DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oyama (US PG Pub 2017/0277101).
For claim 1: Oyama teaches an image forming apparatus (see Fig. 1) comprising an image forming portion 50, 54, 55 (see Fig. 1) configured to form an image on a sheet S; a re-feeding portion L2 configured to feed again the sheet S on which an image has been formed by the image forming portion 50 to the image forming portion 50; and a reverse portion 80 configured to reverse the sheet on which an image has been formed by the image forming portion and to convey the reversed sheet to the re-feeding portion L2 (see paragraphs 38-40),wherein the reverse portion includes 80: a reverse roller 81 configured to convey the sheet while rotating normally and thereafter to convey the sheet by reversing the direction of the conveying of the sheet while rotating reversely (see paragraph 40);a helical gear (see Fig. 2, see paragraph 50, gear 87) provided on a shaft of the reverse roller 81 (see Fig. 2), the helical gear 87 being configured to rotate together with the reverse roller 81 to transmit a driving force to the reverse roller; and a pressing member 94, 941 configured to press the reverse roller 81 in an axial direction (see Fig. 2).
For claim 3: Oyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the reverse roller also functions as a discharge roller that discharges the sheet outside the image forming apparatus (see Fig. 1, roller 81 with roller 82 function as discharge rollers discharging the sheet to the outside 84 of the printer in Fig. 1).
For claim 5: Oyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to The image forming apparatus according to wherein the reverse roller 81 has an abutting member 942 that is abutted by a pressing force of the pressing member 94, 941.
For claim 7: Oyama teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 7 wherein the abutting member 942 is abutted by the pressing force of the pressing member 94, 941 against a supporting member 851, 85 configured to support the reverse roller 81 (see Fig. 2, pressing against 942 and the shaft of 851, 85 of the reverse roller 81 so that a movement of the reverse roller 81 in the axial direction is restricted (see Fig. 2, restricted at least from movement in the direction of the spring 941).
For claim 8: Oyama teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 7 further comprising a bearing 97 configured to rotatably support the reverse roller 81 wherein the abutting member 942 is abutted against the support member 851, 85 by the pressing force of the pressing member 94, 941 via the bearing 97 so that the movement of the reverse roller in the axial direction is restricted (see Fig. 2).
For claim 10: Oyama teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 1 wherein the pressing member 94, 941 is configured to press a shaft end portion 942 of the reverse roller 81 in an axial direction.
For claim 12: Oyama teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 1 wherein a pressing force receiving member 942 is provided on one shaft end portion of the reverse roller 81 opposite to the other end portion where the helical gear 87 is provided, wherein the pressing member 94, 941 is configured to press the pressing force receiving member 942 in the axial direction (see Fig. 2).
For claim 13: Oyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the pressing member 94, 941 includes a spring 941.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyama (US PG Pub 2017/0277101) in view of Ogata et al. (US PG Pub 2017/0305711).
For claim 2: Oyama teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 except a switching member provided between the image forming portion and the reverse roller, the switching member being configured to be switched to a first position where the switching member guides the sheet on which an image has been formed by the image forming portion to the reverse roller, and to a second position where the switching member guides the sheet that is reversed and conveyed by the reverse roller to the re-feeding portion. However, Ogata et al. teaches a switching member 24 provided between the image forming portion 10 and the reverse roller 22 (see Fig. 1), the switching member 24 being configured to be switched to a first position where the switching member guides the sheet on which an image has been formed by the image forming portion to the reverse roller (see Fig. 1, solid portion of element 24, the element forms a path between the image forming member 10 and the reversing and discharging roller 22), and to a second position where the switching member 24 (see Fig. 1, dashed line position of element 24) guides the sheet that is reversed and conveyed by the reverse roller to the re-feeding portion 25. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Oyama to provide a switching member as taught by Ogata et al. for the purpose of guiding the sheet to its respective destinations during discharging, feeding and reversing.
For claim 4: Oyama teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches and a discharge roller 81, 82 configured to discharge the sheet S on which an image is formed to the stacking portion 84, wherein the reverse roller 81, 82 functions as the discharge roller 81, 82, but does not teach a reading portion provided above the image forming portion via a space in the image forming apparatus, the image reading portion being configured to read an image of a document; a stacking portion provided in the space formed between the image forming portion and the image reading portion, the stacking portion being configured to stack the discharged sheet on which an image has been formed. However, Ogata et al. teaches a reading portion 200 provided above the image forming portion 1 via a space 23 (see Fig. 1, generally the exterior region about and above portion 23) in the image forming apparatus 100, the image reading portion 200 being configured to read an image of a document (see paragraph 34); a stacking portion 23 provided in the space 23 formed between the image forming portion 1, 10 and the image reading portion 2, the stacking portion 23 being configured to stack the discharged sheet on which an image has been formed (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Oyama to provide a reading portion as taught by Ogata et al. for the purpose of providing a commonly used multifunction device capable of scanning and printing.
Claims 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyama (US PG Pub 2017/0277101).
For claim 9: Oyama teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 except that the pressing force of the pressing member is set to be greater than a moving force in the axial direction that affects the reversing roller during rotation of the reverse roller. However, provision of this force by the pressing member would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention through routine experimentation. In particular, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pressing member to have a pressing force greater than the moving force of the reversing roller to maintain the reversing roller in a stable position during operation thereof.
For claims 6 and 11: Oyama teaches all of the limitations of claims 6 and 11 except that the helical gear functions as the abutting member and the pressing member is configured to press a surface of a thrust end of the helical gear in the axial direction respectively. However, each of these distinction can be overcome by a rearrangement of the known parts to provide the spring member which provides an axial force against the side portion of the helical gear. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Oyama to provide the pressing member against the side of the helical gear as a mere rearrangement of the known parts to provide an axial force to maintain the position of the reversing roller while reducing the axial length of the device.
Conclusion
/DAVID H BANH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853