DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of filed on 4/21/2026 is acknowledged. The arguments are found to be persuasive because. The requirement is withdrawn and claims 12-31 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “a lower container housing portion” in lines 7-8. It is unclear if this is the same lower container housing portion previously recited or a differ portion.
Claim 24 recites “a lower container housing portion” in lines 7-8. It is unclear if this is the same lower container housing portion previously recited or a differ portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US-20090084801-A1) in view of Dahl (US-20130134121-A1).
Regarding claim 12:
Coe discloses a method of operating a container device, the method comprising: providing a container device (61), the container device comprising: a container housing comprising a first housing portion (62) having a wing clip (76) and a first threaded portion (78), a second housing portion (64) having a second threaded portion (80), and a hinge (67) moveably connecting the first housing portion to the second housing portion, the container housing configured to move between an open configuration (Fig. 15) and a closed configuration (Fig. 14); and a cap (72) comprising a locking device, the cap configured to rotatably engage the first threaded portion and the second threaded portion to move between a screwed position and an unscrewed position while the container housing is in the closed configuration (par. 0031), ,engaging the wing clip with the second housing portion to maintain the container housing in the closed position while the wing clip is engaged with the second housing portion, and rotatably engaging the cap to the screwed position to maintain the container housing in the closed position while the cap is in the screwed position (par. 0031).
Coe fails to teach wherein the locking device comprises a combination lock configurable to an unlock combination, the locking device configured to prevent the cap from rotating from the screwed position to the unscrewed position unless the combination lock is configured into the unlock combination, moving the container housing to the closed configuration.
Dahl teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture a cap locking device wherein the locking device comprises a combination lock configurable to an unlock combination, the locking device configured to prevent the cap from rotating from the screwed position to the unscrewed position unless the combination lock is configured into the unlock combination, moving the container housing to the closed configuration (pars. 0032 – 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the container of Coe with a locking device, as taught by Dahl, in order to prevent access to the container.
Regarding claims 13-17, the modified container of Coe teaches:
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising configuring the locking device to a combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the combination is not the unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
15. The method of claim 13, wherein the combination is the unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
16. The method of claim 12, further comprising configuring the locking device to change the unlock combination to a second unlock combination (Dahl, par. 0034).
17. The method of claim 12, wherein the combination lock is configured to be opened by an open code comprising a plurality of digits (Dahl, par. 0033).
Claim(s) 18-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US-20090084801-A1) in view of Dahl (US-20130134121-A1) and Lande (US-D761008-S).
Regarding claim 18:
Coe discloses a method of operating a container device, the method comprising :providing a container device (61), the container device comprising: a container housing comprising an upper container housing portion (62) and a lower container housing portion (64), the container housing having a front surface, a rear surface, a first sidewall, and a second sidewall (Fig. 17), the upper container housing portion movably coupled to a lower container housing portion via a hinge (67) at the rear surface; a first wing (76) on the first sidewall and a second wing (76) on the second sidewall, the first and second wings configured to secure the upper container housing portion to the lower container housing portion; a neck portion (78, 80) configured to protrude from the front surface, the neck portion having an external surface defining a set of threads (75); moving the container housing to the closed configuration, engaging the first wing and the second wing to secure the upper container housing portion to the lower container housing portion, and threading the onto the set of threads (Fig. 14).
Coe fails to teach the container housing defining a substantially rectangular shape, and a locking device comprising a combination lock integrated into the locking device with two or more wheels, wherein the locking device is configured to fit over the neck portion of the container housing when closed by threading the locking device onto the set of threads, wherein the locking device is configured to lock the neck portion using a combination other than an unlock combination of the two or more wheels of the combination lock.
Dahl teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture a cap locking device comprising a combination lock integrated into the locking device with two or more wheels (192), wherein the locking device is configured to fit over the neck portion of the container housing when closed by threading the locking device onto the set of threads, wherein the locking device is configured to lock the neck portion using a combination other than an unlock combination of the two or more wheels of the combination lock (pars. 0032 – 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the container of Coe with a locking device, as taught by Dahl, in order to prevent access to the container.
Lande teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture a container with a substantially rectangular shape (Figs. 1, 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the container with the claimed shape, so the container could fit in different locations.
Regarding claims 19-23, the modified container of Coe teaches:
19. The method of claim 18, further comprising configuring the locking device to a combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
20. The method of claim 19, wherein the combination is other than the unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
21. The method of claim 19, wherein the combination is the unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
22. The method of claim 18, further comprising configuring the locking device to change the unlock combination to a second unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
23. The method of claim 20, further comprising configuring the locking device to the unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
Regarding claim 24:
Coe discloses a method of operating a container device, the method comprising: providing a container device (61), the container device comprising: a container housing comprising an upper container housing portion (62) and a lower container housing portion (64), the container housing having a front surface, a rear surface, a first sidewall, and a second sidewall, the upper container housing portion movably coupled to a lower container housing portion via a hinge (67) at the rear surface; a first wing (76) on the first sidewall and a second wing (76 on the second sidewall, the first and second wings configured to secure the upper container housing portion to the lower container housing portion; a neck portion configured to protrude from the front surface, the neck portion formed from a top neck portion (78) of the upper container housing portion and a bottom neck portion (80) of the lower container housing portion; and, moving the container housing to the closed configuration, engaging the first wing and the second wing to secure the upper container housing portion to the lower container housing portion, and placing a cap onto the neck portion to secure the container housing in the closed configuration (Fig. 14).
Coe fails to teach the container housing defining a substantially rectangular shape, and a locking device comprising a combination lock integrated into the locking device with two or more wheels, wherein the locking device is configured to fit onto the neck portion to secure the container housing in a closed configuration, wherein the locking device is configured to lock the neck portion using a combination other than an unlock combination of the two or more wheels of the combination lock.
Dahl teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture a cap locking device comprising a locking device comprising a combination lock integrated into the locking device with two or more wheels (192), wherein the locking device is configured to fit onto the neck portion to secure the container housing in a closed configuration, wherein the locking device is configured to lock the neck portion using a combination other than an unlock combination of the two or more wheels of the combination lock (pars. 0032 – 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the container of Coe with a locking device, as taught by Dahl, in order to prevent access to the container.
Lande teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture a container with a substantially rectangular shape (Figs. 1, 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the container with the claimed shape, so the container could fit in different locations.
Regarding claims 25-31, the modified container of Coe teaches:
25. The method of claim 24, further comprising configuring the locking device to a combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
26. The method of claim 25, wherein the combination is other than the unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
27. The method of claim 25, wherein the combination is the unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
28. The method of claim 24, further comprising configuring the locking device to change the unlock combination to a second unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
29. The method of claim 26, further comprising configuring the locking device to the unlock combination (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
30. The method of claim 24, wherein placing the locking device onto the neck portion comprises twisting the locking device (Dahl, pars. 0033 – 0035).
31. The method of claim 26, wherein the neck portion has a substantially circular shape and the locking device has a substantially circular shape (Coe, Fig. 17).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733