] memory 360) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Si, Fig. 3, paragraph [0045] processor 340, TX processing circuitry 315, RX processing circuitry 325), cause the wireless device to (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE):
receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising configuration parameters indicating: (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, paragraph [0060] radio resource control (RRC) signaling, Fig. 8, paragraph [0083] discloses RRC, various passages disclose configuration/pre-configuration, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0102], [0106]-[0111] configuration/pre-configuration or higher layer parameter, Fig. 6, paragraph [0073] parameters (pre-) configured by higher layer (i.e. RRC layer), Fig. 9, paragraph [0100] configured and/or provided by higher layer parameters)
a sidelink resource pool of a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) configured in a shared spectrum; (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool)
one or more resource blocks (RBs) for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission via the sidelink resource pool; (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool) and
configured for the PSFCH transmission via the sidelink resource pool; (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool)
indicating a starting RB (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs) of the sidelink BWP (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0079], and [0091] starting RB of BWP); and transmit, during a PSFCH slot (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission), one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions):
via at least one RB of the one or more RBs; (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs) and
Si does not explicitly disclose following: (Note: Si teaches about interlace through Abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0004]-[0006], Figs. 8-13, Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080]-[0096], Fig. 9, [0097]-[0101], Fig. 10, [0102]-[0105], and [0107], Fig. 13, [0174]-[0175] and various other paragraphs)
of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, and, among a plurality of common interlace indexes,
determining multiple common RBs of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on:
an interlaced RB index corresponding to the first common interlace index; and
a first common RB index
via the multiple common RBs.
However, Wang discloses following:
a first common interlace index, among a plurality of common interlace indexes,
determining multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs)) of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs):
an interlaced RB index (Wang, paragraphs [0072], and [0235] disclose RB index) corresponding to the first common interlace index; and
a first common RB index (Wang, paragraph [0009] index of the first CRB, paragraphs [0261], [0272] disclose first common resource block (CRB) index)
via the multiple common RBs. (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Wang so that a first common interlace index, among a plurality of common interlace indexes, determining multiple common RBs of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on: an interlaced RB index corresponding to the first common interlace index; and a first common RB index, via the multiple common RBs. The motivation to combine the teachings of Wang would enable determining multiple common RBs, and their indexes. (Wang, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0052])
Regarding Claim 10, (Original) The combination of Si, and Wang disclose the wireless device of claim 8 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE), wherein the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions) for one or more occupancy channel bandwidth (OCB) requirements (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0079] discloses occupied channel bandwidth (OCB) requirement, Fig. 8, paragraph [0084] discloses OCB).
Si does not disclose, are transmitted via the multiple common RBs
However Wang discloses are transmitted via the multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs))
The motivation to combine Si in view of Wang is the same as the above claim 8.
Regarding Claim 11, (Original) The combination of Si, and Wang disclose the wireless device of claim 8 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE), wherein the PSFCH slot comprises one or more PSFCH transmission occasions (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission/PSFCH transmission occasion, Fig. 6, paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0076]-[0077], Fig. 7, [0017], and [0078] disclose slot, In addition, paragraphs [0057]-[0058], [0137], and [0157]-[0159] disclose slot)
Regarding Claim 14, (Original) The combination of Si, and Wang disclose the wireless device of claim 8 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE): wherein the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions) in a frequency domain (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0071] discloses frequency domain, Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080]-[0082], [0085], [0087], Fig. 9, [0099]-[0100], Fig. 13, [0174] disclose frequency domain. In addition, various passages disclose frequency domain).
Si does not disclose, are transmitted via the multiple common RBs
However Wang discloses are transmitted via the multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs))
The motivation to combine Si in view of Wang is the same as the above claim 8.
Regarding Claim 15, (Original) Si discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses computer readable medium) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Si, Fig. 3, paragraph [0045] processor 340, TX processing circuitry 315, RX processing circuitry 325) of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE):
receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising configuration parameters indicating: (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, paragraph [0060] radio resource control (RRC) signaling, Fig. 8, paragraph [0083] discloses RRC, various passages disclose configuration/pre-configuration, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0102], [0106]-[0111] configuration/pre-configuration or higher layer parameter, Fig. 6, paragraph [0073] parameters (pre-) configured by higher layer (i.e. RRC layer), Fig. 9, paragraph [0100] configured and/or provided by higher layer parameters)
a sidelink resource pool of a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) configured in a shared spectrum; (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool)
one or more resource blocks (RBs) for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission via the sidelink resource pool; (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool) and
configured for the PSFCH transmission via the sidelink resource pool; (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission, Abstract, paragraph [0002] and various other passages disclose resource pool sidelink (SL)/resource pool)
determine multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs)) wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs)):
indicating a starting RB of the sidelink BWP; and transmit, during a PSFCH slot, one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions):
via at least one RB of the one or more RBs; (Si, Abstract, RBs, Fig. 4, and 5 paragraph [0071], Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080], [0087] disclose resource blocks (RBs), Further, Fig. 9, [0098] disclose resource blocks 900, paragraphs [0105]-[0112], and [0134]-[0135] disclose resource blocks (RBs) and
via the multiple common RBs. (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs))
Si does not explicitly disclose following: (Note (Clarification): Si teaches about interlace through Abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0004]-[0006], Figs. 8-13, Fig. 7, [0079], Fig. 8, [0080]-[0096], Fig. 9, [0097]-[0101], Fig. 10, [0102]-[0105], and [0107], Fig. 13, [0174]-[0175] and various other paragraphs)
of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, among a plurality of common interlace indexes,
determining multiple common RBs of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on:
an interlaced RB index corresponding to the first common interlace index; and
a first common RB index
via the multiple common RBs.
However, Wang discloses following:
a first common interlace index, among a plurality of common interlace indexes,
determining multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs)) of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index (Wang, paragraph [0009] index of the first CRB, paragraphs [0261], [0272] disclose first common resource block (CRB) index), wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs):
an interlaced RB index (Wang, paragraphs [0072], and [0235] disclose RB index) corresponding to the first common interlace index; (Wang, paragraph [0009] index of the first CRB, paragraphs [0261], [0272] disclose first common resource block (CRB) index)and
a first common RB index (Wang, paragraph [0009] index of the first CRB, paragraphs [0261], [0272] disclose first common resource block (CRB) index)
via the multiple common RBs. (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Wang so that a first common interlace index, among a plurality of common interlace indexes, determining multiple common RBs of a first common interlace corresponding to the first common interlace index, wherein an index of each of the multiple common RBs is based on: an interlaced RB index corresponding to the first common interlace index; and a first common RB index, via the multiple common RBs. The motivation to combine the teachings of Wang would enable determining multiple common RBs, and their indexes. (Wang, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0052])
Regarding Claim 17, (Original) The combination of Si, and Wang disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses computer readable medium), wherein the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions) are transmitted via the multiple common RBs (Wang, Abstract, common resource block (CRB), paragraph [0068] discloses CRBs, paragraph [0115] disclose two CRBs/first CRB and second CRB which are multiple CRBs)) for one or more occupancy channel bandwidth (OCB) requirements (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0079] discloses occupied channel bandwidth (OCB) requirement, Fig. 8, paragraph [0084] discloses OCB).
Regarding Claim 18, (Original) The combination of Si, and Wang disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses computer readable medium), wherein the PSFCH slot comprises one or more PSFCH transmission occasions (Si, Fig. 6, paragraph [0076] disclose PSFCH transmission, paragraphs [0167]-[0168], and [0170] disclose PSFCH transmission/PSFCH transmission occasion, Fig. 6, paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0076]-[0077], Fig. 7, [0017], and [0078] disclose slot, In addition, paragraphs [0057]-[0058], [0137], and [0157]-[0159] disclose slot).
7. Claims 2, 5-6, 9, 12-13, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0028000 A1), and Wang et al., (Pub. No.: US 2025/0150902 A1), in view of (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting # 109-e, e-Meeting, May 9 – May 20, 2022, R1-2203146, Agenda item: 9.4.1.1, Source: Huawei, HiSilicon, Title: Channel access mechanism and resource allocation for sidelink operation over unlicensed spectrum, hereinafter Document Huawei).
Regarding Claim 2, (Original) The combination of Si in view of Wang disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions)
Si does not explicitly disclose following:
comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information.
However, Si in view of Document Huawei discloses following:
comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information (Document Huawei, section 5 discloses SL HARQ-ACK).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si in view of Wang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Huawei so that comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Huawei would enable to support channel access procedures, i.e., Type 1, and Type 2 for sidelink operation over unlicensed spectrum. It would improve transmission reliability as SL HARQ-ACK, which is a key feature. (Document Huawei, whole document, emphasis section 1, section 2, section 5, and section 8)
Regarding Claim 5, (Original) The combination of Si in view of Wang, disclose the method of claim 1, before the transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions).
Si in view of Wang does not disclose performing a channel access procedure
However, Si in view of Huawei discloses performing a channel access procedure (Document Huawei, section 1, Channel access mechanism, section 2, page 1-2 disclose channel access procedures) before the transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions).
The motivation to combine Si in view of Wang and in further view of Huawei is the same as the above claim 2.
Regarding Claim 6, (Original) The combination of Si, Wang, and Document Huawei disclose the method of claim 5, indicating that a channel is idle, the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions). Huawei discloses the following limitation that Si I view Wang does not disclose further comprising transmitting, based on the channel access procedure (Document Huawei, section 1, Channel access mechanism, section 2, page 1-2 disclose channel access procedures)
The motivation to combine Si in view of Wang and in further view of Huawei is the same as the above claim 2.
Regarding Claim 9, (Original) The combination of Si, Wang, and Document Huawei disclose the wireless device of claim 8 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE), wherein the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions)
Si in view of Wang do not disclose comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information
However, Si in view of Huawei discloses: comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information (Document Huawei, section 5 discloses SL HARQ-ACK).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si in view of Wang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Huawei so that comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Huawei would enable to support channel access procedures, i.e., Type 1, and Type 2 for sidelink operation over unlicensed spectrum. It would improve transmission reliability as SL HARQ-ACK, which is a key feature. (Document Huawei, whole document, emphasis section 1, section 2, section 5, and section 8)
Regarding Claim 12, (Original) The combination of Si, Wang, and Document Huawei disclose the wireless device of claim 8 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE), wherein the instructions (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses instructions) before transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-
[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions).
Si does not teach further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure
Si in view of Document Huawei teaches further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure (Document Huawei, section 1, Channel access mechanism, section 2, page 1-2 disclose channel access procedures)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si in view of Wang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Huawei so that further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Huawei would enable to support channel access procedures, i.e., Type 1, and Type 2 for sidelink operation over unlicensed spectrum. (Document Huawei, whole document, emphasis section 1, section 2, section 5, and section 8)
Regarding Claim 13, (Original) The combination of Si, Wang, and Document Huawei disclose the wireless device of claim 12 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE), wherein the instructions (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses instructions) further cause the wireless device to transmit, based on the channel access procedure (Document Huawei, section 1, Channel access mechanism, section 2, page 1-2 disclose channel access procedures) indicating that a channel is idle, the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions).
Si does not teach further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure
Si in view of Document Huawei teaches further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure (Document Huawei, section 1, Channel access mechanism, section 2, page 1-2 disclose channel access procedures)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si in view of Wang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Huawei so that further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Huawei would enable to support channel access procedures, i.e., Type 1, and Type 2 for sidelink operation over unlicensed spectrum. (Document Huawei, whole document, emphasis section 1, section 2, section 5, and section 8)
Regarding Claim 16, (Original) The combination of Si, Wang, and Document Huawei disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses computer readable medium), wherein the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions)
Si in view of Wang do not disclose comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information
However Huawei discloses: comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information (Document Huawei, section 5 discloses SL HARQ-ACK).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si in view of Wang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Huawei so that comprise hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Huawei would enable to support channel access procedures, i.e., Type 1, and Type 2 for sidelink operation over unlicensed spectrum. It would improve transmission reliability as SL HARQ-ACK, which is a key feature. (Document Huawei, whole document, emphasis section 1, section 2, section 5, and section 8)
Regarding Claim 19, (Original) The combination of Si, Wang, and Document Huawei disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses computer readable medium), wherein the instructions (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses instructions) before transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions).
Si does not teach further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure
Si in view of Document Huawei teaches further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure (Document Huawei, section 1, Channel access mechanism, section 2, page 1-2 disclose channel access procedures)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si in view of Wang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Huawei so that further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Huawei would enable to support channel access procedures, i.e., Type 1, and Type 2 for sidelink operation over unlicensed spectrum. (Document Huawei, whole document, emphasis section 1, section 2, section 5, and section 8)
Regarding Claim 20, (Original) The combination of Si, Wang, and Document Huawei disclose the wireless device of claim 19 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0029] UE 111/UE 111 to UE 116, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] UE 116, wireless device is a UE), wherein the instructions (Si, paragraph [0009] discloses instructions) indicating that a channel is idle, the one or more sidelink transmissions (Si, paragraphs [0090], [0112]-[0113] disclose sidelink transmission/sidelink transmissions).
Si does not teach further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure
Si in view of Document Huawei teaches further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure (Document Huawei, section 1, Channel access mechanism, section 2, page 1-2 disclose channel access procedures)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si in view of Wang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Huawei so that further cause the wireless device to perform a channel access procedure. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Huawei would enable to support channel access procedures, i.e., Type 1, and Type 2 for sidelink operation over unlicensed spectrum. (Document Huawei, whole document, emphasis section 1, section 2, section 5, and section 8)
Conclusion
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472