Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dao et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0317894 (hereinafter Dao).
As per claim 1, Dao teaches the invention as claimed comprising:
a processing system including a processor [210]; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations [210], the operations comprising:
determining a first group of session upgrade procedures for a first network service and determining a second group of session upgrade procedures for a second network service ([83][103][150]-[152][181], e.g., determining groups of QoS policy (e.g., EBR increase, decrease EBR, intent level QoE and QoS policies, transport QoS policy, and other QoS adjustments);
facilitating a communication session associated with a communication device ([83][106][170]-[175], e.g., facilitating a communication session associated with UE);
receiving feedback data that indicates a quality of service of the communication session is below a quality threshold ([82][83][103][146], e.g., feedback data indicates that QoE/QoS is below a threshold);
determining that a network service associated with the communication session resulting in a first determination ([78][99][139][140],e.g., identifying the traffic type, service, application associated with the session);
based on the first determination and the feedback data, selecting a session upgrade procedure from one of the first group of session upgrade procedures or the second group of session upgrade procedures resulting in a selection ([87][103][106][146][181], e.g., based on the traffic type, service/application and feedback, identifying EBR procedure from a group of EBR procedures (e.g., increase EBR, decrease EBR)); and
based on the selection, performing the session upgrade procedure for the communication session ([82][83][103][146][181], e.g., based on the identified procedure, performing the procedure).
As per claim 2, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Dao further teach wherein the selecting of the session upgrade procedure comprises selecting a portion of the first group of session upgrade procedures ([83][146][150][152], e.g., selecting procedures of the group of QoS policies (e.g., increase EBR, decrease EBR, etc.)).
As per claim 3, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2 above. Dao further teach wherein the selecting of the portion of the first group of session upgrade procedures comprises selecting to perform a first session upgrade procedure and performing a second session upgrade procedure, wherein the portion of the first group of session upgrade procedures comprises the first session upgrade procedure and the second session upgrade procedure ([83][146][150][152], e.g., selecting to dynamically increase EBR and selecting to dynamically decrease EBR during a session).
As per claim 4, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 3 above. Dao further teach wherein the selecting to perform the first session upgrade procedure and performing the second session upgrade procedure comprises determining an order of performing the first session upgrade procedure and performing the second session upgrade procedure ([83], e.g., during a session, dynamically determining to reduce EBR when QoE level is above a threshold, and dynamically determining to increase EBR when QoE level dropped).
As per claim 5, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Dao further teach wherein each of the first group of session upgrade procedures and the second group of session upgrade procedures can be selected from the group comprising of increasing a size of a cache for the communication session, increasing allocation of a network resources, increasing priority level of a traffic flow associated with the communication session, refreshing the traffic flow associated with the communication session, restarting a service, modifying a network path for the traffic flow associated with the communication session, modifying a quality of service parameter associated with the communication session, or a combination thereof ([83][181]).
As per claim 6, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Dao further teach wherein the selecting of the session upgrade procedure comprises selecting the session upgrade procedure based on a type of issue reported by the feedback data ([83]).
As per claim 7, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Dao further teach wherein the operations further comprise performing a registration procedure that authorizes reporting of the feedback data ([106][107][170][176]).
As per claim 8, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Dao further teach wherein facilitating the communication session comprises determining a session identifier associated with the communication session ([78][146], e.g., determining information to identify the flow (e.g., IP5-tuple, subscriber identifier, etc.)).
As per claim 9, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8 above. Dao further teach wherein receiving of the feedback data comprises determining the feedback data comprises the session identifier ([99][112], e.g., feedback with flow identifier of the communication session).
As per claim 10, Dao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 9 above. Dao further teach wherein performing the session upgrade procedure comprises the performing the session upgrade procedure for the communication session based on the session identifier ([106][140][146]).
As per claim 11, Dao teaches the invention as claimed comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
determining a first group of session upgrade procedures for a first network service and determining a second group of session upgrade procedures for a second network service ([83][103][150]-[152][181], e.g., determining groups of QoS policy (e.g., EBR increase, decrease EBR, intent level QoE and QoS policies, transport QoS policy, and other QoS adjustments);
facilitating a communication session associated with a communication device ([83][106][170]-[175], e.g., facilitating a communication session associated with UE) including determining a session identifier associated with the communication session ([78][146], e.g., determining information to identify the flow (e.g., IP5-tuple, subscriber identifier, etc.));
receiving feedback data that indicates a quality of service of the communication session is below a quality threshold and indicates the session identifier ([82][83][103][146], e.g., feedback data indicates that QoE/QoS is below a threshold; [99][112], e.g., feedback with flow identifier of the communication session);
determining that a network service associated with the communication session resulting in a first determination ([78][99][139][140],e.g., identifying the traffic type, service, application associated with the session);
based on the first determination, the feedback data, and session identifier, selecting a session upgrade procedure from one of the first group of session upgrade procedures or the second group of session upgrade procedures resulting in a selection ([87][103][106][140][146][181], e.g., based on the traffic type, service/application, feedback and application flow, identifying EBR procedure from a group of EBR procedures (e.g., increase EBR, decrease EBR)); and
based on the selection, performing the session upgrade procedure for the communication session ([82][83][103][146][181], e.g., based on the identified procedure, performing the procedure).
As per claim 12, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 2 above.
As per claim 13, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 3 above.
As per claim 14, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 4 above.
As per claim 15, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 5 above.
As per claim 16, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 6 above.
As per claim 17, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 7 above.
As per claim 18, Dao teaches the invention as claimed comprising:
determining, by a processing system including a processor, a first group of session upgrade procedures for a first network service and determining a second group of session upgrade procedures for a second network service ([83][103][150]-[152][181], e.g., determining groups of QoS policy (e.g., EBR increase, decrease EBR, intent level QoE and QoS policies, transport QoS policy, and other QoS adjustments);
facilitating, by the processing system, a communication session associated with a communication device ([83][106][170]-[175], e.g., facilitating a communication session associated with UE);
receiving, by the processing system, feedback data that indicates a quality of service of the communication session is below a quality threshold ([82][83][103][146], e.g., feedback data indicates that QoE/QoS is below a threshold);
determining, by the processing system, that a network service associated with the communication session resulting in a first determination ([78][99][139][140],e.g., identifying the traffic type, service, application associated with the session);
based on the first determination and the feedback data, selecting, by the processing system, a third group of session upgrade procedures from one of the first group of session upgrade procedures or the second group of session upgrade procedures resulting in a selection ([87][103][106][140][146][181], e.g., based on the traffic type, service/application, feedback and application flow, identifying a EBR procedures group of the groups of QoS policies (e.g., increase EBR, decrease EBR)); and
based on the selection, performing, by the processing system, the third group of session upgrade procedures for the communication session ([82][83][103][146][181], e.g., based on the identified group of procedures, performing the group of procedures).
As per claim 19, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 3 above.
As per claim 20, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 4 above.
Conclusion
be directed to Philip Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-3967. The examiner can normally be
reached on 6a-3p M-F.
Glenton Burgess can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHILIP C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454