CTNF 19/050,427 CTNF 96238 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 has been considered by the Examiner. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of the following minor informality: beginning in paragraph [0012] for example, the specification refers to a reference character 12 of “a vehicle 12” which is not present in the drawings. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Schirp (DE 102016014167 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Schirp discloses a vehicle display control device, comprising: a processor that is configured to cause display of a lane image simulating a travel lane in which a host vehicle travels, and an icon indicating an incentive that can be acquired by the host vehicle passing through the travel lane, at a display region provided at a periphery of a driver's seat of the host vehicle (In the last paragraph beginning on page 1 of the provided translation, Schirp discloses a control device including at least one camera for detecting the vehicle exterior, a computer unit, a communication unit for connection to a data network, computer unit actuators for controlling the motor vehicle, and a computer unit head-up display for displaying information or symbols in the field or on the windshield of the motor vehicle; in the eighth paragraph beginning on page 3 of the provided translation, Schirp discloses that the computer unit 2 obtains through the communication unit 6 from the data network connections a determined course of the route and from the driver assistance camera 4 determined environment information of the motor vehicle 1, where the most energy-efficient course as a virtual coin track is superimposed on the real traffic events, representing that the driver must collect the virtual coins by "driving over" them to obtain game points, where achieved game points can, if necessary, be converted into incentives such as monetary benefits such as fuel or to compete in social media). Regarding claim 2, Schirp further discloses wherein: the processor is configured to acquire a path of the travel lane which enables the host vehicle to pass through safely, and to cause display of the icon at a position on the lane image that corresponds to the acquired path of the travel lane (In the last paragraph beginning on page 1 of the provided translation, Schirp discloses a computer unit head-up display for displaying information or symbols in the field or on the windshield of the motor vehicle; in the eighth paragraph beginning on page 3 of the provided translation, Schirp discloses that the computer unit 2 obtains through the communication unit 6 from the data network connections a determined course of the route and from the driver assistance camera 4 determined environment information of the motor vehicle 1, where the most energy-efficient course as a virtual coin track is superimposed on the real traffic events, representing that the driver must collect the virtual coins by "driving over" them to obtain game points, where achieved game points can, if necessary, be converted into incentives such as monetary benefits such as fuel or to compete in social media). Regarding claim 3, Schirp further discloses wherein: the processor is configured to cause display of the icon in a case in which the acquired path of the travel lane is in a straight-ahead direction (In the last paragraph beginning on page 1 of the provided translation, Schirp discloses a computer unit head-up display for displaying information or symbols in the field or on the windshield of the motor vehicle; in the eighth paragraph beginning on page 3 of the provided translation, Schirp discloses that the computer unit 2 obtains through the communication unit 6 from the data network connections a determined course of the route and from the driver assistance camera 4 determined environment information of the motor vehicle 1, where the most energy-efficient course as a virtual coin track is superimposed on the real traffic events, representing that the driver must collect the virtual coins by "driving over" them to obtain game points, where achieved game points can, if necessary, be converted into incentives such as monetary benefits such as fuel or to compete in social media; the Examiner understands that the icon is displayed in a case where the acquired path is in a ”straight-ahead direction” under its broadest reasonable interpretation in that the path is disclosed as being the most energy efficient, and will be displayed in all cases including when the path is at least in a “straight-ahead direction” for a portion or entirety of the path; see also fig. 2 below where the virtual coin track is depicted in a “straight-ahead direction” for at least a portion of the depicted path). PNG media_image1.png 459 716 media_image1.png Greyscale Figure 2 of Schirp (DE 102016014167 A1) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schirp (DE 102016014167 A1), in view of Purgatorio (US 10,885,539 B1) . Regarding claim 4, Schirp does not explicitly disclose wherein: the processor is configured to change, and cause display of, the icon based on a speed of the host vehicle and a speed limit of the travel lane. However, Purgatorio teaches wherein: the processor is configured to change, and cause display of, the icon based on a speed of the host vehicle and a speed limit of the travel lane (In column 3 lines 45-56, Purgatorio teaches obtaining telematics data of a driver's operation of a vehicle and awards safe driving currency (e.g., driving points) that the driver may then use to purchase a benefit (e.g., an object in a video game, a coffee at a coffee shop, etc.); from column 12 line 53 to column 14 line 43, Purgatorio teaches that a driver score in generated to award the driver safe driving currency, where the computing device may send, to the driver's client-side computing devices 100b for display to the driver, a notification that the driver is not being awarded safe driving currency because the driver performed too many high-risk or unsafe driving events, where the driver score may be adjusted if a driver consistently drives within posted speed limits, for example an excessive speeding event may be a high-risk or unsafe driving event in which the vehicle's speed or velocity is greater than a maximum speed threshold (e.g., speed limit of road being traversed by the vehicle), and if the driver speeds excessively, the notification may include a recommendation to follow the posted speed limit to have a better chance in obtaining safe driving currency). Purgatorio is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to displaying information to a driver regarding incentives affected by a speed of the vehicle and a speed limit. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Purgatorio with the device as disclosed by Schirp, where doing so “incentive[s] drivers through the use of intangible and tangible user-selected benefits acquired as a result of improving their driving skills and driving more safely to thereby reduce (or prevent) accidents and their associated costs” as suggested by Purgatorio in column 1 lines 35-40. Implementing considerations for vehicle speed and speed limit may advantageously improve driver safety, for example, by further increasing the amount of considered variables that may cause dangerous vehicle behaviors . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schirp (DE 102016014167 A1), in view of Hayward (US 9,841,287 B1) . Regarding claim 5, Schirp does not explicitly disclose wherein: in a case in which there is a stop position, in the travel lane, at which stopping of the host vehicle is required, the processor is configured to change, and cause display of, the icon based on a period of time during which the host vehicle is stopped at the stop position. However, Hayward teaches wherein: in a case in which there is a stop position, in the travel lane, at which stopping of the host vehicle is required, the processor is configured to change, and cause display of, the icon based on a period of time during which the host vehicle is stopped at the stop position (From column 34 line 59 to column 35 line 16, Hayward teaches that an insurance provider may promote or reward the use of one or more aspects described herein with lower insurance premiums, rates, and/or increased discounts; from column 42 line 50 to column 43 line 33, Hayward teaches that a message to automatically stop at the railroad crossing may be a message to automatically stop at the railroad crossing during a predetermined time period to allow train 210 to pass unimpeded to facilitate avoidance of train-vehicle collisions, and at least one of displaying, adjusting, or generating an insurance discount for vehicles (e.g., autonomous vehicles) having risk mitigation or prevention functionality such as that described herein, including adjusting an insurance premium or discount by receiving telematics data from an insured mobile device, which telematics data may include an indication of a level of usage of the alert, recommendation, and/or other functionality discussed herein). Hayward is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to displaying information to a driver regarding incentives correlating to a stop of the vehicle for some predetermined time period. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hayward with the device as disclosed by Schirp, where implementing considerations for vehicle stop may advantageously improve driver safety, for example, by further increasing the amount of considered variables that may cause dangerous vehicle behaviors, such as further preventing collision with or otherwise impeded travel of a train by the vehicle in the example of Hayward . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Puskul (US 2024/0119873 A1) teaches a vehicular driving assist system with head up display. Endo (US 2022/0063406 A1) teaches an onboard display device, onboard display method, and computer readable storage medium. Webster (US 2021/0125432 A1) teaches dynamic driving comparison groups for assessing driving safety. Kleen (US 2020/0376961 A1) teaches a method for displaying the course of a trajectory in front of a transportation vehicle or an object by a display unit, and device for carrying out the method. Sumikawa (US 2020/0312049 A1) teaches a data processing apparatus and data collecting system. Spivack (US 2019/0108686 A1) teaches systems, methods and apparatuses of seamless integration of augmented, alternate, virtual, and/or mixed realities with physical realities for enhancement of web, mobile and/or other digital experiences. Kabe (US 2018/0157038 A1) teaches a display device for vehicle. Ginsberg (US 2018/0075739 A1) teaches a traffic routing display system with multiple signal lookahead. Mabbutt (US 9,041,741 B2) teaches a user interface for a head mounted display. Musabji (US 2012/0059720 A1) teaches a method of operating a navigation system using images. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Harrison Heflin whose telephone number is (571)272-5629. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 1:00PM - 10:00PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hunter Lonsberry can be reached at 571-272-7298. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HARRISON HEFLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/050,427 Page 2 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/050,427 Page 3 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/050,427 Page 4 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/050,427 Page 5 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/050,427 Page 6 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/050,427 Page 7 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/050,427 Page 8 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/050,427 Page 9 Art Unit: 3665