DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15, as filed on 02/10/2025, are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by US 12594478 B2 (Rothschild).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Rothschild discloses a collapsible block (pylo box 100) comprising:
a top panel (top platform 110) having a first top side and a second top side opposite to each other (left and right sides respectfully, Figure 1C);
a bottom panel (bottom platform 120) having a first bottom side and a second bottom side opposite to each other (left and right sides respectfully, Figure 1C);
Figure 1C: Rothschild
a first side panel (left support frame 130) coupled with the first top side and the first bottom side (upper end of left support frame 130 is rotatably coupled to the first top side, bottom end of the left support frame 130 is rotatably coupled to the first bottom side);
a second side panel (right support frame 130) coupled with the second top side and the second bottom side (upper end of right support frame 130 is rotatably coupled to the second top side, bottom end of the right support frame 130 is rotatably coupled to the second bottom side);
wherein the first and second side panels are configured to be collapsible (side panels 130 are formed of hinged leaves 130A, 130B with a 180 degree hinge between them, see Figure 1H), the first and second side panels are moveable between:
a first position where a first distance exists between the top and bottom panels (shown in Figure 1C with the box fully expanded); and
a second position where a second distance exists between the top and bottom panels, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance (Figure 1L wherein the box is collapsed with the distance between top and bottom less than the first position); and
a support mechanism (studs 150) located between the top and bottom panels (internally, see Figure 1C), wherein the support mechanism is configured to withhold a force applied on the top panel or the bottom panel and prevent the first and second side panels from collapsing under the force and move to the second position (studs 150 provide support and sturdiness to the structure and prevent collapse of the walls inward).
Regarding Claim 2, Rothschild further discloses the collapsible block of claim 1, wherein the first side panel includes:
a first section rotatably coupled with the first top side (top leave 130A, connected to the first top side via a 90-degree hinge); and
a second section rotatably coupled with the first bottom side (bottom leave 130B), wherein the first section and the second section are rotatably coupled to form a hinge structure moveable toward and away from a center of the collapsible block (a 180-degree hinge between top and bottom leaves 130A form a hinge structure with the center movable inwards and outwards based on the collapsed state of the block).
Regarding Claim 6, Rothschild further discloses the collapsible block of claim 1, wherein the support mechanism includes:
an internal support (back side panel 140) rotatably coupled with the bottom panel and located between the top panel and the bottom panel (via 90-degree hinge located between panel and bottom platform) and
a latch coupled with the internal support (“the first, second and fourth side panels are locked in position using latches located in the flat top, and in the storage position the latches are released and the first, second, the connecting, and the fourth side panels are stacked on top of each other by rotating about the hinges connecting the first, second, the connecting and the fourth side panels to the base.” Col. 4, lines 50-55; a portion of the latch is located within the top of the back side panel 140), wherein a user can use the latch to move the internal support between:
an upright position where the internal support withholds a force applied on the top panel or the bottom panel (See Figure 1C wherein the side panel is vertical and latched locked to the top panel providing support to forces upon the top panel); and
a flat position where the internal support is laid flat and does not prevent the first and second side panels from collapsing (see Figures 1L and 1K wherein the panel is folded inwards and laid flat again the bottom platform).
Regarding Claim 7, Rothschild further discloses the collapsible block of claim 6, wherein the support mechanism includes:
a third side panel (front side panel 140) rotatably coupled with the bottom panel (via a 90 degree hinge) and configured to move between:
an upright position where the third side panel is perpendicular to the bottom panels (see Figure 1C); and
a flat position where the third side panel is parallel with the bottom panel (see Figures 1L and 1K), wherein the third side panel includes a first catch configured to releasably couple with the bottom panel in the flat position and couple with the top panel in the upright position (“a pivoted bar that falls into a notch when in storage position and is actuated, in this case hidden, by depressing a secure latch button 118 illustrated in FIG. 11A. That is, in one position latch 114 sticks out and prevents the side panel from moving laterally and specifically from collapsing under the flat top, and in the other position, illustrated in dashed lines in FIG. 11C is retracted into a notch in the top 110, and allows the side panel to pivot around hinge 119 and lay on top of the base 120.” Col. 19, lines 29-37).
Regarding Claim 8, Rothschild further discloses the collapsible block of claim 1, wherein the support mechanism includes:
a third side panel (front side panel 140) rotatably coupled with the bottom panel (via a 90 degree hinge) and configured to move between:
an upright position where the third side panel is perpendicular to the bottom panels (see Figure 1C); and
a flat position where the third side panel is parallel with the bottom panel (see Figures 1L and 1K), wherein the third side panel includes a first catch configured to releasably couple with the bottom panel in the flat position and couple with the top panel in the upright position (“a pivoted bar that falls into a notch when in storage position and is actuated, in this case hidden, by depressing a secure latch button 118 illustrated in FIG. 11A. That is, in one position latch 114 sticks out and prevents the side panel from moving laterally and specifically from collapsing under the flat top, and in the other position, illustrated in dashed lines in FIG. 11C is retracted into a notch in the top 110, and allows the side panel to pivot around hinge 119 and lay on top of the base 120.” Col. 19, lines 29-37)
Regarding Claim 9, Rothschild further discloses the collapsible block of claim 8, wherein the support mechanism includes:
a fourth side panel (rear side panel 140) rotatably coupled with the bottom panel (via a 90 degree hinge at the bottom) and configured to move between:
an upright position where the fourth side panel is perpendicular to the bottom panels (see Figure 1C); and
a flat position where the fourth side panel is parallel with the bottom panel (see Figures 1L, 1K), wherein the fourth side panel includes a second catch configured to releasably couple with the bottom panel in the flat position and couple with the top panel in the upright position support (“the first, second and fourth side panels are locked in position using latches located in the flat top, and in the storage position the latches are released and the first, second, the connecting, and the fourth side panels are stacked on top of each other by rotating about the hinges connecting the first, second, the connecting and the fourth side panels to the base.” Col. 4, lines 50-55; said fourth panel includes a second latch; “a pivoted bar that falls into a notch when in storage position and is actuated, in this case hidden, by depressing a secure latch button 118 illustrated in FIG. 11A. That is, in one position latch 114 sticks out and prevents the side panel from moving laterally and specifically from collapsing under the flat top, and in the other position, illustrated in dashed lines in FIG. 11C is retracted into a notch in the top 110, and allows the side panel to pivot around hinge 119 and lay on top of the base 120.” Col. 19, lines 29-37; said latch is configured to selectively lock into both vertical and horizontal positions).
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Rothschild discloses a block (pylo box 100) comprising:
a top panel (top platform 110);
a first side panel and a second side panel (left and right support frames 130) rotatably coupled with two opposite sides of the top panel (via hinges located at the top, middle, and bottom of the frames 130);
a bottom panel (bottom platform 120);
a third side panel and a fourth side panel (front and rear frames 140) rotatably coupled with two opposite sides of the bottom panel (via hinges located at the bottoms of each frame); and
an internal support (studs 150) located between the top and bottom panels and configured to withhold a force applied on the top panel or the bottom panel (when installed said studs 150 are configured to support and resist force upon the top surface);
wherein the first and second side panels are coupled with two opposite sides of the bottom panel (left and right sides), the third and fourth side panels are coupled with two opposite sides of the top panel (front and rear sides), the each of the first and second side panels are adjacent to the third and fourth side panels (each panel is respectfully adjacent to the other), wherein the top panel, the bottom panel, and four side panels form a rectangular block (see Figure 1C wherein the device is a rectangular box).
Regarding Independent Claim 12, Rothschild discloses a method of expanding a collapsible yoga block (plyometric Exercise device 100, Figure 1C) including the steps of:
a) pulling a side panel (side panels 140) outward (“Folding of the side panels into storage position in one example is illustrated in FIG. 1K. In this particular example, the side panels are attached to the top 110 or to the bottom 120 of the box using 90° hinges” Col. 12, lines 4-9; said panels 140 are rotated from the storage position to the position shown in Figure 1D with the side panels being vertical);
b) engaging a latch panel (“e first, second and fourth side panels are locked in position using latches located in the flat top, and in the storage position the latches are released and the first, second, the connecting, and the fourth side panels are stacked on top of each other by rotating about the hinges connecting the first, second, the connecting and the fourth side panels to the base” Col. 4, lines 50-55; said side panel 140 are engaged with a latch mechanism in a top panel 110 of the plyo box); and
c) securing the collapsible yoga block in place (via insertion of support studs 150).
Regarding Claim 13, Rothschild further discloses the method of claim 12 further including the step of pulling and pushing a support structure to lock into position (“top can also have holes 105 for inserting support studs 150, as discussed below” col. 12, lines 8-9; studs 150 are pushed and pulled through holes 105 to lock the structure in place).
Regarding Claim 14, Rothschild further discloses the method of claim 12 further including the step of collapsing and folding the collapsible yoga block by releasing a latch mechanism and pressing a lock (Col. 4, lines 50-55 above; said latch mechanism includes a releasable lock that is released allowing for the panels to fold and collapse inward).
Regarding Claim 15, Rothschild further discloses the method of claim 14 further including the step of folding a side panel inward to fold and collapse the collapsible yoga block (the side panels 140 are folded inward about hinges into a collapsed state shown in Figure 1L, 1M).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record US 12594478 B2 (Rothschild) fails to teach or render obvious the collapsible block in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
a connector and an internal rod moveably coupled with the internal support and the third side panel, wherein a user can use the third side panel and the connector to move the internal support between the upright position and the flat position.
The prior art of record teaches the internal support and third side panel as separate entities with the internal support removable from the device, which are not considered equivalent to applicant’s invention as the internal support and third side panel are not connected together via a connector and internal rod and it would not be obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing modify the internal rod to be coupled with the side panel without improper hindsight and without allowing the internal support to be removable.
Regarding Claim 11, the prior art of record US 12594478 B2 (Rothschild) fails to teach or render obvious the collapsible block in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
a third finger and a fourth finger and configured to couple with the first support member; wherein the first side panel has a first cut configured to accommodate the first finger, the second side panel has a second cut configured to accommodate the second finger, the third side panel has a third cut configured to accommodate the second finger, the fourth side panel has a fourth cut configured to accommodate the second finger.
The prior art of record teaches internal supports 150 which are not equivalent to applicant’s invention as they are spaced apart and not connected. It would not have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the internal supports to accommodate each other and be attached to opposite sided panels without breaking the intended functionality of supporting weight upon the upper surface.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3784