DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 02/11/2025, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 and 07/17/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner as indicated. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai US 2013/0100470 A1 in view of Hosomizo US 2023/0236773 A1.
Referring to claim 1, Kumagai discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program which is executed by a computer and is configured for supporting a general-purpose program that generates data being printable by printing apparatuses (fig.1, [0011], [0032]-[0033], and [0135]), the program causing the computer to execute:
causing a display to display a setting reception screen that receives a setting for color reduction processing of reducing kinds of colors included in print data, which is targeted for printing by a printing apparatus (fig.1, image processing apparatus 1001), to two or more kinds of colors and of causing the printing apparatus to print the print data (fig.4, [0064]-[0073]) (Note: a program (of the PC 1007) causes to display a print setting screen that receives a setting for reduction of full color processing of reducing kinds of colors included in print data, which is targeted for printing by image processing apparatus 1001, to two colors (example: "two-color (black+red)", "two-color (black+green)", "two-color (black+blue)", "two-color (black+yellow)", "two-color (black+magenta)", and "two-color (black+cyan)") and of causing the image processing apparatus 1001 to print the print data); and
transmitting a setting for the color reduction processing received through the setting reception screen to the printing apparatus ([0073]) (Note: when the print button is pushed, the PC 1007 generates attribute information and PDL data according to the specifications set by the menu, and supplies a PDL job to the image processing apparatus 1001).
Kumagai fails to disclose a general-purpose program that generates data being printable by printing apparatuses from a plurality of manufacturers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hosomizo discloses a general-purpose program that generates data being printable by printing apparatuses from a plurality of manufacturers ([0033]) (Note: The general-purpose printing program 41 is a program having a function of generating intermediate image data based on image data of an image to be printed; wherein the general-purpose printing program 41 supports functions commonly available for various kinds of models of printers supplied by various vendors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to change the general-purpose program of Kumagai with a general-purpose program that generates data being printable by printing apparatuses from a plurality of manufacturers as taught by Hosomizo to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to eliminate user’s dependency on one manufacturer.
Referring to claim 2, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1.
Kumagai discloses wherein the setting for the color reduction processing transmitted to the printing apparatuses is used by the printing apparatus to convert data generated by the general-purpose program into the print data to be subjected to printing based on the color reduction processing and to perform the printing on the converted print data ([0075]-[0080]) (Note: the attribute for the color reduction processing transmitted to the image processing apparatus 1001 is used to convert data into the print data to be subjected to printing based on the color reduction processing and to perform the printing on the converted print data).
Referring to claim 3, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1.
Hosomizo discloses wherein the program further causes the computer to execute: acquiring, from the printing apparatus, capability information about capabilities of the printing apparatus to perform printing, prior to causing the display to display the setting reception screen; determining whether or not the acquired capability information includes information that causes display of the setting reception screen; in a case where it is determined that the acquired capability information includes the information that causes the display of the setting reception screen, causing the display to display the setting reception screen; and in a case where it is determined that the acquired capability information does not include the information that causes the display of the setting reception screen, skipping causing the display to display the setting reception screen (fig.3 and [0058]-[0064]) (Note: the supporting program 42 transmits to the OS 21 a request for capability information of the printer 2 in response to the activation of the supporting program 42. The OS 21 transmits an obtaining request for obtaining the capability information to the printer 2 in response to receipt of the request from the supporting program 42, and the OS 21 obtains the capability information from the printer 2 at A12. The OS 21 passes the capability information obtained from the printer 2 to the supporting program 42 at A13; wherein in a case where it is determined that the acquired capability information includes the information that causes the display of the setting reception screen, causing the display to display the setting reception screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the general-purpose program of Kumagai with the concept of Hosomizo to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve user experience by reducing time required to set up color reduction processing.
Referring to claim 4, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1.
Kumagai discloses wherein the setting reception screen includes an execution selecting part that selects, as a setting for the color reduction processing, whether or not to execute the color reduction processing (figs.4 and 9, and [0064]-[0071]) (Note: user can specify whether or not to execute the color reduction processing by selecting “full color” processing or “two-color” processing).
Referring to claim 6, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1.
Kumagai discloses wherein the setting reception screen includes a color designating part that designates colors to be used in the color reduction processing as a setting for the color reduction processing (figs.9-10 and [0091]-[0092]) (Note: when two-color mode is selected for color reduction processing, a color ("red", "green", "blue", "yellow", "magenta", and "cyan") used with black is selectable).
Referring to claim 7, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 6.
Kumagai discloses wherein a plurality of combinations of two colors is set in advance for the color designating part, and the color designating part allows to select one combination from the plurality of combinations (figs.9-10, [0091]-[0092] and [0071]) (Note: when two-color mode is selected for color reduction processing, a color ("red", "green", "blue", "yellow", "magenta", and "cyan") used with black is selectable. Example: "two-color (black+red)", "two-color (black+green)", "two-color (black+blue)", "two-color (black+yellow)", "two-color (black+magenta)", and "two-color (black+cyan)").
Referring to claim 11, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1.
Hosomizo discloses wherein a program that runs in accordance with an Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) is used as the general-purpose program ([0059]) (Note: The OS 21 communicates with the printer 2 over communication in accordance with, for example, the IPP (Internet Printing Protocol)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the general-purpose program of Kumagai with the concept of Hosomizo to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a standardized, secure way to manage print jobs and communicate with network printers over local networks or the internet.
Referring to claim 12, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Kumagai further discloses performing conversion processing of converting data generated by the general-purpose program into the print data to be subjected to printing based on the color reduction processing with a setting for the color reduction processing received through the setting reception screen; and transmitting the print data converted through the conversion processing to the printing apparatus ([0066]-[0073]) (Note: when the print button is pushed, the PC 1007 generates attribute information and PDL data according to the specifications set by the menu, and supplies a PDL job to the image processing apparatus 1001).
Referring to claim 14, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 12.
Kumagai discloses wherein the print data transmitted to the printing apparatus is printed by the printing apparatus ([0079]-[0080]) (Note: when the output method is not "save", a printing process is performed. Specifically, an output image data is generated by reading the attribute information and the raster image data using the document management module 3050, and by performing the image processes, such as a color conversion process according to the color mode and a scaling process according to a combination of the original size and the recording sheet size, using the image processing module. The generated output image data is transmitted to the printer control module 3033 via the device control module 3031, and the printer 2095 prints it on a recording sheet).
Referring to claim 15, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 3 is applicable herein
Referring to claim 16, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 4 is applicable herein
Referring to claim 18, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 6 is applicable herein
Referring to claim 19, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 11 is applicable herein
Referring to claim 20, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai in view of Hosomizo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada US 2020/0249882 A1.
Referring to claim 8, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, except wherein the setting reception screen includes a preview image of a printed matter to be obtained through printing of the print data by the printing apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamada discloses wherein the setting reception screen includes a preview image of a printed matter to be obtained through printing of the print data by the printing apparatus (fig.5 and [0063]-[0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the general-purpose program of Kumagai in view of Hosomizo with the concept of Yamada to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow user to determine whether the print result will meet user’s satisfaction before printing execution.
Referring to claim 9, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo and Yamada discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 8.
Yamada discloses wherein the setting reception screen includes a display selection part that selects whether or not to display the preview image (fig.4, [0052]-[0053]) (Note: The PRINT PREVIEW button A14 is an operation button for receiving a preview instruction for causing the UI 20 to display the intermediate image data processed in accordance with the print parameters set through the print parameter setting screen).
The same motivation provided for claim 8 is applicable herein.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai in view of Hosomizo, and further in view of Well-Known Prior Art (MPEP 2144.03).
Referring to claim 10, Kumagai in view of Hosomizo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, except wherein the color reduction processing is not executable on the printing apparatus by the general-purpose program.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that the color reduction processing is not executable on the printing apparatus by the general-purpose program was known in the art at the time of invention by applicant (for pre-AIA ) or before the invention was effectively filed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention by applicant (for pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (for AIA ) to modify Kumagai in view of Hosomizo with a concept wherein the color reduction processing is not executable on the printing apparatus by the general-purpose program as well-known for the advantages of enhancing hardware performance and speed of the printing apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683