DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “continued translation proximal of the wire assembly” should be “continued proximal translation of the wire assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: engagement mechanism in claim 2-10 and 17-19; imaging mechanism in claim 15, and lighting mechanism in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “towards one another”. The limitation is unclear as to what “one another” refers to when the limitation relates to a single jaw assembly. The limitation is interpreted as referring to moving jaws of the jaw assembly towards one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-14, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kolozsi (US 5373854 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kolozsi teaches a medical device (figures 4-6; biopsy apparatus 50), comprising:
a wire assembly (control wire 60) including an impediment (connector 62) on a distal portion of the wire assembly (connector portion 62 is on a distal portion of the wire assembly 60 figure 5);
a jaw assembly (jaw assembly 56, 58) coupled to the wire assembly (Fig. 5) with the impediment disposed inside the jaw assembly (Connector 62 is disposed inside the jaws 56, 58, Fig. 4-5), wherein the jaw assembly is configured to move between a closed state and an opened state (figures 4-5, closed state and open state); and
a lever (linkage arms 70, 72 and actuator arms 66,68) movably coupled to the distal portion (rotational coupling at connector pin 64; Col. 4, line 57-60--actuator arms 66 and 68 respectively, which are coupled to the connector through a pair of linkage rods or arms 70 and 72, which themselves are pivotally engaged to connector pin 64) and disposed inside the jaw assembly (See Fig, 4-6), wherein the lever is configured to contact an interior of the jaw assembly (figures 4-5, contacting the interior of jaws 56, 58);
wherein the wire assembly (control wire 60) is configured to move the jaw assembly from the closed state (Fig. 4) towards the opened state (Fig. 5) in response to the wire assembly translating distally inside the jaw assembly (See transition between Figs. 4 and 5, where the wire 60 is moved distally) and moving the lever proximally (Figs. 4-5 where the actuator arms 66, 68 and outer points 78 of levers 70, 72 move proximally with respect to the wire assembly, figures 4-5) until the lever (at arms 70, 72) engages the impediment (Fig. 5, in the open position the longitudinal edges of the levers 70, 72 engage the distal surface of wire connector 62);
wherein the lever is configured to pivot outwards relative to the jaw assembly upon engaging the impediment and push against the interior of the jaw assembly, thereby urging the jaw assembly towards the opened state (Figs. 4-5, transition of lever from a compressed position in Fig. 4 to an outwardly pivoted position which pushes the jaw assembly toward the open state in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, the medical device of claim 1. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the wire assembly includes an engagement mechanism on the distal portion (Central spike 86 on the distal portion of the wire assembly 60) such that the engagement mechanism is disposed inside the jaw assembly in at least some configurations of the jaw assembly (Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 3, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 2. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to translate distally relative to the jaw assembly from a proximal position to a distal position in response to the wire assembly translating distally (See transition between closed and open position in Figs. 4-5, where the wire assembly translates distally causing the central spike to translate distally).
Regarding claim 4, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 3. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the engagement mechanism is disposed inside the jaw assembly when in the proximal position (Fig. 4, central spike is disposed inside the jaw assembly in the proximal position), and extends at least partially outside of the jaw assembly when in the distal position (Fig. 5, central spike extends outside of the jaw assembly in the distal position).
Regarding claim 11, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 1. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the wire assembly is configured to translate proximally relative to the jaw assembly and the lever is configured to translate distally relative to the distal portion (Figs. 4-5, when transitioning from an open position back to a closed position, the wire assembly will translate proximally relative to the jaw assembly and the outer ends of the lever translate distally relative to the distal portion).
Regarding claim 12, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 11. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the impediment is configured to disengage the lever in response to the lever translating distally, such that continued translation proximal of the wire assembly is configured to pivot the lever inwards within the jaw assembly (Figs. 4-5, when transitioning from an open position back to a closed position the outer ends of the lever translate distally relative to the distal portion, causing the longitudinal edges of the lever to disengage from the impediment 62 as the lever pivots inwards within the jaw assembly).
Regarding claim 13, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 12. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the lever is configured to move the jaw assembly towards one another when pivoting inwards, thereby moving the jaw assembly from the opened state towards the closed state (Figs. 4-5, when transitioning from an open position back to a closed position the outer ends of the lever translate distally relative to the distal portion, causing the longitudinal edges of the lever to disengage from the impediment 62 as the lever pivots inwards within the jaw assembly).
Regarding claim 14, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 1. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the wire assembly extends through a shaft of an endoscope with the distal portion extending outwardly from a distal tip of the shaft, and the jaw assembly is coupled over the distal tip (Col. 2, line 67-Col. 3, line 7—endoscopic biopsy forceps…).
Regarding claim 16, Kolozsi teaches a medical device (figures 4-6; biopsy apparatus 50), comprising:
a wire assembly (control wire 60) including an impediment (connector 62) on a distal portion of the wire assembly (connector portion 62 is on a distal portion of the wire assembly 60 figure 5);
a jaw assembly (jaw assembly 56, 58) coupled to the wire assembly (Fig. 5) with the impediment disposed inside the jaw assembly (Connector 62 is disposed inside the jaws 56, 58, Fig. 4-5), wherein the jaw assembly includes a pair of jaws (Jaws 56, 58) configured to move between a closed state and an opened state (figures 4-5, closed state and open state); and
a lever (linkage arms 70, 72 and actuator arms 66,68) movably coupled to the distal portion (rotational coupling at connector pin 64; Col. 4, line 57-60--actuator arms 66 and 68 respectively, which are coupled to the connector through a pair of linkage rods or arms 70 and 72, which themselves are pivotally engaged to connector pin 64) and disposed inside the jaw assembly (See Fig, 4-6), wherein the lever is configured to contact at least one of the pair of jaws (figures 4-5, contacting the interior of jaws 56, 58);
wherein the wire assembly (control wire 60) is configured to translate along a distal direction relative to the jaw assembly (See transition between Figs. 4 and 5, where the wire 60 is moved distally) and the lever is configured to translate simultaneously toward a proximal direction relative to the distal portion (Figs. 4-5 where the actuator arms 66, 68 and outer points 78 of levers 70, 72 move proximally with respect to the wire assembly, figures 4-5);
where the impediment is configured to engage the lever and inhibit further translation of the lever toward the proximal direction, such that continued translation of the wire assembly along the distal direction is configured to pivot the lever outwards from within the jaw assembly (Fig. 5, in the open position the longitudinal edges of the levers 70, 72 engage the distal surface of wire connector 62), and
the lever is configured to move the at least one of the pair of jaws away from the other one of the pair of jaws when pivoting within the jaw assembly, thereby moving the pair of jaws from the closed state towards the opened state (Figs. 4-5, transition of lever from a compressed position in Fig. 4 to an outwardly pivoted position which pushes the jaw assembly toward the open state in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Kolozsi teaches a medical system (figures 4-6; biopsy apparatus 50), comprising:
a shaft including a working channel and a distal tip (Flexible sheath 52 having a second end 54);
a wire assembly (control wire 60) movably disposed inside the working channel (Figs. 4-5), the wire assembly including a distal portion extending outwardly from the distal tip (Figs. 4-5 including a distal portion positioned past hinge point 84);
a jaw assembly (jaw assembly 56, 58) coupled to the wire assembly (Fig. 5) and positioned over the distal tip such that the jaw assembly abuts against a distalmost face of the distal tip (Figs. 4-5—the jaw assembly is positioned over the distal tip such that the jaw assembly abuts against a distal face of the second end 54 of the sheath 52), wherein the jaw assembly is configured to move between a closed state and an opened state (Figs. 4-5—closed and open states);
a lever (linkage arms 70, 72 and actuator arms 66,68) movably coupled to the distal portion (rotational coupling at connector pin 64; Col. 4, line 57-60--actuator arms 66 and 68 respectively, which are coupled to the connector through a pair of linkage rods or arms 70 and 72, which themselves are pivotally engaged to connector pin 64) and disposed inside the jaw assembly (See Fig, 4-6) and outside of the shaft (Figs. 4-5), wherein the lever is configured to contact the jaw assembly (figures 4-5, contacting the interior of jaws 56, 58);
wherein the wire assembly is configured to move the jaw assembly distally away from the distal tip in response to a distal translation relative to the shaft (See transition between Figs. 4 and 5, where the wire 60 is moved distally), and move the lever proximally within the jaw assembly in response to further distal translation relative to the shaft (Figs. 4-5 where the actuator arms 66, 68 and outer points 78 of levers 70, 72 move proximally with respect to the wire assembly, figures 4-5); and
wherein the lever is configured to pivot outwards within the jaw assembly to push against the jaw assembly, thereby moving the jaw assembly from the closed state towards the opened state (Figs. 4-5, transition of lever from a compressed position in Fig. 4 to an outwardly pivoted position which pushes the jaw assembly toward the open state in Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-10 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koloszi in view of Nakao (US 7775989 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 4. However, Koloszi does not explicitly disclose wherein the wire assembly is configured to rotate relative to the jaw assembly, and the engagement mechanism is configured to rotate in response to rotation of the wire assembly.
Nakao, in the analogous art of a forceps assembly including a wire and jaws, discloses wherein the wire assembly is configured to rotate relative to the jaw assembly, and the engagement mechanism is configured to rotate in response to rotation of the wire assembly (Fig. 9 shows needle 11 which connects to wire 8 at a proximal end and is attached to pivot members via through holes forming a needle channel such that it may be rotated while still enabling pivoting of the pivot members).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Koloszi to utilize the arrangement of Nakao in order to predictably improve the device by enabling additional manipulation of the engagement mechanism, in this case rotation, which may be performed via manipulation of the wire such that tissue sampling may be improved without requiring additional tools or manipulation of the tissue by an operator outside of the medical device.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Koloszi and Nakao teaches the medical device of claim 5. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to pierce a tissue positioned adjacent to the jaw assembly in response to the wire assembly translating distally when the jaw assembly is in the opened state (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Koloszi and Nakao teaches the medical device of claim 6. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to securely engage the tissue in response to the wire assembly moving relative to the jaw assembly (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Fig. 5).
Koloszi does not explicitly disclose wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to securely engage the tissue in response to the wire assembly rotating relative to the jaw assembly.
Nakao, in the analogous art of a forceps assembly including a wire and jaws, discloses wherein the wire assembly is configured to rotate relative to the jaw assembly, and the engagement mechanism is configured to rotate in response to rotation of the wire assembly (Fig. 9 shows needle 11 which connects to wire 8 at a proximal end and is attached to pivot members via through holes forming a needle channel such that it may be rotated while still enabling pivoting of the pivot members).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Koloszi to utilize the arrangement of Nakao such that the engagement mechanism is configured to securely engage the tissue in response to the wire assembly rotating relative to the jaw assembly in order to predictably improve the device by enabling additional manipulation of the engagement mechanism, in this case rotation, which may be performed via manipulation of the wire such that tissue sampling may be improved without requiring additional tools or manipulation of the tissue by an operator outside of the medical device.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Koloszi and Nakao teaches the medical device of claim 7. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to pull the tissue proximally into the jaw assembly in response to the wire assembly translating proximally relative to the jaw assembly (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Fig. 4-5—spike is withdrawn into the jaw assembly in the closed position with the wire assembly proximally translated).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Koloszi and Nakao teaches the medical device of claim 7. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the jaw assembly is configured to cut the tissue engaged by the engagement mechanism and received inside the jaw assembly in response to the wire assembly translating proximally, thereby causing the jaw assembly to move from the opened state towards the closed state (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Col. 6, line 39-43--This arrangement of teeth and indentations provides a mechanism for shearing of tissue from a body rather than crushing the tissue as is normally performed with conventional forceps NOTE: while this passage relates to an alternative embodiment of the medical device, it remains true that the device is utilized to remove tissue from the body via the jaws as is conventional; Fig. 4-5—spike is withdrawn into the jaw assembly in the closed position with the wire assembly proximally translated).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Koloszi and Nakao teaches the medical device of claim 6. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the engagement mechanism includes a needle, a corkscrew, a hook, or a barbed spike (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 17, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 16. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the wire assembly includes an engagement mechanism on the distal portion that is configured to translate towards the distal direction in response to the wire assembly translating towards the distal direction (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Fig. 4, central spike is disposed inside the jaw assembly in the proximal position; Fig. 5, central spike extends outside of the jaw assembly in the distal position).
However, Koloszi does not explicitly disclose wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to rotate in response to the wire assembly rotating relative to the jaw assembly.
Nakao, in the analogous art of a forceps assembly including a wire and jaws, discloses wherein the wire assembly is configured to rotate relative to the jaw assembly, and the engagement mechanism is configured to rotate in response to rotation of the wire assembly (Fig. 9 shows needle 11 which connects to wire 8 at a proximal end and is attached to pivot members via through holes forming a needle channel such that it may be rotated while still enabling pivoting of the pivot members).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Koloszi to utilize the arrangement of Nakao in order to predictably improve the device by enabling additional manipulation of the engagement mechanism, in this case rotation, which may be performed via manipulation of the wire such that tissue sampling may be improved without requiring additional tools or manipulation of the tissue by an operator outside of the medical device.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Koloszi and Nakao teaches the medical device of claim 17. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to pierce a tissue positioned adjacent to the jaw assembly in response to the wire assembly translating towards the distal direction when the jaw assembly is in the opened state (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Fig. 5).
Koloszi does not explicitly disclose wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to securely engage the tissue in response to the wire assembly rotating relative to the jaw assembly.
Nakao, in the analogous art of a forceps assembly including a wire and jaws, discloses wherein the wire assembly is configured to rotate relative to the jaw assembly, and the engagement mechanism is configured to rotate in response to rotation of the wire assembly (Fig. 9 shows needle 11 which connects to wire 8 at a proximal end and is attached to pivot members via through holes forming a needle channel such that it may be rotated while still enabling pivoting of the pivot members).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Koloszi to utilize the arrangement of Nakao such that the engagement mechanism is configured to securely engage the tissue in response to the wire assembly rotating relative to the jaw assembly in order to predictably improve the device by enabling additional manipulation of the engagement mechanism, in this case rotation, which may be performed via manipulation of the wire such that tissue sampling may be improved without requiring additional tools or manipulation of the tissue by an operator outside of the medical device.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Koloszi and Nakao teaches the medical device of claim 18. Koloszi additionally teaches wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to pull the tissue proximally into the jaw assembly in response to the wire assembly translating proximally relative to the jaw assembly (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Fig. 4-5—spike is withdrawn into the jaw assembly in the closed position with the wire assembly proximally translated); and
wherein the jaw assembly is configured to cut the tissue engaged by the engagement mechanism and received inside the jaw assembly in response to the wire assembly translating proximally, thereby causing the jaw assembly to move from the opened state towards the closed state (Col. 5, line 17-19-- A central spike 86 may be optionally provided to facilitate the taking of tissue samples in association with the jaw assemblies 56 and 58; Col. 6, line 39-43--This arrangement of teeth and indentations provides a mechanism for shearing of tissue from a body rather than crushing the tissue as is normally performed with conventional forceps NOTE: while this passage relates to an alternative embodiment of the medical device, it remains true that the device is utilized to remove tissue from the body via the jaws as is conventional; Fig. 4-5—spike is withdrawn into the jaw assembly in the closed position with the wire assembly proximally translated).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koloszi in view of Vyas (US 20230056943 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Koloszi teaches the medical device of claim 14. However, Koloszi fails to disclose the jaw assembly includes an imaging channel aligned with an imaging mechanism on the distal tip and a pair of lighting channels aligned with a pair of lighting mechanisms on the distal tip; and wherein, with the jaw assembly coupled over the distal tip, the imaging mechanism is configured to generate images distally from the jaw assembly through the imaging channel and the pair of lighting mechanisms are configured to emit light distally from the jaw assembly through the pair of lighting channels.
Vyas, in analogous art of a medical device including an end effector with a jaw assembly, teaches a jaw assembly includes an imaging channel aligned with an imaging mechanism on the distal tip and a pair of lighting channels aligned with a pair of lighting mechanisms on the distal tip (Paragraph 0091, 0103-0106-- an illumination source and/or imaging element may be mounted on the housing 42, e.g., to facilitate imaging and/or monitoring use of the apparatus 8 during a procedure. In an exemplary embodiment, a CMOS, CCD, or other imaging element and/or one or more LEDs or other light sources (not shown) may be provided on the end effector 40, e.g., adjacent the proximal end of the first jaw 46 where the second jaw 48 pivots); and
wherein, with the jaw assembly coupled over the distal tip, the imaging mechanism is configured to generate images distally from the jaw assembly through the imaging channel and the pair of lighting mechanisms are configured to emit light distally from the jaw assembly through the pair of lighting channels (Paragraph 0091, 0103-0106-- that may be oriented distally to acquire images of the region beyond the stapler assembly 40…).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Koloszi to include an imaging mechanism and lighting as described by Vyas in order to predictably improve the device by enabling an operator to view the tissue site without removing the medical device from the site, which would allow for more accurate placement of the device and retrieval of tissue samples from a location of interest.
Conclusion
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791