Detailed Action
This is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 8/31/2026. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 11 and 16-20 were amended. Claim 10 was canceled. Claim 21 was added. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending and are examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 8/31/2026 to claim(s) 1 and 11 correcting the claim to recite one or more hardware processors are sufficient to overcome the rejection to the aforementioned claim(s). Accordingly, the rejection of claim(s) 1-16 under 101, as filed in 5 of the Non-Final Office action filed 7/1/2026 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, filed 8/31/2026, to claim(s) 4 correcting the claim to recite “issue tracking” are sufficient to overcome the rejection to the aforementioned claim(s). Accordingly, the rejection of claim(s) 4 under 112, second paragraph, as filed in (9) of the Non-Final Office action filed 7/1/2026 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 of the claims in view of Navert (US 11429384 B1) have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated from amending the independent claims 1, 11 and 17. The instant rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically argued in the Applicant's response.
Consequently, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 is presented as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navert (US 11429384 B1), in view of Doshi (US 20180329700 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Navert teaches the limitations of claim 1 substantially as follows:
An application deployment platform comprising: one or more hardware processors;
a web client application, executable by the one or more hardware processors, providing a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to receive one or more user inputs identifying a target application and a plurality of deployment parameters for the target application; (Navert; Col. 4, lines 31-39: An extension or plug-in 24 may be installed in a browser, providing functionality to or modifying the experience provided by the application executing on the browser, as described herein. Extension or plug-in 24 may be displayed on an application 10 executed by browser 24 (and thus it may be considered that either or both of browser 22 and application 10 may be modified by and interact with plug-in 24). For example, a user may select a plug-in 24 to display created data)
a backend control system, executable by the one or more hardware processors, integrated with a cloud workflow management platform API, an issue tracking platform API, a source data analytics and management platform API, and a developer platform API, (Navert; Col. 4, lines 47-51: take or receive data such as software development from Jira, an issue tracking software by Atlassian which is used by teams to track the work they have planned, in progress, and completed. Other work or issue tracking software may be used)
the backend control system performs one or more verification operations including determining whether the one or more user inputs are associated with one of an IT personnel and a business unit personnel; and (Navert; Col. 11, Table 7: Post-Done Overhead from when a Jira (i.e., one or more user inputs are associated with an IT personnel or a business unit personnel) is From Time of first ″Done″ Lead Time marked ″Done″ (i.e. Cycle state in Jira To Production Time) to when it is deployed Release to Production (i.e. Lead Time)
Navert does not teach the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
a backend migration system, executable by the one or more hardware processors, and configured, responsive to completion of the one or more verification operations by the backend control system, to migrate the target application from a developer platform associated with the developer platform API to a destination environment by exporting a file of the target application to the developer platform and importing the file from the developer platform to the destination environment.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Doshi discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
a backend migration system, executable by the one or more hardware processors, and configured, responsive to completion of the one or more verification operations by the backend control system, to migrate the target application from a developer platform associated with the developer platform API to a destination environment by exporting a file of the target application to the developer platform and importing the file from the developer platform to the destination environment. (Doshi; [0005]: A migration of a source application can be performed to account for existing policies which are relevant and affect the use of the source application, as well as constraints or policies which may be desired as a result of characteristics of the target system (i.e., migrate the target application from a developer platform to a destination environment))
Doshi is combinable with Navert because all are from the same field of endeavor of application development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Navert to incorporate the migration platform as in Doshi in order to ensure the functionality of deployed applications on a target system.
Regarding claim 2, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 2 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 1, wherein, the GUI includes an environment selection prompt and an application movement prompt. (Navert; Col. 11, Table 7: Post-Done Overhead from when a Jira is From Time of first ″Done″ Lead Time marked ″Done″ (i.e. Cycle state in Jira To Production Time) to when it is deployed Release to Production (i.e. Lead Time) (i.e., environment selection and application movement prompt))
Regarding claim 3, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 2.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 3 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 2, wherein, the migrating of the target application includes sending a QVF file configured as a template of the target application to the destination environment. (Doshi; [0016]: the templates 135 can be generated automatically based in part on input that includes the target model (i.e., template of the target application))
The came motivation to combine as in claim 1 is applicable to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 4 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 1, wherein, the one or more verification operations includes checking, based on a determination of a type of user, whether: a change request number associated with the IT personnel is valid; and an issue tracking ticket number, associated with the business unit personnel is valid. (Navert; Col. 11, Table 7: Post-Done Overhead from when a Jira (i.e., issue tracking ticket number) is From Time of first ″Done″ Lead Time marked ″Done″ (i.e. Cycle state in Jira To Production Time) to when it is deployed Release to Production (i.e. Lead Time))
Regarding claim 5, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 1, wherein, the target application includes a dashboard template. (Navert; Col. 3, lines 9-14: The computed data or analysis results may be injected directly into (e.g. displayed on) development systems, planning systems or tools, development repositories views, agile software development boards, dashboards (i.e., dashboard template) and other sites, as well as aggregated into view points from various levels of granularity aligned with organizational structure)
Regarding claim 6, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 6 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 1, wherein, the plurality of deployment parameters indicated by the one or more user inputs includes at least one of a source stream, a source application, a destination stream, and a destination application. (Navert; Col. 3, lines 55-59: Data such as SDLC or project development information or data may come from a variety of data sources or project development systems which software developers interact with on a daily basis, such as agile planning data, data from source code revision or version control tools such as Git software (software for tracking changes in a set of software files) such as Git commits or other commits, change management (e.g. the ServiceNow or Remedy systems, or other systems), incidents (e.g. problems in production code), builds, etc. Each set of or SDLC project development data may be in a format different from the format of other of the SDLC or project development systems and/or include different sets of information)
Regarding claim 7, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 7 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 1, wherein, the backend control system determines that the one or more user inputs are associated with the IT personnel and, in response, sends an API request to the cloud workflow management platform API. (Navert; Col. 11, Table 7: Post-Done Overhead from when a Jira (i.e., one or more user inputs are associated with an IT personnel or a business unit personnel) is From Time of first ″Done″ Lead Time marked ″Done″ (i.e. Cycle state in Jira To Production Time) to when it is deployed Release to Production (i.e. Lead Time) (IT personnel would necessarily be operating in Jira to resolve production issues))
Regarding claim 8, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 8 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 1, wherein, the backend control system determines that the one or more user inputs are associated with the business unit personnel and, in response, sends an API request to the cloud workflow management platform API. (Navert; Col. 11, Table 7: Post-Done Overhead from when a Jira (i.e., one or more user inputs are associated with an IT personnel or a business unit personnel) is From Time of first ″Done″ Lead Time marked ″Done″ (i.e. Cycle state in Jira To Production Time) to when it is deployed Release to Production (i.e. Lead Time) (business unit personnel would necessarily be operating in Jira to report product issues))
Regarding claim 9, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 7.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 7, wherein, the backend control system is configured, responsive to receiving the plurality of deployment parameters, to send a query to a source data analytics and management server associated with the source data analytics and management platform API, for a list of streams for which a user associated with the one or more user inputs is authorized. (Navert; Col. 10, lines 54-65: By collecting information such as pull requests and commits from a Git repository (e.g. as part of an application 10 in FIG. 1) continually, an embodiment can determine which changes are going into each code release by combining the Git commit and pull request dataset with change management datasets. In such a manner a number of sets of SDLC or project development data, possibly from different project development systems, may be analyzed to produce an analysis (e.g. lead time). This combination enables some embodiments to compute metrics like the lead time for new features to be delivered)
Regarding claim 11, Navert teaches the limitations of claim 11 substantially as follows:
An application deployment platform comprising: one or more hardware processors;
a web client application, executable by the one or more hardware processors, providing a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to receive one or more user inputs identifying a target application and a plurality of deployment parameters for the target application, (Navert; Col. 4, lines 31-39: An extension or plug-in 24 may be installed in a browser, providing functionality to or modifying the experience provided by the application executing on the browser, as described herein. Extension or plug-in 24 may be displayed on an application 10 executed by browser 24 (and thus it may be considered that either or both of browser 22 and application 10 may be modified by and interact with plug-in 24). For example, a user may select a plug-in 24 to display created data)
the plurality of deployment parameters includes an indication of at least one of a source application, a source stream, a destination application, and a destination stream; (Navert; Col. 3, lines 55-59: Data such as SDLC or project development information or data may come from a variety of data sources or project development systems which software developers interact with on a daily basis, such as agile planning data, data from source code revision or version control tools such as Git software (software for tracking changes in a set of software files) such as Git commits or other commits, change management (e.g. the ServiceNow or Remedy systems, or other systems), incidents (e.g. problems in production code), builds, etc. Each set of or SDLC project development data may be in a format different from the format of other of the SDLC or project development systems and/or include different sets of information)
a backend control system, executable by the one or more hardware processors, integrated with a cloud workflow management platform API, an issue tracking platform API, a source data analytics and management platform API, and a developer platform API, (Navert; Col. 4, lines 47-51: take or receive data such as software development from Jira, an issue tracking software by Atlassian which is used by teams to track the work they have planned, in progress, and completed. Other work or issue tracking software may be used)
the backend control system performs one or more verification operations including determining whether the one or more user inputs are associated with a user authorized to access the source application, the source stream, the destination application and the destination stream; and (Navert; Col. 11, Table 7: Post-Done Overhead from when a Jira (i.e., one or more user inputs are associated with an IT personnel or a business unit personnel) is From Time of first ″Done″ Lead Time marked ″Done″ (i.e. Cycle state in Jira To Production Time) to when it is deployed Release to Production (i.e. Lead Time)
Navert does not teach the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
a backend migration system, executable by the one or more hardware processors, and configured, responsive to completion of the one or more verification operations by the backend control system, to migrate the target application from a developer platform associated with the developer platform API to a destination environment by exporting a file of the target application to the developer platform and importing the file from the developer platform to the destination environment.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Doshi discloses the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
a backend migration system, executable by the one or more hardware processors, and configured, responsive to completion of the one or more verification operations by the backend control system, to migrate the target application from a developer platform associated with the developer platform API to a destination environment by exporting a file of the target application to the developer platform and importing the file from the developer platform to the destination environment. (Doshi; [0005]: A migration of a source application can be performed to account for existing policies which are relevant and affect the use of the source application, as well as constraints or policies which may be desired as a result of characteristics of the target system (i.e., migrate the target application from a developer platform to a destination environment))
Doshi is combinable with Navert because all are from the same field of endeavor of application development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Navert to incorporate the migration platform as in Doshi in order to ensure the functionality of deployed applications on a target system.
Regarding claim 12, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 11.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 12 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 11, wherein, the migrating of the target application includes identifying a previously uploaded application in the destination environment and replacing the previously uploaded application with the target application. (Navert; Col. 18, lines 17-22: an approved pull request can be updated with additional changes without having the approval invalidated)
Regarding claim 13, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 11.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 13 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 11, wherein, the backend control system is configured to convert a plurality of responses from the source data analytics and management platform API from a plurality of JSON data files to a plurality of pandas data frame files. (Navert; Col. 5, Lines 13-14 and Table 1: example JSON snippet in Table 1 shows an example simplified sample representation of a Jira issue)
Regarding claim 14, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 13.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 14 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 13, further comprising: a vectorization search performed on the plurality of pandas data frame files. (Navert; Col. 9, lines 24-28: Embodiments of the present invention may perform inference between data sets, such as agile planning and git commits, and infer and create the links between them if team fails to create a link)
Regarding claim 15, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 11.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 15 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 11, further comprising: a token-based authentication between the web client application and the developer platform API. (Navert; Col. 6 line 65 – col 7, line 2: Communication with software such as Jira may be via a REST API (an application program interface) (i.e., communication between applications and platforms via API)
Regarding claim 17, Navert teaches the limitations of claim 17 substantially as follows:
A method of deploying an application using an application deployment platform, the method comprising: receiving, at a graphical user interface (GUI) of a web client application, one or more user inputs identifying a target application and a plurality of deployment parameters for the target application; (Navert; Col. 4, lines 31-39: An extension or plug-in 24 may be installed in a browser, providing functionality to or modifying the experience provided by the application executing on the browser, as described herein. Extension or plug-in 24 may be displayed on an application 10 executed by browser 24 (and thus it may be considered that either or both of browser 22 and application 10 may be modified by and interact with plug-in 24). For example, a user may select a plug-in 24 to display created data)
integrating a backend control system with a cloud workflow management platform API, an issue tracking platform API, a source data analytics and management platform API, and a developer platform API; (Navert; Col. 4, lines 47-51: take or receive data such as software development from Jira, an issue tracking software by Atlassian which is used by teams to track the work they have planned, in progress, and completed. Other work or issue tracking software may be used)
performing one or more verification operations, based on the plurality of deployment parameters, and using a plurality of communications between the backend control system and: the cloud workflow management platform API; the issue tracking platform API; the source data analytics and management platform API; or the developer platform API; and (Navert; Col. 11, Table 7: Post-Done Overhead from when a Jira (i.e., one or more user inputs are associated with an IT personnel or a business unit personnel) is From Time of first ″Done″ Lead Time marked ″Done″ (i.e. Cycle state in Jira To Production Time) to when it is deployed Release to Production (i.e. Lead Time))
Navert does not teach the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
responsive to completion of the one or more verification operations, migrating, using a backend migration system, the target application from a developer platform associated with the developer platform API to a destination environment by exporting a file of the target application to the developer platform and importing the file from the developer platform to the destination environment.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Doshi discloses the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
responsive to completion of the one or more verification operations, migrating, using a backend migration system, the target application from a developer platform associated with the developer platform API to a destination environment by exporting a file of the target application to the developer platform and importing the file from the developer platform to the destination environment. (Doshi; [0005]: A migration of a source application can be performed to account for existing policies which are relevant and affect the use of the source application, as well as constraints or policies which may be desired as a result of characteristics of the target system (i.e., migrate the target application from a developer platform to a destination environment))
Doshi is combinable with Navert because all are from the same field of endeavor of application development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Navert to incorporate the migration platform as in Doshi in order to ensure the functionality of deployed applications on a target system.
Regarding claim 18, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 17.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 18 as follows:
The method of claim 17, wherein, the plurality of deployment parameters include one or more indications of a source application, a source stream, a destination application, and a destination stream. (Navert; Col. 3, lines 55-59: Data such as SDLC or project development information or data may come from a variety of data sources or project development systems which software developers interact with on a daily basis, such as agile planning data, data from source code revision or version control tools such as Git software (software for tracking changes in a set of software files) such as Git commits or other commits, change management (e.g. the ServiceNow or Remedy systems, or other systems), incidents (e.g. problems in production code), builds, etc. Each set of or SDLC project development data may be in a format different from the format of other of the SDLC or project development systems and/or include different sets of information)
Regarding claim 19, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 18.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 19 as follows:
The method of claim 18, wherein, the one or more verification operations include: determining whether a user associated with the one or more user inputs is authorized to access the source application, the source stream, the destination application, and the destination stream; and determining whether the one or more user inputs are associated with one of an IT personnel and a business unit personnel. (Navert; Col. 3, lines 55-59: Data such as SDLC or project development information or data may come from a variety of data sources or project development systems which software developers interact with on a daily basis, such as agile planning data, data from source code revision or version control tools such as Git software (software for tracking changes in a set of software files) such as Git commits or other commits, change management (e.g. the ServiceNow or Remedy systems, or other systems), incidents (e.g. problems in production code), builds, etc. Each set of or SDLC project development data may be in a format different from the format of other of the SDLC or project development systems and/or include different sets of information)
Regarding claim 20, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 17.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 20 as follows:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: presenting, at the GUI: a first selectable interface element configured to receive a first user input indicating a deployment environment; a second selectable interface element configured to receive a second user input indicating a source server; a third selectable interface element configured to receive a third user input indicating a destination server; a fourth selectable interface element configured to receive a fourth user input indicating a source stream; and a fifth selectable interface element configured to receive a fifth user input indicating a destination stream. (Navert; Col. 3, lines 55-59: Data such as SDLC or project development information or data may come from a variety of data sources or project development systems which software developers interact with on a daily basis, such as agile planning data, data from source code revision or version control tools such as Git software (software for tracking changes in a set of software files) such as Git commits or other commits, change management (e.g. the ServiceNow or Remedy systems, or other systems), incidents (e.g. problems in production code), builds, etc. Each set of or SDLC project development data may be in a format different from the format of other of the SDLC or project development systems and/or include different sets of information)
Regarding claim 21, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 21 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the backend control system is configured to authenticate a user associated with the one or more user inputs using an active directory authentication mechanism, such that the user is able to view and manage only applications to which the user has been given access. (Navert; Col. 4, lines 14-19: Referring to FIG. 1, various preexisting applications 10 may collect, create, and display to users (e.g. via user terminals 20) project development data. Developers may enter developer data, e.g. jira or agile data, and create and manipulate code and other project related data, using terminals 20 (i.e., user is able to view and manage only applications which the user has been given access))
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navert (US 11429384 B1), in view of Doshi (US 20180329700 A1), as applied to independent claims, in view of Kumar (US 20240095127 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Navert and Doshi teach the limitations of claim 11.
Navert and Doshi do not teach the limitations of claim 16 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 11,wherein,the backend control system is configured to: receive a fail or error message in response to an API request sent to the cloud workflow management platform API or the developer platform API; and responsive to the fail or error message, queue the API request for a retry.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kumar discloses the limitations of claim 16 as follows:
The application deployment platform of claim 11,wherein,the backend control system is configured to: receive an error message in response to an API request sent to one of the cloud workflow management platform API and the developer platform API; and responsive to the error message, queue the API request for a retry. (Kumar; [0107]: in response to API request fail, retry)
Kumar is combinable with Navert and Doshi because all are from the same field of endeavor of cross-application communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Navert and Doshi to incorporate retrying failed API requests as in Kumar in order to make the system more robust to failed or otherwise errored API calls.
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Mittal (US 20170123777 A1) which teaches techniques to deploy an application on an application platform.
Luo (US 20230401182 A1) which teaches migrating deployment infrastructure containers.
Conclusion
For the above-stated reasons, claims 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE I NARRAMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438