DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the amendment submitted July 20, 2026. The present application is based upon and claims the benefit of priority from Japanese Patent Application No. 2024-024888 filed on February 21, 2024. Claims 1 – 2, 7, and 9 – 10 are amended. Claim 6 is cancelled. Claims 11 – 13 are new. Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 13 are pending.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn based upon the amendment submitted July 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step One
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 13 are drawn to a system, method, and computer-readable non-transitory recording medium, which is/are statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A Prong One
Independent claims 1, 9, and 10 recite a medical treatment comprising acquiring medical information regarding a patient, content information which indicates content of an exchange in a medical examination between the patient and a person examining the patient, and state information regarding feelings of the patient in the medical examination; generating explanatory text regarding a matter which is inferred to make the patient feel uneasy, the medical information, the content information, and the state information; and wherein the state information includes information that indicates at least one selected from a group consisting of a facial expression, a vital sign, and the result of the classification of the feelings of the patient.
The recited limitations, as drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover certain methods of organizing human activity, as reflected in the specification, by using speech to text information to more clearly explain to a patient the results of their medical examination, and providing the text to the patient. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The present claims cover certain methods of organizing human activity because they “provide a technique for alleviating an uneasy feeling that a patient experiences in medical treatment”. (paragraph 6 of the published specification).. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea(s) (Step 2A Prong One: YES).”
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims are abstract but for the inclusion of the additional elements including:
Claim 1: “apparatus”, “at least one processor”, “language model”, “machine learning’, “outputting”, “trained model”
Claims 2, 5: “apparatus”, “at least one processor”
Claim 3: “apparatus”, “at least one processor”, “converts the speech data into the content information in text format”
Claim 4: “apparatus”, “at least one processor”, “speaker recognition based on the speech data and transcribes, speaker by speaker, what speakers say, to generate the content information which represents content of a speaker-by-speaker speech”
Claims 7 – 8: “apparatus”
Claim 9: “at least one processor”, “language model”, “machine learning’, “outputting”, “trained model”
Claim 10: “computer-readable non-transitory recording medium having recorded thereon a medical treatment assist program for causing a computer to function as a medical treatment assist apparatus”, “language model”, “machine learning’, “outputting”, “trained model”
These features are additional elements that are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using generic computer components. See: MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements are merely incidental or token additions to the claim that do not alter or affect how the process steps or functions in the abstract idea are performed. Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not add meaningful limitations to the indicated claims beyond a general linking to a technological environment. See: MPEP 2106.05(h).
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Hence, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, using the additional elements to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic components cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are not integrated into the claim because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claim that do not alter or affect how the process steps or functions in the abstract idea are performed. Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not add meaningful limitations to the indicated claims beyond a general linking to a technological environment. See: MPEP 2106.05(h).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are configured to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry. See: MPEP 2106.05(d). Said additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and provide conventional functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. The published specification supports this conclusion as follows:
[0073] Examples of the processor Cl can include a central processing unit (CPU), a graphic processing unit (GPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), a micro processing unit (MPU), a floating point number processing unit (FPU), a physics processing unit (PPU), a tensor processing unit (TPU), a quantum processor, a microcontroller, and a combination thereof. Examples of the memory C2 can include a flash memory, a hard disk drive (HDD), a solid state drive (SSD), and a combination thereof.
[0074] The computer C may further include a random access memory (RAM) into which the program P is loaded at the time of execution and in which various kinds of data are temporarily stored. The computer C may further include a communication interface via which data is transmitted to and received from another apparatus. The computer C may further include an input-output interface via which inputting- outputting equipment such as a keyboard, a mouse, a display, or a printer is connected.
[0075] The program P can be recorded on a non-transitory tangible recording medium M capable of being read by the computer C. Examples of such a recording medium M can include a tape, a disk, a card, a semiconductor memory, and a programmable logic circuit. The computer C can obtain the program P via such a recording medium M. The program P can be transmitted via a transmission medium. Examples of such a transmission medium can include a communication network and a broadcast wave. The computer C can obtain the program P also via such a transmission medium.
Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination, the claims simply instruct the additional elements to implement the concept described above in the identification of abstract idea with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment.
Hence, the claims as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claim(s) 2 – 5, 7 – 8, and 11 – 13 when analyzed as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and/or as an ordered combination, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims fail to remedy the deficiencies of their parent claims above, and are therefore rejected for at least the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above, and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5, and 7 – 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Kozloski et al., herein after Kozloski (U.S. Publication Number 2015/0100521 A1) are withdrawn based upon the amendment submitted July 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 7 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozloski et al., herein after Kozloski (U.S. Publication Number 2015/0100521 A1) in view of Jaffar et al., herein after Jaffar (U.S. Publication Number 2024/0282468 A1) further in view of Strom (U.S. Publication Number 2022/0019294 A1).
Claim 1 (Currently Amended). Kozloski teaches a medical treatment assist apparatus, comprising text
at least one processor (paragraph 16 discloses a processor operatively connected to the graphic user interface and biometric devices), the at least one processor carrying out:
an acquiring process of acquiring medical information regarding a patient, content information which indicates content of an exchange in a medical examination between the patient and a person examining the patient (paragraph 48 discloses a digital physician (DP) analyzes the inputs (textual) and determining a useful answer (diagnosis) via established question/answer techniques; paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users), and state information regarding feelings of the patient in the medical examination (paragraph 48 discloses analyzing and monitoring the emotional state of the patient (e.g. with user profile/query characteristics, biometrics, analysis of language, questionnaires, reports from nursing staff and family members, food intake information) to generate the emotional impact of the answer (feelings of patient); paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users);
an explanatory text generating process of generating explanatory text regarding a matter which is inferred to make the patient feel uneasy, with use of a language model generated by machine learning, wherein in a case in which the medical information, the content information, and the state information are input to the language model, the language model outputs the explanatory text (Figures 1 and 2; paragraph 39 discloses methods for returning an answer to a query in an empathetic manner based on a determination that the answer may evoke a negative emotional state, such that the system determines whether the answer may invoke a negative user response (emotional state) and, if this occurs, provide the result in an empathetic manner; paragraph 42 discloses systems which answer natural language questions by querying data repositories and applying elements of language processing, information retrieval, and machine learning to arrive at a conclusion; paragraph 83 discloses when generating the output answers, the processor generates relatively more empathetic output answers or relatively less empathetic output answers based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry); and
an outputting process of outputting the explanatory text (paragraph 14 discloses automatically generating output answers to the inquiry based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry using the computerized device to refine the potential answers, such that when generating the output answers, the method can generate more empathetic output answers or relatively less empathetic output answers based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry; paragraph 67 discloses information of the patient’s emotional state can be output to healthcare professionals, where they can formulate strategies to present unfavorable information in such a way that minimizes stress, while benefiting the patient).
Kozloski fails to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Jaffar as cited:
wherein the at least one processor further carries out a feelings analyzing process of analyzing at least one of speech data of the patient picked up in the medical examination or image data captured in the medical examination, with use of a trained model generated by machine learning, to generate the state information indicating a result of classification of the feelings of the patient (paragraph 40 discloses the processor uses machine learning (ML) to analyze the positivity and energy of the voice and analyze the mood and pitch of the speaker/user and identifies other factors like slurred or broken speech, type of language, way of word delivery etc., that help the health care professional to understand the user's condition. A graphical representation of each feeling/emotion is added accordingly after the voice tone analysis. The processor generates health insights for the user based on the health vital signs data obtained by the touchless vital monitoring module and the health condition of the user determined using the trained data model. The health insights are used by the health care professional for further diagnosis and treatment for the user).
Kozloski and Jaffar fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Strom as cited:
wherein the state information includes information which indicates at least one selected from the group consisting of a facial expression, a manner of speaking, a vital sign, and a feelings analysis result of the patient in the medical examination (paragraph 62 discloses the user speaks words, phrases, punctuation, sentences, or commands, which typically are available on an HID keyboard, as a voice input into the audio input device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the method of Kozloski and Jaffar to further include a method and apparatus for remotely processing speech-to-text for entry onto a destination computing system as disclosed by Strom.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to expand the method of Kozloski and Jaffar in this way by providing the ability to enter text by speech recognition through a device that processes the speech-to text-externally to the computer system but interfaces and appears as a generic HID device would be highly advantageous (Strom: paragraph 9).
Claim 2 (Currently Amended). Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom teach the medical treatment assist apparatus according to claim 1. Kozloski teaches wherein in the acquiring process, the at least one processor acquires the state information which includes an analysis result provided by the feelings analyzing process (paragraph 48 discloses a digital physician (DP) analyzes the inputs (textual) and determining a useful answer (diagnosis) via established question/answer techniques; paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users).
Claim 3 (Original). Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom teach the medical treatment assist apparatus according to claim 1.
Kozloski and Jaffar fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Strom as cited:
wherein in the acquiring process, the at least one processor acquires speech data representing a speech picked up in the medical examination, and converts the speech data into the content information in text format (Figure 3; paragraph 11 discloses speech-to text conversion to create text data in electronic machine usable format; paragraph 35 discloses a device and method for a user to dictate speech remotely and have it converted into text entered on to a speech-to-text computing system, where the speech to text conversion takes place on an application within the speech to-text computing system (such as a smartphone)).
The motivation to combine the teachings of Kozloski, Strom, and Jaffar is discussed in the response to claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claim 4 (Original). Kozloski teaches the medical treatment assist apparatus according to claim 3.
Kozloski and Jaffar fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Strom as cited:
wherein in the acquiring process, the at least one processor carries out speaker recognition based on the speech data and transcribes, speaker by speaker, what speakers say, to generate the content information which represents content of a speaker-by-speaker speech (paragraph 48 discloses speech-to-text software is a class of software that takes audio content and transcribes it into written words in an electronic machine useable format, typically for further processing such as use in a word processor, on a display destination, or as executable commands by other software).
The motivation to combine the teachings of Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom is discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claim 5 (Original). Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom teach the medical treatment assist apparatus according to claim 1. Kozloski teaches wherein in the explanatory text generating process, the at least one processor refers to the state information to determine whether the patient is feeling uneasy, and generates the explanatory text in a case of a determination that the patient is feeling uneasy (paragraph 48 discloses analyzing and monitoring the emotional state of the patient (e.g. with user profile/query characteristics, biometrics, analysis of language, questionnaires, reports from nursing staff and family members, food intake information) to generate the emotional impact of the answer (feelings of patient); paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users).
Claim 7 (Currently Amended). Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom teach the medical treatment assist apparatus according to claim 1. Kozloski teaches wherein the medical information includes at least one selected from the group consisting of personal information regarding the patient, information on findings shown by a medical examination performed on the patient, and medical history information regarding the patient (paragraph 48 discloses analyzing and monitoring the emotional state of the patient (e.g. with user profile/query characteristics, biometrics, analysis of language, questionnaires, reports from nursing staff and family members, food intake information) to generate the emotional impact of the answer (feelings of patient); paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users).
Claim 8 (Original). Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom teach the medical treatment assist apparatus according to claim 1. Kozloski teaches wherein the explanatory text is used in decision-making by the patient regarding medical treatment (paragraph 45 discloses the question/answer systems may consider the assessed psychological states as inputs to the system used to suggest diagnoses and treatments to a healthcare provider).
Claim 9 (Currently Amended). Kozloski teaches a medical treatment assist method, comprising:
at least one processor (paragraph 16 discloses a processor operatively connected to the graphic user interface and biometric devices) acquiring medical information regarding a patient, content information which indicates content of an exchange in a medical examination between the patient and a person examining the patient (paragraph 48 discloses a digital physician (DP) analyzes the inputs (textual) and determining a useful answer (diagnosis) via established question/answer techniques; paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users), and state information regarding feelings of the patient in the medical examination (paragraph 48 discloses analyzing and monitoring the emotional state of the patient (e.g. with user profile/query characteristics, biometrics, analysis of language, questionnaires, reports from nursing staff and family members, food intake information) to generate the emotional impact of the answer (feelings of patient); paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users);
the at least one processor (paragraph 16 discloses a processor operatively connected to the graphic user interface and biometric devices) generating explanatory text regarding a matter which is inferred to make the patient feel uneasy, with use of a language model generated by machine learning wherein in a case in which the medical information, the content information, and the state information are input to the language model, the language model outputs the explanatory text (Figures 1 and 2; paragraph 39 discloses methods for returning an answer to a query in an empathetic manner based on a determination that the answer may evoke a negative emotional state, such that the system determines whether the answer may invoke a negative user response (emotional state) and, if this occurs, provide the result in an empathetic manner; paragraph 42 discloses systems which answer natural language questions by querying data repositories and applying elements of language processing, information retrieval, and machine learning to arrive at a conclusion; paragraph 83 discloses when generating the output answers, the processor generates relatively more empathetic output answers or relatively less empathetic output answers based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry); and
the at least one processor outputting the explanatory text (Figures 1 and 2; paragraph 39 discloses methods for returning an answer to a query in an empathetic manner based on a determination that the answer may evoke a negative emotional state, such that the system determines whether the answer may invoke a negative user response (emotional state) and, if this occurs, provide the result in an empathetic manner; paragraph 42 discloses systems which answer natural language questions by querying data repositories and applying elements of language processing, information retrieval, and machine learning to arrive at a conclusion; paragraph 83 discloses when generating the output answers, the processor generates relatively more empathetic output answers or relatively less empathetic output answers based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry).
Kozloski fails to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Jaffar as cited:
wherein the medical treatment assist method further comprises at least one processor analyzing at least one of speech data of the patient picked up in the medical examination or image data captured in the medical examination, with use of a trained model generated by machine learning, to generate the state information indicating a result of classification of the feelings of the patient (paragraph 40 discloses the processor uses machine learning (ML) to analyze the positivity and energy of the voice and analyze the mood and pitch of the speaker/user and identifies other factors like slurred or broken speech, type of language, way of word delivery etc., that help the health care professional to understand the user's condition. A graphical representation of each feeling/emotion is added accordingly after the voice tone analysis. The processor generates health insights for the user based on the health vital signs data obtained by the touchless vital monitoring module and the health condition of the user determined using the trained data model. The health insights are used by the health care professional for further diagnosis and treatment for the user).
Kozloski and Jaffar fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Strom as cited:
wherein the state information includes information which indicates at least one selected from the group consisting of a facial expression, a vital sign, and result of the classification of the feelings of the patient (paragraph 62 discloses the user speaks words, phrases, punctuation, sentences, or commands, which typically are available on an HID keyboard, as a voice input into the audio input device).
The motivation to combine the teachings of Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom is discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claim 10 (Currently Amended). Kozloski teaches a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium having recorded thereon a medical treatment assist program for causing a computer to function as a medical treatment assist apparatus (paragraph 23 discloses a tangible (non-transitory) computer-readable storage media can tangibly store instructions executable by a computerized device reading such instructions from the tangible computer-readable storage media), the medical treatment assist program causing the computer to carry out:
an acquiring process of acquiring medical information regarding a patient, content information which indicates content of an exchange in a medical examination between the patient and a person examining the patient (paragraph 48 discloses a digital physician (DP) analyzes the inputs (textual) and determining a useful answer (diagnosis) via established question/answer techniques; paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users), and state information regarding feelings of the patient in the medical examination (paragraph 48 discloses analyzing and monitoring the emotional state of the patient (e.g. with user profile/query characteristics, biometrics, analysis of language, questionnaires, reports from nursing staff and family members, food intake information) to generate the emotional impact of the answer (feelings of patient); paragraph 49 discloses the emotional state or personality type may be estimated by the system accessing a user's profile, by an assessment of natural language used by the person, by biometrics, by a history of previous interactions, by an analysis of word combinations used for similar users);
an explanatory text generating process of generating explanatory text regarding a matter which is inferred to make the patient feel uneasy, with use of a language model generated by machine learning wherein in a case in which the medical information, the content information, and the state information are input to the language model, the language model outputs the explanatory text (Figures 1 and 2; paragraph 39 discloses methods for returning an answer to a query in an empathetic manner based on a determination that the answer may evoke a negative emotional state, such that the system determines whether the answer may invoke a negative user response (emotional state) and, if this occurs, provide the result in an empathetic manner; paragraph 42 discloses systems which answer natural language questions by querying data repositories and applying elements of language processing, information retrieval, and machine learning to arrive at a conclusion; paragraph 83 discloses when generating the output answers, the processor generates relatively more empathetic output answers or relatively less empathetic output answers based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry); and
an outputting process of outputting the explanatory text (paragraph 14 discloses automatically generating output answers to the inquiry based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry using the computerized device to refine the potential answers, such that when generating the output answers, the method can generate more empathetic output answers or relatively less empathetic output answers based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry; paragraph 67 discloses information of the patient’s emotional state can be output to healthcare professionals, where they can formulate strategies to present unfavorable information in such a way that minimizes stress, while benefiting the patient).
Kozloski fails to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Jaffar as cited:
wherein the medical treatment assist program further causes the computers to carry out analyzing at least one of speech data of the patient picked up in the medical examination or image data captured in the medical examination, with use of a trained model generated by machine learning, to generate the state information indicating a result of classification of the feelings of the patient (paragraph 40 discloses the processor uses machine learning (ML) to analyze the positivity and energy of the voice and analyze the mood and pitch of the speaker/user and identifies other factors like slurred or broken speech, type of language, way of word delivery etc., that help the health care professional to understand the user's condition. A graphical representation of each feeling/emotion is added accordingly after the voice tone analysis. The processor generates health insights for the user based on the health vital signs data obtained by the touchless vital monitoring module and the health condition of the user determined using the trained data model. The health insights are used by the health care professional for further diagnosis and treatment for the user).
Kozloski and Jaffar fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Strom as cited:
wherein the state information includes information which indicates at least one selected from the group consisting of a facial expression, a vital sign, and result of the classification of the feelings of the patient (paragraph 62 discloses the user speaks words, phrases, punctuation, sentences, or commands, which typically are available on an HID keyboard, as a voice input into the audio input device).
The motivation to combine the teachings of Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom is discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claim 11 (New). Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom teach the medical treatment assist apparatus according to claim 1. Kozloski teaches an apparatus wherein in a case in which the medical information, the content information, the state information and instruction information for generating the explanatory text are input to the language model, it outputs the explanatory text, and wherein the instruction information includes at least one of instruction indicating generating plain explanation of a therapy for the patient and instruction indicating generating explanatory text for alleviating uneasy feeling of the patient (Figures 1 and 2; paragraph 39 discloses methods for returning an answer to a query in an empathetic manner based on a determination that the answer may evoke a negative emotional state, such that the system determines whether the answer may invoke a negative user response (emotional state) and, if this occurs, provide the result in an empathetic manner; paragraph 42 discloses systems which answer natural language questions by querying data repositories and applying elements of language processing, information retrieval, and machine learning to arrive at a conclusion; paragraph 83 discloses when generating the output answers, the processor generates relatively more empathetic output answers or relatively less empathetic output answers based on the sensitivity level associated with the inquiry).
Method and storage claims 12 and 13 repeat the subject matter of claim 11. As the underlying processes of claims 12 and 13 have been shown to be fully disclosed by the teachings of Kozloski, Jaffar, and Strom in the above rejections of claim 11; as such, these limitations (claims 12 and 13) are rejected for the same reasons given above for claim 11 and incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant's arguments have been addressed in the order in which they were presented.
Rejections 35 USC § 101
The Applicant argues the amended claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The additional elements of the present claims fail to integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The 2019 PEG defines the phrase “integration into a practical application” to require an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, the 2019 PEG guidelines recite limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(e) and the Vanda Memo issued in June 2018.
The present claims fail to demonstrate an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. Thus, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Rejections 35 USC § 102/103
In response to the Applicant’s argument, it is respectfully submitted that the Examiner has applied new passages and new citations to the amended claims. The Examiner notes that the amended limitations were not in the previously pending claims; as such, Applicant’s remarks with the regard to the application of Kozloski and Strom are addressed in the above Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.K.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3682 /ROBERT A SOREY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682