Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2025 has been entered and fully considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “DB server” must be clearly written in the first instance as “Data Base (DB) server” and then used as the abbreviated format.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 recites: “a mouthpiece-type oral imaging device comprising a body inserted into a subject’s oral cavity”. It appears as if the claim is intending to claim the subject’s oral cavity as part of the apparatus claimed which is not permissible. Therefore, the claim is excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter since it is encompassing a human organism. The applicant is advised to use languages such as: “a body configured to be inserted into a subject’s oral cavity” to overcome the rejection.
Claim 1 further recites a similar language: “a medical staff terminal which is a terminal carried by a medical staff member”. It appears as if the claim is intending to claim the subject’s oral cavity as part of the apparatus claimed which is not permissible. Therefore, the claim is excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter since it is encompassing a human organism
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the body” in line 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites: “When a mouthpiece-type oral imaging device for imaging the occlusal surfaces of a subject’s upper teeth and occlusal surfaces of the subject’s lower teeth is referred to as an occlusal surface oral imaging device”. The limitation is unclear and confusing since it is not clear who is referring to the device as an occlusal surface oral imaging device? Does the claim mean that the imaging device is suited and used for imaging occlusal surfaces of the teeth? Or something else is intended? As a result, the metes and bounds of the claim is not clear and the claim is considered to be indefinite.
Claims 3-19 depend upon indefinite claims 2 and 11 and are indefinite due to their dependency upon indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (KR Publication NO. 2015/0021310) hereinafter “Cho” in view of Um et al. (KR Publication No. 20190129247) and Lee et al. (KR Publication No. 20210047486) hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a dental diagnosis and management system [system of Cho; see abstract], the system comprising:
a mouthpiece-type oral imaging device [imaging device 1; see FIGs. 1 and 6 and page 3, second full paragraph of Cho] comprising a body inserted into a subject's oral cavity, [see page 3, second full paragraph of Cho disclosing inserting the device into the oral cavity]
cameras provided at intervals on the body to capture at least one of the front, rear, and occlusal surfaces of all teeth, and [see page 6, first two paragraphs and FIG. 2-3; plurality of cameras 150 on each surface of the teeth]
light sources provided at positions adjacent to the lens-less cameras, respectively, to irradiate light; [plurality of light sources 154 in each camera module 150; see FIGS. 2-3 and page 7, second paragraph of Cho]
a medical staff terminal, [communication terminal 70; see page 11, last paragraph of the page and FIG. 8] which is a terminal carried by a medical staff member, provided with a diagnostic service application [see page 12; first full paragraph; communication interface 51 of the terminal 70]
an integrated monitoring/diagnosis server [server 50; see page 12, first paragraph of the page] that analyzes images received from the medical staff terminal, detects a diagnostic result [server 50; see page 12, first paragraph of the page] including at least one of a condition of each tooth of the subject, a treatment status, and a treatment details, [see page 12, second full paragraph disclosing determining the disease for each tooth] and then generates diagnostic analysis information including the detected diagnostic result to transmit the generated diagnostic analysis information to the medical staff terminal, [see page 12, first and second paragraph disclosing transmitting the diagnosis to the patient mobile communication terminal 70]
Cho does not disclose that the camera used is lens-less and that the terminal is configured so that it digitally filters pattern-data received from the mouthpiece-type oral imaging device to a preset wavelength pass-band, and then performs inverse calculations to acquire an image; and further, even though it is inherent that a mobile communication device would have a display device and it could display the diagnosis results, Cho does not expressly disclose wherein the diagnostic service application installed on the medical staff terminal displays the diagnostic analysis information received from the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server on a monitor.
Lee, directed towards obtaining images using a lens-less camera [see abstract of Lee] further discloses that the camera could be lens-less. [see fig. 1 and page 4, second full paragraph]
Um, directed towards taking dental images using a mouthpiece [see abstract of Um] further discloses that the terminal is configured so that it digitally filters pattern-data received from the mouthpiece-type oral imaging device to a preset wavelength pass-band, [see page 11, second full paragraph disclosing only recognizing light in the specific range of NIR] and then performs inverse calculations to acquire an image; [see page 13, second paragraph] and that diagnostic service application installed on the medical staff terminal displays the diagnostic analysis information received from the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server on a monitor. [see page 17, penultimate paragraph and page 20, first 2 lines]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho further and use a lens-less camera according to the teachings of Lee in order to obtain high speed images without using high performance equipment [see page 2, paragraph before last]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho further such that the terminal is configured so that it digitally filters pattern-data received from the mouthpiece-type oral imaging device to a preset wavelength pass-band, and then performs inverse calculations to acquire an image; and that diagnostic service application installed on the medical staff terminal displays the diagnostic analysis information received from the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server on a monitor according to the teachings of Um in order to obtain and maintain focus of the fast imaging and avoid shaking effects of the image [see page 2, third paragraph]
Regarding claim 2, Cho as modified by Um and Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1]
Cho further discloses wherein the body is formed of a plate having a length, disposed with a curved surface in such a manner of facing rearward toward both ends thereof, and disposed in parallel to the imaging surface (front, rear, or occlusal surface) of the subject's tooth, [see FIGs. 2-3 and page 8, third full paragraph of Cho]
Lee further discloses that the lens-less cameras [see fig. 1 and page 4, second full paragraph] each comprises:
a mask through which light reflected from an imaging surface of the tooth is transmitted; [see FIG. 1 and page 4, second paragraph disclosing a phase mask through which the image is acquired]
an image sensor into which light passing through the mask is incident; and [see page 4, first full paragraph; a ccd sensor or a CMOS sensor]
a controller that integrates patterns projected onto the image sensor to generate pattern-data, [see page 2 lines 5-10 disclosing using a mobile processor to generate images], and then transmits the generated pattern-data to the outside, [a mobile device is inherently capable of sending the generated images to the outside] and wherein the lens-less cameras slim down the thickness of the mouthpiece- type oral imaging device by replacing the lens with the film-type mask. [it is inherent that the lens-less camera would be thinner]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um and Lee further such that the lens-less cameras comprises: a mask through which light reflected from an imaging surface of the tooth is transmitted; an image sensor into which light passing through the mask is incident; and a controller that integrates patterns projected onto the image sensor to generate pattern-data, and then transmits the generated pattern-data to the outside, and wherein the lens-less cameras slim down the thickness of the mouthpiece- type oral imaging device by replacing the lens with the film-type mask according to the teachings of Lee in order to obtain high speed images without using high performance equipment [see page 2, paragraph before last]
Regarding claim 9, Cho further discloses that in the mouthpiece-type oral imaging device [oral imaging apparatus 1; see FIG. 6], sensor seating grooves that are disposed inward on a mounting surface [see FIG. 3 and page 6, first and second paragraphs], which is one surface of the body opposite to an imaging surface of the subject's teeth, [see FIG. 3; the surface housing the camera units sits opposite the bottom surface of the teeth] and provided with the cameras are respectively disposed at intervals in a length direction,[see FIG. 3 of Cho] and wherein pairs of light source mounting grooves are disposed at points adjacent to the respective sensor seating grooves on the mounting surface. [see FIG. 3 and page 7, second and fourth paragraphs disclosing that light sources 154 are placed on the tray next to the camera modules]
Cho does not disclose that the cameras are lens-less.
Lee, directed towards obtaining images using a lens-less camera [see abstract of Lee] further discloses that the camera could be lens-less. [see fig. 1 and page 4, second full paragraph]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho further and use a lens-less camera according to the teachings of Lee in order to obtain high speed images without using high performance equipment [see page 2, paragraph before last]
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (KR Publication NO. 2015/0021310) hereinafter “Cho” in view of Um et al. (KR Publication No. 20190129247) and Lee et al. (KR Publication No. 20210047486) hereinafter “Lee” as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0308839) hereinafter “Taylor”.
Regarding claim 3, Cho as modified by Um and Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1]
Cho further discloses that the diagnostic service application installed on the medical staff terminal includes an image processing unit, [see page 7, second paragraph] and wherein the image processing unit comprises: a network construction module that checks whether the mouthpiece-type oral imaging device is connected in a wired or wireless manner; [communication interface 51, see page 11, ultimate paragraph]; a pattern-data input module [server 50; see page 12, first paragraph of the page] that receives pattern-data transmitted from the mouthpiece-type oral imaging device; [server 50; see page 12, first paragraph of the page]
Um further discloses a digital filtering module that filters reflected signals outside the wavelength pass-band of the pattern-data received through the pattern-data input module; [see page 11, second full paragraph disclosing only recognizing light in the specific range of NIR] an inverse calculation and image acquisition module that inversely calculates the pattern-data filtered by the digital filtering module to convert the inversely calculated patten-data into a lens-based image; [see page 13, second paragraph]
Cho as modified by Um and Lee does not disclose a subject setting module that receives identification information of the subject to be imaged from the medical staff (user); a matching data generation module that generates matching data by matching subject identification information, medical staff identification information, tooth imaging direction (occlusal, front or rear surface) information, lens-less camera identification information, and images; and a control unit that transmits the matching data generated by the matching data generation module to the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server.
Taylor, directed towards a medical software and data management for dental images [see abstract of Taylor] further discloses a subject setting module that receives identification information of the subject to be imaged from the medical staff (user) [see [0046] of Taylor disclosing a GUI interface]; a matching data generation module that generates matching data by matching subject identification information, medical staff identification information, tooth imaging direction (occlusal, front or rear surface) information, lens-less camera identification information, and images; and[see [0047] of Taylor] a control unit that transmits the matching data generated by the matching data generation module to the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server. [see [0047]]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um and Lee further such that it further includes a subject setting module that receives identification information of the subject to be imaged from the medical staff (user); a matching data generation module that generates matching data by matching subject identification information, medical staff identification information, tooth imaging direction (occlusal, front or rear surface) information, lens-less camera identification information, and images; and a control unit that transmits the matching data generated by the matching data generation module to the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server according to the teachings of Taylor, in order to connect all the medical information related to a specific patient [see [0009] of Taylor]
Regarding claim 4, Cho as modified by Um, Lee and Taylor discloses all the limitations of claim 3 [see rejection of claim 3]
Cho as modified by Um, and Lee further discloses an Al-based diagnostic analysis unit that analyzes teeth-images of the subject generated by the tooth-image generation unit to generate the diagnostic analysis result, [see page 24, last paragraph to page 25, first paragraph of Um] a tooth object recognition module that recognizes tooth objects, respectively, by analyzing the merged image in the image merging module using a preset object recognition algorithm; [see page 28, first 5 paragraphs of the page] and a tooth-image generation module that determines the images segmented by the image segmentation module as tooth-images, respectively. [see page 28, first 5 paragraphs of the page]
Taylor further discloses that the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server comprises: a DB server; [medical data server 115; see FIG. 1 and [0025] of Taylor]
a tooth-image generation unit that analyzes, corrects, and merges images included in the matching data received from the medical staff terminal to generate a tooth-image, which is an image for each tooth; and [medical imaging processing server 110; see FIG. 1 and [0025] and [0049] of Taylor] and wherein the tooth-image generation unit comprises: an image sorting module that sorts the images included in the matching data received through the matching data input module in order according to the dentition, with reference to the identification information of the lens-less cameras; [see [0036] and [0047] of Taylor] an image merging module that merges images sorted in the image sorting module; [see [0035]-[0036] of Taylor] an image segmentation module that segments the merged image into images in which the tooth objects recognized by the tooth object recognition module are respectively shown; [see [0088]-[0090] of Taylor]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um, Lee, and Taylor further such that the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server comprises: a DB server; a tooth-image generation unit that analyzes, corrects, and merges images included in the matching data received from the medical staff terminal to generate a tooth-image, which is an image for each tooth; and wherein the tooth-image generation unit comprises: an image sorting module that sorts the images included in the matching data received through the matching data input module in order according to the dentition, with reference to the identification information of the lens-less cameras; an image merging module that merges images sorted in the image sorting module; an image segmentation module that segments the merged image into images in which the tooth objects recognized by the tooth object recognition module are respectively shown; according to the teachings of Taylor in order to connect all the medical information related to a specific patient [see [0009] of Taylor]
Regarding claim 5, Cho as modified by Um, Lee and Taylor discloses all the limitations of claim 4 [see rejection of claim 4]
Taylor further discloses that the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server further comprises a tooth-data generation/update unit that assigns, if the subject is imaged for the first time, an identification number to a tooth corresponding to a tooth-image generated by the tooth-image generation unit, and then matches at least one of subject identification information, a tooth imaging direction (occlusal, front or rear surface), a tooth identification number and a tooth- image, and an imaging date to generate tooth-data, and then stores the generated tooth-data in the DB server, [see [0065]-[0067] of Taylor] and extracts, if the subject is not imaged for the first time, the subject's tooth-data from the DB server, and then matches an identification number with a tooth corresponding to a tooth-image generated by the tooth-image generation unit with reference to a tooth identification number of previous tooth-data, and then generates tooth-data, and then stores the generated tooth-data in the DB server. [see [0049] and [0051]-[0052] of Taylor disclosing accessing medical history of the patient whose image is being processed]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um, Lee, and Taylor further such that if the subject is imaged for the first time, an identification number to a tooth corresponding to a tooth-image generated by the tooth-image generation unit, and then matches at least one of subject identification information, a tooth imaging direction (occlusal, front or rear surface), a tooth identification number and a tooth- image, and an imaging date to generate tooth-data, and then stores the generated tooth-data in the DB server, and extracts, if the subject is not imaged for the first time, the subject's tooth-data from the DB server, and then matches an identification number with a tooth corresponding to a tooth-image generated by the tooth-image generation unit with reference to a tooth identification number of previous tooth-data, and then generates tooth-data, and then stores the generated tooth-data in the DB server according to the teachings of Taylor in order to connect all the medical information related to a specific patient [see [0009] of Taylor]
Regarding claim 6, Cho as modified by Um, Lee and Taylor discloses all the limitations of claim 5 [see rejection of claim 5]
a category detection algorithm that analyzes the received tooth-image to detect a value (M) for each category (including at least one of caries lesions, cracks, fluorosis, tartar, and plaque) is stored in the DB server, [see [0073]; subcategories are detected for various ailments] and wherein the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server further comprises a category-specific value calculation unit that analyzes tooth-images generated by the tooth-image generation unit using the category detection algorithm [see [0078]-[0079] of Taylor] to calculate a value (M) for each category of each tooth, matches the subject identification information with values (M) for each category of each tooth to generate category information for each tooth, and then stores the generated category information in the DB server. [see [0042]; a value is calculated for each category for example a RECIST value for the tumor]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um, Lee, and Taylor further such that a category detection algorithm that analyzes the received tooth-image to detect a value (M) for each category (including at least one of caries lesions, cracks, fluorosis, tartar, and plaque) is stored in the DB server and wherein the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server further comprises a category-specific value calculation unit that analyzes tooth-images generated by the tooth-image generation unit using the category detection algorithm to calculate a value (M) for each category of each tooth, matches the subject identification information with values (M) for each category of each tooth to generate category information for each tooth, and then stores the generated category information in the DB server according to the teachings of Taylor in order to provide quantitative measurements for various parameters of each sub-category of issues in the image [see [0042] of Taylor]
Regarding claim 7, Cho as modified by Um, Lee and Taylor discloses all the limitations of claim 6 [see rejection of claim 6]
Cho as modified by Um and Lee discloses a diagnostic analysis information generation module that utilizes output data output from the first Al analysis module to generate diagnostic analysis information including the diagnostic result and then stores the generated diagnostic analysis information in the DB server. [see Um reference, page 6, first paragraph of the page disclosing analyzing the image, diagnosing and forming an opinion by the server]
Taylor further discloses a first Al algorithm [see [0066]-[0067] of Taylor] that uses a current value (M) [see [0042]; a value is calculated for each category for example a RECIST value for the tumor] and a previous value (M') for each category of each tooth as input data to output a diagnostic result [see [0042]; the value is calculated and monitored over time] including at least one of a tooth condition, a treatment status, and treatment details is stored in the DB server, [see [0042] disclosing the particular drug or treatment] and wherein the Al-based diagnostic analysis unit comprises: a category information collection module for each tooth that collects category information for each tooth calculated by the category-specific value calculation unit and previous category information for each tooth stored in the DB server [see [0079] of Taylor; different categories exist for different conditions]; a first Al analysis that analyzes a current value (M) and previous values (M') for each category of each tooth collected from the category information collection module for each tooth using the first Al algorithm to output the diagnosis result; [see [0042]-[0043] of Taylor disclosing using the history of the quantitative value to determine a diagnosis]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um, Lee, and Taylor further such that a first Al algorithm that uses a current value (M) and a previous value (M') for each category of each tooth as input data to output a diagnostic result including at least one of a tooth condition, a treatment status, and treatment details is stored in the DB server, and wherein the Al-based diagnostic analysis unit comprises: a category information collection module for each tooth that collects category information for each tooth calculated by the category-specific value calculation unit and previous category information for each tooth stored in the DB server; a first Al analysis that analyzes a current value (M) and previous values (M') for each category of each tooth collected from the category information collection module for each tooth using the first Al algorithm to output the diagnosis result provide quantitative measurements for various parameters of each sub-category of issues in the image overtime for monitoring and diagnosis [see [0042] of Taylor]
Regarding claim 8, Cho as modified by Um, Lee and Taylor discloses all the limitations of claim 6 [see rejection of claim 6]
the integrated monitoring/diagnosis server further comprises: an Al-based management analysis unit; and an Al-based predictive analysis unit, wherein a second Al algorithm [see [0066]-[0067] of Taylor] that uses a current value (M) [see [0042]; a value is calculated for each category for example a RECIST value for the tumor] and a previous value (M') for each category of each tooth as input data to output a management result [see [0042]; the value is calculated and monitored over time] including at least one of a management status, a management method, and a management improvement point, [see [0042] disclosing the particular drug or treatment]and a third Al algorithm that uses a current value (M) and a previous value (M') for each category of each tooth as input data to output a prediction result indicating a tooth condition after a preset elapsed time when each tooth is not treated, wherein the Al-based management analysis unit analyzes a current value (M) and previous values (M') for each category of each tooth collected from the category information collection module for each tooth using the second Al algorithm to output the management result, [see [0042]-[0043] of Taylor disclosing using the history of the quantitative value to determine a diagnosis]
and then generates management analysis information including the output management result, and wherein the Al-based predictive analysis unit analyzes a current value (M) and previous values (M') for each category of each tooth collected from the category information collection module for each tooth using the third Al algorithm to output the prediction result, and then generates predictive analysis information including the output prediction result. [see [0042]-[0043] of Taylor disclosing using the history of the quantitative value to determine a diagnosis]
Claims 10, 11, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (KR Publication NO. 2015/0021310) hereinafter “Cho” in view of Um et al. (KR Publication No. 20190129247) and Lee et al. (KR Publication No. 20210047486) hereinafter “Lee” as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Vetter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0176835) hereinafter “Vetter”.
Regarding claim 10, Cho as modified by Um and Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 9 [see rejection of claim 9]
Um further discloses that the mouthpiece-type oral imaging device operates in a fluorescence imaging mode, a normal imaging mode, and wherein the light sources irradiate white visible light in the normal imaging mode [see page 16, first paragraph of the page and page 21, third paragraph of UM]
Cho as modified by Um and Lee does not expressly disclose that mouthpiece-type oral imaging device operates in a mixed imaging mode and that the light sources irradiate blue-series visible light having a wavelength of 405 nm in the fluorescence imaging mode, and irradiate blue-series visible light having a wavelength of 405 nm from a half of a total number of the light sources, and irradiate white visible light from the remaining light sources in the mixed imaging mode.
Vetter, directed towards dental imaging [see abstract of Vetter] further discloses imaging that operates in a mixed imaging mode [see [0037] of Vetters] and that the light sources irradiate blue-series visible light having a wavelength of 405 nm in the fluorescence imaging mode,[see [0041] of Vetters] and irradiate blue-series visible light having a wavelength of 405 nm from a half of a total number of the light sources, and irradiate white visible light from the remaining light sources in the mixed imaging mode. [see [0037] of Vetters]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um and Lee further such that it operates in a mixed imaging mode as well and that the light sources irradiate blue-series visible light having a wavelength of 405 nm in the fluorescence imaging mode, and irradiate blue-series visible light having a wavelength of 405 nm from a half of a total number of the light sources, and irradiate white visible light from the remaining light sources in the mixed imaging mode according to the teachings of Da Costa in order to simultaneously image the tooth with multiple modalities of imaging achieving better and more accurate diagnosis [see [0037] of Vetters]
Regarding claim 11, Cho further discloses when a mouthpiece-type oral imaging device for imaging the occlusal surfaces of a subject's upper teeth and the occlusal surfaces of the subject's lower teeth is referred to as an occlusal-surface oral imaging device [see FIGs. 2-3; the mouth pieces of Cho are suited for the upper and occlusal surfaces] , the body of the occlusal-surface oral imaging device is disposed horizontally such that an upper surface of the body is in contact with the occlusal surfaces of the subject's upper teeth, a lower surface of the body is in contact with the occlusal surfaces of the subject's lower teeth, [see FIGs. 2-3 and page 8, third full paragraph and third and second paragraphs from the end of the page] the sensor seating grooves are disposed at intervals in a length direction on the upper and lower surfaces of the body. [see FIGs. 2-3 and page 8, third full paragraph of Cho]
Regarding claim 14, Cho further discloses that when a mouthpiece-type oral imaging device for imaging the front surfaces of a subject's upper and lower teeth is referred to as a front-surface oral imaging device, [see FIGs. 2-3; the mouth pieces of Cho are suited for the upper and lower front surface imaging] the body of the front-surface oral imaging device is disposed vertically such that a rear surface of the body faces the front surfaces of the subject's teeth, [see FIGs. 2-3 and page 8, third full paragraph and third and second paragraphs from the end of the page] and the sensor seating grooves are disposed at intervals in a length direction on the rear surface of the body, and arranged in two rows. [see FIGs. 2-3 and page 8, third full paragraph of Cho]
Regarding claim 17, Cho further discloses that when a mouthpiece-type oral imaging device for imaging the rear surfaces of a subject's upper and lower teeth is referred to as a rear-surface oral imaging device, [see FIGs. 2-3; the mouth pieces of Cho are suited for the upper and lower rear surface imaging] the body of the rear-surface oral imaging device is disposed vertically such that a front surface of the body faces the rear surfaces of the subject's teeth, [see FIGs. 2-3 and page 8, third full paragraph and third and second paragraphs from the end of the page] and the sensor seating grooves are disposed at intervals in a length direction on the front surface of the body, and arranged in two rows. [see FIGs. 2-3 and page 8, third full paragraph of Cho]
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (KR Publication NO. 2015/0021310) hereinafter “Cho” in view of Um et al. (KR Publication No. 20190129247), Lee et al. (KR Publication No. 20210047486) hereinafter “Lee” and Vetter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0176835) hereinafter “Vetter” as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Li et al. (Chinese Publication No. 221331134) hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 12, Cho as modified by Lee, and Vetter discloses all the limitations of claim 11 [see rejection of claim 11]
Cho further discloses that the body is formed of a plate [see page 3 and page 8, second full paragraph disclosing a U-shaped support plate] and coupled by at least one hinge shaft, and comprises at least two or more sub-bodies constituting the body [see FIGs. 2-3 the two sub- buddies for top and bottom portion], wherein the sensor seating grooves and the light source mounting grooves are disposed on upper and lower surfaces of the sub-bodies, [see FIGs. 3-4; the camera modules and lights are disposed on all surfaces ]
Li, directed towards an imaging device for insertion into the mouth [see abstract of Li] further discloses a hinge for coupling the two or more sub-bodies [see page 7, firs paragraph of the page] and wherein the hinge shaft is connected to opposing side walls of sub-bodies adjacent thereto, respectively, and installed in a vertical configuration such that the body rotates inward when the sub-bodies are assembled. [see page 7, first paragraph and figs. 1-2.]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um, Lee, and Vetter further such that it further includes a hinge for coupling the two or more sub-bodies and wherein the hinge shaft is connected to opposing side walls of sub-bodies adjacent thereto, respectively, and installed in a vertical configuration such that the body rotates inward when the sub-bodies are assembled according to the teachings of Li in order to allow for imaging the teeth while the hands of the operator is liberated [see page 4, second full paragraph of Li]
Regarding claim 13, Cho as modified by Lee, Vetter and Li discloses all the limitations of claim 12 [see rejection of claim 12]
Cho further discloses that the sub-bodies are arranged in the same number as that of the lens-less cameras in a length direction,[ see FIGs. 3-4] and wherein single sensor seating grooves are disposed on the upper and lower surfaces of the sub-bodies, respectively. ,[see FIGs. 3-4]
Regarding claim 15, Cho as modified by Lee, and Vetter discloses all the limitations of claim 11 [see rejection of claim 11]
Cho further discloses that the body is formed of a plate and wherein the sensor seating grooves and the light source mounting grooves are disposed on rear surfaces of the sub-bodies, [see FIGs. 3-4 of Cho]
Li further discloses that coupled by at least one hinge shaft and comprises at least two or more sub-bodies constituting the body during the coupling of a hinge, bodies [see page 7, first paragraph of the page] wherein the hinge shaft is connected to opposing side walls of sub-bodies adjacent thereto, respectively, and installed in a vertical configuration such that the body rotates inward when the sub-bodies are assembled. bodies [see page 7, first paragraph of the page and FIGs. 1-2]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um, Lee, and Vetter further such that it further includes a hinge and the body of the plate is coupled by at least one hinge shaft, and comprises at least two or more sub-bodies constituting the body during the coupling of a hinge, wherein the hinge shaft is connected to opposing side walls of sub-bodies adjacent thereto, respectively, and installed in a vertical configuration such that the body rotates inward when the sub-bodies are assembled according to the teachings of Li in order to allow for imaging the teeth while the hands of the operator is liberated [see page 4, second full paragraph of Li]
Regarding claim 16, Cho as modified by Lee, Vetter and Li discloses all the limitations of claim 15 [see rejection of claim 15]
Cho further discloses that the sub-bodies are arranged in the same number as that of the lens-less cameras in a length direction and wherein pairs of lens-less cameras are provided on rear surfaces of the sub-bodies, respectively, at intervals in a height direction. ,[ see FIGs. 3-4]
Regarding claim 18, Cho as modified by Lee, and Vetter discloses all the limitations of claim 10 [see rejection of claim 10]
Li further discloses that coupled by at least one hinge shaft and comprises at least two or more sub-bodies constituting the body during the coupling of a hinge, bodies [see page 7, first paragraph of the page] wherein the hinge shaft is connected to opposing side walls of sub-bodies adjacent thereto, respectively, and installed in a vertical configuration such that the body rotates inward when the sub-bodies are assembled. bodies [see page 7, first paragraph of the page and FIGs. 1-2]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the camera of Cho as modified by Um, Lee, and Vetter further such that it further includes a hinge and the body of the plate is coupled by at least one hinge shaft, and comprises at least two or more sub-bodies constituting the body during the coupling of a hinge, wherein the hinge shaft is connected to opposing side walls of sub-bodies adjacent thereto, respectively, and installed in a vertical configuration such that the body rotates inward when the sub-bodies are assembled according to the teachings of Li in order to allow for imaging the teeth while the hands of the operator is liberated [see page 4, second full paragraph of Li]
Regarding claim 19, Cho as modified by Lee, and Vetter and Li discloses all the limitations of claim 10 [see rejection of claim 10]
Cho further discloses that the sub-bodies are arranged in the same number as that of the lens-less cameras in a length direction and wherein pairs of lens-less cameras are provided on front surfaces of the sub- bodies, respectively, at intervals in a height direction. [see FIGs. 3-4 of Cho]
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MARJAN SABOKTAKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795