CTNF 19/050,182 CTNF 96323 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This action is in reply to the Application Number 19/050,182 filed on 02/11/2025. Claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been examined. This action is made NON-FINAL. The examiner would like to note that this application is now being handled by examiner Jeffrey Chalhoub. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without reciting significantly more. The claims are being rejected according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 5, p. 50-57 (January 7, 2019). Step One : Does the Claim Fall Within a Statutory Category? Yes . Claim 1 is directed towards a method (process). Dependent claims 2-8 are also directed towards a method (process). Claim 9 is directed towards a system (machine). Dependent claims 10-16 are also directed towards a system (machine). Step Two A, Prong One: Is a Judicial Exception Recited? Yes . Taking into account claim 1 as one example, the claim recites filling the fluid chamber with pressurized hydraulic fluid including one or more of the following: (i) until a specified target charge pressure is reached, the charge energy used during filling being calculated by the control unit through time integration of the product of the sensor-recorded charge pressure and the charge volume flow and compared to a specified minimum charge energy in order to conclude a malfunction of the hydraulic accumulator if the specified minimum charge energy is not reached; and (ii) for a specified fill time interval, a resultant pressure difference delta in the fluid chamber relative to a supplied charge volume delta being recorded and checked by the control unit for conformity with a specified charge pressure curve for in-spec operation of the hydraulic accumulator in order to conclude a malfunction of the hydraulic accumulator in the event of a lack of conformity. These limitations, as drafted, are simple processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mathematical calculations. That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the step from practically being a mathematical calculation. For example, the claim encompasses using a model and corresponding algorithm on a hydraulic accumulator to monitor a target charge pressure. Thus, the claim recites a mathematical concept . Step Two A, Prong Two: Is the Abstract Idea Integrated into a Practical Application? No . Claims 1 and 9 recite two additional elements – a control unit and a hydraulic accumulator. Both elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as means to transmit and receive data) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic control unit and hydraulic accumulator. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. This type of abstract idea recited in claims 1-16 is a mathematical concept . Step Two B: Does the Claim Provide an Inventive Concept No . Regarding claims 1 and 9 , the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a control unit and a hydraulic accumulator amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic control unit and hydraulic accumulator. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a control unit and a hydraulic accumulator cannot provide an inventive concept. Dependent Claims The dependent claims are merely further defining the abstract idea by providing field of use limitations on transmitting and receiving data and are not adding anything to the abstract idea set forth in the independent claims such that the invention will amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are merely field of use limitations which simply further limit the abstract idea set forth in claims 1 and 9 , respectively. These claims do not contain further limitations that make them subject matter eligible. For example, dependent claim 7 merely recites the well understood, routine and conventional computing functions of data transmission and gathering. These claims do not contain further limitations that make them subject matter eligible. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 , 6-7 , 9-11 , and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0060030 A1 ) in view of Mueller ( DE 102007059400 A1 ) . Regarding Claim 1: Ma teaches: A method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator having a fluid chamber during a charging procedure of the hydraulic accumulator when prompted by a control unit, comprising:, (See (Ma: Summary of the Disclosure – 5th-6th paragraphs)) and (ii) for a specified fill time interval, a resultant pressure difference delta in the fluid chamber relative to a supplied charge volume delta being recorded and checked by the control unit for conformity with a specified charge pressure curve for in-spec operation of the hydraulic accumulator in order to conclude a malfunction of the hydraulic accumulator in the event of a lack of conformity., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 58th-59th and 65th-67th paragraphs, FIG. 7)) Ma does not teach but Mueller teaches: filling the fluid chamber with pressurized hydraulic fluid including one or more of the following: (i) until a specified target charge pressure is reached, the charge energy used during filling being calculated by the control unit through time integration of the product of the sensor-recorded charge pressure and the charge volume flow and compared to a specified minimum charge energy in order to conclude a malfunction of the hydraulic accumulator if the specified minimum charge energy is not reached;, (“The relationship between gas volume and gas pressure in the pressure accumulator 1 is determined by a polytropic exponent of the adiabatic equation and shown schematically in the 5 in the diagram 40 for two different preload pressures 43 . […] With an integration over time is from the generally time-dependent flow rate of the system in the accumulator 1 funded or removed from him liquid volume determined. For this example, the arithmetic unit 8th used.” (Mueller: Description)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma with these above aforementioned teachings from Mueller in order to create a smart method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Mueller’s system for determining a charging pressure in a hydropneumatics accumulator in order to fill a fluid chamber with pressurized hydraulic fluid until a specified target charge pressure is reached, the charge energy used during filling being calculated through time integration of a charge pressure and a charge volume flow. Combining Ma and Mueller would thus provide “a method for the determination the biasing pressure of a hydropneumatic accumulator, which a free choice of hydropneumatic accumulators for use allowed in hydraulic systems.” (Mueller: Description) Regarding Claim 2: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ma further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the pressurized hydraulic fluid is generated by a pivotable pump fed from a hydraulic reservoir., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 21st and 38th-41st paragraphs, FIG. 5)) Regarding Claim 3: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Ma further teaches: […] resulting from a sensor-recorded pivot angle., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 35th and 53rd-54th paragraphs)) Ma does not teach but Mueller teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein the charge volume flow is calculated by the control unit, starting with a sensor-recorded pump speed subject to a displacement volume flow of the pivotable pump per revolution, (“Around the actual volume of fluid in the accumulator To determine, it is advantageous, the subsidized in the pressure accumulator or to determine from this volume of liquid drained. […] As a result, fluid losses are taken into account. alternative can also be a flow meter between the pump and the store be used.” (Mueller: Description) Mueller further mentions “The relationship between gas volume and gas pressure in the pressure accumulator 1 is determined by a polytropic exponent of the adiabatic equation and shown schematically in the 5 in the diagram 40 for two different preload pressures 43 . […] With an integration over time is from the generally time-dependent flow rate of the system in the accumulator 1 funded or removed from him liquid volume determined. For this example, the arithmetic unit 8th used.” (Mueller: Description)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma with these above aforementioned teachings from Mueller in order to create a smart method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Mueller’s system for determining a charging pressure in a hydropneumatics accumulator in order to fill a fluid chamber with pressurized hydraulic fluid until a specified target charge pressure is reached, the charge energy used during filling being calculated through time integration of a charge pressure and a charge volume flow. Combining Ma and Mueller would thus provide “a method for the determination the biasing pressure of a hydropneumatic accumulator, which a free choice of hydropneumatic accumulators for use allowed in hydraulic systems.” (Mueller: Description) Regarding Claim 6: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ma further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein, with the completion of the charging procedure, the hydraulic fluid supplied to the hydraulic accumulator is stored in the fluid chamber as a result of closing a valve., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 38th-41st and 46th-52nd paragraphs, FIG. 5)) Regarding Claim 7: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 6. Ma further teaches: The method of claim 6, wherein the hydraulic accumulator is part of a hydraulic system of a work vehicle, the hydraulic pressure of the stored hydraulic fluid being monitored by the control unit with regard to maintaining a specified minimum system pressure in order to set the work vehicle to emergency operating mode if the specified minimum system pressure is not reached., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 23rd-25th, 33rd, 59th-64th, and 67th paragraphs, FIG. 4)) Regarding Claim 9: Ma teaches: A system for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator having a fluid chamber during a charging procedure of the hydraulic accumulator, comprising: a control unit configured to perform, (See (Ma: Summary of the Disclosure – 5th-6th paragraphs)) and (ii) record and check a resultant pressure difference delta in the fluid chamber relative to a supplied charge volume delta for a specified fill time interval for conformity with a specified charge pressure curve for in-spec operation of the hydraulic accumulator in order to conclude a malfunction of the hydraulic accumulator in the event of a lack of conformity., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 58th-59th and 65th-67th paragraphs, FIG. 7)) Ma does not teach but Mueller teaches: one or more of the following: (i) calculate a charge energy used during filling of the fluid chamber until a specified target charge pressure is reached through time integration of the product of the sensor-recorded charge pressure and the charge volume flow and compared to a specified minimum charge energy in order to conclude a malfunction of the hydraulic accumulator if the specified minimum charge energy is not reached;, (“The relationship between gas volume and gas pressure in the pressure accumulator 1 is determined by a polytropic exponent of the adiabatic equation and shown schematically in the 5 in the diagram 40 for two different preload pressures 43 . […] With an integration over time is from the generally time-dependent flow rate of the system in the accumulator 1 funded or removed from him liquid volume determined. For this example, the arithmetic unit 8th used.” (Mueller: Description)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma with these above aforementioned teachings from Mueller in order to create a smart method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Mueller’s system for determining a charging pressure in a hydropneumatics accumulator in order to fill a fluid chamber with pressurized hydraulic fluid until a specified target charge pressure is reached, the charge energy used during filling being calculated through time integration of a charge pressure and a charge volume flow. Combining Ma and Mueller would thus provide “a method for the determination the biasing pressure of a hydropneumatic accumulator, which a free choice of hydropneumatic accumulators for use allowed in hydraulic systems.” (Mueller: Description) Regarding Claim 10: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 9. Ma further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the pressurized hydraulic fluid is generated by a pivotable pump fed from a hydraulic reservoir., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 21st and 38th-41st paragraphs, FIG. 5)) Regarding Claim 11: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 10. Ma further teaches: […] resulting from a sensor-recorded pivot angle., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 35th and 53rd-54th paragraphs)) Ma does not teach but Mueller teaches: The system of claim 10, wherein the charge volume flow is calculated by the control unit, starting with a sensor-recorded pump speed subject to a displacement volume flow of the pivotable pump per revolution, (“Around the actual volume of fluid in the accumulator To determine, it is advantageous, the subsidized in the pressure accumulator or to determine from this volume of liquid drained. […] As a result, fluid losses are taken into account. alternative can also be a flow meter between the pump and the store be used.” (Mueller: Description) Mueller further mentions “The relationship between gas volume and gas pressure in the pressure accumulator 1 is determined by a polytropic exponent of the adiabatic equation and shown schematically in the 5 in the diagram 40 for two different preload pressures 43 . […] With an integration over time is from the generally time-dependent flow rate of the system in the accumulator 1 funded or removed from him liquid volume determined. For this example, the arithmetic unit 8th used.” (Mueller: Description)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma with these above aforementioned teachings from Mueller in order to create a smart method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Mueller’s system for determining a charging pressure in a hydropneumatics accumulator in order to fill a fluid chamber with pressurized hydraulic fluid until a specified target charge pressure is reached, the charge energy used during filling being calculated through time integration of a charge pressure and a charge volume flow. Combining Ma and Mueller would thus provide “a method for the determination the biasing pressure of a hydropneumatic accumulator, which a free choice of hydropneumatic accumulators for use allowed in hydraulic systems.” (Mueller: Description) Regarding Claim 14: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 9. Ma further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein, with the completion of the charging procedure, the hydraulic fluid supplied to the hydraulic accumulator is stored in the fluid chamber as a result of closing a valve., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 38th-41st and 46th-52nd paragraphs, FIG. 5)) Regarding Claim 15: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 14. Ma further teaches: The system of claim 14, wherein the hydraulic accumulator is part of a hydraulic system of a work vehicle, the hydraulic pressure of the stored hydraulic fluid being monitored by the control unit with regard to maintaining a specified minimum system pressure in order to set the work vehicle to emergency operating mode if the specified minimum system pressure is not reached., (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 23rd-25th, 33rd, 59th-64th, and 67th paragraphs, FIG. 4)) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0060030 A1 ) in view of Mueller ( DE 102007059400 A1 ) in further view of Moseler ( DE 10143830 A1 ) . Regarding Claim 4: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ma does not teach but Mueller teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the charge volume flow is calculated by the control unit subject to a sensor-recorded pressure decrease,, (“At the Switching off the system will be the accumulators of hydraulic systems hydraulically relieved for safety reasons. […] In the third pressure drop range, the fluid pressure decreases only slowly.” (Mueller: Description) Mueller further mentions “A bias pressure value can also be set during operation of the hydraulic system 100 determine. […] With an integration over time is from the generally time-dependent flow rate of the system in the accumulator 1 funded or removed from him liquid volume determined. For this example, the arithmetic unit 8th used.” (Mueller: Description)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma with these above aforementioned teachings from Mueller in order to create a smart method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Mueller’s system for determining a charging pressure in a hydropneumatics accumulator in order to fill a fluid chamber with pressurized hydraulic fluid until a specified target charge pressure is reached, the charge energy used during filling being calculated through time integration of a charge pressure and a charge volume flow. Combining Ma and Mueller would thus provide “a method for the determination the biasing pressure of a hydropneumatic accumulator, which a free choice of hydropneumatic accumulators for use allowed in hydraulic systems.” (Mueller: Description) Ma in view of Mueller does not teach but Moseler teaches: […] which occurs at a hydraulic diaphragm through which the pressurized hydraulic fluid flows during the filling of the fluid chamber., (“Fig. 4 shows in the partial figures a), b) and c) three exemplary pressure reservoir of the hydropneumatic storage type, in partial figure 4a) a so-called piston-type accumulator, and in the partial Figures 4b) and 4c) comprises two diaphragm-type accumulator with a screw (partial figure 4a) ) or welded (part of Figure 4c)) pressure vessel.” (Moseler: Description, FIG. 4) Moseler further mentions “FIG. 4 b) shows a diaphragm accumulator with a diaphragm 72 arranged in a pressure vessel 70 . 74 denotes a valve disk and 76 a valve body. The gas filling 78 can be filled through an opening in the pressure vessel, which is closed by a screw plug 80 according to the figure. According to Fig. 4b), the pressure vessel is formed of two housing halves, which are held together by means of a screw ring 80 . Fig. 4c) shows a contrast, in which the pressure vessel is formed by two welded together housing halves.” (Moseler: Description, FIG. 4)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma in view of Mueller with these above aforementioned teachings from Moseler in order to create an effective method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Moseler’s device for providing a hydraulic medium under pressure to operate a motor vehicle clutch and/or gearbox in order to detect a pressure decrease at a hydraulic diaphragm through which pressurized hydraulic fluid flows during filling of a fluid chamber. Combining Ma and Moseler would thus provide “a method for a further aspect Determining a current biasing pressure of a pneumatic inflation of a hydropneumatic accumulator or / and a momentary Filling state of the pneumatic filling and / or a current Memory state of the accumulator ready.” (Moseler: Description) Regarding Claim 12: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ma does not teach but Mueller teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the charge volume flow is calculated by the control unit subject to a sensor-recorded pressure decrease,, (“At the Switching off the system will be the accumulators of hydraulic systems hydraulically relieved for safety reasons. […] In the third pressure drop range, the fluid pressure decreases only slowly.” (Mueller: Description) Mueller further mentions “A bias pressure value can also be set during operation of the hydraulic system 100 determine. […] With an integration over time is from the generally time-dependent flow rate of the system in the accumulator 1 funded or removed from him liquid volume determined. For this example, the arithmetic unit 8th used.” (Mueller: Description)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma with these above aforementioned teachings from Mueller in order to create a smart method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Mueller’s system for determining a charging pressure in a hydropneumatics accumulator in order to fill a fluid chamber with pressurized hydraulic fluid until a specified target charge pressure is reached, the charge energy used during filling being calculated through time integration of a charge pressure and a charge volume flow. Combining Ma and Mueller would thus provide “a method for the determination the biasing pressure of a hydropneumatic accumulator, which a free choice of hydropneumatic accumulators for use allowed in hydraulic systems.” (Mueller: Description) Ma in view of Mueller does not teach but Moseler teaches: […] which occurs at a hydraulic diaphragm through which the pressurized hydraulic fluid flows during the filling of the fluid chamber., (“Fig. 4 shows in the partial figures a), b) and c) three exemplary pressure reservoir of the hydropneumatic storage type, in partial figure 4a) a so-called piston-type accumulator, and in the partial Figures 4b) and 4c) comprises two diaphragm-type accumulator with a screw (partial figure 4a) ) or welded (part of Figure 4c)) pressure vessel.” (Moseler: Description, FIG. 4) Moseler further mentions “FIG. 4 b) shows a diaphragm accumulator with a diaphragm 72 arranged in a pressure vessel 70 . 74 denotes a valve disk and 76 a valve body. The gas filling 78 can be filled through an opening in the pressure vessel, which is closed by a screw plug 80 according to the figure. According to Fig. 4b), the pressure vessel is formed of two housing halves, which are held together by means of a screw ring 80 . Fig. 4c) shows a contrast, in which the pressure vessel is formed by two welded together housing halves.” (Moseler: Description, FIG. 4)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma in view of Mueller with these above aforementioned teachings from Moseler in order to create an effective method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Moseler’s device for providing a hydraulic medium under pressure to operate a motor vehicle clutch and/or gearbox in order to detect a pressure decrease at a hydraulic diaphragm through which pressurized hydraulic fluid flows during filling of a fluid chamber. Combining Ma and Moseler would thus provide “a method for a further aspect Determining a current biasing pressure of a pneumatic inflation of a hydropneumatic accumulator or / and a momentary Filling state of the pneumatic filling and / or a current Memory state of the accumulator ready.” (Moseler: Description) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0060030 A1 ) in view of Mueller ( DE 102007059400 A1 ) in further view of Gray, JR. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0123661 A1 ) . Regarding Claim 5: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ma further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the hydraulic accumulator is comprised by a hydraulic system of a work vehicle,, (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 34th paragraph, FIG. 4)) Ma in view of Mueller does not teach but Gray, JR. teaches: […] the control unit preventing the start-up of the work vehicle in the event of a detected malfunction of the hydraulic accumulator by intervening in a drive management system or permitting start-up with a reduced driving speed., (See (Gray, JR.: Detailed Description of the Invention – 50th-51st paragraphs)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma in view of Mueller with these above aforementioned teachings from Gray, JR. in order to create a safe method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Gray, JR.’s hydraulic hybrid vehicle method of safe operation in order to prevent a start-up of a work vehicle in the event of a detected malfunction of a hydraulic accumulator. Combining Ma and Gray, JR. would thus provide “processes for safe operation of a hydraulic hybrid vehicle system, and in particular, to processes for detecting and/or addressing safety conditions arising out of operation of the vehicle.” (Gray, JR.: Background of the Invention – 3rd paragraph) Regarding Claim 13: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 9. Ma further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the hydraulic accumulator is comprised by a hydraulic system of a work vehicle,, (See (Ma: Detailed Description – 34th paragraph, FIG. 4)) Ma in view of Mueller does not teach but Gray, JR. teaches: […] the control unit preventing the start-up of the work vehicle in the event of a detected malfunction of the hydraulic accumulator by intervening in a drive management system or permitting start-up with a reduced driving speed., (See (Gray, JR.: Detailed Description of the Invention – 50th-51st paragraphs)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma in view of Mueller with these above aforementioned teachings from Gray, JR. in order to create a safe method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Gray, JR.’s hydraulic hybrid vehicle method of safe operation in order to prevent a start-up of a work vehicle in the event of a detected malfunction of a hydraulic accumulator. Combining Ma and Gray, JR. would thus provide “processes for safe operation of a hydraulic hybrid vehicle system, and in particular, to processes for detecting and/or addressing safety conditions arising out of operation of the vehicle.” (Gray, JR.: Background of the Invention – 3rd paragraph) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0060030 A1 ) in view of Mueller ( DE 102007059400 A1 ) in further view of Spielvogel (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0234338 A1 ) . Regarding Claim 8: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 6. Ma in view of Mueller does not teach but Spielvogel teaches: The method of claim 6, wherein, in the event of a detected functional impairment or failure of a primary hydraulic supply, the stored hydraulic fluid is used to operate one or more of a hydraulic brake system and a hydrostatic vehicle steering of a work vehicle, by opening the valve., (See (Spielvogel: Description – 18th, 25th-33rd, and 40th-44th paragraphs)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma in view of Mueller with these above aforementioned teachings from Spielvogel in order to create a user-friendly method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Spielvogel’s hydrostatic drive in order to use stored hydraulic fluid to operate a hydrostatic vehicle steering of a work vehicle by opening a valve. Combining Ma and Spielvogel would thus provide “a hydrostatic drive for starting an internal combustion engine, in which the internal combustion engine can be started without a pressure side on the hydraulic machine having to be changed in comparison to the mode as a pump. The start-stop function is intended to be able to react rapidly and reliably here.” (Spielvogel: Description – 7th paragraph) Regarding Claim 16: Ma in view of Mueller , as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 14. Ma in view of Mueller does not teach but Spielvogel teaches: The system of claim 14, wherein, in the event of a detected functional impairment or failure of a primary hydraulic supply, the stored hydraulic fluid is used to operate one or more of a hydraulic brake system and a hydrostatic vehicle steering of a work vehicle, by opening the valve., (See (Spielvogel: Description – 18th, 25th-33rd, and 40th-44th paragraphs)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ma in view of Mueller with these above aforementioned teachings from Spielvogel in order to create a user-friendly method for checking the state of a hydraulic accumulator. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ma’s hydraulic accumulator health monitor with Spielvogel’s hydrostatic drive in order to use stored hydraulic fluid to operate a hydrostatic vehicle steering of a work vehicle by opening a valve. Combining Ma and Spielvogel would thus provide “a hydrostatic drive for starting an internal combustion engine, in which the internal combustion engine can be started without a pressure side on the hydraulic machine having to be changed in comparison to the mode as a pump. The start-stop function is intended to be able to react rapidly and reliably here.” (Spielvogel: Description – 7th paragraph) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jeffrey Chalhoub whose telephone number is (571) 272-9754 . The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30-5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Angela Ortiz can be reached on (571) 272-1206 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3663 /ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 2 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 3 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 4 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 5 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 6 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 7 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 8 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 9 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 10 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 11 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 12 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 13 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 15 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 16 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 17 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 18 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 19 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 20 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 21 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 22 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 19/050,182 Page 23 Art Unit: 3663