DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected probe, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gullotti et al. (US 2019/0000372 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gullotti et al. (‘372) teach a fiducial marker device comprising: a registration interface at a proximal end comprising a tapered cylindrical protrusion with a curved back surface and a keyed front surface, wherein the registration interface is configured to be received inside a tip of a three-dimensional tracked probe during registration; a bone fixation feature at a distal end; a depth stop located midway between the registration interface and the bone fixation feature, the depth stop comprising a flange extending radially from a body of the fiducial marker device; and screw threads extending between the depth stop and the bone fixation feature (“pedicle screw with a shaft 3810 (threads not shown), a depth stop 3815 rigidly attached to the screw shaft and designed with a depth-stop mating pattern 3818, depth-stop mating holes 3817, as well as an interface for a polyaxial tulip head” see [0381]; and Fig. 38A).
Regarding claim 2, Gullotti et al. (‘372) teach the fiducial marker device of claim 1, wherein the keyed front surface comprises an orientation indicator (see [0381]; and Fig. 38A).
Regarding claim 3, Gullotti et al. (‘372) teach the fiducial marker device of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the depth stop is the widest dimension of the fiducial parker device (see [0381]; and Fig. 38A).
Regarding claim 4, Gullotti et al. (‘372) teach the fiducial marker device of claim 1, comprising a hexagonal surface immediately proximal and adjacent to the depth stop configured to enable fixation to one or more of a registration device or a screwdriver (see [0381]; and Fig. 38A).
Regarding claim 5, Gullotti et al. (‘372) teach the fiducial marker device of claim 4, comprising an undercut neck immediately proximal and adjacent to the hexagonal surface configured to enable fixation to the registration device (see [0381]; and Fig. 38A).
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797