DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (CN 114056344: machine translation relied upon) in view of Amano (US 2019/0220238).
Regarding claim 1:
Tang discloses some but not every element of the claim as follows.
Claim 1
Tang
1. A display method, comprising:
obtaining image information comprising a first eye position and a line-of-sight direction of a first user of a vehicle; and
Claim 1: "line-of-sight detection unit…to detect whether the one or more occupant faces the display device"
adjusting, based on the first eye position and the line-of-sight direction, a display manner of a first area in a head-up display,
Claim 1: "suppress or delay to display the…information", where Tang does not disclose it is a head-up display
wherein the first area comprises privacy information of a second user.
Background 1: "privacy content"
Tang does not disclose that the first area is "in a head-up display"
Amano discloses:
a first area is in a head-up display (paragraph 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Tang the element taught by Amano.
The rationale is as follows:
Tang and Amano are directed to the same field of art.
Amano discloses a type of display used for the same purpose and in the same environment as Tang's. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used the display taught by Amano with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein the first user is located in a non-driver position of the vehicle and the second user is located in a driver position of the vehicle (Tang page 5, last paragraph: "a driver…an occupant," where the person directed to the information could be any of the occupants as per page 6, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 3:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein the first user is located in a front passenger position of the vehicle (Tang calls this the "co-pilot" position as per page 5, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 4:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
comprising adjusting the first area in the head-up display to a first display manner when a first condition is met, wherein the first condition comprises at: the first eye position is within a viewing angle range of the head-up display (Tang page 9: "detecting that only the target information receives the sight of the driver," where as per page 7 this includes “detecting…viewing angle”).
Regarding claim 5:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein the first display manner comprises: hiding the first area (Tang page 9, last paragraph: "suppress display (information to be displayed) is "hiding" it).
Regarding claim 6:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
adjusting from the first display manner to a second display manner when a second condition is met, and wherein the second condition comprises: the line-of-sight direction is misaligned with respect to the head-up display (this is Tang page 9: "only the light of sight of the target information receiving driver…").
Regarding claim 8:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein the image information further comprises a second eye position of the second user (page 9: "only the line of sight of the target information receiving driver"), and wherein the display method further comprises determining whether the first eye position is within a viewing angle range by: determining an included angle formed by a second connection line between the second eye position and a first target point in the head-up display and a first connection line between the first eye position and the first target point to obtain a first angle value; and determining, based on the first angle value, whether the first eye position is within the viewing angle range (Tang page 8, last paragraph to page 9, first paragraph: "3D viewing angle").
Regarding claim 9:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein before obtaining the image information, the display method further comprises enabling a privacy information protection mode when a third condition is met, and wherein the third condition comprises at least one of: the first user and the second user are in the vehicle; or the first user is not a preset user (e.g., Tang page 11: "the login status of the one or more occupants" is whether they are a preset user).
Regarding claim 10:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
A display apparatus, comprising: a head-up display (taught by Amano as discussed above) comprising a first area, wherein the first area comprises privacy information of a second user of a vehicle (Tang, background: "privacy content"); a receiver configured to obtain image information comprising a first eye position and a line-of-sight direction of a first user (Tang page 5: "gaze detection unit 130"); and one or more processors configured to adjust a display manner of the first area based on the first eye position and the line-of-sight direction (Tang page 1: "computer device," with the details of the adjustment as discussed earlier).
Regarding claim 11:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein the receiver is configured to obtain the image information from a non-driver position of the vehicle and from a driver position of the vehicle (Tang pages 6-7: "one or more occupants," where these positions are per the last paragraph of page 5).
Regarding claim 12:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein the non-driver position comprises a rear-row area of the vehicle (it could as per the last paragraph of Tang page 5).
Regarding claim 19:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to enable a privacy information protection mode when a third condition is met, and wherein the third condition comprises: a mode setting instruction is present (determining if information is sensitive or private is setting a mode, as per, e.g., Tang page 2).
Regarding claim 20:
All elements positively recited have already been identified with respect to earlier rejections. No further elaboration is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Amano, and further in view of Sharifi et al. (US 2018/0285592)
Regarding claim 7:
Regarding claim 7:
Tang in view of Amano discloses a display method as discussed above.
Tang in view of Amano does not disclose:
“wherein the second display manner comprises: switching a second resolution of the first area to a first resolution and displaying the privacy information in the first resolution, wherein the first resolution is higher than the second resolution”
Sharifi discloses:
wherein the second display manner comprises: switching a second resolution of the first area to a first resolution and displaying the privacy information in the first resolution, wherein the first resolution is higher than the second resolution (paragraph 69: “blurring text” or “changing a font (e.g., size, color, type or other attribute)” constitute displaying the information in a different resolution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Tang in view of Amano the elements taught by Sharifi.
The rationale is as follows:
Tang, Amano, and Sharifi are directed to the same field of art.
Tang discloses hiding privacy information and then revealing it when the correct conditions are met. Sharifi teaches one way to hid information is to change the resolution. One of ordinary skill in the art could have included this with predictable results.
Claim(s) 13-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Amano, and further in view of Karakotsios et al. (US 8,957,847)
Regarding claim 13:
Tang in view of Amano discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
adjust the display manner of the first area to a first display manner when a first condition is met (as discussed above).
Tang in view of Amano does not disclose:
“wherein the first condition comprises: a duration for which the line-of-sight direction of the first user is aligned with the head-up display is greater than or equal to a preset duration.”
Karakotsios discloses:
wherein the first condition comprises: a duration for which the line-of-sight direction of the first user is aligned with the head-up display is greater than or equal to a preset duration (column 2, lines 15-56: “minimum threshold amount of time”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Tang in view of Amano the elements taught by Karakotsios.
The rationale is as follows:
Tang, Amano, and Karakotsios are directed to the same field of art.
Karakotsios discloses before displaying information the device should make sure the user is actually interested and not just glancing at it, and that a preset duration is the way to do this. This is a known improvement that one of ordinary skill in the art could have included with predictable results.
Regarding claim 14:
Tang, etc., discloses:
are configured to cause the head-up display to adjust the first display manner to display by performing:
fading the first area (Tang page 9: “suppress the display information” is “fading” it).
Regarding claim 15:
Tang, etc., discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to adjust from the first display manner to a second display manner when a second condition is met, and wherein the second condition comprises:
the first eye position exceeds the viewing angle range (Tang page 7: “the line of sight is not projected to the target display device”).
Regarding claims 17-18:
All elements positively recited have already been identified with respect to earlier rejections. No further elaboration is necessary.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Amano, and further in view of Karakotsios, and further in view of Sharifi.
Regarding claim 16:
This is just the combination of elements from claim 15, above, and from claim 7 above (there does not appear to be any difference between “definition” and “resolution”). The combination of Tang and Amano with Karakotsios and Sharifi together is equally obvious. No further elaboration is necessary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s central argument is that Tang does not disclose a heads up display, and that Amano “teaches away” from the invention because it does not display privacy information on a heads up display.
This is not persuasive. Amano is just relied upon to show that information can be displayed on a heads up display. That’s just another kind of display and Tang’s method is perfectly applicable to it.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Examiner agrees that neither reference on their own shows the totality of applicant’s claimed invention, but the combination is reasonable. It is not “teaching away” when a reference just doesn’t disclose something at all. Amano has a different method of hiding information but one of ordinary skill might quite reasonably conclude that Tang’s method is better. There is nothing to contradict this in either disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R LAMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622