Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the Applicant's amendments filed on 09/03/2026. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, and 15-16 have been amended. Any examiner's note, objection, and rejection not repeated is withdrawn due to Applicant's amendment.
Applicants’ arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Aziz et al. "herein Aziz" (U.S. PN: 12,580,814) in view of Ran et al. "herein Ran" (U.S. PN: 12,531,594) and further in view of Cordero et al. herein Cordero (U.S. PN: 9,230,687).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, the incorporation of the limitation into the claim “first error-correction coded data stream without the added test blocks to a local host” is a new matter, which was not described in the specification as originally filed. The specification paragraph [0031] only describes “The illustrated transmit path further includes an in-band channel insertion module 406, which supplies a data stream to line-side transmitter 408 for conveyance along the cable. Module 406 embeds an in-band management channel which, as described below, may include added test blocks for evaluating link performance. Transmit signal 410 according represents an error correction coded data stream with added test blocks. Transmitter 408 receives a symbol clock from an oscillator 412, herein referred to as a fill- level controlled oscillator (FLCO). Oscillator 412 filters a fill level signal 414 to control the symbol clock frequency as needed to provide a steady buffer fill level, on average. The fill level will rise when the insertion module 406 adds blocks to the data stream and falls when the transmitter transmits buffer contents at a slightly elevated clock frequency.
Independent claims 6, 11, and 16 include similar limitations of independent claim 1 andtherefore are rejected for similar reasons.
Dependent claims depend from the base claims and inherently include limitations therein and therefore are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 the limitation “first error-correction coded data stream without the added test blocks to a local host” renders the claims indefinite. It is unclear whether the error correction coded data stream is convoyed without the added test blocks. Further the claim 1 recites the negative limitation “conveying the first error-correction coded data stream without the added test blocks to a local host”
Independent claims 6, 11, and 16 include similar limitations of independent claim 1 andtherefore are rejected for similar reasons.
Dependent claims depend from the base claims and inherently include limitations therein and therefore are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz et
al. "herein Aziz" (U.S. PN: 12,580,814) in view of Ran et al. "herein Ran" (U.S. PN:
12,531,594) and further in view of Cordero et al. herein Cordero (U.S. PN: 9,230,687).
As per claims 1 and 6:
Aziz substantially teaches a transceiver that comprises a receive chain and a method that derives a received digital symbol stream from a receive signal, the received digital symbol stream (see figure, 11A, element 1104, col. 4, lines 8-20 and col. 22, lines 14-55, col. 24, lines 11-16) including an error-correction coded data stream from a remote node with added test blocks (see col. 3, lines 55-67 to col. 4, lines 1-20); an error analysis module configured to derive a link performance indicator from the added test blocks "the controller 102 can receive the raw bit error statistics from the decoding layer 106b or can determine the bit error statistics based on information provided by the decoding layer 106b. It should be noted that in order for the decoding layer 106b to compute actual raw bit error information it must be cognizant of the transmitted bits to be able to make a comparison of the received bits with transmitted bits to be able to determine if a bit error occurred or not. As such, a bit error measurement can be made through the use of a training pattern, such as a pseudo-random bit sequence (PRBS) pattern known to both the transmitter circuit 108 and receiver circuit 110" (see col. 7, lines 1-10, col. 14, lines 21-67 to col. 15, lines 1-6, col. 18, lines 20-67, and col. 21, lines 18-33), a transmit chain configured to convey the link performance indicator to the remote node (see col. 4, lines 8- 46 and col. 6, lines 37-67 to col. 7, lines 1-10).
Azis does not explicitly teach that a digital symbol stream includes an error-correction coded data stream and test blocks and deriving a link performance indicator from the added test blocks.
However, Ran, in an analogous art, teaches a digital symbol stream includes an error-
correction coded data stream and test blocks and deriving a link performance indicator from the
added test blocks "a devices, networks, systems, methods, and processes for determining receiver
performance metric of a network device are described herein. A device may utilize one or more
error patterns associated with the network device to retrieve one or more symbol errors from the
one or more error patterns. The device can determine an error threshold for a segment based on a
predefined Bit Error Rate (BER) level for the segment. The device may generate a performance
metric for the segment based on the error threshold and the retrieved symbol errors. The device
can generate a receiver performance metric based on performance metrics of segments (abstract).
Further, the device can generate predefined test patterns such as PRBS test patterns. The device
may apply the PRBS test patterns to the network device. The device can receive output blocks
from the network device in response to the PRBS test patterns. The device may determine the
count of the symbol errors in an output block and compare the count of the symbol errors with
the error threshold. The device can increment an error counter if the count of the symbol errors in
the output block is greater than the error threshold. The device may determine a probability of
occurrence of the output blocks having the count of symbol errors greater than the error
threshold. The device can generate the performance metric based on the probability of the
occurrence of the FEC codewords having the count of symbol errors greater than the error
threshold. The device may apply the PRBS test patterns and test the network device for a long
enough time period to ensure that the performance metric meets the error threshold with
adequate confidence (see col. 5, lines 64-67 to col. 6, lines 1-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Aziz with the teachings of Ran by including of
an error-correction coded data stream and test blocks and deriving a link performance indicator
from the added test blocks.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized by including an error-correction coded data stream and test blocks and deriving a link performance indicator from the added test blocks would have provided reliable reception of transmitted data.
The combination of Aziz and Ran does not explicitly teach the use of an error correction coded data stream with periodically added test blocks.
However, Cordero, in an analogous art, teaches an error correction coded data stream periodically with added test blocks “when incorrect data is found in the ECC component of the data at decision block 302, checking is performed to identify an actionable threshold as indicated in a decision block 306. When the actionable threshold is not reached, an appropriate RAS action is taken at block 304. When the actionable threshold is reached with incorrect data identified in the ECC logic, an analysis process is performed to determine if the ECC logic is faulty. As indicated in block 308, traffic is halted to prevent collisions. As indicated in block 310, LBIST test is run to determine the problem source. The LBIST test at block 310 is periodically performed after traffic is halted at block 308 and during periods of inactivity, such as during to proactively check for bad ECC. The LBIST test at block 310 can identify when a MDI (Memory Domain Indicator) bit that is generally stored in ECC logic, is corrupted or failed. The LBIST test of the ECC logic at block 310 is used to identify the section of ECC logic that is faulty from the recovery of this data. If the LBIST test passes, the threshold counter is reset and no further action is taken (see col. 4, lines 12-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an error correction coded data stream with periodically added test blocks as taught by Cordero.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized by using an error correction coded data stream with periodically added test blocks would have enhanced link or channel performance.
As per claim 2 and 7:
Azis in view of the above rejection teaches transmit a second digital symbol stream to the remote node, the second digital symbol stream including an error-correction coded data stream from a local host and including added control blocks providing the link performance indicator (see col. 22, lines 18-30, in Aziz).
As per claim 3 and 8:
Azis in view of the above rejection teaches wherein the first digital symbol stream further includes added control blocks providing a link performance indicator for the second digital symbol stream, and wherein the receive chain is configured to adjust a communication parameter if the link performance indicator for the second digital symbol stream exceeds a target threshold (see col. 4, lines 8-46 and col. 6, lines 37-67 to col. 7, lines 1-10, in Aziz, and further see col. 5, lines 64-67 to col. 6, lines 1-15, in Ran).
As per claim 4 and 9:
Azis in view of the above rejection teaches wherein the link performance indicator is an
estimated code word error rate that accounts for error correction coding of the error-correction
coded data stream from the remote node (see col. 4, lines 8-46 and col. 6, lines 37-67 to col. 7,
lines 1-10 and col. 11, lines 12-40, in Aziz and further see col. 5, lines 64-67 to col. 6, lines 1-15,
in Ran).
As per claim 5 and 10:
Aziz in view of the above rejection teaches wherein the added test blocks comprise a frame header and a pseudo-random binary sequence (PRBS), and wherein the error analysis module includes: a bit counter configured to divide the PRBS into symbols and code words; an error counter configured to determine a symbol error count for each code word; and an aggregator configured to accumulate the symbol error counts to obtain a distribution; and determining a post FEC symbol error rate from the distribution (see col. 4, lines 8-46 and col. 6, lines 37-67 to col. 7, lines 1-10 and col. 11, lines 12-40, In Aziz and further see col. 5, lines 64-67 to col. 6, lines 1-15, in Ran).
As per claims 11 and 16:
Aziz substantially teaches a network cable that comprises a first connector having a first
transceiver configured to provide a first digital symbol stream having a first error-correction
coded data stream from a first network port with added test blocks; a second connector having a
second transceiver configured to receive the first digital symbol stream and to convey the first
error-correction coded data stream to a second network port stream (see figure, 11A, element
1104, (see col. 3, lines 55-67 to col. 4, lines 1-20, col. 22, lines 14-55, col. 24, lines 11-16); and
an error analysis module configured to derive a first link performance indicator from the added
test blocks "the controller 102 can receive the raw bit error statistics from the decoding
layer 106b or can determine the bit error statistics based on information provided by the
decoding layer 106b. It should be noted that in order for the decoding layer 106b to compute
actual raw bit error information it must be cognizant of the transmitted bits to be able to make a
comparison of the received bits with transmitted bits to be able to determine if a bit error
occurred or not. As such, a bit error measurement can be made through the use of a training
pattern, such as a pseudo-random bit sequence (PRBS) pattern known to both the transmitter
circuit 108 and receiver circuit 110" (see col. 7, lines 1-10, col. 14, lines 21-67 to col. 15, lines
1-6, col. 18, lines 20-67, and col. 21, lines 18-33) the second transceiver being further configured
to convey the first link performance indicator to the first connector (see figure, 11A, element
1106, col. 4, lines 8-46 and col. 6, lines 37-67 to col. 7, lines 1-10).
Azis does not explicitly teach that a digital symbol stream includes error-correction
coded data stream with test blocks and deriving a link performance indicator from the added test
blocks.
However, Ran, in an analogous art, teaches a digital symbol stream includes an error-
correction coded data stream and test blocks and deriving a link performance indicator from the
added test blocks "a devices, networks, systems, methods, and processes for determining receiver
performance metric of a network device are described herein. A device may utilize one or more
error patterns associated with the network device to retrieve one or more symbol errors from the
one or more error patterns. The device can determine an error threshold for a segment based on
a predefined Bit Error Rate (BER) level for the segment. The device may generate a performance
metric for the segment based on the error threshold and the retrieved symbol errors. The device
can generate a receiver performance metric based on performance metrics of segments
(abstract). Further, the device can generate predefined test patterns such as PRBS test patterns.
The device may apply the PRBS test patterns to the network device. The device can receive
output blocks from the network device in response to the PRBS test patterns. The device may
determine the count of the symbol errors in an output block and compare the count of the symbol
errors with the error threshold. The device can increment an error counter if the count of the
symbol errors in the output block is greater than the error threshold. The device may determine
a probability of occurrence of the output blocks having the count of symbol errors greater than
the error threshold. The device can generate the performance metric based on the probability of
the occurrence of the FEC codewords having the count of symbol errors greater than the error
threshold. The device may apply the PRBS test patterns and test the network device for a long
enough time period to ensure that the performance metric meets the error threshold with
adequate confidence (see col. 5, lines 64-67 to col. 6, lines 1-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Aziz with the teachings of Ran by including of
an error-correction coded data stream with test blocks and deriving a link performance indicator
from the added test blocks.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the
effective filing date of the invention because one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that an error-correction coded data stream with test blocks and deriving a link
performance indicator from the added test blocks would have improved the efficiency of the test
process; reduces test time; accurately analyzes test data and stabilizes the production lines.
The combination of Aziz and Ran do not explicitly teach the use of an error correction coded data stream with periodically added test blocks.
However, Cordero, in an analogous art, teaches an error correction coded data stream periodically with added test blocks “when incorrect data is found in the ECC component of the data at decision block 302, checking is performed to identify an actionable threshold as indicated in a decision block 306. When the actionable threshold is not reached, an appropriate RAS action is taken at block 304. When the actionable threshold is reached with incorrect data identified in the ECC logic, an analysis process is performed to determine if the ECC logic is faulty. As indicated in block 308, traffic is halted to prevent collisions. As indicated in block 310, LBIST test is run to determine the problem source. The LBIST test at block 310 is periodically performed after traffic is halted at block 308 and during periods of inactivity, such as during to proactively check for bad ECC. The LBIST test at block 310 can identify when a MDI (Memory Domain Indicator) bit that is generally stored in ECC logic, is corrupted or failed. The LBIST test of the ECC logic at block 310 is used to identify the section of ECC logic that is faulty from the recovery of this data. If the LBIST test passes, the threshold counter is reset and no further action is taken (see col. 4, lines 12-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an error correction coded data stream with periodically added test blocks as taught by Cordero.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized by using an error correction coded data stream with periodically added test blocks would have enhanced link or channel performance.
Claims 12, and 17, these claims are directed to a cable and computer network and are
rejected for the same reasons as in claims 2 and 7.
Claim 13, this claim is directed to a cable and computer network and are rejected for the
same reasons as in claims 3 and 8.
Claims 14 and 19, these claims are directed to a cable and computer network and are
rejected for the same reasons as in claims 4 and 9.
Claims 15 and 20, these claims are directed to a cable and computer network and are
rejected for the same reasons as in claims 5 and 10.
As per claim 18:
Azis in view of the above rejection teaches wherein the network cable further includes a
controller that tracks the first link performance indicator and conveys an alert to the first network
node if the first link performance indicator indicates degraded performance (see col. 4, lines 8-46
and col. 6, lines 37-67 to col. 7, lines 1-10 and col. 11, lines 12-40, in Aziz, and further see col.
5, lines 64-67 to col. 6, lines 1-15, in Ran).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESAW T ABRAHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112