DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on February 11, 2025.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 11, 2025 and December 18, 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
With regard to claim 1, the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0232779 A1) , and further in view of Tomiyama (U.S. Pub. NO. 2023/0060257 A1).
The claim is drawn to a control device to control an image forming apparatus capable of forming an image on a print medium provided with a plurality of wireless tags (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose the image forming apparatus 10 includes the control unit 10 and others, and further in para. 41, discloses that “[0041] The control unit 100 includes an arithmetic device 51 and a storage device 52. The arithmetic device 51 controls the control panel 13, the printer unit 18, and the wireless tag communication device 201 according to the image processing program stored in the storage device 52…”), the control device comprising:
a storage device configured to store a mask pattern and tag information associated with the mask pattern for each of the plurality of wireless tags (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 42-43 and etc., disclose that “The storage device 52 is a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a hard disk drive (HDD), a solid-state drive (SSD), or the like. [0043] A data receiving unit 53 receives print data corresponding to an image to be printed (for example, data described in a page description language) from a host, such as a personal computer (PC), and stores the received print data in the storage device 52. An image data rasterizing unit 54 determines printing conditions from the print data stored in the storage device 52 and rasterizes the print data for printing by the printer unit 18 (for example, raster data is provided to the printer unit 18) and then stores the rasterized data in the storage device 52…”; and further in fig. 2, para. 45, disclose that “[0045] The wireless tag communication device 201 includes an arithmetic device 210, a storage device 211, and a communication device 212. The arithmetic device 210 is, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or the like. The storage device 211 is a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), or the like. The storage device 211 stores an ID for identifying the wireless tag(s). The communication device 212 acquires information from the wireless tag or writes information to the wireless tag. The arithmetic device 210 may be referred to as a controller or a control circuit in some instances…” );
an interface connected to a wireless tag communication device capable of writing the tag information to the plurality of wireless tags (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 37 and etc., disclose that “[0037] The wireless tag communication device 201 can communicate with the control unit 100. The wireless tag communication device 201 acquires information from (reads) the wireless tag or writes information to the wireless tag by communicating with the wireless tag on the sheet….”); and
a controller configured to repeatedly transmit the tag information associated with the mask pattern, a selection command to select a wireless tag associated with the mask pattern among the plurality of wireless tags, and a write command to cause the wireless tag communication device to write the tag information associated with the mask pattern to the wireless tag communication device via the interface for each mask pattern stored in the storage device (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 45-46, and etc., disclose that “… The communication device 212 acquires information from the wireless tag or writes information to the wireless tag. The arithmetic device 210 may be referred to as a controller or a control circuit in some instances. [0046] Next, the control of writing information (data) to a wireless tag according to the position of the wireless tag on the sheet will be described. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing an example of the possible positions of sheets in the image forming apparatus 10. In FIG. 3, a sheet S1 is a sheet in the sheet feed cassette 16a. A sheet S2 is a sheet on the sheet discharge tray 20. A sheet S3 is a sheet on the manual feed tray 16c.”; in addition, in para. 24 and etc., disclose that “[0024] The control panel 13 includes an input key and a display unit. For example, the input key receives an input from the user. For example, the display unit is a touch panel type. The display unit receives an input from the user and displays the input to the user. For example, the control panel 13 displays items related to the operation of the image forming apparatus 10 on the display unit so that the various operating parameters and functions can be set by the user. The control panel 13 notifies the control unit 100 of the user inputs and selections.”).
The teachings of Saito merely lacks in disclosing the limitation of “mask pattern”.
However, Tomiyama discloses an analogous invention relates to a tag communication device includes a communication device and one or more control processors configured to cause the communication device to transmit a first command for notifying selection of a wireless tag including an identification code including a mask pattern that is a part of the common portion of identification codes (see Tomiyama, i.e. abstract and etc.). More specifically, in Tomiyama, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 17 and etc., disclose that “[0017] In general, according to one embodiment, the tag communication device may include one processor or multiple processors. For example, a tag communication device may include a communication unit or communication device, a selection unit or selection processor, a request unit or requesting processor, a rewrite unit or rewriting processor, and a control unit or controller. The communication unit or communication device wirelessly communicates with a plurality of wireless tags each storing an identification code including an existing common portion as at least a part of the common portion of the identification code. The selection unit designates at least a part of the common portion as a mask pattern and causes the communication unit to transmit a first command for notifying selection of the wireless tag including the identification code including the corresponding mask pattern. The request unit causes the communication unit to transmit a second command for requesting a response to the selected wireless tag. The rewrite unit causes the communication unit to transmit a third command for requesting rewriting of the identification code to one of the wireless tags that transmits data in response to reception of the data transmitted from the one wireless tag with respect to the second command by the communication unit. The control unit causes the request unit to repeat transmission of the second command if a third command is transmitted by the rewrite unit until the third commands are transmitted by the rewrite unit to each of a predetermined number of the wireless tags, or if the data transmitted from one wireless tag is not received by the communication unit with respect to the transmission of the second command by the request unit.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saito to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Tomiyama, with teachings of “a mask pattern” as discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to printing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saito by the teachings of Tomiyama, and to incorporate the limitations discussed and also taught by Tomiyama, thereby “… to provide a tag communication device and an information processing method that can implement rewriting of identification codes of a plurality of wireless tags with a simple configuration” (see Tomiyama, i.e. para. 16 and etc.).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the control device according to claim 1, wherein the mask pattern includes wireless tag identification information for identifying a wireless tag associated with the mask pattern among the plurality of wireless tags (see Tomiyama, .e. in para. 65, 88 and etc., discloses that “[0065] If the Query command is received, if an identification code having an identical mask pattern included in the Select command is included, the wireless tag TA randomly determines a counter value CV as a numerical value in a predetermined area. All of the wireless tags TAA to TAE include identification codes having the identical mask patterns and thus generate “3”, “0”, “3”, “2”, and “4” as the counter value CV in response to the event EAC in FIG. 5. Each of the wireless tags TA generates the counter value CV independently from each other, and thus the plurality of counter values CV may have the same numerical value as in the above example…”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the control device according to claim 2, wherein the wireless tag identification information indicates a position on the print medium (see Tomiyama, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 31 and etc., disclose that “[0031] In addition, the label paper with tags illustrated in FIG. 2 is merely an example, and the size of the mount, the size of a label, the number of labels, the dimension of a label, the shape of a label, positions of the labels on the mount, an attached position of a wireless tag in a label, and the like may be freely selected. In addition, a plurality of kinds of label paper with tags in which a part among the size of the mount, the size of a label, the number of labels, the dimension of a label, the shape of a label, positions of the labels on the mount, an attached position of a wireless tag in a label, and the like is different may be selectively used…”).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller repeatedly transmits the tag information associated with the mask pattern, the selection command to select the wireless tag associated with the mask pattern among the plurality of wireless tags, and the write command to cause the wireless tag communication device to write the tag information associated with the mask pattern to the wireless tag communication device via the interface for each mask pattern stored in the storage device, for the print medium located at the write position, after the print medium is conveyed by the image forming apparatus to a write position at which the tag information is written to the plurality of wireless tags (see Tomiyama, i.e. in para. 17 and etc., disclose that “[0017] In general, according to one embodiment, the tag communication device may include one processor or multiple processors. For example, a tag communication device may include a communication unit or communication device, a selection unit or selection processor, a request unit or requesting processor, a rewrite unit or rewriting processor, and a control unit or controller. The communication unit or communication device wirelessly communicates with a plurality of wireless tags each storing an identification code including an existing common portion as at least a part of the common portion of the identification code. The selection unit designates at least a part of the common portion as a mask pattern and causes the communication unit to transmit a first command for notifying selection of the wireless tag including the identification code including the corresponding mask pattern. The request unit causes the communication unit to transmit a second command for requesting a response to the selected wireless tag. The rewrite unit causes the communication unit to transmit a third command for requesting rewriting of the identification code to one of the wireless tags that transmits data in response to reception of the data transmitted from the one wireless tag with respect to the second command by the communication unit. The control unit causes the request unit to repeat transmission of the second command if a third command is transmitted by the rewrite unit until the third commands are transmitted by the rewrite unit to each of a predetermined number of the wireless tags, or if the data transmitted from one wireless tag is not received by the communication unit with respect to the transmission of the second command by the request unit…”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller causes the image forming apparatus to stop to convey the print medium after the print medium is conveyed by the image forming apparatus to a write position at which the tag information is written to the plurality of wireless tags (see Saito, i.e. in para. 23, disclose that “[0023] In FIG. 1, the image forming apparatus 10 includes a control panel 13, a wireless tag communication device 201, and a printer unit 18. The printer unit 18 includes a control unit 100, sheet feed cassettes 16a and 16b, and the like. The control unit 100 controls the control panel 13, the wireless tag communication device 201, and the printer unit 18. The control unit 100 controls the sheet conveyance in the printer unit 18. The control of sheet conveyance is to control the sheet conveyance timing, the sheet stop position, the sheet conveyance speed, and the like…”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller transmits the tag information, the selection command, and the write command to the wireless tag communication device in a predetermined order when a combination of the tag information, the selection command, and the write command is transmitted to the wireless tag communication device (see Tomiyama, i.e. in para. 17 and etc., disclose that “[0017] In general, according to one embodiment, the tag communication device may include one processor or multiple processors. For example, a tag communication device may include a communication unit or communication device, a selection unit or selection processor, a request unit or requesting processor, a rewrite unit or rewriting processor, and a control unit or controller. The communication unit or communication device wirelessly communicates with a plurality of wireless tags each storing an identification code including an existing common portion as at least a part of the common portion of the identification code. The selection unit designates at least a part of the common portion as a mask pattern and causes the communication unit to transmit a first command for notifying selection of the wireless tag including the identification code including the corresponding mask pattern. The request unit causes the communication unit to transmit a second command for requesting a response to the selected wireless tag. The rewrite unit causes the communication unit to transmit a third command for requesting rewriting of the identification code to one of the wireless tags that transmits data in response to reception of the data transmitted from the one wireless tag with respect to the second command by the communication unit. The control unit causes the request unit to repeat transmission of the second command if a third command is transmitted by the rewrite unit until the third commands are transmitted by the rewrite unit to each of a predetermined number of the wireless tags, or if the data transmitted from one wireless tag is not received by the communication unit with respect to the transmission of the second command by the request unit…”).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to an image forming apparatus capable of forming an image on a print medium provided with a plurality of wireless tags (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose the image forming apparatus 10 includes the control unit 10 and others, and further in para. 41, discloses that “[0041] The control unit 100 includes an arithmetic device 51 and a storage device 52. The arithmetic device 51 controls the control panel 13, the printer unit 18, and the wireless tag communication device 201 according to the image processing program stored in the storage device 52…”), the image forming apparatus comprising:
an image forming device to form an image on the print medium (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 2, the printer unit 18); and
a control device to control image formation by the image forming device (see Saito, i.e. in fig.2, control unit 100), wherein
the control device includes
a storage device configured to store a mask pattern and tag information associated with the mask pattern for each of the plurality of wireless tags (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 42-43 and etc., disclose that “The storage device 52 is a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a hard disk drive (HDD), a solid-state drive (SSD), or the like. [0043] A data receiving unit 53 receives print data corresponding to an image to be printed (for example, data described in a page description language) from a host, such as a personal computer (PC), and stores the received print data in the storage device 52. An image data rasterizing unit 54 determines printing conditions from the print data stored in the storage device 52 and rasterizes the print data for printing by the printer unit 18 (for example, raster data is provided to the printer unit 18), and then stores the rasterized data in the storage device 52…”; and further in fig. 2, para. 45, disclose that “[0045] The wireless tag communication device 201 includes an arithmetic device 210, a storage device 211, and a communication device 212. The arithmetic device 210 is, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or the like. The storage device 211 is a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), or the like. The storage device 211 stores an ID for identifying the wireless tag(s). The communication device 212 acquires information from the wireless tag or writes information to the wireless tag. The arithmetic device 210 may be referred to as a controller or a control circuit in some instances…” ),
an interface connected to a wireless tag communication device capable of writing the tag information to the plurality of wireless tags (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 37 and etc., disclose that “[0037] The wireless tag communication device 201 can communicate with the control unit 100. The wireless tag communication device 201 acquires information from (reads) the wireless tag or writes information to the wireless tag by communicating with the wireless tag on the sheet….”); and
a controller configured to repeatedly transmit the tag information associated with the mask pattern, a selection command to select a wireless tag associated with the mask pattern among the plurality of wireless tags, and a write command to cause the wireless tag communication device to write the tag information associated with the mask pattern to the wireless tag communication device via the interface for each mask pattern stored in the storage device (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 45-46, and etc., disclose that “… The communication device 212 acquires information from the wireless tag or writes information to the wireless tag. The arithmetic device 210 may be referred to as a controller or a control circuit in some instances. [0046] Next, the control of writing information (data) to a wireless tag according to the position of the wireless tag on the sheet will be described. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing an example of the possible positions of sheets in the image forming apparatus 10. In FIG. 3, a sheet S1 is a sheet in the sheet feed cassette 16a. A sheet S2 is a sheet on the sheet discharge tray 20. A sheet S3 is a sheet on the manual feed tray 16c.”; in addition, in para. 24 and etc., disclose that “[0024] The control panel 13 includes an input key and a display unit. For example, the input key receives an input from the user. For example, the display unit is a touch panel type. The display unit receives an input from the user and displays the input to the user. For example, the control panel 13 displays items related to the operation of the image forming apparatus 10 on the display unit so that the various operating parameters and functions can be set by the user. The control panel 13 notifies the control unit 100 of the user inputs and selections.”).
The teachings of Saito merely lacks in disclosing the limitation of “mask pattern”.
However, Tomiyama discloses an analogous invention relates to a tag communication device includes a communication device and one or more control processors configured to cause the communication device to transmit a first command for notifying selection of a wireless tag including an identification code including a mask pattern that is a part of the common portion of identification codes (see Tomiyama, i.e. abstract and etc.). More specifically, in Tomiyama, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 17 and etc., disclose that “[0017] In general, according to one embodiment, the tag communication device may include one processor or multiple processors. For example, a tag communication device may include a communication unit or communication device, a selection unit or selection processor, a request unit or requesting processor, a rewrite unit or rewriting processor, and a control unit or controller. The communication unit or communication device wirelessly communicates with a plurality of wireless tags each storing an identification code including an existing common portion as at least a part of the common portion of the identification code. The selection unit designates at least a part of the common portion as a mask pattern and causes the communication unit to transmit a first command for notifying selection of the wireless tag including the identification code including the corresponding mask pattern. The request unit causes the communication unit to transmit a second command for requesting a response to the selected wireless tag. The rewrite unit causes the communication unit to transmit a third command for requesting rewriting of the identification code to one of the wireless tags that transmits data in response to reception of the data transmitted from the one wireless tag with respect to the second command by the communication unit. The control unit causes the request unit to repeat transmission of the second command if a third command is transmitted by the rewrite unit until the third commands are transmitted by the rewrite unit to each of a predetermined number of the wireless tags, or if the data transmitted from one wireless tag is not received by the communication unit with respect to the transmission of the second command by the request unit.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saito to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Tomiyama, with teachings of “a mask pattern” as discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to printing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saito by the teachings of Tomiyama, and to incorporate the limitations discussed and also taught by Tomiyama, thereby “… to provide a tag communication device and an information processing method that can implement rewriting of identification codes of a plurality of wireless tags with a simple configuration” (see Tomiyama, i.e. para. 16 and etc.).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the storage device stores correspondence information indicating a correspondence relationship between a position of the wireless tag and the mask pattern associated with the wireless tag for each of the plurality of wireless tags (see Saito, i.e. in para. 19-20 and etc., disclose that “[0019] At least one embodiment of the present disclosure provides a wireless tag communication device that is capable of writing information to wireless tags according to the particular position of the wireless tag on a sheet being processed. A sheet tagged with multiple wireless tags is also disclosed. [0020] In general, according to one embodiment, a wireless tag communication device includes a controller configured to: acquire, from a wireless tag on a sheet, position information indicating a position of the wireless tag on the sheet; identify the position of the wireless tag on the sheet from the acquired position information; and write information to the wireless tag according to the identified position of the wireless tag on the sheet.”).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to the image forming apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the controller causes the image forming device to print, when a print job including image data associated with each position of the plurality of wireless tags is received, an image at each position of the plurality of wireless tags on a basis of the correspondence information stored in the storage device and the print job, the image being indicated by the image data associated with each position (see Saito, i.e. in fig. 4-5, para. 49=50 and etc., disclose that t" [0049] FIGS. 4 and 5 are diagrams showing examples of possible positions of wireless tags provided on a sheet. In FIGS. 4 and 5, the upward page direction for the sheet S is the conveyance direction. The sheet shown in FIG. 4 is provided with wireless tags at three different positions on the sheet: the upper part, the middle part, and the lower part. The wireless tag provided at the upper part is referred to as an upper part tag and its ID is referred to as an upper part tag ID. The wireless tag provided at the middle part is referred to as a middle part tag and its ID is referred to as a middle part tag ID. The wireless tag provided at the lower part is referred to as a lower part tag and its ID is referred to as a lower part tag I).
Allowable Subject Matter
With regard to Claim 7, claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the corresponding rejections and/or objection (if any) set forth in the Office Action above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 7, the closest prior arts of record, Saito and Tomiyama, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller transmits all of the tag information, the selection command, and the write command to the wireless tag communication device in a batch when a combination of the tag information, the selection command, and the write command is transmitted to the wireless tag communication device”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by prior arts of record.
Therefore, claim 7 is objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takada (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 10,255,535) disclose an invention relates to an image forming apparatus includes a printer configured to form an image on a sheet at a carrying speed, a first reading/writing unit configured read tag information stored in a wireless tag disposed on the sheet and to write tag information to the wireless tag, a reading/writing control unit configured to control the first reading/writing unit to read tag information stored in the wireless tag and to write tag information to the wireless tag, and a printer control unit configured to control the carrying speed of the sheet according to a total number of wireless tags disposed on the sheet.
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681