July 24, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 8, Applicant claims “a Velcro member”. Applicant cannot used trademarked terms sch as “Velcro”. Applicant needs to change “Velcro” to - - hook and loop - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0378641 A1).
As for Claim 1, Hsieh teaches a holding device for dental medical devices, the holding device comprising: a headrest 211 installed on a headrest support of a dental chair; and a medical device holder 43 connected to the headrest and configured to hold dental medical devices used during dental treatment.
As for Claim 2, Hsieh further comprises at least one rod adjuster 3 arranged between the headrest and the medical device holder to connect the headrest and the medical device holder to each other, and bent in various shapes during dental treatment.
As for Claim 3, Hsieh teaches that the headrest has a structure that corresponds to various thicknesses and widths of the headrest support so as to be detachably installed regardless of a kind of a dental chair, and the rod adjuster is configured to comprise a plurality of joints, and to selectively lock movement of the joints to stably hold the dental medical devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0378641 A1) in view of LaPointe et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,899,526 B1).
Hsieh teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does not teach a tray device detachably placed on the rod adjuster to temporarily store the dental medical devices and various auxiliary materials required for dental treatment. However, LaPointe et al. teach the concept of a detachable tray that can be attached to a rod adjuster to be old. It would have bene obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the holding device, as taught by Hsieh, to include a detachable tray, as taught by LaPointe et al., since it would allow a caregiver, doctor, or dentist, to hold instruments, items, and other devices when tending to a patient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636