DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taghizadeh et al. (US 20220052751 A1, “Taghizadeh”) in view of Augenstein (US 20210156996 A1, “Augenstein”).
Regarding claim 1 Taghizadeh discloses,
a system comprising (Fig. 4 (400)):
an acoustic sensor array comprising ([0051], Audio processing apparatus (400) comprises a plurality of audio sensors (microphones (402)) including a primary reference audio sensor and at least two secondary audio sensors. Each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors with the at least two secondary audio sensors):
a first pair of acoustic sensors comprising a first acoustic sensor and a second acoustic sensor(Implicit, [0051], Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors with the at least two secondary audio sensors)(a first pair of audio sensors includes a first and second acoustic sensor) ,
wherein the first acoustic sensor and the second acoustic sensor are configured to detect an acoustic wave and convert the acoustic wave to first acoustic data and second acoustic data, respectively ([0051], Each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source.);
and wherein the acoustic wave comprises an acoustic wave of interest emitted from a source of interest([0051], Each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source.);
and a second pair of acoustic sensors comprising a third acoustic sensor and a fourth acoustic sensor(Implicit, [0051], Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors with the at least two secondary audio sensors)(a second pair of audio sensors includes a third and fourth acoustic sensor),
wherein the third acoustic sensor and the fourth acoustic sensor are configured to detect the acoustic wave and convert the acoustic wave to third acoustic data and fourth acoustic data, respectively([0051], Each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source.);
determine, using the first distance, a first plurality of beams using the first acoustic data and the second acoustic data and determine, using the second distance, a second plurality of beams using the third acoustic data and the fourth acoustic data([0051], each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors) (Implicit, Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller)(Fig. 4 illustrates input from audio sensors (402) being supplied to fixed beamformer unit (401))
wherein the first plurality of beams and the second plurality of beams are directed towards each of the plurality of fields of view(Implicit, Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller)(Fig. 4 illustrates input from audio sensors (402) being supplied to fixed beamformer unit (401))(depending on where the target audio source is located, the beams may be directed or steered towards the fields of view);
a digital signal processor communicably coupled to the acoustic sensor array and configured to execute computer-readable code, the computer-readable code causing the digital signal processor to ([0073], processing circuitry includes digital circuitry such as DSPs)
receive, from the acoustic sensor array, the first acoustic data, the second acoustic data, the third acoustic data, and the fourth acoustic data, and for each of a plurality of fields of view (Implicit, [0021] processing circuitry is configured to determine for a respective pair of audio sensors, the respective similarity measure value between the first set and second set of likelihoods)(each microphone implicitly has a field of view):
determine first intermediate acoustic data and second intermediate acoustic data using the first plurality of beams and the second plurality of beams, respectively (Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller)(Fig. 4 illustrates output from the fixed beamformer unit being sent to the combiner along with output from the interference and noise canceller, which when combined, is equivalent to intermediate data)
and determine, using a third distance, filtered acoustic data based on the first intermediate acoustic data and the second intermediate acoustic data ([0052], postfilter (411) may be a coherent-to-diffuse power ratio based post filter)(fig. 4 illustrates combiner (406) output being subsequently input into post filter (411)),
Taghizadeh fails to teach
wherein the first acoustic sensor has a first center, the second acoustic sensor has a second center, and the first center is located at a first distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the second center;
and wherein the third acoustic sensor has a third center, the fourth acoustic sensor has a fourth center, and the third center is located at a second distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the fourth center;
wherein a fifth center of the first pair of acoustic sensors is located at the third distance of 75 to 400 millimeters from a sixth center of the second pair of acoustic sensors.
Augenstein teaches
wherein a fifth center of the first pair of acoustic sensors is located at the third distance of 75 to 400 millimeters from a sixth center of the second pair of acoustic sensors([0024], the distance between two transducers is at least 14mm)(arranging the first pair of acoustic sensors and the second pair of acoustic sensors in such a manner that the center of each pair is placed 75 to 400 mm apart is a matter of design choice (rearrangement of parts), as such an arrangement would not modify the operation of the device. The specification provides no guidance as to why such a placement is critical. One having ordinary skill in the art would be sufficiently motivated to select such a placement based on efficient use of available space, among other design considerations. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C)).
Therefore the combination of Taghizadeh and Augenstein teaches
wherein the first acoustic sensor has a first center, the second acoustic sensor has a second center, and the first center is located at a first distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the second center
and wherein the third acoustic sensor has a third center, the fourth acoustic sensor has a fourth center, and the third center is located at a second distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the fourth center
wherein a fifth center of the first pair of acoustic sensors is located at the third distance of 75 to 400 millimeters from a sixth center of the second pair of acoustic sensors
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Taghizadeh, to include the teachings of Augenstein, in order to yield a acoustic sound source localization system based on beamforming of microphone data at a plurality of microphone pairs in a manner where the placement of the microphone pairs allows for sufficient variation in received data such that the location of the sound source of interest may be accurately determined based on phase differences or time differences of arrival and ultimately a positional value of the sound source relative to the system. Making such a modification amounts of use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 2, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein teaches the system of claim 1. Augenstein further teaches
wherein the first distance is of 20 to 40 millimeters, inclusive([0024], the distance between two transducers is at least 14mm);.
Regarding claim 3, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein teaches the system of claim 1. Augenstein further teaches
wherein the second distance is of 20 to 40 millimeters, inclusive([0024], the distance between two transducers is at least 14mm);.
Regarding claim 5, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein teaches the system of claim 1. Taghizadeh further teaches
wherein each of the first acoustic data, the second acoustic data, the third acoustic data, and the fourth acoustic data comprises noise ([0051], each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors) (Implicit, Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller)(Fig. 4 illustrates input from audio sensors (402) being supplied to interference and noise canceller (405), which indicates that the data from the audio sensors comprises noise).
Regarding claim 6, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein teaches the system of claim 1. Taghizadeh further teaches
wherein the acoustic sensor array further comprises the digital signal processor ([0073], processing circuitry includes digital circuitry such as DSPs).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein teaches the method of claim 15. Taghizadeh further teaches
applying a filter to the first intermediate acoustic data and applying the filter to the second intermediate acoustic data (Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller)(Fig. 4 illustrates output from the fixed beamformer unit being sent to the combiner along with output from the interference and noise canceller, which when combined, is equivalent to intermediate data) ([0052], postfilter (411) may be a coherent-to-diffuse power ratio based post filter)(fig. 4 illustrates combiner (406) output being subsequently input into post filter (411)).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taghizadeh in view of Augenstein and Izquierdo et al. ("Feasibility of using a MEMS microphone array for pedestrian detection in an autonomous emergency braking system." Sensors 21.12 (2021): 4162., “Izquierdo”).
Regarding claim 4, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein teaches the system of claim 1. Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein fails to teach
wherein each of the first acoustic sensor, the second acoustic sensor, the third acoustic sensor, and the fourth acoustic sensor comprises an omnidirectional acoustic sensor.
Izquierdo teaches
wherein each of the first acoustic sensor, the second acoustic sensor, the third acoustic sensor, and the fourth acoustic sensor comprises an omnidirectional acoustic sensor (pg. 4, SPH0641LU4H-1 digital MEMS microphones were chosen for implementation of the array).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Taghizadeh, as modified in view of the teachings of Augenstein, to further include the teachings of Izquierdo, in order to yield an acoustic beamforming sound-source localization system that can provide more comprehensive localization capabilities due to the omnidirectional microphones of the array being able to locate sound sources regardless of orientation with respect to the array, as well as providing higher performance, lower power consumption, and high sensitivity. Making such a modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (A).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taghizadeh in view of Augenstein and Chu (US 12143783 B1, “Chu”).
Regarding claim 7, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein teaches the system of claim 1. Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein fails to teach
wherein the computer-readable code further causes the digital signal processor to determine, using a detection algorithm, an angle of arrival of the source of interest relative to the acoustic sensor array using, at least in part, the filtered acoustic data for the plurality of fields of view.
Chu further teaches
wherein the computer-readable code further causes the digital signal processor to determine, using a detection algorithm, an angle of arrival of the source of interest relative to the acoustic sensor array using, at least in part, the filtered acoustic data for the plurality of fields of view. (column 6, lines 39-50, device may include a beamformer that may perform audio beamforming on microphone audio data which enables the beamformer to isolate audio data associated with a particular direction)(column 6, lines 19-23, device may include a bandpass filter or other filtering to select a portion of the time-domain signal within a desired frequency range)(column 18, lines 30-40, using determined cross-correlation data, direction-of-arrival is calculated for each microphone pair)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Taghizadeh, as modified in view of the teachings of Augenstein, to further include the teachings of Taghizadeh, in order to yield an acoustic sound source localization system in which data from each of the acoustic pairs is utilized to calculate a respective direction of arrival to the sound source such that through the use of multiple independent direction of arrival estimates, a more accurate determination of the sound source’s position can be obtained. Making such a modification amounts to use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 7 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugae et al. (US 20240210561 A1, “Sugae”) in view of Taghizadeh and Augenstein.
Regarding claim 8, Sugae discloses a vehicle (Fig. 1 (1)) comprising:
a body ([0024], object detection devices are disposed within the front and rear bumper of the vehicle body (2)));
a motor configured to propel the body(Implicit, [0024], object detection devices are disposed within the front and rear bumper of the vehicle body (2)))(Fig. 1 illustrates a car which implicitly has a motor configured to propel the body);
an acoustic sensor array disposed and recessed, at least in part, within the body([0024], object detection devices are disposed within the front and rear bumper of the vehicle body (2)),
wherein the acoustic sensor array comprises: a first pair of acoustic sensors comprising a first acoustic sensor and a second acoustic sensor,
wherein the first acoustic sensor and the second acoustic sensor are configured to detect an acoustic wave and convert the acoustic wave to first acoustic data and second acoustic data, respectively;
and wherein the acoustic wave comprises an acoustic wave of interest emitted from a source of interest, and a second pair of acoustic sensors comprising a third acoustic sensor and a fourth acoustic sensor,
wherein the third acoustic sensor and the fourth acoustic sensor are configured to detect the acoustic wave and convert the acoustic wave to third acoustic data and fourth acoustic data, respectively;
Sugae fails to teach
wherein the first acoustic sensor has a first center, the second acoustic sensor has a second center, and the first center is located at a first distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the second center;
and wherein the third acoustic sensor has a third center, the fourth acoustic sensor has a fourth center, and the third center is located at a second distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the fourth center;
a digital signal processor communicably coupled to the acoustic sensor array and configured to execute computer-readable code, the computer-readable code causing the digital signal processor to: receive, from the acoustic sensor array, the first acoustic data, the second acoustic data, the third acoustic data, and the fourth acoustic data, and for each of a plurality of fields of view:
determine, using the first distance, a first plurality of beams using the first acoustic data and the second acoustic data and determine, using the second distance, a second plurality of beams using the third acoustic data and the fourth acoustic data,
wherein the first plurality of beams and the second plurality of beams are directed towards each of the plurality of fields of view;
determine first intermediate acoustic data and second intermediate acoustic data using the first plurality of beams and the second plurality of beams, respectively; and
determine, using a third distance, filtered acoustic data based on the first intermediate acoustic data and the second intermediate acoustic data,
wherein a fifth center of the first pair of acoustic sensors is located at the third distance of 75 to 400 millimeters from a sixth center of the second pair of acoustic sensors.
Taghizadeh teaches
wherein the acoustic sensor array comprises: a first pair of acoustic sensors comprising a first acoustic sensor and a second acoustic sensor([0051], each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors),
wherein the first acoustic sensor and the second acoustic sensor are configured to detect an acoustic wave and convert the acoustic wave to first acoustic data and second acoustic data, respectively([0051], each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors);
and wherein the acoustic wave comprises an acoustic wave of interest emitted from a source of interest, and a second pair of acoustic sensors comprising a third acoustic sensor and a fourth acoustic sensor([0051], each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors),
wherein the third acoustic sensor and the fourth acoustic sensor are configured to detect the acoustic wave and convert the acoustic wave to third acoustic data and fourth acoustic data, respectively([0051], each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors);
a digital signal processor communicably coupled to the acoustic sensor array and configured to execute computer-readable code, the computer-readable code causing the digital signal processor to([0073], processing circuitry includes digital circuitry such as DSPs):
receive, from the acoustic sensor array, the first acoustic data, the second acoustic data, the third acoustic data, and the fourth acoustic data, and for each of a plurality of fields of view(Implicit, [0021] processing circuitry is configured to determine for a respective pair of audio sensors, the respective similarity measure value between the first set and second set of likelihoods)(each microphone implicitly has a field of view):
determine, using the first distance, a first plurality of beams using the first acoustic data and the second acoustic data and determine, using the second distance, a second plurality of beams using the third acoustic data and the fourth acoustic data([0051], each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors) (Implicit, Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller)(Fig. 4 illustrates input from audio sensors (402) being supplied to the fixed beamformer unit (401), which indicates that the data from the audio sensors are used to generate beams),
wherein the first plurality of beams and the second plurality of beams are directed towards each of the plurality of fields of view (Fig. 4 illustrates input from audio sensors (402) being supplied to the fixed beamformer unit (401), which indicates that the data from the audio sensors are used to generate beams)(each audio sensor (402) implicitly has a field of view);
determine first intermediate acoustic data and second intermediate acoustic data using the first plurality of beams and the second plurality of beams, respectively(Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller)(Fig. 4 illustrates output from the fixed beamformer unit being sent to the combiner along with output from the interference and noise canceller, which when combined, is equivalent to intermediate data);
determine, using a third distance, filtered acoustic data based on the first intermediate acoustic data and the second intermediate acoustic data(Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller) ([0052], postfilter (411) may be a coherent-to-diffuse power ratio based post filter)(fig. 4 illustrates combiner (406) output being subsequently input into post filter (411)),
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the vehicle of Sugae, to include the teachings of Taghizadeh, in order to yield a vehicle having an acoustic sound source localization system in which beamforming and filtering is performed on data gathered from acoustic sensor pairs in order to accurately determine a position of the target sound source by comparing localization results determined by respective microphone pairs in order to enable the driver to safely avoid obstacles or objects present in the direction of travel of the vehicle so as to prevent damage to the vehicle, as well as harm to the occupants. Making such a modification amounts to use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh fails to teach
wherein the first acoustic sensor has a first center, the second acoustic sensor has a second center, and the first center is located at a first distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the second center;
and wherein the third acoustic sensor has a third center, the fourth acoustic sensor has a fourth center, and the third center is located at a second distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the fourth center;
wherein a fifth center of the first pair of acoustic sensors is located at the third distance of 75 to 400 millimeters from a sixth center of the second pair of acoustic sensors.
Augenstein teaches
wherein the first acoustic sensor has a first center, the second acoustic sensor has a second center, and the first center is located at a first distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the second center([0024], the distance between two transducers is at least 14mm) (arranging the first pair of acoustic sensors, comprising the first and second acoustic sensors in such a manner that the center of each sensor is placed 10 to 75 mm apart is a matter of design choice (rearrangement of parts), as such an arrangement would not modify the operation of the device. The specification provides no guidance as to why such a placement is critical. One having ordinary skill in the art would be sufficiently motivated to select such a placement based on efficient use of available space, among other design considerations. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C)); ;
and wherein the third acoustic sensor has a third center, the fourth acoustic sensor has a fourth center, and the third center is located at a second distance of 10 to 75 millimeters, inclusive, from the fourth center([0024], the distance between two transducers is at least 14mm) (arranging the second pair of acoustic sensors, comprising the third and fourth acoustic sensors in such a manner that the center of each sensor is placed 10 to 75 mm apart is a matter of design choice (rearrangement of parts), as such an arrangement would not modify the operation of the device. The specification provides no guidance as to why such a placement is critical. One having ordinary skill in the art would be sufficiently motivated to select such a placement based on efficient use of available space, among other design considerations. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C)); ;
wherein a fifth center of the first pair of acoustic sensors is located at the third distance of 75 to 400 millimeters from a sixth center of the second pair of acoustic sensors([0024], the distance between two transducers is at least 14mm) (arranging the first pair of acoustic sensors and the second pair of acoustic sensors in such a manner that the center of each pair is placed 75 to 400 mm apart is a matter of design choice (rearrangement of parts), as such an arrangement would not modify the operation of the device. The specification provides no guidance as to why such a placement is critical. One having ordinary skill in the art would be sufficiently motivated to select such a placement based on efficient use of available space, among other design considerations. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Vehicle of Sugae, as modified in view of the teachings of Taghizadeh, to further include the teachings of Augenstein, in order to yield a vehicle-based acoustic sound source localization system based on beamforming of microphone data at a plurality of microphone pairs in a manner where the placement of the microphone pairs around the body of the vehicle allows for sufficient variation in received data such that the location of the sound source of interest may be accurately determined relative to the vehicle based on phase differences or time differences of arrival and ultimately enables the operator of the motor vehicle to be aware of obstacles in the surroundings of the vehicle and avoid collisions. Making such a modification amounts of use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 9, Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh and Augenstein teaches the vehicle of claim 8. Sugae further teaches the body comprises a barrier, and wherein the acoustic sensor array is disposed and recessed, at least in part, within the barrier([0024], object detection devices are disposed within the front and rear bumper of the vehicle body (2))).
Regarding claim 10, Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh and Augenstein teaches the vehicle of claim 9. Sugae further teaches the barrier comprises a bumper([0024], object detection devices are disposed within the front and rear bumper of the vehicle body (2))).
Regarding claim 11, Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh and Augenstein teaches the vehicle of claim 8. Sugae further teaches
wherein the body comprises a front barrier and a back barrier([0024], object detection devices are disposed within the front and rear bumper of the vehicle body (2))),
wherein the acoustic sensor array further comprises a third pair of acoustic sensors (Fig. and a fourth pair of acoustic sensors(Fig. 1 (203) and (204),
wherein the first pair of acoustic sensors and the second pair of acoustic sensors are disposed and recessed within the front barrier(Fig. 1, [0023], the object detection devices (205) to (208) are installed (arranged) at different positions different from each other at predetermined intervals in the vehicle width direction on, for example, a front bumper at a front end of the vehicle body (2).),
and wherein the third pair of acoustic sensors and the fourth pair of acoustic sensors are disposed and recessed within the back barrier(Fig. 1, [0024], the object detection devices (201) to (204) are installed (arranged), as an example, at positions different from each other at predetermined intervals in the vehicle width direction in, for example, a rear bumper at a rear end of a vehicle body (2) as the exterior of the vehicle (1).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugae in view of Taghizadeh, Augenstein, and Chu.
Regarding claim 12, Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh and Augenstein teaches the vehicle of claim 8. Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh and Augenstein fails to teach
the computer-readable code further causes the digital signal processor to determine, using a detection algorithm, an angle of arrival of the source of interest relative to the acoustic sensor array using, at least in part, the filtered acoustic data for the plurality of fields of view.
Chu teaches
the computer-readable code further causes the digital signal processor to determine, using a detection algorithm, an angle of arrival of the source of interest relative to the acoustic sensor array using, at least in part, the filtered acoustic data for the plurality of fields of view(column 6, lines 39-50, device may include a beamformer that may perform audio beamforming on microphone audio data which enables the beamformer to isolate audio data associated with a particular direction)(column 6, lines 19-23, device may include a bandpass filter or other filtering to select a portion of the time-domain signal within a desired frequency range)(column 18, lines 30-40, using determined cross-correlation data, direction-of-arrival is calculated for each microphone pair).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle of Sugae, as modified in view of the teachings of Taghizadeh and Augenstein, to further include the teachings of Chu, in order to yield an vehicle-based acoustic sound source localization system in which data from each of the acoustic pairs is utilized to calculate a respective direction of arrival to the sound source such that through the use of multiple independent direction of arrival estimates, a more accurate determination of the sound source’s position with respect to the vehicle can be obtained to enable the operator to prevent damage to the vehicle through unwanted collisions. Making such a modification amounts to use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugae in view of Taghizadeh, Augenstein, Chu, and Kuehnle et al (WO 2019219718 A1, “Kuehnle”. For all text citations, refer to attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh, Augenstein, and Chu teaches the vehicle of claim 12. Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh, Augenstein, and Chu fails to teach
wherein the computer-readable code further causes the digital signal processor to: determine a reaction plan based, at least in part, on the angle of arrival; and perform, using the vehicle, the reaction plan.
Kuehnle teaches
wherein the computer-readable code further causes the digital signal processor to: determine a reaction plan based, at least in part, on the angle of arrival(pg. 4, detection data of the above-described detection device in order to control a driving function of the vehicle, for example for actuator-actuated steering, braking, etc.);
and perform, using the vehicle, the reaction plan (pg. 4, detection data of the above-described detection device in order to control a driving function of the vehicle, for example for actuator-actuated steering, braking, etc.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle of Sugae, as modified in view of the teachings of Taghizadeh, Augenstein, and Chu, to further include the teachings of Kuehnle, in order to yield a vehicle based sound source localization system that can automatically trigger the execution of a reaction plan that automatically adjusts the braking or steering of the vehicle to avoid the sound source in the vicinity of the vehicle, without relying on the limitations of human reaction time. Making such a modification amounts to use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 14, Sugae, as modified in view of Taghizadeh, Augenstein, Chu, and Kuehnle teaches the vehicle of claim 13. Kuehnle further teaches
wherein the reaction plan comprises avoiding an intersection between the vehicle and the source of interest(Implicit, pg. 4, detection data of the above-described detection device in order to control a driving function of the vehicle, for example for actuator-actuated steering, braking, etc.)(braking or steering are actions indicative of avoiding an intersection between the vehicle and the source of interest).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein, teaches he method of claim 15. Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein fails to teach
wherein each of a plurality of beam pairs has a unique null angle relative to a first field of view among the plurality of fields of view,
and wherein each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises a first beam among the first plurality of beams and a second beam among the second plurality of beams.
Tian et al. ( US 20230224635 A1, “Tian”) teaches
wherein each of a plurality of beam[s] coefficient generator 104 to create a beamformed signal associated with one or more lobes steered towards desired sound locations and one or more nulls steered towards undesired sound locations. Tian, the closest identified prior art, fails to teach that the plurality of beams are generated on a pair-wise bases and that the beams, as a pair, have a unique null angle relative to a first field of view among the plurality of views),
and wherein each of the plurality of beam[s] Tian, the closest prior art, fails to teach that the beams are generated on a pair-wise basis and that they are generated from acoustic data originating from the first and second acoustic sensors (corresponding to the first plurality of beams) or from the third and fourth acoustic sensors (second plurality of beams). No identified prior art teaches these limitations either wholly or in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Regarding claim 19, Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein, teaches he method of claim 15. Taghizadeh further teaches
wherein each of the first plurality of beams comprises an energy at each of a plurality of samples ([0051], each of the audio sensors is configured to detect an audio signal from a target audio source. Primary audio sensor defines at least two pairs of audio sensors) (Implicit, Fig. 4, [0052], fixed beamformer unit (401), blocking matrix (403), interference and noise canceller (405), and combiner (406) form a generalized sidelobe canceller)(Fig. 4 illustrates input from audio sensors (402) being supplied to fixed beamformer unit (401))(each beam associated with microphones comprising the pair of audio sensors implicitly has an energy value associated with the measurement);
Taghizadeh, as modified in view of Augenstein fails to teach
and wherein determining the first intermediate acoustic data comprises: for each of the plurality of samples, selecting a first beam among the first plurality of beams with a first minimum energy, and determining a first mixed beam by crossfading the first beam for the plurality of samples together.
De Haan et al. (US 20210092531 A1, “De Haan”) teaches
and wherein determining the first intermediate acoustic data comprises: for each of the plurality of samples, selecting a first beam among the first plurality of beams with a first minimum energy, and determining a first mixed beam by crossfading the first beam for the plurality of samples together ([0026] Mixing may comprise fading. The processor may be configured to fade from one input audio data stream to another input audio data stream. Sometimes, it is desirable to fade from one microphone signal to the other microphone signal, e.g. if one microphone has more feedback compared to the other microphone, or if the target signal-to-noise-ratio of one microphone signal is (significantly) better than the other. The processor may be configured to maintain the level of the target signal components when fading from one input audio data stream to another.)(However De Haan at [0032-[0033], requires that the mixing and fading between respective input audio streams is performed after the input audio data streams are beamformed and filtered, thus they cannot be considered as intermediate data determination steps in line with the combination of Tanghizadeh, as modified in view of the teachings of Augenstein, as well as the limitations required by claim 15).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to its respective dependency upon a claim indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Heide et al. (US 20240422502 A1) which discloses an autonomous vehicle based acoustic object tracking system and method
Kashi et al. (US 20200209882 A1) which discloses an system and method for environmental perception in autonomous driving using captured audio
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645