DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 4/1/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12, 24, and 31 recite “providing a substantially fluid-tight seal between the first mating surface and a corresponding second mating surface”. It is unclear as to where the second mating surface is located. Since the claims are only directed to a panel, the second mating surface is being treated as merely intended use.
Claims 13-23 and 25-30 are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-17, 19-22, and 24-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Abe et al. (US Patent No. 6,073938).
Regarding claims 12 and 31, the Abe et al. (hereinafter Abe) reference discloses a panel (40) capable of being used for a section tank, comprising a first mating surface (e.g. upper surface of 40) having provided thereon a gasket arrangement (Figs. 21-23) for providing a substantially fluid-tight seal between the first mating surface and a corresponding second mating surface (e.g. mating surface of object going against upper surface of 40), the gasket arrangement comprising:
a first member (48, e.g. top right 42 in Fig. 21) and a second member (47, e.g. top right 42 in Fig. 21), the second member being arranged at least in part to provide a fluid-tight seal about the first member so as to inhibit fluid contact by fluid from within the sectional tank with the first member (Figs. 21-23),
wherein the second member is capable of deforming the first member while maintaining the fluid-tight seal when compressed (Figs. 21-23). The method of claim 31 is obvious in view of the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the Abe reference discloses the first member is more compressible than the second member (Abe. Col.. 8, Lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 14, the Abe reference discloses the second member is arranged to be applied to the mating surface as a coating (Figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 15, the Abe reference discloses the second member comprises an elastomeric material (Col. 5, Line 65-Col. 6, Line 31).
Regarding claim 16, the Abe reference discloses the second member is arranged to completely cover the first member when provided on a mating surface (Figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 17, the Abe reference discloses the second member is arranged to substantially encapsulate the first member (Figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 19, the Abe reference discloses the second member comprises at least one of rubber, silicon, a resin, a polymer, and an acrylic (Col. 5, Line 65-Col. 6, Line 31).
Regarding claim 20, the Abe reference discloses the first member is arranged as a substantially elongate member (e.g. Figs. 17, 21, 23).
Regarding claim 21, the Abe reference discloses the first member is arranged as a strip member (e.g. Figs. 17,21,23).
Regarding claim 22, the Abe reference discloses the first member comprises at least one of rubber, plastic, silicon, cork, graphite, resin, rubber, polyethylene, PTFE, neoprene, polystyrene, and polyurethane (Col. 5, Line 65-Col. 6, Line 31).
Regarding claim 24, the Abe reference discloses a surface (e.g. upper surface of 40) for a panel (40) capable of being used for a sectional tank, the surface having provided thereon a gasket arrangement (Figs. 21-23) for providing a substantially fluid-tight seal between a first mating surface (e.g. upper surface of 40) and a corresponding second mating surface (e.g. mating surface of object going against upper surface of 40), the gasket arrangement comprising:
a first member (48, e.g. top right 42 in Fig. 21) and a second member (47, e.g. top right 42 in Fig. 21), the second member being arranged at least in part to provide a fluid-tight seal about the first member so as to inhibit fluid contact by fluid from within the sectional tank with the first member (Figs. 21-23),
wherein the second member is capable of deforming the first member while maintaining the fluid-tight seal when compressed (Abe. Col.. 8, Lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 25, the Abe reference discloses the second member is arranged as a coating on at least part of the surface (Figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 26, the Abe reference discloses the second member is arranged as a coating that covers substantially the entire surface (Figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 27, the Abe reference discloses the exposed surface of the second member is arranged such that it does not adhere to another surface (Figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 28, the Abe reference discloses the first member is arranged on the surface such that it is covered by the second member (Figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 29, the Abe reference discloses the first member is arranged around substantially the entire perimeter of the surface (Figs. 21-23).
Regarding claim 30, the Abe reference discloses a plurality of holes are provided through at least part of the surface for receiving securing means for securing the surface to another surface having a corresponding plurality of holes (Fig. 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe.
Regarding claim 18, the Abe reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 12.
However, the Abe reference fails to explicitly disclose the second member has a thickness of less than 10mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the thickness of the second member less than 10mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing pressure. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 23, the Abe reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 12.
However, the Abe reference fails to explicitly disclose the first member has a thickness of less than 20mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the thickness of the first member less than 20mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing pressure. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675